Page 1 of 6 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 129

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Jack007
    Guest

    A guide on How To Use Headsets on PS3

    OK, so not alot of people know how to do this, so i thought id share this with you. There are two types of headsets that can be used on the PS3. USB headsets, and Bluetooth headsets. Nearly all are compatable.

    There are two ways a headset can be connected for use on the PLAYSTATIONŽ3 computer entertainment system.

    Bluetooth

    The PLAYSTATION 3 system is enabled with Bluetooth technology, which will accept Bluetooth wireless headsets. Sony Computer Entertainment Australia, Inc (SCEA) cannot guarantee every Bluetooth headset will register (or "pair") with the PLAYSTATION 3 system. We recommend contacting the manufacturer of the Bluetooth device to determine if it is compatible with the PLAYSTATION 3.

    To enable the Bluetooth wireless headset on the PLAYSTATION 3, use the XMB on the PLAYSTATION 3's main menu to navigate to the Settings icon and then scroll down to the Accessory Settings. Select the Register Bluetooth Device option to register (or "pair") the Bluetooth-compatible headset with the PLAYSTATION 3.

    Once the headset is registered you will have to make adjustments in the Settings > Accessory Settings > Audio Device Settings option before you can use the headset with compatible PLAYSTATION 3 format software.

    NOTE: Bluetooth-compatible headsets will not work with PlayStationŽ2 format software titles. They will only work with compatible PLAYSTATION 3 format software titles and with the online Chat feature that is available to PLAYSTATIONŽNetwork users.

    USB

    Through the USB ports on the front of the PLAYSTATION 3 system, you may utilize a USB certified headset. Devices that are approved for use with the USB ports of the PLAYSTATION 3 system must either be made by SCEA or be USB certified. Typically, a USB certified product will have the official USB logo on the package, manual or on the "belly" label of the product itself.

    The USB headset (for the PlayStationŽ2) that was released by SCEA is compatible for use with the PLAYSTATION 3 system. Other PlayStation released items that can be used range from the Eyetoy Camera, Singstar Microphones and 3rd party USB headsets will also work (Please refer to the manufacturer or manual for this information).

    To enable the USB headset on the PLAYSTATION 3, use the XMB on the PLAYSTATION 3's main menu to navigate to the Settings icon and then scroll down to the Accessory Settings and select the Audio Device Settings. Once the USB headset has been connected you will be able to select your Input Device as the name of the headset and the Output Device will then mirror this as the name of the Headset.

    Hope this helps you to get your headset working, so you can flame and talk over the next to your other friends!

  2. #2
    Master Sage
    Jaeger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    27
    Posts
    14,379
    Rep Power
    108
    Nice one, mate, should help out a fair few people.

    Loyalty to petrified opinion never yet broke a chain or freed a human soul.


  3. #3
    anyone knows if i can hear game sounds using a USB headset?
    I would like to verify it, before i buy a headset. I came accross this site, but im not sure if it works: http://www.ehow.com/how_6703219_ps3-...b-headset.html

    thanks to you all.

  4. #4
    Apprentice
    Shadowstrike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    391
    Rep Power
    59
    Thanks Jack for making this. I was asking around about this, but was being ignore by a lot of people in here. I gave you a + rep.

  5. #5
    I moved this to the right section and found it as a helpful guide so i stickied it.

    VOTE FOR JOHN McCAIN!
    The night was never so fearfull....

  6. #6
    Jack007
    Guest
    Thanks alot soldier one, no problem at all guys

  7. #7
    Valar Morghulis
    Serinous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PSN ID
    SerinousTSE
    Posts
    10,696
    Rep Power
    98
    Items PS3 FatVitaPS3 Slim
    Thank you, and + rep.

    I have never used headsets for PS3, because I was never in a clan, until recently. I am planning to play MGO with my clan, and will be using a headset. This thread is definitely helpful.




  8. #8
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    250
    Rep Power
    51
    I take it since my Optical Cable is still plugged in, it overrides my USB headset?

    I changed these settings to Logitech USB Headset and I see no change at all. Do I need to reboot or reset the system?
    Current predictions: Gas Prices going up soon - Taxes going up - Price of energy UP - Summer '09 -
    End Result: Chaos - Typed 01-04-2009
    Games:
    - GTA4 - FC2 - Vegas2 - Fallout 3 - COD5 -

  9. #9
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    What is confusing about this info (which is exactly word for word what I get from Sony Customer Support on the issue) is that headset only VOICE audio is available through the headset. No in game, music or other things can be audible when using Bluetooth or USB headset.

    For us that want sound from our PS3 directly to our headsets are out of luck.

  10. #10
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    518
    Rep Power
    47
    hey guys, i purchased a motorola h500 bluetooth headset... i'm waintg for it to be delivered... i have a question..
    can i hear the whole game sound on it, or just the other people witch have microphone speaking?

  11. #11
    Superior Member
    Paul1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    24
    Posts
    980
    Rep Power
    55
    Is there anyway to register your bluetooth headset so that if you are in the middle of cod4 or any game that you can just switch it on and it will connect. My mates jabra one does it, i have a Motorolla one
    "You'll Never Walk Alone"
    Celtic F.C 1888



  12. #12
    Newbie
    Kevster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Age
    42
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulMartin1967 View Post
    Is there anyway to register your bluetooth headset so that if you are in the middle of cod4 or any game that you can just switch it on and it will connect. My mates jabra one does it, i have a Motorolla one
    Hi i have a GioTeck Bluetooth Wireless Headset and once registered and set up on the 'Audio Devices' settings bit, it can ALWAYS be switched on mid game when playing COD 4 etc.

    Hope yours can do the same!

  13. #13

    error code 10080009

    my ps3 wont connect to my headset even though it is registered and the ps3 can detect it. it keeps saying error code 10080009.

    any suggestions?
    thanx

    PSN id:Its-Shane

  14. #14
    Newbie
    ImmortalOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    On The Moon
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0
    psn coming back online around tuesday yes!!

  15. #15
    i have madcatz black ops headset from sell if n e wants it paid 180 for it offers

  16. #16
    ConorPSU
    Guest
    I sold my could be bothered with it

  17. #17
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    PSN ID
    atlifreyr95
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    ...

  18. #18
    Great guide!

  19. #19
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    PSN ID
    Vivency
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    thanks dude super helpful

  20. #20
    I just wanna know what the best headphones are dependant on reliance and Quality?

  21. #21
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    40
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0
    i have the saitek GH20 vibration headset and it has 2 jacks which i plug into my tv and i can hear the sound from my ps3 in my headphones but i also plug the usb into the ps3 but my headset is not picked up so i cant use the mic. can anyone help me?

  22. #22
    Newbie
    FOL3YF3LLA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0
    Yo guys im new hear so still tryin to find ma way round... Ive been having problems with my headset recently, it was fine a few days ago but now it doesn't work with Cod5. I checked my internet connection to check it wasnt that an it says that I may have problems with communication with some games. I don't understand why one day it was working next day it wasn't. If someone could mail me with some help that'd be gr8, oh good furum by the way im very impressed....probably be even more impressed when i know my way round
    CHESTER CITY
    FOOTBALL CLUB

  23. #23
    Forum Guru

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    22
    Posts
    3,850
    Rep Power
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by FOL3YF3LLA View Post
    Yo guys im new hear so still tryin to find ma way round... Ive been having problems with my headset recently, it was fine a few days ago but now it doesn't work with Cod5. I checked my internet connection to check it wasnt that an it says that I may have problems with communication with some games. I don't understand why one day it was working next day it wasn't. If someone could mail me with some help that'd be gr8, oh good furum by the way im very impressed....probably be even more impressed when i know my way round
    Did you make sure the headset was on and workign before you entered the game? Sometimes if I just turn on my PS3, my headset won't connect so I have to manually connect it via 'Accessories.' Even then sometimes I enter a game (eg - COD:WAW) and it still doesn't work. So I quit game, return to 'Accessories' and start again until I get it to work thus concluding my 'lay-man's guide to getting your headset to work.'

    On a slightly unrelated note, I miss Jack. This thread is just one example of how amazing that boy was, yet we drove him to N4G. Legends never die!


  24. #24
    Newbie
    FOL3YF3LLA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Age
    22
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhysivich View Post
    Did you make sure the headset was on and workign before you entered the game? Sometimes if I just turn on my PS3, my headset won't connect so I have to manually connect it via 'Accessories.' Even then sometimes I enter a game (eg - COD:WAW) and it still doesn't work. So I quit game, return to 'Accessories' and start again until I get it to work thus concluding my 'lay-man's guide to getting your headset to work.'
    soz didn't explain the problem very well. It works fine on all my other games, I can hear people and they can hear me, but on CoD5 people can hear me but I cant hear them, even if my headset is disconnected no sound comes through the TV. Ive also tryed maually reconnecting my headset already.
    CHESTER CITY
    FOOTBALL CLUB

  25. #25
    Forum Guru

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    22
    Posts
    3,850
    Rep Power
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by FOL3YF3LLA View Post
    soz didn't explain the problem very well. It works fine on all my other games, I can hear people and they can hear me, but on CoD5 people can hear me but I cant hear them, even if my headset is disconnected no sound comes through the TV. Ive also tryed maually reconnecting my headset already.
    Then I have no idea haha. Maybe it's something to do with the COD output device? Aside from that, I'm sort of out of my depth. Sorry bud, I hope somebody else can be more helpful.


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 6 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 6 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.