Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    314 (0 Banked)

    PS3 Component gives black/white

    I've used my 26" HiSense, LCD2603EU, for a couple of years with my PS3 via Component. It has no HDMI, unfortunately. A couple of weeks ago I moved to a new apartment - and now my TV will only show my PS3 black and white.
    I really don't know what the problem is. I've tried following:
    - Resetting the PS3 (by holding down the standby button) - still black/white, and still after I've chosen the correct component settings.
    - The component cable works: I've tried it with my PS3 and another PS3 on a different TV. No problem - lots of colours.
    - The TV works with the "old"/scart cable (no HD) - lots of colours.
    - The PS3 is not defective: I've tried another PS3 on my TV with the same cable - still black/white.
    - The settings are correct for component in the PS3: I've tried resetting, changing the settings etc. but this does not solve the issue.
    - Updating the firmware: still same issue, I am running the latest firmware.
    - All combinations of the cable sockets - still black/white, but I am completely sure they all 5 are connected correctly in the right socket.

    It might be the settings on the TV, but it's still showing black/white when on PAL or on AUTO. SECAM shows black/white on the regular tv-signal as well. Otherwise when on PAL/AUTO all TV-channels show colour.
    My PS3 is bought in Denmark and so is the TV. But remember it has worked for couple of years on same TV, same cable and same PS3.

    Can you please help me?! (Not with the tip for a new TV - haven't got the money) THANKS!
    Last edited by JusjongKull; 09-14-2010 at 17:56.

  2. #2
    Master Guru
    higgos22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,612
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    11,184 (0 Banked)
    That does sound odd, so you say the TV itself shows normally tv channels in black and white or they are in colour?
    Maybe reset your PS3 from holding standby button for 5 seconds (if you hadnt tried that one already)
    That is really strange, cables in the right sockets maybe?
    "Everything that has ever happened has been leading up to this very moment"

    "What happened to bros before hoes?" "Well, this one isn't a hoe, so she's first."

  3. #3
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Sounds like you need Buy new cables.

  4. #4
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    314 (0 Banked)
    I've tried resetting several times - still black/white. When I choose the correct component settings: still black/white.
    The TV channel are fully colored. It's just the PS3 when connected via component.
    I've tried all combinations of the cable sockets, but I am completely sure they all 5 are connected correctly in the right socket.

    The cable works with my PS3 or another PS3 on another TV, so it cannot be the cable..?

    Other ideas...?

  5. #5
    Forum Sage
    Galvanise_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    26
    Posts
    8,084
    Rep Power
    90
    Points
    185 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationVitaPS3 Slim
    What firmware are you running?



  6. #6
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    314 (0 Banked)
    The newest..

  7. #7
    Apprentice
    liquidghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    GA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    421
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    812 (0 Banked)
    ya sounds like new cabels are in your future



  8. #8
    Master Poster
    LfCpS3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3,364
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    10,788 (0 Banked)
    Items VitaLiverpool360 SlimPS3 FatGoogle Chrome
    t can be a couple things.
    If your getting picture and sound then its not that you have them in wrong way its either the AV cords themselves or that particular port on LCD is broken. Switch it to different AV port and try that.

    If that doesn't work and I suggest you do this anyways go buy a HDMI cable for like $15-$40 and run it that way. Better picture and sound.

    If that doesn't work then its your ps3 and you need to return it.

    Yahoo answers

    Also look at the cable and see if all the "pins" on the end of the cable that you stick into the TV are straight and not damaged.

  9. #9
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    314 (0 Banked)
    I am getting sound.
    My TV doesn't support HDMI. (No port for it, only component)
    The cable have been tried in another TV and it is working fine on another TV.
    The PS3 has been test on another TV with BOTH component (same cable) and HDMI and is working just fine...

    There is no damage to the pins..

    It might be the port on the TV...

  10. #10
    Forum Sage
    Metfanant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NY
    PSN ID
    Metfanant
    Age
    29
    Posts
    7,581
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    2,147 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by JusjongKull View Post
    I am getting sound.
    My TV doesn't support HDMI. (No port for it, only component)
    The cable have been tried in another TV and it is working fine on another TV.
    The PS3 has been test on another TV with BOTH component (same cable) and HDMI and is working just fine...

    There is no damage to the pins..

    It might be the port on the TV...
    wait...so if you hook the PS3 up to a DIFFERENT TV with the SAME cables you see it in color??

    if so...then its either the input itself on the TV (bummer) or a silly setting on the TV...go into the TV's menu and search all the options that have to do with picture...or even if there is like a "factory reset" option
    PSN: Metfanant
    XBL: Metfanant
    Twitter: @Metfanant

  11. #11
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    314 (0 Banked)
    Yes. It works perfectly on another TV with the same PS3 and another. Everything in color.
    -> On my TV: no

    I am afraid that it is the TV itself regarding the component ports - because it shows colors when I use the SCART-cable that ships with the PS3.

    I have tried to search the TV options through, but without luck. The only thing I thought it could be would be something like PAL/NTSC, but it is on PAL. I might search for a factory reset though..

  12. #12
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    314 (0 Banked)
    There is no factory reset on the TV.

  13. #13
    Elite Guru
    TAZ427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    PSN ID
    TAZ427
    Age
    44
    Posts
    5,272
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    23,199 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by JusjongKull View Post
    There is no factory reset on the TV.
    Check the TV and Manual (I can't find a manual online for that TV or I'd have checked it) and see if there's a switch/setting for setting the Component Input to be YPrPb (may be listed as YCrCb) instead of RGB. Since it's displaying B&W only, it sounds like it could be expecting YPrPb but you're providing RGB - In which case the G is driving the Y (or luminance) and you'd get a black and white picture based on the the red input, but the R&B driving wouldn't make much sense for the PrPb (Chroma) which is used to shift around the color scale. And it could end up still being a relatively B&W image. If that's the case, then you simply need to change it back to RGB.



  14. #14
    Member
    psn_nWo-Iron_eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    197
    Rep Power
    32
    Points
    528 (0 Banked)
    help and support section for your tv you might find something here to help you out
    http://www.hisense-usa.com/support/index.asp

  15. #15
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    314 (0 Banked)
    Thanks. I've written them.

  16. #16
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    249 (0 Banked)
    yep

  17. #17
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    PSN ID
    xx.lunatiic.xx
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    218 (0 Banked)

    Same Problem =S

    Mine is doing the exact same thing, and making a buzzing noise, again tv is colored and sound on tv is fine. I even restored my ps3 losing all progress/games/trophies and it still doesn't help. >.< Is it really new cables???? Damn it!!! =[

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.