View Poll Results: Will you purchase the new iPad?

Voters
68. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes.

    14 20.59%
  • no

    34 50.00%
  • Undecided.

    13 19.12%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 401 of 403 FirstFirst ... 391401 ... LastLast
Results 10,001 to 10,025 of 10059
  1. #10001
    Apprentice
    Bodie_CI5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PSN ID
    Bodie_CI5
    Age
    39
    Posts
    181
    Rep Power
    57
    Items ApplePS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by MjW View Post
    Give Wine a try. I just installed AoEII HD with Wineskin on my mac.

    I read you can even install the windows steam with wine, though I haven't got that far.


    On the move with Tapatalk
    I used to run WoW in the old days with wine (linux). Worked a treat back then. Steam's been releasing games too, now. I installed Civ on my MBA - screen is a bit too small for it though. I'll be purchasing a HDMI connector and run it clamshell mode till I get the iMac. I wonder if anyone's been able to run Stalker under wine.

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    Yeah, I've been using Mac for about 10 years. Everything seems so much simpler on Mac. I have the 15" Retina Macbook Pro. Best screen I've ever seen on a laptop and the SSD is a dream. But the thing I love most is the build quality of the products. This thing is so thin but doesn't feel cheap like other laptops I've looked at.

    Yeah, the games are getting better, but they are still far and few between. No coincidence that when I went to Mac I jumped over to console gaming. Of course, PC gaming was nearly dead at the time, but frankly I don't regret it at all even with the PC gaming revival.

    I'd be interested to hear how that turns out. I tried doing some gaming through Parallels, but the performance just isn't there.
    Yes, you are very correct about the build quality. Just holding it while taking it from my bedroom to the TV room, I can't get over the aluminium. It truly feels like a treat! Even the boxing is beautiful - right down to the styrofoam!

    My main laptop was a VAIO which I've had for approximately 18 months. I can't go back to it - this little beast is like a dream come true. I can only imagine what your MBPr is like! And everything just works. Not sure what I'll do with the VAIO - might keep it in storage for a rainy day, or I might sell it to my work. I'll see. I dread having to use Windows at work now. It was the same when I first started working - coming from the Amiga, I used to see Windows as dry. But, as you write about the gaming revival, I saw Windows as something great. Now I just feel it to be dry again - not because it's the novelty factor, but I feel the same sensation as when I sit down to muck around on the miggy's we have here.

    My brother years ago had bought a MB, I think during the G5 era, or it may have been when Apple first went over to Intel. It was beautiful, he had it only for a short time and then it started suffering from memory leakage. The problem hadn't hit the news and forums just yet, so he sold it to a reseller (good deal too), but we were exposed to it for only a short time. We're still spewing, as a longer exposure might have led to a conversion ages ago.

    Heh, I was discussing the issue of gaming with my brother, he suggested I get the iMac and use the two current systems I have already for gaming - the PS3 & 4. Anything more exotic, I can just go over to my current main PC rig which could be put elsewhere in the house. But he doubts I'd ever yearn to go back to Windows - he's most probably right lol.

    Has anyone here tried VMWare Fusion for gaming?

    And of course, as SlackParrot wrote, there is always bootcamp, but I'd love to see more things running natively from within MacOS.
    <a href=http://s102.photobucket.com/user/Bodie_CI5/media/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif.html target=_blank><img src=http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m81/Bodie_CI5/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif border=0 alt= /></a>

  2. #10002
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    44
    Posts
    9,392
    Rep Power
    120
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodie_CI5 View Post
    I used to run WoW in the old days with wine (linux). Worked a treat back then. Steam's been releasing games too, now. I installed Civ on my MBA - screen is a bit too small for it though. I'll be purchasing a HDMI connector and run it clamshell mode till I get the iMac. I wonder if anyone's been able to run Stalker under wine.



    Yes, you are very correct about the build quality. Just holding it while taking it from my bedroom to the TV room, I can't get over the aluminium. It truly feels like a treat! Even the boxing is beautiful - right down to the styrofoam!

    My main laptop was a VAIO which I've had for approximately 18 months. I can't go back to it - this little beast is like a dream come true. I can only imagine what your MBPr is like! And everything just works. Not sure what I'll do with the VAIO - might keep it in storage for a rainy day, or I might sell it to my work. I'll see. I dread having to use Windows at work now. It was the same when I first started working - coming from the Amiga, I used to see Windows as dry. But, as you write about the gaming revival, I saw Windows as something great. Now I just feel it to be dry again - not because it's the novelty factor, but I feel the same sensation as when I sit down to muck around on the miggy's we have here.

    My brother years ago had bought a MB, I think during the G5 era, or it may have been when Apple first went over to Intel. It was beautiful, he had it only for a short time and then it started suffering from memory leakage. The problem hadn't hit the news and forums just yet, so he sold it to a reseller (good deal too), but we were exposed to it for only a short time. We're still spewing, as a longer exposure might have led to a conversion ages ago.

    Heh, I was discussing the issue of gaming with my brother, he suggested I get the iMac and use the two current systems I have already for gaming - the PS3 & 4. Anything more exotic, I can just go over to my current main PC rig which could be put elsewhere in the house. But he doubts I'd ever yearn to go back to Windows - he's most probably right lol.

    Has anyone here tried VMWare Fusion for gaming?

    And of course, as SlackParrot wrote, there is always bootcamp, but I'd love to see more things running natively from within MacOS.
    Yeah, I have Parallels and Fusion. Neither really work that great for gaming. Bootcamp is your best best.








  3. #10003
    Apprentice
    Bodie_CI5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PSN ID
    Bodie_CI5
    Age
    39
    Posts
    181
    Rep Power
    57
    Items ApplePS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    Yeah, I have Parallels and Fusion. Neither really work that great for gaming. Bootcamp is your best best.
    Yep, thanks Christopher. I'd assumed that would be the case even with VM.

    If I can ask a hopefully non off-topic question: with bootcamp, do you all install Win as a partition on the same drive or use a second drive? If on the same partition, does this cause any headaches when upgrading MacOS?
    <a href=http://s102.photobucket.com/user/Bodie_CI5/media/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif.html target=_blank><img src=http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m81/Bodie_CI5/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif border=0 alt= /></a>

  4. #10004
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    44
    Posts
    9,392
    Rep Power
    120
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodie_CI5 View Post
    Yep, thanks Christopher. I'd assumed that would be the case even with VM.

    If I can ask a hopefully non off-topic question: with bootcamp, do you all install Win as a partition on the same drive or use a second drive? If on the same partition, does this cause any headaches when upgrading MacOS?
    Same drive. No it doesn't cause any problems with Mac OS at all in my experience. Just have to keep in mind how much space you are going to need for Windows. I never tried it, but you may be able to install your games on a second drive for space considerations. Games take a good chunk as I'm sure you are aware. I'm on a 250GB SSD so space is a premium for me. Eventually, I got rid of windows altogether on my Mac and focused exclusively on console gaming. Just simpler that way for me.








  5. #10005
    Apprentice
    Bodie_CI5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PSN ID
    Bodie_CI5
    Age
    39
    Posts
    181
    Rep Power
    57
    Items ApplePS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    Same drive. No it doesn't cause any problems with Mac OS at all in my experience. Just have to keep in mind how much space you are going to need for Windows. I never tried it, but you may be able to install your games on a second drive for space considerations. Games take a good chunk as I'm sure you are aware. I'm on a 250GB SSD so space is a premium for me. Eventually, I got rid of windows altogether on my Mac and focused exclusively on console gaming. Just simpler that way for me.
    Hi Christopher, and thanks for your reply.

    My question was more out of curiosity than intent, as I will be still keeping my PC to run some of my games such as Skyrim, Stalker etc. But I will be installing the Blizzard trio for sure (). But, yes, I too will be focussing on PS4 gaming (and PS3 in the lounge).

    I cleaned out my room a little yesterday and took out the third PC - man, they create so much clutter. A million cords just for the one computer. Can't wait to get the iMac, I'll be able to cut swathes through the remaining morass of cords!
    <a href=http://s102.photobucket.com/user/Bodie_CI5/media/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif.html target=_blank><img src=http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m81/Bodie_CI5/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif border=0 alt= /></a>

  6. #10006
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    44
    Posts
    9,392
    Rep Power
    120
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodie_CI5 View Post
    Hi Christopher, and thanks for your reply.

    My question was more out of curiosity than intent, as I will be still keeping my PC to run some of my games such as Skyrim, Stalker etc. But I will be installing the Blizzard trio for sure (). But, yes, I too will be focussing on PS4 gaming (and PS3 in the lounge).

    I cleaned out my room a little yesterday and took out the third PC - man, they create so much clutter. A million cords just for the one computer. Can't wait to get the iMac, I'll be able to cut swathes through the remaining morass of cords!
    Those newer iMacs are awesome. What size screen are you looking at?








  7. #10007
    Apprentice
    Bodie_CI5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PSN ID
    Bodie_CI5
    Age
    39
    Posts
    181
    Rep Power
    57
    Items ApplePS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    Those newer iMacs are awesome. What size screen are you looking at?
    Yes, they are. Drool factors go off the counter!

    I'll be going for the 27". It'll be expensive as I want to go SSD only. (Unless R/W are faster on Fusion?? I haven't really researched this, yet)

    I asked on Macrumors but no one answered. I've a pair of white Audioengine A5+ currently hooked up to my PC via an ASUS Xonar Essence STX (internal). How can the speakers be attached to an iMac? Would I have to get an external equivalent of the above card?

    Sorry for the thousand questions
    <a href=http://s102.photobucket.com/user/Bodie_CI5/media/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif.html target=_blank><img src=http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m81/Bodie_CI5/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif border=0 alt= /></a>

  8. #10008
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    44
    Posts
    9,392
    Rep Power
    120
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodie_CI5 View Post
    Yes, they are. Drool factors go off the counter!

    I'll be going for the 27". It'll be expensive as I want to go SSD only. (Unless R/W are faster on Fusion?? I haven't really researched this, yet)

    I asked on Macrumors but no one answered. I've a pair of white Audioengine A5+ currently hooked up to my PC via an ASUS Xonar Essence STX (internal). How can the speakers be attached to an iMac? Would I have to get an external equivalent of the above card?

    Sorry for the thousand questions
    No idea about the audio card. This thread might help. Talks about iMacs and surround sound systems in general. Guessing that is the issue you are trying to figure out.


    I don't know what the R/W on Fusion is but it runs great on my Macbook with SSD. So does Parallels. I don't have the latest Fusion though as I've pretty much switched to Parallels.








  9. #10009
    Forum Overseer
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    39,465
    Rep Power
    249
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    I think he's talking about a fusion drive.

    Fusion Drive combines 128GB of super-fast flash storage with a traditional hard drive. And now itís up to 50 per cent faster than before.** It automatically and dynamically moves frequently used files to flash for quicker access. With Fusion Drive in your iMac, booting, copying files and importing photos are faster. Over time, as the system learns how you work, Fusion Drive makes your Mac experience even better. All while letting you store your digital life on a traditional, roomy hard drive.
    Here are my r/w results for a 1TB Fusion drive.

    Late 2012 27" iMac.
    3.4GHz
    16GB 1600MHz DDR3 Corsair Vengence
    GTX 680MX 2GB



    Here are some other articles to read about it regarding performance:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6679/a...fusion-drive/6

    http://www.macworld.com/article/2017...ts-limits.html

    http://www.techradar.com/us/news/com...ur-mac-1154051
    Last edited by F34R; 05-25-2014 at 15:27.




  10. Likes Christopher likes this post
  11. #10010
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    44
    Posts
    9,392
    Rep Power
    120
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Ah.....I was thinking VMWare Fusion.








  12. #10011
    Apprentice
    Bodie_CI5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PSN ID
    Bodie_CI5
    Age
    39
    Posts
    181
    Rep Power
    57
    Items ApplePS3 Slim
    Thank you Christopher and Fear - Yes, I was indeed referring to the Fusion Drive. I even attempted to proofread my post before hitting the submit button

    Thanks for the links - I will study them for a more informed decision on both the Fusion Drive issue and the speaker issue, too.
    <a href=http://s102.photobucket.com/user/Bodie_CI5/media/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif.html target=_blank><img src=http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m81/Bodie_CI5/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif border=0 alt= /></a>

  13. #10012
    Media Content Manager
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,339
    Rep Power
    21
    WWDC is live now!

    Following it on my Macbook.
    Nothing amazeballs so far in my eyes, just a new look OSX and a couple of features that sound nice like calling and texting from your Mac.
    Wondering what they're going to tell us about IOS

  14. #10013
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    44
    Posts
    9,392
    Rep Power
    120
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Quote Originally Posted by WaxWeazle View Post
    WWDC is live now!

    Following it on my Macbook.
    Nothing amazeballs so far in my eyes, just a new look OSX and a couple of features that sound nice like calling and texting from your Mac.
    Wondering what they're going to tell us about IOS
    That right there is worth the upgrade to me. Oh.....and it is still free.








  15. #10014
    Media Content Manager
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,339
    Rep Power
    21
    Yep.
    Am gonna subscribe asap for the beta preview when it's out, just because I love the texting-feature
    For the rest it's really not much of a big thing in my eyes..

    Currently, IOS8 isn't having any amazing interesting features for me, so am wondering if they got a new, interesting thing inc.

  16. #10015
    Power Member
    Kopkiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    15,984
    Rep Power
    114
    So nearly a decade after release, Apple is almost, I stress, ALMOST able to do what Android has for half a decade.

    ...yep, innovation.

  17. #10016
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    44
    Posts
    9,392
    Rep Power
    120
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Quote Originally Posted by Kopkiwi View Post
    So nearly a decade after release, Apple is almost, I stress, ALMOST able to do what Android has for half a decade.

    ...yep, innovation.
    Meh....personal preference. Not like I a feature list is going to make me like the Android UI any better.








  18. #10017
    The first thing to know or has well known is that there are only two official and free methods to stream video files to Apple TV from computer: iTunes or AirPlay. Unfortunately, neither of the two supports MKV as the input format. Likewise, you'll be greatly disappointed if you turn to other alternatives since most of them are not only expensive but also have inevitable defects: only support several formats, require installing some plug-ins, and with an endless line of embedded goods, etc.

    To successfully stream MKV or HD MKV to Apple TV, here, I strongly recommend to convert MKV to Apple TV as well as iTunes and AirPlay supported formats.

    To do this, I recommend Faasoft Video Converter which is powerful and easy-to-use.

  19. #10018
    Media Content Manager
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,339
    Rep Power
    21
    Anybody else who's getting the Beta for Yosemite?

    After Apple's failure of having hours of failure/downtime/failing keys, I finally was able to retrieve a working key from the site and am now downloading it

  20. #10019
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    12,561
    Rep Power
    786
    Yep. Been toying with it since DP1. I like it. :]
    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

  21. #10020
    Media Content Manager
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,339
    Rep Power
    21
    Nice
    I've just got it!
    So far, it seems nice, though i must admit... It threw my Macbook's heat up to over 90 degrees and I'm only opening my browser xD
    Luckily, I'm using SMC fan control so I can let my fans blow this $#@! to coolness :3

  22. #10021
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    12,561
    Rep Power
    786
    I used to use smcFanControl, but it hasn't been updated in 2 years. I prefer this now: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/47386/macs-fan-control
    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

  23. #10022
    Media Content Manager
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,339
    Rep Power
    21
    Thanks, getting it now to test it
    Is true though, SMC is a fine tool but not up to date :<

    I'm disappointed in 1 thing though for me;
    Continuity.
    Can't use it yet because you need iOS8 as well... It's the ONE big function that I actually would use to be honest D:

  24. #10023
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    12,561
    Rep Power
    786
    It works fine with iOS 8 so far, but I've since gone back to my jailbroken iOS 7.
    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

  25. #10024
    Media Content Manager
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,339
    Rep Power
    21
    Yeah, I just hope they release all of this fast :3
    I really want to use Continuity.. 's One of the main features that I really like from Yosemite. For the rest, the look's better, but Safari's a little laggy sometimes, but feedback is being send
    How have you gotten the 'Macs Fan Control' configured though? Not sure how it works :P
    Well.. I sort of get how it works, but I mean, what's the best 'part' of the laptop to select for heat detection? o,o

  26. #10025
    Media Content Manager
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,339
    Rep Power
    21
    Is it just my laptop, or is Safari lagging quite often on Yosemite? :c

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.