Latest PSU headlines:

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 64
  1. #26
    Forum Sage
    Galvanise_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8,084
    Rep Power
    85
    Points
    185 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationVitaPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by justintheman99 View Post
    I see this as a convenience, but I just don't see it as a necessity is all.
    True, but given how both Sony and Microsoft have positioned their respective consoles as 'all in one media hub' devices, there are a lot of convenience software applets in there like Netflix, Twitter, Facebook, Vidzone already. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that outside of the core gaming function and navigation through the PSN/Xbox Live menus, everything else is pure convience.

    Its convenient to have a lot of music on my PS3 and Xbox 360, and its very convenient to have movies stored on each ones HDD.



  2. #27
    Elite Sage
    Cuguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PSN ID
    cuguy
    Age
    40
    Posts
    11,730
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,261,843 (212,741 Banked)
    Items Joker (limited ICON)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Galvanise_ View Post
    True, but given how both Sony and Microsoft have positioned their respective consoles as 'all in one media hub' devices, there are a lot of convenience software applets in there like Netflix, Twitter, Facebook, Vidzone already. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that outside of the core gaming function and navigation through the PSN/Xbox Live menus, everything else is pure convience.

    Its convenient to have a lot of music on my PS3 and Xbox 360, and its very convenient to have movies stored on each ones HDD.

    But you have to admit, their logic is sound...

    The PS3 browser is a laggy, uncoordinated mess. The Opera browser on Wii is only slightly better.

    Hell, I enjoy Safari on my iPod more than anything outside of my beloved Firefox on PC

    MS is right when they say the browsing experience on TV is horrible IMO

  3. #28
    Forum Sage
    Galvanise_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8,084
    Rep Power
    85
    Points
    185 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationVitaPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuguy View Post
    But you have to admit, their logic is sound...

    The PS3 browser is a laggy, uncoordinated mess. The Opera browser on Wii is only slightly better.

    Hell, I enjoy Safari on my iPod more than anything outside of my beloved Firefox on PC

    MS is right when they say the browsing experience on TV is horrible IMO
    If Microsoft wanted to make a new browser that ran well on the 360 or adapt internet explorer for it that ran well, they could. The problem with the PS3 browser is its lack of plug-in support. If they can get the Xbox OS down to a measley 30mb or so, imagine what they could do with the extra ~480mb they'd have left to run just the web-browser.

    I think they are more scared of hackers, viruses and whatnot.



  4. #29
    Forum Elder
    ddPLaNeT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Montreal
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,663
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    10,724 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Metal Militia View Post
    It is a bit crap browsing on a TV but the porn plays just fine so "meh". ****ty browser > No browser.
    THIS ^^

    I use the PS3 web browser often and love it even if it's not as good as i would like it to be. Still i can browse to check out Walktroughs, cheats, news, you tube videos and more. It's actually very practical.
    Xbox not having one and that monkey *** Greenberg defending it is nothing but excuses. 360 can definitly have a functional browser.

  5. #30
    Elite Sage
    Cuguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PSN ID
    cuguy
    Age
    40
    Posts
    11,730
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,261,843 (212,741 Banked)
    Items Joker (limited ICON)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Galvanise_ View Post
    I think they are more scared of hackers, viruses and whatnot.
    Prob so

    And best not to give the feature, find a problem and remove the feature later.

    We know how that has gone over here lately!

  6. #31
    Forum Sage
    Galvanise_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    25
    Posts
    8,084
    Rep Power
    85
    Points
    185 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationVitaPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuguy View Post
    Prob so

    And best not to give the feature, find a problem and remove the feature later.

    We know how that has gone over here lately!
    Yeah. Its amazing how much of a ruckus that caused.



  7. #32
    Master Guru
    skulpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Age
    37
    Posts
    6,886
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    7,715 (0 Banked)
    It depends what you use it for. I use it to quickly check walkthroughs and so on. I don't use it for all kinds of media rich stuff though. But walkthroughs and these forums? Sure I do.

    As for wifi, I really don't want a cable running down the back of my basement, but now I do with the 360. It's just ugly that way. For the best online service in Live, it's a mismatch to not have Wifi standard by now. People can say it's just a perk over wired, but so are most console features that we like. 360 game installation is just a perk, but it makes good sense and some people like it. Netflix is just a perk, but some people like it. Wireless controllers aren't technically needed, but they are a perk. Same goes with wifi. They should have it by now.

  8. #33
    Elite Member
    Poida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,600
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    35 (0 Banked)
    Doesnt bother me, its what I have a computer for.

  9. #34
    Apprentice
    BluShock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    283
    Rep Power
    45
    Points
    413 (0 Banked)
    Although Microsoft would probably charge to download and install a browser on the 360, I think it would open up too much free content which Microsoft seem so dead against on the 360 (iPlayer for example). Conflict of interest is the problem here, not usability.

  10. #35
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    6,603 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Mönk View Post
    Personally, I wouldn't use the browser if it was added to the 360, never use it on the PS3, so couldn't careless either way. Since there is a big demand for it and has been for a while now, I don't know why they couldn't just add something basic to fulfill the people who're asking for it.
    is there though?

    i haven't seen it tbh

  11. #36
    Forum Sage
    sainraja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    27
    Posts
    7,881
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    21,927 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuguy View Post
    But you have to admit, their logic is sound...

    The PS3 browser is a laggy, uncoordinated mess. The Opera browser on Wii is only slightly better.

    Hell, I enjoy Safari on my iPod more than anything outside of my beloved Firefox on PC

    MS is right when they say the browsing experience on TV is horrible IMO
    MS is also the ones who made "webTV," something they wanted you to use to browse the internet on your television.

    We have many devices that we can use nowadays to browse the web. There is no reason for the 360 not to have one other than Microsoft not wanting it.

    I disagree about PS3 browser being a mess. It does not compare to a PC browser BUT it is not meant to. As for laggy?

    It's not laggy for me....

    MS is not right when they say the browsing experience on TV is horrible because a browser does not control that experience. The people who design websites do.

  12. #37
    Veteran
    Metal Militia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4,631
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    1,529 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by sainraja View Post
    I disagree about PS3 browser being a mess. It does not compare to a PC browser BUT it is not meant to. As for laggy?

    It's not laggy for me....
    The PS3 browser really has come a long way since launch. It's not horribly slow most of the time and it's only really the lack of M+KB that makes it much less user-friendly than a proper browser.

    I think your comment about web design is absolutely true too. When you look at sites like the iPlayer and Youtube which have dedicated layouts for the PS3 browser, it's absolutely fine to browse on a TV.

  13. #38
    Forum Sage
    sainraja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    27
    Posts
    7,881
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    21,927 (0 Banked)
    Yeah. Designers/UI designers are the ones in charge of how a website displays on devices.

    Try browsing this site on an iPhone and see how that experience compares with a site that is designed to be viewed on an iPhone.

    Someone can easily look at the experience a user has viewing this site and say browsing the web on a mobile phone is horrible.

    That does not make it true since the browser does not control how a site looks and feels.

    PS3 browser was never meant to replace the PC browser - just like the iPhone browser isn't meant to or any mobile browser isn't meant to.

  14. #39
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    400
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by YoungMullah88 View Post
    about a wifi adapter is there a cheaper way to get the damn thing online without buying a MS branded adapter?

    First of all, try turing off DHCP on the linksys router, it may be creating conflicts and that should make any devices defer to the correct DHCP server.

    With regards to the above, any ethernet to wireless adapter will work. It would need to be configured using a computer the first time you use it, but then can be swapped to the xbox no problems. I've used a Belkin one for the original xbox and then the 360 for a number of years now and only had to touch it when changing the network SSID or password.

  15. #40
    Ultimate Veteran
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    24,713
    Rep Power
    160
    Points
    155,004 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by BluShock View Post
    Although Microsoft would probably charge to download and install a browser on the 360, I think it would open up too much free content which Microsoft seem so dead against on the 360 (iPlayer for example).
    And UT3 would be yet another example.

  16. #41
    PSU Live Streamer
    YoungMullah88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Charlotte
    PSN ID
    xShadow__WoIf | YoungMullah88
    Posts
    13,750
    Rep Power
    107
    Points
    24,964 (1,800 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDoctor View Post
    First of all, try turing off DHCP on the linksys router, it may be creating conflicts and that should make any devices defer to the correct DHCP server.

    With regards to the above, any ethernet to wireless adapter will work. It would need to be configured using a computer the first time you use it, but then can be swapped to the xbox no problems. I've used a Belkin one for the original xbox and then the 360 for a number of years now and only had to touch it when changing the network SSID or password.
    so i can use two routers(one wired the other wireless) with one modem? cause when i was on the phone with linksys customer service, the lady said that i couldnt do that, that each router required a modem(each)

  17. #42
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    6,603 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by YoungMullah88 View Post
    so i can use two routers(one wired the other wireless) with one modem? cause when i was on the phone with linksys customer service, the lady said that i couldnt do that, that each router required a modem(each)
    shes an idiot.

    turn off DHCP and it should work. although i get the feeling i needed to do something else, like change the subnet mask on one, or assign it an IP address itself. can't remember.

  18. #43
    PSU Live Streamer
    YoungMullah88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Charlotte
    PSN ID
    xShadow__WoIf | YoungMullah88
    Posts
    13,750
    Rep Power
    107
    Points
    24,964 (1,800 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    thank you, they tried to make me buy a warranty before explaining to me how to make it work...ill try it now

  19. #44
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by sainraja View Post

    MS is not right when they say the browsing experience on TV is horrible because a browser does not control that experience. The people who design websites do.
    I think the browser absolutely controls that experience. The browser determines how that page is going to be rendered for the user. If the browser doesn't support what the designer has put forth, then that experience is going to be hindered a lot.

    Mullah,
    You can absolutely use two routers, one wired the other wireless. Just make sure to assign the second router, the wireless one I'm assuming, an IP out of the DCHP range of the first router, make sure to disable DHCP on the wireless router. You'll need to connect the primary router to the second router via lan port. If there isn't any uplink port, or the router doesn't have auto-sensing, you'll need to use a crossover cable.




  20. #45
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    6,603 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    I think the browser absolutely controls that experience. The browser determines how that page is going to be rendered for the user. If the browser doesn't support what the designer has put forth, then that experience is going to be hindered a lot.

    Mullah,
    You can absolutely use two routers, one wired the other wireless. Just make sure to assign the second router, the wireless one I'm assuming, an IP out of the DCHP range of the first router, make sure to disable DHCP on the wireless router. You'll need to connect the primary router to the second router via lan port. If there isn't any uplink port, or the router doesn't have auto-sensing, you'll need to use a crossover cable.
    mate, i thought youd had a disagreement with tribunal?
    thought it was a bit harsh

    ah, just seen spiders huge post. lol

  21. #46
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    16,647
    Rep Power
    120
    Points
    34,247 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Browsing the net on PS3 browser can be poor at times even this site laods slow due to the adverts and poor support of flash in the browser (ads again). Youtube often crashes and even the playstation.com forums don't work properly (well it might just be on firmware 3.15 as I have not upgraded yet.)
    But this crappy experience is due to the crappy browser and I am sure MS could do loads better even if it is using some form of IE.
    This is a local shop for local people you have no business here!

  22. #47
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Not only the browser, but limited resources they have to use with a browser. I guess that has a lot to do with it as well. That's probably the main reason for the limited support actually.




  23. #48
    Dedicated Member
    Pestilence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Oshawa, Ontario
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,358
    Rep Power
    43
    Points
    4,891 (0 Banked)
    A browser isn't necessary but it does come in handy at times. I don't use the PS3 browser much but for simple things it works well.(forums, kijiji, hotmail and web messenger)

    Since they've shaved down the memory footprint of the XMB I'd be really curious how well a reworked browser would run with some decent plug-in support.

    Common sense isn't all that common.

  24. #49
    Darji
    Guest
    wait for Alan wake they brought the "comfy couch" up and now its bad to be on a couch?

  25. #50
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    6,603 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Darji View Post
    wait for Alan wake they brought the "comfy couch" up and now its bad to be on a couch?
    look, lets face it, web browsing on mobile phones and on gaming devices are *relatively* poor experiences.

    so on that front they have a point. if it was a matter of checking emails / forums and there was a PC anywhere in the vacinity I'd use that for that very reason.

    However, the Ps3 browser has nice support for Iplayer. Its a good extra that works well.

    But as I said before, there is hardly a vocal xbox community clamouring for browser support, so i don't really know why this gets so much attention

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.