Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 212 ... LastLast
Results 276 to 300 of 347
  1. #276
    Forum Elder
    Lionel Hutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,964
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    269 (0 Banked)
    Maybe it's my ISP (Time Warner), but for whatever reason, the download speed on my PS3 without the proxy is now what is advertised from my ISP (10Mbps download).

    Usually my computer is on all the time anyway, so running the proxy was never a big deal, but now I'm just wondering about the cause of the slowdown. I'll monitor the speeds without the proxy and see if they hold up.
    60GB PS3 on 11/17/06
    40GB PS3 on 11/17/07
    120GB PS3 Slim 10/1/09

  2. #277
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Hutz View Post
    Maybe it's my ISP (Time Warner), but for whatever reason, the download speed on my PS3 without the proxy is now what is advertised from my ISP (10Mbps download).

    Usually my computer is on all the time anyway, so running the proxy was never a big deal, but now I'm just wondering about the cause of the slowdown. I'll monitor the speeds without the proxy and see if they hold up.
    Whoa... hold up a second... you got faster speeds than your advertised line speed?
    That shouldn't happen except for *maybe* the first few megabytes of downloading.

  3. #278
    Dedicated Member
    SDiablo123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Age
    20
    Posts
    1,280
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    188 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rekmon View Post

    Couldn't you at least make them 25 constructive/useful posts?
    Haha, pwnt him.

    Question, i dont have the My Network Settings. or w/e its called AFTER u do the cmd ipconfig part. i got that down, but i dont have the icon thingy. where else would it be located?


    PSN --> DahrkKill
    XBL GT --> DahrkKill Add me on xbox/ps3 if you can

  4. #279
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by SDiablo123 View Post
    Haha, pwnt him.

    Question, i dont have the My Network Settings. or w/e its called AFTER u do the cmd ipconfig part. i got that down, but i dont have the icon thingy. where else would it be located?
    In that case go to the control panel and then to network connections instead, then just continue on with the rest of the directions.

  5. #280
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    22
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I thought I was the only one who had a slow connection

  6. #281
    acookster101
    Guest
    Thanks for the informative post, definitely helped my speeds

  7. #282
    Member
    MACABRE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    138
    Rep Power
    44
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    could sum1 PLEASE explain why my internet load is slow even doe im at 100%singnal strength? im just having the problem now and im worried sum1 has hacked my S@#T.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  8. #283
    Dedicated Member
    SDiablo123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Age
    20
    Posts
    1,280
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    188 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rekmon View Post
    In that case go to the control panel and then to network connections instead, then just continue on with the rest of the directions.
    Aiight, ill give it a try, ill let you guys know how it goes.


    PSN --> DahrkKill
    XBL GT --> DahrkKill Add me on xbox/ps3 if you can

  9. #284
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by kaiserw0lf View Post
    I thought I was the only one who had a slow connection
    Nope, a lot of people get less speed with their ps3 on decent connections.
    Quote Originally Posted by acookster101 View Post
    Thanks for the informative post, definitely helped my speeds
    Sweet, glad to hear that.
    Quote Originally Posted by SDiablo123 View Post
    Aiight, ill give it a try, ill let you guys know how it goes.
    Please post back (a lot of people don't)

  10. #285
    Newbie
    espada_assassin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    My speed is good at the moment.

  11. #286
    Super Elite
    iLake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,117
    Rep Power
    49
    Points
    1,483 (0 Banked)
    I download @ 950kbps - 1MB/sec without the proxy enabled.
    R.I.P Aziz "Zyzz" Sergeyevich Shavershian. Forever 'mirin, brah. (1989 - 2011)


    Starting weight: 320lbs. (145kg) | GOAL WEIGHT: 180lbs. (79kg) | Current weight: 199lbs. (90kg)

  12. #287
    Mr. Ten-A-Key!
    PsychoMantis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,343
    Rep Power
    86
    Points
    1,415 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by karbineftw View Post
    whats the program called? Prvoxy it sounds like you said but what?
    The name of the program is called Privoxy and a thread similar to this has already been posted.

  13. #288
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by PsychoMantis View Post
    The name of the program is called Privoxy and a thread similar to this has already been posted.
    Really? I've never seen it.

  14. #289
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    19
    Posts
    51
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    237 (0 Banked)
    thanks alot

  15. #290
    Superior Member
    xXSUPA_LAMEXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Age
    23
    Posts
    923
    Rep Power
    39
    Points
    927 (0 Banked)
    when i download stuff on my pc, it gets around 250kb/s. when i download stuff on my ps3 it is significantly slower. like 25kb/s. im on a network that requires special circumstances to get online on a game console (360, wii, ps3) could it be that this network caps the download speeds on consoles? i had to sign up my ps3 and enter its mac address on my networks website in order to log onto the psn.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cliché-Skating View Post
    i think charities that help kids with AIDs in Africa are pointless and stupid.

  16. #291
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    38
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Lol my PC download speed is like 500KB/s - 1MB/s.On my PS3 is twice as fast about more than 2MB/s.

  17. #292
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by codfather11 View Post
    thanks alot
    Quote Originally Posted by allenborder View Post
    Hi all,
    I also want to say thanks...
    Glad it helped you two

    Quote Originally Posted by xXSUPA_LAMEXx View Post
    when i download stuff on my pc, it gets around 250kb/s. when i download stuff on my ps3 it is significantly slower. like 25kb/s. im on a network that requires special circumstances to get online on a game console (360, wii, ps3) could it be that this network caps the download speeds on consoles? i had to sign up my ps3 and enter its mac address on my networks website in order to log onto the psn.
    I'd say check to see if the ports you need open for the PSN are properly forwarded first.
    Quote Originally Posted by JeNeI View Post
    Lol my PC download speed is like 500KB/s - 1MB/s.On my PS3 is twice as fast about more than 2MB/s.
    Well that's one we don't hear very often

  18. #293
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Age
    22
    Posts
    54
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    243 (0 Banked)
    this looks good will need 2 try it out soon but it looks like a fuss to set it up also have a few questions on it but i will wait till im on the pc as i am on my ps3 atm

  19. #294
    Member
    Thanatos465's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Age
    27
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Doesnt run with windows 7 64 bit

  20. #295
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by Thanatos465 View Post
    Doesnt run with windows 7 64 bit
    Good to know, thanks. If I ever get my hands on W7 64 bit I'll see if I can't work it out.

  21. #296
    Superior Member
    dupowdis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    I get around...
    Age
    23
    Posts
    623
    Rep Power
    39
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I have a question...On Privoxy, when you have to replace the listen address with your IP address, do we replace it with the static address we assigned? Or the normal address we always have?
    under construction. come back soon.

  22. #297
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by dupowdis View Post
    I have a question...On Privoxy, when you have to replace the listen address with your IP address, do we replace it with the static address we assigned? Or the normal address we always have?
    You'll need to edit the "127.0.0.1" with the static IP address you set for your PC. The :8118 part should stay.

  23. #298
    ReipsFeli
    Guest

    Last Page

    One god knows!

  24. #299
    Newbie
    mrredeyes2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    i have a question...wen i switch to proxy server on the ps3 it asks for a address-where do i get this and is my port number supposed to be 8080??? someone help plz and let me know if thats all i have to do-(put in info)

  25. #300
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by mrredeyes2 View Post
    i have a question...wen i switch to proxy server on the ps3 it asks for a address-where do i get this and is my port number supposed to be 8080??? someone help plz and let me know if thats all i have to do-(put in info)
    All the information you require is in the spoiler tags in the very first post in this thread. But to answer your question in a nutshell: the ip address for the proxy server will be the static IP address you've assigned to your PC, and the default port number is 8118.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.