Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    93
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    468 (0 Banked)

    playtv not working

    my playtv has stopped working, i have checked the aeriel and its not that, also checked all the connections and even gone as far as to reinstall the disc. we had a couple of storms here yesterday but they werent bad ones and nothing else seems to be affected.
    what could the problem be? any help would be greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    23
    Posts
    419
    Rep Power
    48
    Points
    245 (0 Banked)
    What do you mean by stopped working? Helps to know exactly what's going wrong :P

  3. #3
    Superior Member
    Calabrese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    34
    Posts
    754
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Is the PlayTV software loading? Have you tried plugging the same aerial going onto PlayTV into a standard TV to see if you have signal? Also if you have a aerial booster or spliter, make sure that is working correctly.

  4. #4
    Superior Member
    Taylor1981's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    33
    Posts
    709
    Rep Power
    62
    Points
    303 (0 Banked)
    I would be surprised if it was a PlayTV hardware fault... I mean, it feels like there's not much in the little black box lol

  5. #5
    Dedicated Member
    Labiiiil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,200
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    124 (0 Banked)
    Its proberbly the weather because my freeview was out aswel.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  6. #6
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    93
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    468 (0 Banked)
    ive plugged the aeriel into the back of the tv and i got the freeview on there but when i turn on play tv all the sofware is there but theres nothing showing on the epg and i cant get any channels. when i did the channel scan it said it couldnt find anything on that frequency. when it stopped working yesterday i put it down to the weather but i still got no channels now. its starting to look like i need to buy a new one as i love my playtv and cant do without it for long

  7. #7
    Superior Member
    acekat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    34
    Posts
    606
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    582 (0 Banked)
    Make sure you set your location before doing the scan. I've had the location get reset before, and it stopped finding any channels as a result.

  8. #8
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    23
    Posts
    419
    Rep Power
    48
    Points
    245 (0 Banked)
    Might be the aerial cable isn't quite inserted fully? I need to twist mine to make sure it's getting the best connection possible...

  9. #9
    Superior Member
    Calabrese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    34
    Posts
    754
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    ive plugged the aeriel into the back of the tv and i got the freeview on there but when i turn on play tv all the sofware is there but theres nothing showing on the epg and i cant get any channels. when i did the channel scan it said it couldnt find anything on that frequency. when it stopped working yesterday i put it down to the weather but i still got no channels now. its starting to look like i need to buy a new one as i love my playtv and cant do without it for long
    It might be worth giving Sony a call, if your TV works on the same cable, but you cannot pick up any channels on PlayTV it could be a hardware issue. Double check you region setting just to be sure, but I think its probably worth phoning Sony. PlayTV hasn't been out 12 months yet so you should get a replacement free of charge irrelevant of where you have a receipt or not.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.