Page 67 of 69 FirstFirst ... 5767 ... LastLast
Results 1,651 to 1,675 of 1722

Thread: Your Computer?

  1. #1651
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,320
    Rep Power
    82
    Points
    30,796 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by PBM View Post
    I take if you edit video or do other immensely RAM-intensive activities.
    he runs graphics softwares I'm guessing and those take a $#@! ton of ram. I was building this car for my weekly assignment for CAD class. One model took 2.5GB just to load up

  2. #1652
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,328
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    18,117 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Windows 7 and 8 is restricted to 16GB of RAM so there's no point in going any higher. If I was able to go higher I would have gone for 32GB myself.

  3. #1653
    Master Poster
    Beast of Bourbon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Blighttown
    PSN ID
    Azrael666
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,492
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    11,965 (0 Banked)
    Items DoomPlayStationDiablo IIIBlizzardDemons Souls CoverDark Souls Cover
    Nah win7 home 64bit is restricted to 16gb ram.
    Win7 Prof supports up to 192gb just like Win8 64bit.
    Win8 prof and ultimate even support up to 512gb iirc.

    I have "only" 8gb in my gamingnotebook atm, there are almost no games that need more.
    Last edited by Beast of Bourbon; 10-14-2013 at 09:52.

  4. #1654
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,683
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,546 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I have 16GB in my desktop but never seen it use even half of it.

    Was tempted to put in another 16GB so that I could use it as a 24GB RAM Disk

  5. #1655
    Ancient
    TGO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    purgatory
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,502
    Rep Power
    100
    Points
    12,737 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Not too sure, it's a Win 7 64bit gaming PC and I know its an AMD 4core with 4gb ram and 1gb on its ATI HD something, can't remember as I don't use it because its a piece of $#@! and I'm on my way to work so I can't check
    Cost £760 and no it couldn't run Crysis

    Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk

    "Xbox is about to become the next water cooler”

  6. #1656
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,328
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    18,117 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by BBK.. View Post
    I have 16GB in my desktop but never seen it use even half of it.

    Was tempted to put in another 16GB so that I could use it as a 24GB RAM Disk
    3ds Max has died on me before for not having enough RAM.

  7. #1657
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    30
    Posts
    12,234
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    119,669 (18,076 Banked)
    Items Ghost in the ShellTidusLightningBruce LeeAppleUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    Windows 7 and 8 is restricted to 16GB of RAM so there's no point in going any higher. If I was able to go higher I would have gone for 32GB myself.
    That isn't correct. Windows 7 Professional, Enterprise, and Ultimate 64-bit support 192 GB of RAM. All 32-bit versions only support 4 GB of RAM. Windows 7 Home Premium only supports 16 GB and Home Basic only supports 8 GB... despite both of these being 64-bit. The best is Windows 7 Starter edition, which only allows 2 GB. Yippee!

    Windows 8 supports 128 GB of RAM while Professional and Enterprise support 512 GB of RAM.

    What we can deduce from all this is that Microsoft is absolutely retarded. There's no reason for 800 different versions of Windows that use arbitrary amounts of RAM.

    If you can't install more than 16 GB of RAM it's either a limitation of your motherboard or you are running Windows 7 Home Premium... in which I urge you to upgrade to something like Ultimate which isn't gimped of features.
    Last edited by Brandon; 10-14-2013 at 18:44.
    "The biggest adversary in our life is ourselves. We are what we are, in a sense, because of the dominating thoughts we allow to gather in our head. All concepts of self-improvement, all actions and paths we take, relate solely to our abstract image of ourselves. Life is limited only by how we really see ourselves and feel about our being. A great deal of pure self-knowledge and inner understanding allows us to lay an all-important foundation for the structure of our life from which we can perceive and take the right avenues.”

  8. #1658
    Dedicated Member
    John Willaford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Owings Mills, MD
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,071
    Rep Power
    18
    Points
    408,039 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    Windows 7 and 8 is restricted to 16GB of RAM so there's no point in going any higher. If I was able to go higher I would have gone for 32GB myself.
    Wrong, Home is restricted. I have 64GB in 7 Pro on one machine and 24GB on 7 Pro on another. See above post as well.
    Last edited by John Willaford; 10-14-2013 at 18:57.

  9. #1659
    Forum Guru
    jlippone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,816
    Rep Power
    85
    Points
    9,963 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Itachi View Post
    he runs graphics softwares I'm guessing and those take a $#@! ton of ram. I was building this car for my weekly assignment for CAD class. One model took 2.5GB just to load up
    Mostly photogrammetry for last few months.
    14-16GB of free memory is not enough for bigger tests.
    Quote Originally Posted by John Willaford View Post
    Wrong, Home is restricted. I have 64GB in 7 Pro on one machine and 24GB on 7 Pro on another. See above post as well.
    Indeed, here's list on limits.
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx

    Win8 pro 512GB, should be enough for couple of years.
    Last edited by jlippone; 12-04-2013 at 14:05. Reason: silly typos
    'no, no one in their sane mind uses OpenGL on PS3' - Repi
    'nope, PS3 uses a wonderful low-level API called libgcm' - Repi

  10. #1660
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    408 (0 Banked)
    i5 3570k
    Asrock Extreme 6 z77 motherboard
    GTX 670 Gigabyte
    8gb vengeance ram
    750W Skyrim Bronze
    Corsair 600H tower
    roccat kone + mouse /keyboard
    yamakasi Q270 27" monitor 2560x1440

  11. #1661
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,683
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,546 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Had to cancel my PS4 pre-order today. Being so close to the launch is brutal.. i should've paid it off sooner. You live and learn, eh? I wont feel too bad considering there aren't any games until Infamous I was interested it, i just wanted to be part of the launch hype.

    Anyway, i was going to treat myself for my Birthday to one. Now that I can't do that I might treat myself to another GTX780. Fingers crossed.

  12. #1662
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,569
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    58,437 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Since I recently upgraded a couple things i might as well post in here again.

    i5 4670k
    Noctua NH-D14 (heat sink)
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    8GB RAM (Corsair XMS3)
    AMD 6870
    Power PC cooling 610 Watt power supply - (last of the good ones, had it a few years) Needs replacing with I think a modular item, too many wires dangling about doing nothing with this one.

    For some reason the rear fan doesnt spin always, it spins on boot up for a few seconds but when windows starts loading it stops, it seems to be affecting the internal temps, excess heat off the Noctua isnt being sucked out fast enough.
    Last edited by keefy; 12-01-2013 at 19:46.

  13. #1663
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Since I recently upgraded a coupel thngs i might as well post in here again.

    i5 4670k
    Noctua NH-D14 (heatsink)
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    8GB RAM (Corsair XMS3)
    AMD 6870
    Power PC cooling 610 Watt power supply - (last of the good ones) Needs replacing with I think a modular item, too many wires dangling about doing nothing with this one.

    Holy carp, this CPU only uses 85 Watts max unlike my Phenom II which used 125Watts max.
    I think you should upgrade your gpu, its the weakest component out of all the current ones.

  14. #1664
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,569
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    58,437 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    I think you should upgrade your gpu, its the weakest component out of all the current ones.
    I could have bought a new GPU instead, but was sick of my old CPU and crappy cheap board.
    I really need the PSU, the mount of wires inside this case that are not i n use and cannot be removed is hideous.

  15. #1665
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,683
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,546 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yeah, modular PSU's make life relatively easy.

  16. #1666
    Elite Member
    K2D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    Cathode
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,790
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    10,912 (0 Banked)
    Items LuluYunaDaft Punk
    I have a desktop computer that refuses to give out video signal randomly on boot up. Otherwise it seems to boot up just fine though. Mobo is an Asus WS P6T professional and the gpu is a R. Sapphire HD 5970. None of them oc'ed. And finally a 750w. modular corsair.
    Could also mention that setting the computer in sleep or hibernation always seem to give the same result, as if the gpu won't wake up again. Sound familiar to anybody?


    Galaxy S2
    Last edited by K2D; 12-03-2013 at 10:34.

    Wishlist: Jade Cocoon Reboot, Oni Reboot, the next JRPG, Wasteland 2 [coming soon!]
    SotC 2, Fallout 4, next Obsidian Fallout, Project Eternity, Uncharted 4, Divinity [NEW!]
    ...
    [South Park: Stick of Truth is pure gaming bliss!]

  17. #1667
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,569
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    58,437 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Might be a motherboard problem.
    Does the GPU work properly in other computers?

  18. Likes K2D likes this post
  19. #1668
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,328
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    18,117 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Best PSU ever: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Seasonic/X-750/

    I have the X-650 but all I can say is that the Seasonic branded X-series is by far the best PSUs you can buy and are unbelievably efficient and deathly quiet! I've had mine running now for a good 4 years and it's currently running in fanless mode.

  20. #1669
    Elite Member
    K2D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    Cathode
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,790
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    10,912 (0 Banked)
    Items LuluYunaDaft Punk
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Might be a motherboard problem.
    Does the GPU work properly in other computers?
    Thanks! I'm gonna make some calls and get someone to help me out with that

    Wishlist: Jade Cocoon Reboot, Oni Reboot, the next JRPG, Wasteland 2 [coming soon!]
    SotC 2, Fallout 4, next Obsidian Fallout, Project Eternity, Uncharted 4, Divinity [NEW!]
    ...
    [South Park: Stick of Truth is pure gaming bliss!]

  21. #1670
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,569
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    58,437 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    NH-D14 cooling power.
    Fans up full blast, probably around 18C inthis room since I do have the window open, but never had any CPU drop into the low 20s ever, usually around 28C at the least.

    Last edited by keefy; 12-19-2013 at 10:37.

  22. #1671
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,683
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,546 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    One week ago we asked you to send us pictures and descriptions of your gaming setup, so that we might separate a few of the most enviable battlestations from others, and enshrine them in a little round-up. This has come to pass! We've parsed through your excellent submissions, and found a few of the prettiest, oddest and most innovative desktops we've seen so far. Read on to see what made the cut.Mikhail's gorgeous attic battlestation


    I love it. From the clean lines and airy feel to the copious number of monitors an that huge, towering PC to the right. It's also a bit of a monster inside. Here are the specs Mikhail included with his post.
    Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU: Intel i7 3930K C2
    GPU: 3x Titans
    RAM: 8GB GMTGX8(going to change it to 32GB or 64GB)
    PSU: EVGA 1500W
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 "512Gb Version" + Samsung 830 "256Gb Version"
    HDD: 8x Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
    Fans: 22x Corsair Air Series SP120 Quiet Edition
    Screens: 3x Asus VG278H + 1 x BenQ XL2720T
    Headset: Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Keyboard: Steelseries 7G
    Mouse: Steelseries Sensei
    Extra Gamepad: Logitech G13

    The interior of that huge PC is beautiful too. Take a look.

    Jake's custom-built gaming chair


    19 year old Jake built his own marvellous futuristic gaming $#@!pit as part of a year 12 HSC project. "I made and designed everything. Rolled the arches. Found the red leather seat at the local autowreckers." The three 40-inch Samsung screens run with Eyefinity for super-wide gaming and the roll-cage holds the surround-sound setup in place.
    Stephanie's driving and flight sim battlestation


    This one It like it could drive off right through the the wall if you turn it on. Stephanie says that she mostly uses her rig for racing simulators, "but I do switch out the racing gear for HOTAS when I have the itch to dogfight." As well as a Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and CH Pro Pedals (not pictured), the rig includes the following hardware: "TIR5 | Fanatec CSW w/Formula rim & CSPv2 | TH8RS | Obutto R3Volution | DSD CSW Panel & The Black Max | Spek Pro Tachometer & Oil / Water Temperature Gauges | Sym Projects Rev Burner & Pro-Gauge | M-SPEC Shift Light | Simvibe | 5 – Aura Bass Shakers 40" | Sharp LCD | iPad 2 & 3"
    The PC powering it all is a custom built setup that looks like this.
    CPU: i7 CPU 950
    Motherboard: GA-X58A-UD3R
    RAM: 24GB Patriot DDR3
    GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 460 1GBs in SLI
    SSD: SanDisk 120GB
    HDD: VelociRaptor 600GB
    OS: Windows 7 64 bit

    Chris' glorious green gaming cave


    There's an easy rule you can apply to assess the quality of a battlestation. "Does it look like something NASA would use to launch a spaceship?" In Chris' case, yes, thanks largely to that looming HDTV. The LED lighting adds a certain hacker ambience, too. I can imagine having a great game of Battlefield 4 on the monitors, with the map writ large above the set-up. It looks like Chris has a PS3 hooked up to that TV as well, because when you have that number of screens in one place, why not share the love?
    Mike's treadmill PC


    Mike offers a new take on "run and gun" with his battlestation. He's used a spare table to create a custom mount for his Alienware gaming laptop and assorted peripherals. Mike admits that "the laptop is currently dead because the GPU lit on fire from extreme overclocking". Unlucky, but I can't help but think there must be a way to harness the running motion to power the PC to cool it, or feed it more power. Here are the specs for Mike's (slightly fried) PC.
    GPUs: QX9300 Core 2 Quad Extreme, AMD 5870M
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1333MHz ram
    SSD: Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    HDD: 1.5TB HDD
    Screen: 1440x900 screen

    Jeff's simulator setup


    Jeff's wide and well-equipped battlestation is perfect for flight and driving sims. He mentions that it it "also runs Plex media server in the background and encodes video while idle." I like the idea of powerful home PCs taking on secondary tasks while idle. If we turned the idle power of these collected battlestations into a single aim, think of what we could do.
    CPU: i7 2700k @ 5.2ghz 1.320v
    RAM: 16gb Team Xtreme LV 2133 CL9
    Motherboard: MSI Mpower Z77
    GPUs: Crossfire HD7850 @ 1150mhz core, 1229mhz memory
    HDDs: 2tb Western Digital Black media drive, 500gb Western Digital RE4 software drive
    SSD: 64gb Patriot Torqx boot drive
    PSU: 850watt Silverstone Stryder Plus
    Cooling: Dual H100 radiators keeping the processor under 50C under full load.
    Case: NZXT Phantom 410 black/black case
    Sim biz: Logitech extreme 3D Pro joystick/ Saitek Pro Flight yoke, pedals, and throttle quadrant for flight. Logitech G27 for driving.

    Eric's total surround gaming battlestation


    Eric's is one of the few battlestations we received that incorporated a projector. They're expensive, and if a bulb goes the price only goes up, but a good projector can give you a good HD image, and are perfect for a bit of gaming when slouched on a couch. It also means that one whole wall of his gaming space is devoted to games - that's commitment. In addition, he's wired up four further screens and an Oculus Rift. From virtual reality to mini-cinema-sized gaming, this is a mighty fine assortment of technology.
    Those are some of our favourite picks so far. Got a rig that you'd like to show off? Don't worry, we'll be doing more of these round-ups, so feel free to post pics and details of your own battlestation in the comments below, or email them to me at tom.senior@futurenet.com with the subject line "Battlestations!". All that remains is to dish out a few honourable mentions, firstly to this attempt - literally a basket case - which gives me hope that PC gamers will still find a way to play when the apocalypse has come and gone, and we're all living on tinned tomato soup and reminiscing about alien concepts like warmth and sunlight. I approve, too, of this poster's cooling solution of "if in doubt, put more fans on it", which sadly pales to Vasko's classic cooling method. Well done, everyone.

    I'm jealous...

  23. #1672
    Apprentice
    Effekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PSN ID
    Effekt
    Age
    22
    Posts
    346
    Rep Power
    50
    Points
    5,521 (0 Banked)
    Items Metal Gear SolidTommy VercettiLegend of ZeldaBlizzardAtlus
    Wow it's fascinating look at the first page of this thread dating back to 2005, and how different the specs were lol. "I got 4gigs of ram" Which is today's pretty much new standard.

  24. #1673
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,683
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,546 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    First Nvidia G-Sync screen is out.... I'm very tempted...

    Shame there isn't a 2560x1440 version but i expect they wont ever come.

    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/3xs-m...1ms-vesa-dport

    edit:

    but i expect they wont ever come.
    I WAS WRONG!!!!!
    Last edited by BBK..; 01-08-2014 at 15:00.

  25. #1674
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,328
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    18,117 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    £440 though? A bit pricey.

  26. #1675
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,683
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,546 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    £440 though? A bit pricey.
    http://www.psu.com/forums/showthread...are-made-of%21



    Actually really excited!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.