Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    95
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,253 (0 Banked)

    external HDD being read by ps3 but not pc?

    has anyone else had this problem, my pc says i need to format it,

  2. #2
    Ultimate Veteran
    Tutankhamun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    21,503
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    2,334 (16,356 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    What filesystem is the HDD formatted in? What OS are you using on you're PC? And can you actually copy files to the hard drive via your PS3?
    Other opinions are available.

  3. #3
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    95
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,253 (0 Banked)
    im running w7 64bit, the HDD is fat32, i read it fine before, & yes i can still copy files to/from it ON TO ps3

  4. #4
    Ultimate Veteran
    Tutankhamun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    21,503
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    2,334 (16,356 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    But you can't read the disc from you're PC? Have you tried another computer?
    Other opinions are available.

  5. #5
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    95
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,253 (0 Banked)
    not able to at the moment

  6. #6
    I'm a real boy!
    Tyrien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    12,497
    Rep Power
    108
    Points
    6,226 (0 Banked)
    Start> Type "Computer Management"> Disk Management

    Make sure the drive is plugged in, and that USB port is working. Find your drive and check to make sure it's been mounted/assigned a drive letter.

    With that said I'd also make sure your you're able to use other USB devices, or other USB storage devices to rule out that it's not your USB ports/Drivers.

  7. #7
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    95
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,253 (0 Banked)
    tried another pc 7 same problem, however they both just did a windows update

  8. #8
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    95
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,253 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyrien View Post
    Start> Type "Computer Management"> Disk Management

    Make sure the drive is plugged in, and that USB port is working. Find your drive and check to make sure it's been mounted/assigned a drive letter.

    With that said I'd also make sure your you're able to use other USB devices, or other USB storage devices to rule out that it's not your USB ports/Drivers.

    just tried this & it says it is in RAW format, also tried other PCs & same problem

  9. #9
    Apprentice
    Jamaicangmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    33
    Posts
    287
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    476 (0 Banked)
    My problem is opposite it just wont pick up on the PS3. My other external used to pick up just fine but it doesnt anymore either.
    Any help? i got 60giger

  10. #10
    Super Moderator

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    11,500
    Rep Power
    144
    Points
    80,462 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    The PC will not see the PS3 hard drive for security purposes. To get your PC operating system to see the hard drive you will need to use software to format the hard drive. Or you can simply put the hard drive in to your laptop and insert an OS disc which will then format the hard drive. But you will not be able to access any PS3 information from your PC. Unless there is a way that I do not know of.

  11. #11
    I'm a real boy!
    Tyrien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    12,497
    Rep Power
    108
    Points
    6,226 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    The PC will not see the PS3 hard drive for security purposes. To get your PC operating system to see the hard drive you will need to use software to format the hard drive. Or you can simply put the hard drive in to your laptop and insert an OS disc which will then format the hard drive. But you will not be able to access any PS3 information from your PC. Unless there is a way that I do not know of.
    It's an external HDD, not the internal HDD from the PS3.

  12. #12
    Master Sage
    Bitbydeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Age
    32
    Posts
    14,360
    Rep Power
    131
    Points
    45,105 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Seems like a long shot but try change the drive letter when you have it plugged into your PC.
    This issue sometimes occurs when something else is already in the letter it is trying to access.

    Start> Type "Computer Management"> Disk Management > Right Click on drive and select "Change Letter and Drive Paths"

    If that doesn't work would it hurt to format it?

  13. #13
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    95
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,253 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bitbydeath View Post
    Seems like a long shot but try change the drive letter when you have it plugged into your PC.
    This issue sometimes occurs when something else is already in the letter it is trying to access.

    Start> Type "Computer Management"> Disk Management > Right Click on drive and select "Change Letter and Drive Paths"

    If that doesn't work would it hurt to format it?
    unfortunately yes, it would hurt i have all my Music, movies, etc..

  14. #14
    Newbie
    a33a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Age
    20
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    261 (0 Banked)
    It may be that the HDD has lost the record of the File system it is in - in the partition table.
    Sometimes when that happens to my HDD on my PC I boot into a bootable CD and use a tool to change the marker to which file system it is in.
    I think that may be your problem...
    Unfortunately I don't quite remember how its done specifically.
    But I used the Ultimate Boot CD and it was in one of the HDD management tools.
    Basically you change what the filesystem marker is.
    I hope I have pointed you in the right direction - could others help with specific steps?

    Just a side note - I drew to this conclusion when he mentioned it was in RAW format when the PC had it connected.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.