Page 56 of 69 FirstFirst ... 465666 ... LastLast
Results 1,376 to 1,400 of 1722

Thread: Your Computer?

  1. #1376
    Elite Sage
    John25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,666
    Rep Power
    105
    Points
    3,678 (331,762 Banked)
    Items AC/DCRolling StonesAtari 2600GTA CJBattlefield 3Final Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIINESSNESEvertonUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by PeanutButterMunky View Post
    Unless it's an Alienware laptop... But then again I wouldn't consider a computer that's 20 pounds and 3 inches thick a "laptop".
    Oh yea I meant his Lap Top but 500 quid should get you a fairly decent build you can find good CPU/MOBO combo's if you shop around.

  2. #1377
    Administrator
    Ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    PSN ID
    rokushakubo
    Posts
    12,777
    Rep Power
    131
    Points
    6,546,293 (100,956 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Awards PSU+ Patriot
    Would something like this cover my needs? I mean it's got 4x the needed ram and way more CPU power.

    http://www.amazon.de/Leiser-Multimed...798416&sr=8-11

    These are the rec specs for EVE


    • OS: Windows® XP Service Pack 2 / Vista / 7
    • CPU: Intel Pentium® or AMD dual core @ 2 Ghz or greater which supports SSE2
    • RAM: 2 GB
    • HD space: 20Gb Free Space
    • Network: ADSL connection or faster
    • Video: ATi Radeon 5750 or NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460
    • Drivers: DirectX® 9.0c (included) and latest video drivers
    • DVD-ROM : 2 speed DVD reader or greater required.

  3. #1378
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,524
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,973 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by Fijiandoce View Post
    i7 3770
    AMD 7970 GE

    or

    AMD FX-8350
    AMD7970 GE

    which one has more feet going forward?

    i currently have a C2Q 3.0GHZ (?? too lazy bones to check proper, sorry ) but any ways, the more cores seemed to be the best way to stretch my money across soo may years back then. which one of the above will likewise last longer now?

    will be getting a new PC around the time the new consoles are announced (whenever that will be)
    The Intel is the faster option. And has a good amount of overclocking headroom...unless budget constraints are a problem this is a no brainer (and judging by the hardware you're listing I'm assuming that budget isn't a problem!)


    Quote Originally Posted by claud3 View Post
    I have a wee NETBOOK

    My Spec's

    CPU: Intel Atom N2600

    LED Panel: 10" WSVGA ( Glare Type)

    RAM: DDRIII 1GB

    HDD: 320 GB
    Damn, that's a beast :Lol:

  4. Likes Fijiandoce likes this post
  5. #1379
    Elite Sage
    John25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,666
    Rep Power
    105
    Points
    3,678 (331,762 Banked)
    Items AC/DCRolling StonesAtari 2600GTA CJBattlefield 3Final Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIINESSNESEvertonUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Meh you could build a much better system than that for same money anyways the GPU on that build is less than the recommended spec

  6. #1380
    Administrator
    Ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    PSN ID
    rokushakubo
    Posts
    12,777
    Rep Power
    131
    Points
    6,546,293 (100,956 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Awards PSU+ Patriot
    Quote Originally Posted by John25 View Post
    Meh you could build a much better system than that for same money anyways the GPU on that build is less than the recommended spec
    Hmmm, Ok...guess I ought to go the DIY road. Can anyone suggest some good compatible parts? Pwease!

  7. #1381
    Super Elite
    Acid Snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,021
    Rep Power
    53
    Points
    9,157 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    I hear the current card I have is a decent overclocker. Quickly, someone find me a guide on the best way to doing it. I've done it before, but I want to be sure I'm doing it right. Specs are at the bottom of my post.
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8GHz | Nvidia 660 ti | 6 GB Corsair Xms 1333 Mhz | 1 TB Seagate HDD | 250 GB WD HDD | Windows 7 Ultimate |

  8. #1382
    Elite Sage
    John25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,666
    Rep Power
    105
    Points
    3,678 (331,762 Banked)
    Items AC/DCRolling StonesAtari 2600GTA CJBattlefield 3Final Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIINESSNESEvertonUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Go to the card brand website & download the Utilities for it's cards which will allow you to tweak it

    EVGA have a program called Precision which allow you to tweak the card & voltage & then stress test it

  9. #1383

  10. #1384
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,426
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    267,132 (888 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghost-Rhayne View Post
    Hmmm, Ok...guess I ought to go the DIY road. Can anyone suggest some good compatible parts? Pwease!
    im getting these off amazon as i don't know any other EU site. no doubt the US counterparts will be cheaper. but its a good baseline:

    Gigabyte Motherboard Intel
    Intel Core i5 3330
    Sapphire Radeon 7750
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB
    Corsair 600watt Builder series Bronze certified PSU
    Fractal Design Define R4 PC Case - White

    this has very little in the way of deals, some of the other members here might be able to help you out there, but no doubt that can be brought all the way to ~500 euro

    it might be cheaper still to import from the US?

    Gigabyte Motherboard AMD
    AMD Phenom II X4 965

    ^AMD is usually cheaper, but run hotter and use more power.

    i would consider this an EXCELLENT pc for EVE @720p
    Last edited by Fijiandoce; 01-22-2013 at 00:58.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  11. #1385
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,426
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    267,132 (888 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rekmon View Post
    The Intel is the faster option. And has a good amount of overclocking headroom...unless budget constraints are a problem this is a no brainer (and judging by the hardware you're listing I'm assuming that budget isn't a problem!)
    yeah budget isn't the problem, changing the CPU is the problem, which is why i asked for both companies flagships chips
    they're both seem to be doing their own thing

    im just wanting to make sure "more cores" doesn't become THE thing with next gen systems reportedly using 8 cores too
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  12. #1386
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,524
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,973 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by Fijiandoce View Post
    im getting these off amazon as i don't know any other EU site. no doubt the US counterparts will be cheaper. but its a good baseline:

    Gigabyte Motherboard Intel
    Intel Core i5 3330
    Sapphire Radeon 7750
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB
    Corsair 600watt Builder series Bronze certified PSU
    Fractal Design Define R4 PC Case - White

    this has very little in the way of deals, some of the other members here might be able to help you out there, but no doubt that can be brought all the way to ~500 euro

    it might be cheaper still to import from the US?

    Gigabyte Motherboard AMD
    AMD Phenom II X4 965

    ^AMD is usually cheaper, but run hotter and use more power.

    i would consider this an EXCELLENT pc for EVE @720p
    Dunno about non us pricing, can't help there...

    But I have the FD Define R4 case in Black Pearl...I love it. Keep in mind top mounting large radiators in it though is not always feasible. Then again I have a 7850 with a closed loop water system with the radiator mounted on teh bottom intake <shrugs>

  13. #1387
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,591
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    59,249 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    UK is cheaper than Euros fo aMD but not for intel.
    Weird.

    Phenom 2 965 is £70
    http://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials/...roductId=38891

    FX 8320 is £120
    http://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials/...roductId=52723
    Last edited by keefy; 01-22-2013 at 01:40.

  14. #1388
    Administrator
    Ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    PSN ID
    rokushakubo
    Posts
    12,777
    Rep Power
    131
    Points
    6,546,293 (100,956 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Awards PSU+ Patriot
    Thanks for the input MATRIX and Mr Director. A lot of money to spend to play EVE, but I need to fulfill my vision of having both games running side by side muahahaha.

  15. #1389
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,591
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    59,249 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    fook wrong window.

  16. #1390
    Elite Sage
    John25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,666
    Rep Power
    105
    Points
    3,678 (331,762 Banked)
    Items AC/DCRolling StonesAtari 2600GTA CJBattlefield 3Final Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIINESSNESEvertonUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Origins are selling a few games for only 5 quid each just picked up CRYSIS 2 Maximum Edition & Batman Arkham City GOTY

    http://store.origin.com/store/eaemea...es_2013_en_GB/
    Last edited by John25; 01-24-2013 at 20:24.

  17. #1391
    Super Moderator
    PS4freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    PSN ID
    lsutigers19
    Age
    26
    Posts
    13,712
    Rep Power
    143
    Points
    83,338 (190,439 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIIIFinal Fantasy XCall of Duty: Black OPSDragon Ball ZPS3 SlimGoogle Chrome
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Anyone ever deal with getting ram replaced from G Skill? After much troubleshooting i finally found out a sick of RAM was bad. So now i have to get it replaced under warranty. Mostly wanting to know if its pain or not getting them to replace it.




    Currently Playing: ​ Watch Dogs
    Currently Waiting For: ​​ ​Destiny

  18. #1392
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Age
    23
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    403 (0 Banked)
    I am about to get a new PC soon. Currently I have:

    Intel X9650 Extreme OC to 4Ghz
    Antec Kuhler H2O 920
    8GB Ram
    Crosshair 750
    GTX 260 2X SLI
    Nvidia 3D Surround [3X Samsung syncmaster]

  19. #1393
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,524
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,973 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by ps3freak18 View Post
    Anyone ever deal with getting ram replaced from G Skill? After much troubleshooting i finally found out a sick of RAM was bad. So now i have to get it replaced under warranty. Mostly wanting to know if its pain or not getting them to replace it.
    I have, recently too at that. Was no problem at all, emailed them they sent me a claim to fill out and I shipped the ram off. 12 days later I had 2 new shiny sticks of ram. They didn't bother me for a receipt or anything.

  20. Likes PS4freak likes this post
  21. #1394
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,524
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,973 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by nancy811 View Post
    I am about to get a new PC soon. Currently I have:

    Intel X9650 Extreme OC to 4Ghz
    Antec Kuhler H2O 920
    8GB Ram
    Crosshair 750
    GTX 260 2X SLI
    Nvidia 3D Surround [3X Samsung syncmaster]
    I totally misread that at first...I thought that was the setup you were going to buy and my face scrunched up in a "wtf"

    What you gonna get?

  22. #1395
    Veteran
    RyanGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,822
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    23,928 (615,000 Banked)
    So I'm looking into buy a new PC to play games on but I don't want to spend a TON of money on it , I just want something decent that can hold it's own. I spotted this only and was wondering what you guys thought about it.. would it be alright?

    AMD FX-4100 3.60GHz,
    8GB DDR3,
    1TB HDD,
    AMD Radeon HD 6450
    Nvidia Geforce 7025 Motherboard
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


    They're only charging $550 for it...what do ya think? If someone can build me one better than this that costs less than $650 , It'd be greatly appreciated!

  23. #1396
    Super Moderator
    PS4freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    PSN ID
    lsutigers19
    Age
    26
    Posts
    13,712
    Rep Power
    143
    Points
    83,338 (190,439 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIIIFinal Fantasy XCall of Duty: Black OPSDragon Ball ZPS3 SlimGoogle Chrome
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rekmon View Post
    I have, recently too at that. Was no problem at all, emailed them they sent me a claim to fill out and I shipped the ram off. 12 days later I had 2 new shiny sticks of ram. They didn't bother me for a receipt or anything.
    Cool! Thanks man. Did you have one bad stick out of a set and sent both back? Just wondering because i bought a set and thinking I'm going to send both back since they come from the same batch. Just wondering if they treat the God one as if it's bad. I see on the rma that they have a spot where you can put the whole set or half the set.




    Currently Playing: ​ Watch Dogs
    Currently Waiting For: ​​ ​Destiny

  24. #1397
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,524
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,973 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by ps3freak18 View Post
    Cool! Thanks man. Did you have one bad stick out of a set and sent both back? Just wondering because i bought a set and thinking I'm going to send both back since they come from the same batch. Just wondering if they treat the God one as if it's bad. I see on the rma that they have a spot where you can put the whole set or half the set.
    Yeah it was one bad stick out of two, told them it failed memtest..sent both back got two new matched ones. My advice is send the whole set, might as well to get two new ones

  25. #1398
    Super Moderator
    PS4freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    PSN ID
    lsutigers19
    Age
    26
    Posts
    13,712
    Rep Power
    143
    Points
    83,338 (190,439 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIIIFinal Fantasy XCall of Duty: Black OPSDragon Ball ZPS3 SlimGoogle Chrome
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rekmon View Post
    Yeah it was one bad stick out of two, told them it failed memtest..sent both back got two new matched ones. My advice is send the whole set, might as well to get two new ones
    Thanks man. Exactly what I wanted to know.




    Currently Playing: ​ Watch Dogs
    Currently Waiting For: ​​ ​Destiny

  26. #1399
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,524
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,973 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by ps3freak18 View Post
    Thanks man. Exactly what I wanted to know.
    No problem, good luck getting everything all sorted out

  27. #1400
    Veteran
    RyanGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,822
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    23,928 (615,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanGT View Post
    So I'm looking into buy a new PC to play games on but I don't want to spend a TON of money on it , I just want something decent that can hold it's own. I spotted this only and was wondering what you guys thought about it.. would it be alright?

    AMD FX-4100 3.60GHz,
    8GB DDR3,
    1TB HDD,
    AMD Radeon HD 6450
    Nvidia Geforce 7025 Motherboard
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



    They're only charging $550 for it...what do ya think? If someone can build me one better than this that costs less than $650 , It'd be greatly appreciated!

    anybody lol

    I'm not all that great with computers.. I know a little but would like some more knowledgeable opinions.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.