Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    34
    Posts
    36
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    173 (0 Banked)

    How fast is your upload speed in Internet Connection Test?

    Just got fios and connecting the ps3 wirelessly. Curious to know if 10 down and 800K up is fast enough? If I run it wired, I get 25 down and 2.5 up. Wired is very inconvenient.

  2. #2
    Sublimely Static
    Staticneuron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Vekta
    Age
    32
    Posts
    9,995
    Rep Power
    105
    Points
    17,483 (0 Banked)
    Right now on Speakeasy my upload is 4.25 Mbps (525 KB) and that is fine for any game I would imagine.

  3. #3
    Apprentice
    MorbidTorture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    28
    Points
    736 (0 Banked)
    I have Roadrunner Turbo through TimeWarner, which sucks IMO. I get 4.4mb down and 760kb up wired. Wireless I get 3mb down and 500kb up. It does the job for playing online, but downloading things from the PSN or big updates takes forever it seems.

  4. #4
    Dedicated Member
    REEEPR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dining, in Hell!
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,168
    Rep Power
    53
    Points
    4,856 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by MorbidTorture View Post
    I have Roadrunner Turbo through TimeWarner, which sucks IMO. I get 4.4mb down and 760kb up wired. Wireless I get 3mb down and 500kb up. It does the job for playing online, but downloading things from the PSN or big updates takes forever it seems.
    It's crazy how this can vary even among people with the same service. When i'm at my uncles (Road Runner) i can download things from the store literally in 30 seconds or less. Now at home (Windstream) the same 30 second download will take 30 minutes to an hour or more. Things like time of day, IPs throttling back speeds at heavy times of day, and even different brands of router are mostly to blame. Someone should make a thread where people can post their speeds, Internet provider, and router type. People can use these as examples when shopping around. It could even be stickied as this is one of the most brought up subjects about the PS3.

  5. #5
    Apprentice
    Fuzzymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Eugene Oregon
    PSN ID
    Fuzzymon
    Age
    30
    Posts
    174
    Rep Power
    27
    Points
    1,575 (0 Banked)
    I've got 2.0up and 18.5down wired connection comcast high speed in Eugene is pretty good I pay $30.00 a month and I also have a wireless router for iphone 4 and labtop.

  6. #6
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,125
    Rep Power
    245
    Points
    147,866 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Mine is 1.3 - 1.5 Mb/s up... heck, even when it was 768Kb/s it was plenty for any online gaming I'd do on 360, PC, or PS3... most of the time someone is using the computer also.




  7. #7
    Finally You Are Free
    Nerevar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Equestria
    Age
    22
    Posts
    15,846
    Rep Power
    136
    Points
    83,486 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    3.5down and 0.5 up. Not amazing, but it's enough for gaming and every day internet activities.

  8. #8
    Banned

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    553 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Staticneuron View Post
    Right now on Speakeasy my upload is 4.25 Mbps (525 KB) and that is fine for any game I would imagine.
    Hi,my my download speed:1.08kbp
    Last edited by vasu3; 2 Weeks Ago at 09:28.

  9. #9
    Dedicated Member
    Sleepy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,442
    Rep Power
    43
    Points
    15,210 (0 Banked)


    I notice this chart tends to fluctuate. That's normal, right?
    Last edited by Sleepy; 04-05-2011 at 08:46.

  10. #10
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,032
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    65,102 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    1.3Mbit which is about 160KB/sec.

    A fewfactors determine speed of internet through your phoneline.

    1. Quality of the phone line, if you have hisses or crackles then your speed will suffer and there is nothing your ISP can do its all down to your phone company uness thy re 1 and the same however usually phone companies don't have to guarantee your internet speeds so unless it interferes with you making and receiving calls they wont do anythig about it.

    2. Distance form the exchange - Further you are from the exchange the more speed is lost due to the resistance of the cables.

    3. Wireless is worse than wired (proof in above posts) if you want a tip top connection you have to go wired I know people that use wireless and they moan about their net all the time lag spikes slow downlads and I often see them warping about in game
    And do not expect you 1Mbit upload speed to be able to handle 12 players in COD or whatever game you play, it cannot you need at the very least a 2Mbit upload and thats pushing it
    Last edited by keefy; 04-05-2011 at 08:59.

  11. #11
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    323 (0 Banked)
    My ps3 internet bar is always on 3 bar ==

  12. #12
    Dedicated Member
    phil_75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    DERBY
    Posts
    1,110
    Rep Power
    44
    Points
    1,715 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    1.3Mbit which is about 160KB/sec.

    A fewfactors determine speed of internet through your phoneline.

    1. Quality of the phone line, if you have hisses or crackles then your speed will suffer and there is nothing your ISP can do its all down to your phone company uness thy re 1 and the same however usually phone companies don't have to guarantee your internet speeds so unless it interferes with you making and receiving calls they wont do anythig about it.

    2. Distance form the exchange - Further you are from the exchange the more speed is lost due to the resistance of the cables.

    3. Wireless is worse than wired (proof in above posts) if you want a tip top connection you have to go wired I know people that use wireless and they moan about their net all the time lag spikes slow downlads and I often see them warping about in game
    And do not expect you 1Mbit upload speed to be able to handle 12 players in COD or whatever game you play, it cannot you need at the very least a 2Mbit upload and thats pushing it
    No you don't, I have only 768k upload and play COD fine and host 16 player rooms on GT5 on the High quality (Recommended)

    Even Virgin media's 50MB only does 1.5 Mb upload, so you must be saying that No person in Britain can play COD without lagging and glitching?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    No X-Game voice chat?...I'll console myself with free online, blu-ray, browser and the best games

  13. #13
    Earthbound
    dc89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Taking my seat at the Fancy Pets Council
    Age
    25
    Posts
    15,674
    Rep Power
    110
    Points
    2,210 (72 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy IX
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    0.94mps

    Never have major problems with it.
    Quote Originally Posted by neoxthexone View Post
    DC is the hero PSU deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we'll ban him, because he can take it. Because he's not a hero. He's a single guardian, a watchful protector. The DC.

  14. #14
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hertfordshire, England
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    13 (0 Banked)


    Could be worse I guess...

  15. #15
    Xpandemic
    Guest
    Mine sucks so bad :P need to upgrade

  16. #16
    Newbie

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Age
    36
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    14 (0 Banked)
    This is a good thread but I think what would be the best value is to compare your home computer to the playstation to see if there is difference (both wired and wireless for both if possible).

    Anyway, just my opinion. Can't wait to frag some n00bs when PSN comes back online. Peace out.

  17. #17
    Newbie
    SZRT_Ice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,982 (0 Banked)

  18. #18
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,032
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    65,102 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Necro Bumpt ot he max!

    Quote Originally Posted by phil_75 View Post
    No you don't, I have only 768k upload and play COD fine and host 16 player rooms on GT5 on the High quality (Recommended)

    Even Virgin media's 50MB only does 1.5 Mb upload, so you must be saying that No person in Britain can play COD without lagging and glitching?
    No I was saying hosting servers. You will be fine because you are the host you do n to need to send out any packets over the internet to yourself. It is everyone else that suffers.
    Typically FPS games require more bandwidth than a driving game, COD requires around 25KB per person in a full server.

    My upload speed is around 15Mbit on average, almost as fast as my download was when I first posted in this thread 3 years ago.

    Last edited by keefy; 2 Weeks Ago at 07:47.

  19. #19
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    31,588
    Rep Power
    195
    Points
    122,076 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by vasu3 View Post
    My speed test results are,

    Downloadspeed:1.787Mbps
    Uploadspeed:0.837Mbps
    I checked my internet speed test here ScanmySpeed.com .
    Is this good or not
    how are you alive?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.