Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    39
    Posts
    662
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    412 (0 Banked)

    Will a US PS3 work in Dubai?

    I have a friend that would like to buy his nephew a PS3 from the US and ship it to him in Dubai. He is concerned as to whether there will be any issues with the power supply and Blu-ray movies. Here are the questions:

    1) I remember a switch on the back of the PS3 that can switch between 110/240V but am not 100% sure as I'm at work right now, but does the power supply work with 240V?

    2) I remember reading that the games are not region coded, but can someone confirm this?

    3) Also, how is the region-code set for blu-ray movies? Are they pre-set on the machine when you buy them or is it set after activating?

    4) Are there any issues between NTSC and PAL when using HDMI?

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Age
    32
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    132 (0 Banked)
    Sorry i cant answer the first question but i do know this:
    -All the games are region free.
    -For Blu-ray movies look for region code A(region 1).
    -For DVDs also look for region code 1.

  3. #3
    Elite Guru
    TAZ427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    PSN ID
    TAZ427
    Age
    43
    Posts
    5,095
    Rep Power
    74
    Points
    21,115 (0 Banked)
    The supply will work 110/220v 60Hz/50Hz so yes it will work in Dubai.

    The Blu Ray and DVD region codes are different and yes it's supported on the PS3
    Here's are details on the BR regions http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blu-ray_Disc#Region_codes

    And here it is on the DVD region http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dvd_region

    TAZ427



  4. #4
    Power Member
    Kopkiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    15,968
    Rep Power
    109
    Points
    6,467 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    As said above, blu-rays are meant to be region locked, but you will find a good majority are actually region free despite what the labels say.

    Use this website, it's awesome and covers every blu-ray and whether it is region locked or not.

    http://bluray.liesinc.net/

  5. #5
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    271 (0 Banked)
    whats the worst that can happen it doesnt then the guy gets a ps3 for himself. good deal.

  6. #6
    Apprentice
    hans1080's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Age
    31
    Posts
    164
    Rep Power
    49
    Points
    261 (0 Banked)
    I did a bit of reading and it seems that all but the Japanese Ps3s are multi-voltage. However if you're in Dubai it might still be a better idea to buy an European PS3 as the € is relatively low right now and you will have the correct region code.

    PS3/180'' screen (Mitsubishi HC4900)
    My Blog

  7. #7
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    39
    Posts
    662
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    412 (0 Banked)
    Guys, thanks for all of your help. I will pass this onto my friend.

    Edit: I had another question. Are there any issues between NTSC and PAL when using HDMI?

  8. #8
    SnowHawk
    Guest
    no there is no issues using a hdmi on either a Pal Ps3 or an NTSE Ps3.

  9. #9
    Apprentice
    hans1080's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Age
    31
    Posts
    164
    Rep Power
    49
    Points
    261 (0 Banked)
    The only PAL/NTSC issues may arise when you try to play some NTSC/PAL content on a non-HD TV which only supports the other format. But since you can access the shops for any region from any PS3, why would you do that?

    PS3/180'' screen (Mitsubishi HC4900)
    My Blog

  10. #10
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    183
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    259 (0 Banked)
    1) US ps3 says 110 only but it works with 220v cuz i tried it
    2) all PS3 games (not ps2) are region free... you can play PAL, JAPAN games on the US system
    3) if you buy a US ps3, only region A movies will work
    4)ive not seen any problems in standard def, but for the safe side as long as you are running at resolution 720p+ you wont have any issues cuz its unified

  11. #11
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Just wanted to make clear, BC isn't region free. If he cares about backwards compatibility, he'll only be able to play US games.

  12. #12
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    39
    Posts
    662
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    412 (0 Banked)
    Great, thanks for all of the help guys!!!

  13. #13
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    219 (0 Banked)
    You just need the power converter to work any playstation versions in UAE.
    US playstations are works in 220v. We have to convert it to 110v.
    Buy PlayStation 4 in Dubai

  14. #14
    Dedicated Member
    rene2kx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,045
    Rep Power
    29
    Points
    13,270 (0 Banked)
    I got a PS3 from the u.s. and am from asia , from another country which has similar voltage specs to uae (220v~), my console says 120v on the back and is not universal voltage, so i have to use a step down voltage converter (110/120-220) to make the console work. I got this ps3 slim in 2009, so unless sony has changed voltage specs on the u.s. ps3 since then, you'll need a voltage converter.

    ps3 games though are region free so they'll all work without any issue. Blu-ray movies and dvd's are region locked, blu-ray region A , dvd region 1 (u.s.), so other region encoded movies won't work unless they are region free.

  15. #15
    Veteran
    bobtheduck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,894
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    4,521 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by rene2kx View Post
    I got a PS3 from the u.s. and am from asia , from another country which has similar voltage specs to uae (220v~), my console says 120v on the back and is not universal voltage, so i have to use a step down voltage converter (110/120-220) to make the console work. I got this ps3 slim in 2009, so unless sony has changed voltage specs on the u.s. ps3 since then, you'll need a voltage converter.
    Quote Originally Posted by priscirabzo View Post
    You just need the power converter to work any playstation versions in UAE.
    US playstations are works in 220v. We have to convert it to 110v.
    Buy PlayStation 4 in Dubai
    http://community.us.playstation.com/.../td-p/30448533

    You don't need an adapter. The internal transformer is universal. Not sure why the slim lists it as 120 only, but it's universal (110-250v, 50-60hz)

  16. #16
    Dedicated Member
    rene2kx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,045
    Rep Power
    29
    Points
    13,270 (0 Banked)
    No^ that information does not seem to be officially verified (ie by sony). Electrical devices (including those that sony manufactures) that actually house a universal psu have no reason not to state 110-240v 50/60hz on the power labelling. My sony hd camcorder, also bought from the states, mentions the universal voltage specification because it is actually so (i learned that the ps4 also has a universal spec label). However ps3 doesn't, the american model states 120v 60 hz on the back so if you fry the psu sony can't be held liable. I'm stating this because it has happened with me before with a ps3, to the op, do not insert the u.s console directly into the power socket if you are from a 220v country and use a step down converter. If you were to do the opposite, as in plugging a 220v console directly in an american socket, you'd at least be on the safer side and won't fry the psu as all you'd be doing is feeding it lesser voltage. But an american/japanese/taiwanese voltage spec'd ps3 console plugged directly in a 220v socket will end up frying the psu because you'd be feeding it about double the voltage.
    Last edited by rene2kx; 12-22-2013 at 08:39.

  17. #17
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    here
    Posts
    325
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    2,021 (0 Banked)
    IDK, it seems that some ps3 are multivoltage and some arenīt.

    http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=3326

    I could have sworn that the phats were totally confirmed as mulivoltage yet I just checked my fat and the label says
    220-240v
    wierd

    @OP, why take a chance. power converters ainīt that expensive and it might save you money and alot of stress in the long run.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.