Latest PSU headlines:

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Elder
    lordAlucard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    In a world far far away
    PSN ID
    Airiaen
    Age
    21
    Posts
    2,978
    Rep Power
    48
    Points
    39,348 (0 Banked)

    Upgrading my pc, advice needed.

    Medion needs to be upgraded to enable me to have a better experience on the pc. It came with Win Vista Basic and its not the best today has it needs alot of RAM memory. Its something that I have no clue about really and would be really appreciated if anyone could help.

    Maplin is the closest to my home so need something at a reasonable price could a bundle do some good?
    I'm just not sure and wouldn't like to waste money.

    So this is the retailers site, just don't know what the item is that could be compatible for my pc.

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Family.aspx?...647&Worldid=-3
    Last edited by lordAlucard; 08-22-2010 at 19:35.

  2. #2
    Veteran
    weskurtz81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,845
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    18,996 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by lordAlucard View Post
    Medion needs to be upgraded to enable me to have a better experience on the pc. It came with Win Vista Basic and its not the best today has it needs alot of RAM memory. Its something that I have no clue about really and would be really appreciated if anyone could help.

    Maplin is the closest to my home so need something at a reasonable price could a bundle do some good?
    I'm just not sure and wouldn't like to waste money.

    So this is the retailers site, just don't know what the item is that could be compatible for my pc.

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Family.aspx?...647&Worldid=-3
    Before ANYONE will be able to help you, you will need to post information about your PC.

    How much RAM does it have?
    What type of CPU?
    What do you use it for?
    What type of RAM? IE. DDR2, DDR3
    "you are both the product and the architect of your environment"


  3. #3
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    23
    Posts
    15,948
    Rep Power
    143
    Points
    105,482 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    ^ What he said.


  4. #4
    Forum Guru
    jlippone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,798
    Rep Power
    84
    Points
    9,684 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by weskurtz81 View Post
    Before ANYONE will be able to help you, you will need to post information about your PC.

    How much RAM does it have?
    What type of CPU?
    What do you use it for?
    What type of RAM? IE. DDR2, DDR3
    Or what manufacturer and type is your computer, this would lead us to find something about your machine via google.

  5. #5
    Veteran
    weskurtz81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,845
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    18,996 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by jlippone View Post
    Or what manufacturer and type is your computer, this would lead us to find something about your machine via google.
    Yeah, but even then, we have no idea what the actual current configuration is, but you are right it's good information to have.
    "you are both the product and the architect of your environment"


  6. #6
    Forum Elder
    lordAlucard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    In a world far far away
    PSN ID
    Airiaen
    Age
    21
    Posts
    2,978
    Rep Power
    48
    Points
    39,348 (0 Banked)
    Sorry, had forgotten....

    I use it for general use and usually games, the current ram is 512mb and the cpu is Intel Celeron D.
    I'm not really sure what ram type it is, where can I find it?

  7. #7
    Ultimate Veteran
    Tutankhamun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    21,503
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    2,334 (16,356 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Look at the motherboards manual for what type of RAM it supports.
    Other opinions are available.

  8. #8
    Veteran
    kuku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,305
    Rep Power
    70
    Points
    3,790 (0 Banked)
    better yet, just tell us the model number and the brand name of the computer. You can pretty much find out everything.

    Unless it's a custom built one, then you'll have to look through the components list.

  9. #9
    Forum Elder
    lordAlucard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    In a world far far away
    PSN ID
    Airiaen
    Age
    21
    Posts
    2,978
    Rep Power
    48
    Points
    39,348 (0 Banked)

    Right, bit late

    Its a Medion pc mt7

  10. #10
    Veteran
    kuku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,305
    Rep Power
    70
    Points
    3,790 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by lordAlucard View Post
    Its a Medion pc mt7
    Unfortunately MT7 is a fairly long lineage one, so you're going to have to provide the model number as well. Though I think Medion is a fair small OEM, and actually uses serial numbers to track it's computers.

    In theory I believe the specs you said matches MSI mobo, as Medion uses MSI a lot and there are only more or less a few boards that fits the bill.

    So most likely your board is 2x DDR or 2x DD2 inside. So likely you can get DDR2 400 (PC2 3400).

    The problem then is which type of ram did they give you @ purchase, cheapo DDR or more standard DDR2. (most likely DDR2, as DDR is hard to even find)

    In any case you're going to have to provide a serial number or model number to know the exact spec.

    If all else fails: goto CPUID.com and download/install the program. It will tell you exactly what's in your computer.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.