Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    603
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    3,202 (0 Banked)

    Adjustable PS3 screen size??

    I can't find a way on my PS3 anywhere.

    It sure seems that there should be a way to adjust the vertical and horizontal size on the PS3.

    My widescreen HDTV has these settings, but they have to be done by taking the back cover off and messing with adjustments on the circuit board. So that route is rather complex.

    Is there not any way if making these adjustments on the PS3 as some games I cannot see stuff at the very edges of the screen and I'd like to shorten the vert and horiz size a little. I am using a HDMI connection and have the PS3 set at optimum settings at 1080i as my TV is a 1080i HDTV.. is that makes any difference.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.


    - Zaxx

  2. #2
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)

    Same Probelm - Little Big Planet

    I just hooked up my new ps3 to a new panasonic 46" hdtv. when playing little big planet, i lost about 1.5 inches of the game on all sides.

  3. #3
    Apprentice
    Edeuinu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    30
    Posts
    484
    Rep Power
    46
    Points
    259 (0 Banked)
    It seems to be game specific as far as settings, I can't find anything within PS3 itself. I have the same problem.
    'One day patriotic thugs will dance to songs of justice and give apologies for immeasurably acted perfection'

  4. #4
    Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    149
    Rep Power
    45
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    This isn't an issue with the PS3, it's an overscan issue with the TVs. Some games allow you to tweak this from the PS3 end, but it's not available from the XMB.

  5. #5
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I also have a similar problem. I cannot see things at the bottom, top and sides of the screen. I am using the usual AV cable, white and yellow on an old TV. Can somebody please tell me what settings I should use? Cheers.

  6. #6
    Still NOT Better Than Cuguy
    VintageElise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Super place called Wales.
    Age
    22
    Posts
    26,511
    Rep Power
    166
    Points
    98,082 (0 Banked)
    Items Bruce WillisBrad PittChristian BaleInfinity WardGoogle ChromeModern Warfare 3AppleFacebook LogoUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Nearly all games have the option to do this. Usually in the options > video sections. I myself have to do it for most games.

    Add me on Steam: VintageElise

  7. #7
    Dedicated Member
    terminator12259's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,438
    Rep Power
    53
    Points
    399 (0 Banked)
    that is really wierd my tv has never done that, and no 1080i has nothing to do with it. i would say it is the game you are playing.

  8. #8
    Elite Guru
    HaTriX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    21
    Posts
    5,189
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    126 (0 Banked)
    Games like warhawk would do this to me, but luckily it had a resizing option. It was either way to big or way to small for the screen.


    Athlon 64 X2 6000+ | PI-AM2RS780G Mobo | 2x2GB DDR2 800 | HD 4830 @ 655/1025, Rosewill 550W PSU | Samsung 500GB 7200RPM
    | Windows 7 x64 | Onkyo HT-S3100 5.1

  9. #9
    Master Sage
    Kyaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    18
    Posts
    13,768
    Rep Power
    98
    Points
    1,215 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by mct View Post
    I just hooked up my new ps3 to a new panasonic 46" hdtv. when playing little big planet, i lost about 1.5 inches of the game on all sides.
    I also experienced it but like VintageElise said go into the display options and reduce the screen size. Hope it helps


  10. #10
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    How do you change the screen size in the settings? I can only find something that says 4:3 or 16:9, and neither work?

  11. #11
    18days
    Guest
    I also have this problem on little big planet. It is definitely a PSŁ problem as i have four user accounts on my PS3 and it is only my profile that is affected.

    Does anyone know how to resolve this problem. I would rather not have to delete my profile & start again.

  12. #12
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    34
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Does anyone have any issues with flash framerates, I'm usint a 42" TV with HDMI in 1080p.

    Flash frame rates are really low, I can't play any content on newgrounds or armor games because frame rates just grind to 1-2 fps.

    I've searched around and no one else seems to be having this issue but I don't see how it can just be me with the problem.

    My ps3 is fully patched up. Any advice would be much appreciated. I would start my own thread but can't until I've posted 25 replys to other posts.

  13. #13
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    8 (0 Banked)
    Does this happen on any sort of screen technology (LCD, Plasma, DLP, CRT) or just some technologies?

  14. #14
    1lyi1
    Guest
    This is overscan, change your TV settings.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.