Page 69 of 69 FirstFirst ... 5969
Results 1,701 to 1,723 of 1723

Thread: Your Computer?

  1. #1701
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,648
    Rep Power
    91
    Points
    283,367 (888 Banked)
    upgraded my PC not too long ago.

    Custom build from a local custom PC shop (Top quality stuff, i'd recommend to you guys...but NZ )

    -AMD 8320 (stock for time being)
    -GTX 660 (will use as PhysX card, waiting for the new range to launch so im not a gen behind with DX >_<)
    -8 GB Mushkin something RAM
    -120GB SSD
    -1 TB WD Black HDD
    -Noctua big fat heatsink (don't know it's name, but the guy i was talking to said it would do, and it works! CPU only ever goes to 42C under load, old C2Q idled there )

    All housed in a Design R4!

    Plan on putting in a 870 when they hit the market (assuming the naming convention stays the same....looking at you AMD >_>)

    EDIT:
    Keefy, you have some clean as **** carpets!!! how the hell do you keep them like that!? luckily, most NZ houses have wooden or laminate floors, but my bedroom is carpet and it is in a state!
    Last edited by Fijiandoce; 05-31-2014 at 20:52.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  2. #1702
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Fijiandoce View Post
    upgraded my PC not too long ago.

    Custom build from a local custom PC shop (Top quality stuff, i'd recommend to you guys...but NZ )

    -AMD 8320 (stock for time being)
    -GTX 660 (will use as PhysX card, waiting for the new range to launch so im not a gen behind with DX >_<)
    -8 GB Mushkin something RAM
    -120GB SSD
    -1 TB WD Black HDD
    -Noctua big fat heatsink (don't know it's name, but the guy i was talking to said it would do, and it works! CPU only ever goes to 42C under load, old C2Q idled there )

    All housed in a Design R4!

    Plan on putting in a 870 when they hit the market (assuming the naming convention stays the same....looking at you AMD >_>)

    EDIT:
    Keefy, you have some clean as **** carpets!!! how the hell do you keep them like that!? luckily, most NZ houses have wooden or laminate floors, but my bedroom is carpet and it is in a state!
    WTH? How you know what my carpets are like? Are you a stalker?
    Also yourname and flag suggests you are from Fiji.
    Last edited by keefy; 06-01-2014 at 02:28.

  3. #1703
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,648
    Rep Power
    91
    Points
    283,367 (888 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    WTH? How you know what my carpets are like? Are you a stalker?
    Also yourname and flag suggests you are from Fiji.
    No! i've just seen the pics you've been posting! Saw the one on the other page in this thread, and i think you got one in the 'New Stuff' thread too. Both of them have some shiny white carpets!

    consider me amazed!

    I signed up when i was living in fiji, haven't bothered to change it after i moved
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  4. #1704
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,523
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    20,701 (0 Banked)
    You know that point where you think to yourself "I REALLY need to upgrade this thing" and then find that simply upgrading isn't possible and you essentially need to buy a whole new system because all of your old stuff is unsupported by the new hardware?

    Well, I hit that spot. Started looking at an upgrade and by the time I was done I ordered this:

    Intel I7 4790K
    Asus Z97-A motherboard
    EVGA SuperNova 1000 G1 1000W power supply
    Two MSI GTX 770 Gaming video cards
    16GB GSkill Trident X Series DDR3 2400
    512GB Crucial M550 SSD

    Will be reusing my case, DVD drive, and old 1TB SATA hard drive, but I think this should be a good system that will last for a while. Should be overkill for any current game out on my 1920X1200 monitor.

  5. #1705
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,776
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    24,103 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Really nice build there. The PSU is a bit overkill though, you would only require a ~650W PSU for it.

  6. #1706
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,523
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    20,701 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    Really nice build there. The PSU is a bit overkill though, you would only require a ~650W PSU for it.
    Have you ever tried to find an SLI Certified 650watt power supply? There aren't many to choose from. Just two that I know of, neither of which is 80 PLUS certified as well.

    It's a bit overkill, but I will certainly add another 1-2 drives and possibly a third video card in time. The 10 year warranty was also a selling point, and the price difference was only $15.

    Didn't see the point in buying lower power with a 1 year warranty just to save $15. The warranty alone is worth the price difference to me.

  7. #1707
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Dont see the point in SLI certified PSU, I wouldn't base my purchase on that in the slightest.
    IT seems to me to be another gimmick for Nvidia to claw money out of things.

  8. #1708
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12,423
    Rep Power
    781
    Points
    11,009,420 (18,076 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    "SLI Certified" is a marketing gimmick and nothing more.


  9. #1709
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,523
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    20,701 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Brandon View Post
    "SLI Certified" is a marketing gimmick and nothing more.
    Are you guys being serious? Are you so fixated on the PSUs that you've totally forgotten about the rest of the system?


    First off, a 600 watt PSU is the bare minimum for ONE GTX 770, I have TWO. SLI on a 600 watt PSU is overloading the PSU.

    Second, the PSU is 80 Plus Gold certified. How many 80 Plus Gold certified PSUs can you find that are less than 800 watts? Any?

    Third, I have two video cards, 3 SATA drives, and 6 USB devices to attach to the system (Not counting keyboard and mouse). I have already told you I have future plans to add a 3rd video card and 4th SATA device, and I may expand beyond that if SSD drive prices ever drop low enough. Is your bare minimum wattage PSU going to be able to handle my future expansions as well as the existing load?

    And finally, I'm spending $139 on the PSU. How many Gold Plus 80 certified PSUs that can supply my current and future power needs can you find for less? How much less?


    And finally, which of those comes with a 10 year or more warranty?


    Any?

  10. #1710
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    You can buy any Power supply with the amount of Watts you want, it doesn't have to be SLI certified by Nvidia for it to work properly.
    Last edited by keefy; 07-17-2014 at 16:36.

  11. #1711
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,776
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    24,103 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Completely Average View Post
    First off, a 600 watt PSU is the bare minimum for ONE GTX 770, I have TWO. SLI on a 600 watt PSU is overloading the PSU.
    Actually I have to say that I missed the "two" so for that sorry, I thought it was just the single card. As for PSUs certified as 80+ gold un the 550-650W range, there's plenty, I for one have a Seasonix X-650 which is rated 80+ gold with an efficiency of 92%.

    Still though 850W should be enough.

  12. #1712
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,523
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    20,701 (0 Banked)
    The EVGA is basically a Super Flower Leadex that's been tweaked to EVGAs specs. It's actually manufacturerd by Super Flower. Yes, it's overkill, but I got the PSU for $30 less than the Seasonic X-850 with twice the warranty. And it has a maximum efficiency of 94%.

    It's a dead silent PSU. The fan never turns on unless ambient air temps get over 55C, and I've yet to see it reach 30C under load. So it sits there, quiet as can be.

    In fact, after the past 3 systems I've built this one is a dream as far as system noise goes. My previous 3 systems all had huge amounts of fan noise to keep the systems cool. Fan noise ranged between a floor space heater and a hair dryer. This system is so quiet I have to turn off the ceiling fan to tell if case fans are turning. The whole system is very nearly silent while doing normal things like browsing the internet and only reaches the level of quiet talking under full load. Unbelievably quiet considering the two very large video cards inside.

    After having a full weekend to play with it I couldn't be happier. Plays every game I've thrown at it at maximum detail at the maximum resolution my monitor supports (1920X1200) at or very near it's maximum 60hz refresh rate. Even the most demanding scenes in Crysis 3 and The Witcher 2 ran fully maxed out with nice and smooth frame rates. And it was nice to be able to use the Ultra Texture quality setting in Watch Dogs and actually still get decent frame rates from that poorly optimized broken game.

    It's not the fastest gaming PC out there by any means, but overall I'm thrilled with it. It has all of the performance to do what I want it to do, it's VERY quiet, and it doesn't heat the room up by 15 degrees while I'm gaming. Exactly what I wanted.


    Next up.... replace my 24" monitor with a Samsung UN32D6000 32" 240hz HDTV.
    Last edited by Completely Average; 07-21-2014 at 15:44.

  13. #1713
    Elite Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    25
    Posts
    10,522
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    53,195 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yeah nothing worse than a computer that heats up. Even worse for you as you're in a warner climate.

    Why are you bothering with a 240hz tv and not a true 144Hz monitor?


    BBK.. Tapa. Talked.

  14. #1714
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,523
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    20,701 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by BBK.. View Post
    Yeah nothing worse than a computer that heats up. Even worse for you as you're in a warner climate.

    Why are you bothering with a 240hz tv and not a true 144Hz monitor?


    BBK.. Tapa. Talked.

    Simple.

    Size.

    I would rather have a 32" screen than a 144hz monitor. I have yet to see a 144hz monitor larger than 27" and those rival the 32" HDTV in price.

  15. #1715
    Elite Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    25
    Posts
    10,522
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    53,195 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yeah that makes sense then. My new screen is going to be a 27" 144hz. Never thought about it before but never seen a big 120Hz+ screen before. But I've never look either


    BBK.. Tapa. Talked.

  16. #1716
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,523
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    20,701 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by BBK.. View Post
    Yeah that makes sense then. My new screen is going to be a 27" 144hz. Never thought about it before but never seen a big 120Hz+ screen before. But I've never look either


    BBK.. Tapa. Talked.

    When you get to 144hz monitors you're basically either talking about Asus or BenQ. With Asus you're talking about $800 for a 27" monitor. That's $250 more than the HDTV.

    I don't understand how 144hz could be so much better than 240hz that it's worth spending $250 more to get 5 inches less screen.

  17. #1717
    Elite Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    25
    Posts
    10,522
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    53,195 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    Your Computer?

    Yeah my current screen is an ASUS VG236HE which was a 23"1080p 120hz screen and my new one will be an ASUS PC278Q so a 27" 1440p 144hz screen.

    I used to use my Samsung 32" HDTV but it felt jittery so decided to go for 120Hz and ever since I refused to use anything less for when playing games. Size isn't an issue as I game at a desk so I'm never far from it.

    I might be mistaken but I'm sure with HDTVs the don't actually accept a 240Hz signal but rather use some trickery to put in extra frames rather than accepting 120/144 frames.


    BBK.. Tapa. Talked.

  18. #1718
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    You could have both.
    The smaller one for when sat at the desk and playing FPS games with keyboard and mouse and the larger one for sitting on the couch with a controller, for those games such as Witcher 2 or Grand theft Auto when it releases for PC.

    To be honest 26-28 is about the limit I could handle whilst sat a desk 2 feet away from the screen, I used my 26inch TV from my bedroom a while ago and it was like on the front row of the cinema, it was a little overwhelming.

    IF you want a HDTV as a monitor and want the 120Hz you will need to get one with display port or DVI otherwise most with only HDMI cannot accept 120Hz input @ 1080p due to the limitation of certain HDMI specs.

    I know my setup cant output 120Hz @ 1080p over HDMI
    BenQ XL2411T
    AMD 6870
    Last edited by keefy; 07-21-2014 at 17:24.

  19. #1719
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,523
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    20,701 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    You could have both.
    The smaller one for when sat at the desk and playing FPS games with keyboard and mouse and the larger one for sitting on the couch with a controller, for those games such as Witcher 2 or Grand theft Auto when it releases for PC.
    That's a ridiculous waste of money. If I want to game in my living room I will be using my 65" HDTV that I already have, and I wouldn't try to stretch the connection to my PC which sits in my study about 100 feet away.


    IF you want a HDTV as a monitor you will need to get one with display port otherwise most without cannot accept 120Hz input @ 1080p due to the limitation of certain HDMI specs.
    Unlocking an HDTV to accept a 120hz input is amazingly simple. It can even be done on HDMI 1.3 spec sets.
    Last edited by Completely Average; 07-21-2014 at 19:24.

  20. #1720
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,776
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    24,103 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Just so you know, a TV's refresh rate is interpolated, a 240Hz TV is not the same as a 240Hz monitor (as an example).

  21. #1721
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,523
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    20,701 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    Just so you know, a TV's refresh rate is interpolated, a 240Hz TV is not the same as a 240Hz monitor (as an example).
    I never expected it to display 240 fps.

    But it WILL accept 120hz input and display 120 fps just fine, which is plenty good enough for me, especially at 32 inches. Can't get a PC monitor that will do the same without sacrificing at least 5 inches of screen size and costing 50% more.

  22. #1722
    Forum Overseer

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,707
    Rep Power
    198
    Points
    136,980 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    this is what it said when i saw the thread.

    Your Computer? Completely Average

    jeez, you don't have to rub it in my face.

  23. #1723
    Newbie
    Perfidny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Durdy
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    221 (0 Banked)
    2.8GHz Pentium 4
    2.5 GB Kingston DDR SDRAM
    250GB SATA HDD
    2 DVD Combo Drives
    1 DVD-16x dual layer writer
    Audigy 2 Soundblaster sound card (with Sony 4.1 DD Surround on my computer)
    Dual Monitors: Dell 22" LCD Widescreen Monitor and a Samsung 17" LCD monitor
    Compro TV Tuner Card
    nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
    MS Optical Desktop Elite
    Windows 7 Home

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.