Page 1 of 2 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 29
  1. #1
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)

    60GB PS3 dead, no power at all - FIXED!!!!!

    Any one experience this issue? I had my 60GB PS3 paused in a game. I had to run out for a little bit, came back, and there was no power at all. I switched the power off in the back, then back on and had the red light lit. I then touched the power button, it turned green and was starting, then just died again. Now no matter what I do, there is no power at all to the PS3.

    Anyone no a way of fixing it without paying Sony $150?

    Anyway of manually getting my game disc out of the PS3 without any power?

    I guess my PS3 is just telling me that I should get a slim

  2. #2
    Forum Sage
    Agriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PSN ID
    Agriel
    Age
    35
    Posts
    9,377
    Rep Power
    95
    Points
    13,987 (0 Banked)
    Items PS3 Slim LogoRaidenNoctisFinal Fantasy XI OnlineFinal Fantasy Versus XIIINaughty Dog
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    power supply might have failed I doubt that can be fixed with out sony tho


  3. #3
    Provehito in Altum
    V3nom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,667
    Rep Power
    79
    Points
    2,156 (0 Banked)
    that's really weird.

    are the connections at the back OK?

    you should try and trade it in for a slim if you can't get it fixed.
    Rangers - Arsenal - Real Madrid - Loyal

  4. #4
    Super Elite
    ash91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    PSN ID
    AshSteHol
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,376
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    1,869 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Call Sony.
    KING OF POP
    1958 - 2009



  5. #5
    Veteran
    Bostonmess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,533
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    4,964 (0 Banked)
    The only way I know of getting it out is dissassembly. Fairly easy, guides available on the net.

    While you're in there, if you know what you're doing (or know someone) try prodding about with a circuit tester. I'd guess the power supply has died.

    WARNING: It should be obvious that you can die if you don't know what you're doing.

    If it turns out to be that and you can get your hands on an exact replacement, it's not difficult at all to to swap it out.
    My game scores, based on how much I enjoyed playing 'em: Resistance: 93% Motorstorm/PR: 90%/90% RB6V: 45% NGS: 30% Oblivion: 30% COD3: 55% SC Double agent: 25% Full Auto: 0% Ridge Racer 7: 10%. Darkness: 88% FEAR: 70% Fight Night R3: 30% GRAW2: 78% Heavenly Sword: 84% Warhawk: 85% COD4: 92% Uncharted: 103% Everbody's Golf: 93% Haze 66% MGS4 72% GT5p+G25=100% Fallout 3 92% Infamous 100% U2AT: 115%

  6. #6
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I had a similar problem with my 60gb. My fan cut off! I just called Sony and they sent a courier out with a refurbed 60gb and took my broken one.

  7. #7
    Mr. Ten-A-Key!
    PsychoMantis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,343
    Rep Power
    85
    Points
    1,415 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by psunittany View Post
    Anyone no a way of fixing it without paying Sony $150?
    I suggest you go ahead and pay the $150 that's what I would do. If you really know what your doing and think you can do it then by all means but it isn't like fixing a flat tire or a minor thing around the house its a beast hardware wise.

  8. #8
    Forum Elder
    ScorpionT16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    23
    Posts
    2,959
    Rep Power
    62
    Points
    265 (0 Banked)
    wait wait wait.... before sending it unplug the unit and let it rest for 24hours, it might have just over heated, dont fiddle with it, just let it rest and post back after 24hrs...

    btw 3 red lights blinking means overheating, 1 could mean its just too hot, wait and see simple.




  9. #9
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I tried everything, so far without taking it apart (except harddrive):
    - Tried unplugging, plugging back in.
    - Tried a new power cord
    - let it rest unplugged for over 12 hours (should be enough to have cooled down)
    - vacuumed the dust out (not much there)
    - swapped my 250GB drive for the original 60GB drive

    Nothing. No power.

    IanCrawford, I am assuming that your PS3 was still within warranty. Mine is way out of warranty now.

    Anyone have a link to instructions on how to disassemble the PS3? What about schematics of it?

  10. #10
    Elite Member
    hillybilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,686
    Rep Power
    50
    Points
    6,040 (0 Banked)
    Do you literally mean there is no power when you turn it on? Or does the red light still show on the console but it dosent boot up to screen?
    If the red light shows and then bleeps when you try and turn it on then turns itself off again then im afraid your PS3 is broke... if the PS3 wont turn on at all (red light dosent show) then you could have simply blown the fuse and all that needs is a replacement fuse in the plug

  11. #11
    Forum Elder
    lordAlucard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    In a world far far away
    PSN ID
    Airiaen
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,978
    Rep Power
    49
    Points
    39,470 (0 Banked)
    Sorry

  12. #12
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by hillybilly View Post
    Do you literally mean there is no power when you turn it on? Or does the red light still show on the console but it dosent boot up to screen?
    If the red light shows and then bleeps when you try and turn it on then turns itself off again then im afraid your PS3 is broke... if the PS3 wont turn on at all (red light dosent show) then you could have simply blown the fuse and all that needs is a replacement fuse in the plug
    What do you mean by the "fuse in the plug"? Where is this fuse? I assumed that it is the power supply. Yes, there is no power, no lights, nothing. If you are talking about the fuse for the wall outlet, or something external to the PS3, then no, that is not the problem. I tried other outlets that work fine, and the connection it was plugged into (UPS) works fine. No power surges that I am aware of either.

  13. #13
    Veteran
    Bostonmess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,533
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    4,964 (0 Banked)
    Here's a link for PS3 dissassembly:

    http://www.llamma.com/PS3/repair/PS3...y_tutorial.htm

    There'll be some vids on youtube as well no doubt.

    The first screw is the worst. If you stand it on its side, that's where you'll find it. It's a torx t10 security under the sticker that says "Warranty void if removed."

    I used a standard Torx t10 but I've heard people say you can do it with the right sized flattie.

    The face plate then just slides off exposing about eight screws. Look for the arrows indicating where they are. One of them's short, marked by an "S."

    I think it just pulls up from the back then. Careful with the memory card readers. They're attached by a cable so don't rip it off. You can disconnect it easily enough, it's connected by a plug that just flips up to release it.
    My game scores, based on how much I enjoyed playing 'em: Resistance: 93% Motorstorm/PR: 90%/90% RB6V: 45% NGS: 30% Oblivion: 30% COD3: 55% SC Double agent: 25% Full Auto: 0% Ridge Racer 7: 10%. Darkness: 88% FEAR: 70% Fight Night R3: 30% GRAW2: 78% Heavenly Sword: 84% Warhawk: 85% COD4: 92% Uncharted: 103% Everbody's Golf: 93% Haze 66% MGS4 72% GT5p+G25=100% Fallout 3 92% Infamous 100% U2AT: 115%

  14. #14
    Superior Member
    SYLiam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    24
    Posts
    979
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    10,342 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by psunittany View Post
    I guess my PS3 is just telling me that I should get a slim
    Funnily enough, this is why I haven't touched my PS3!

    Currently Playing:
    Dragon Age: Origins

  15. #15
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I replaced my power supply and it is working fine again! Long live the 60GB PS3!!! Still want a slim, but not going to get rid of my 60GB

  16. #16
    Veteran
    Bostonmess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,533
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    4,964 (0 Banked)
    You opened it up and replaced the internal power supply unit?
    My game scores, based on how much I enjoyed playing 'em: Resistance: 93% Motorstorm/PR: 90%/90% RB6V: 45% NGS: 30% Oblivion: 30% COD3: 55% SC Double agent: 25% Full Auto: 0% Ridge Racer 7: 10%. Darkness: 88% FEAR: 70% Fight Night R3: 30% GRAW2: 78% Heavenly Sword: 84% Warhawk: 85% COD4: 92% Uncharted: 103% Everbody's Golf: 93% Haze 66% MGS4 72% GT5p+G25=100% Fallout 3 92% Infamous 100% U2AT: 115%

  17. #17
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonmess View Post
    You opened it up and replaced the internal power supply unit?
    Yep. Pretty easy.

  18. #18
    Veteran
    Bostonmess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,533
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    4,964 (0 Banked)
    Nice one. Where'd you get the part from?
    My game scores, based on how much I enjoyed playing 'em: Resistance: 93% Motorstorm/PR: 90%/90% RB6V: 45% NGS: 30% Oblivion: 30% COD3: 55% SC Double agent: 25% Full Auto: 0% Ridge Racer 7: 10%. Darkness: 88% FEAR: 70% Fight Night R3: 30% GRAW2: 78% Heavenly Sword: 84% Warhawk: 85% COD4: 92% Uncharted: 103% Everbody's Golf: 93% Haze 66% MGS4 72% GT5p+G25=100% Fallout 3 92% Infamous 100% U2AT: 115%

  19. #19
    Super Elite
    Daggers21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada, Newfoundland
    Age
    21
    Posts
    2,176
    Rep Power
    50
    Points
    3,548 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonmess View Post
    You opened it up and replaced the internal power supply unit?
    no i think he just used another power cable

  20. #20
    Superior Member
    tomqman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    542
    Rep Power
    41
    Points
    53 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonmess View Post
    Nice one. Where'd you get the part from?
    http://shop.ebay.co.uk/?_from=R40&_t...All-Categories

  21. #21
    PSU Editorial Assistant
    R3D D3V!L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan, England
    PSN ID
    Diablo_Rosso
    Age
    23
    Posts
    7,942
    Rep Power
    79
    Points
    15,356 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleManchester UnitedPlayStation
    I think my PS3 has had a power supply failure.

  22. #22
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Daggers21 View Post
    no i think he just used another power cable
    The chances of a power cable going are VERY unlikely. I did open it up and replace the power supply. I borrowed a friend's old PS3 that had bluray issues and took his power supply and put it in mine for now. I am waiting on one ordered from ebay. Once I get that, I will put that one in, put my friend's back in his, then give his old PS3 back.

  23. #23
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by R3D D3V!L View Post
    I think my PS3 has had a power supply failure.
    What is happening? When you turn on the switch on the back of the PS3, does the red standby light come on? If not, then there is a good chance it could be the power supply. Too bad you didn't live near me (USA), I would say bring it over, and we can try testing it.

  24. #24
    Veteran
    Bostonmess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,533
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    4,964 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by psunittany View Post
    The chances of a power cable going are VERY unlikely. I did open it up and replace the power supply. I borrowed a friend's old PS3 that had bluray issues and took his power supply and put it in mine for now. I am waiting on one ordered from ebay. Once I get that, I will put that one in, put my friend's back in his, then give his old PS3 back.
    You could try cleaning his lens while you're in there. I did it on a mate's and it's still going months later.

    http://www.psu.com/forums/showthread...hlight=crossed

    Watch the youtube link in that thread.

    It's not guaranteed to be that though. You could order him a new drive off ebay? Replacing one is as difficult as replacing a power supply. Just make sure it's the same sort though I reckon.
    My game scores, based on how much I enjoyed playing 'em: Resistance: 93% Motorstorm/PR: 90%/90% RB6V: 45% NGS: 30% Oblivion: 30% COD3: 55% SC Double agent: 25% Full Auto: 0% Ridge Racer 7: 10%. Darkness: 88% FEAR: 70% Fight Night R3: 30% GRAW2: 78% Heavenly Sword: 84% Warhawk: 85% COD4: 92% Uncharted: 103% Everbody's Golf: 93% Haze 66% MGS4 72% GT5p+G25=100% Fallout 3 92% Infamous 100% U2AT: 115%

  25. #25
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonmess View Post
    You could try cleaning his lens while you're in there. I did it on a mate's and it's still going months later.

    http://www.psu.com/forums/showthread...hlight=crossed

    Watch the youtube link in that thread.

    It's not guaranteed to be that though. You could order him a new drive off ebay? Replacing one is as difficult as replacing a power supply. Just make sure it's the same sort though I reckon.
    Not sure if this was directed at me or not. If so, I am no longer having any issues. The issue was the power supply. I purchased a new one and replaced it. All is well with my 60GB PS3 again. Thanks for the info, though.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.