Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 122
  1. #26
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    1680x1050

    I get the impression you think PC gaming needs super computers that cost thousands.
    With these specifications Crysis runs at 33 fps with medium graphics on a resolution of 1280x1024

    I7 intel 3.4 ghz
    8 gbs ram
    nvidia gtx 555 1 gb.

    And you aresaying that with specifications that are even worst you run crysis 2 on ultra using 1680x1050?
    Last edited by Cybertox; 02-01-2012 at 15:25.

  2. #27
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    24
    Posts
    15,953
    Rep Power
    144
    Points
    106,715 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    With these specifications Crysis runs at 33 fps with medium graphics on a resolution of 1280x1024

    I7 intel 3.4 ghz
    8 gbs ram
    nvidia gtx 555 1 gb.

    And you aresaying that with specifications that are even worst you run crysis 2 on ultra using 1680x1050?
    Dude, that's a laptop GPU. Also what exact model is that i7 CPU?

    Pretty sure the talk here is concerning desktops.


    For the price of portability with a laptop you pay with:
    Performance
    Cost
    Battery Life
    Heat
    Last edited by Vulgotha; 02-01-2012 at 15:51.


  3. #28
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Vulgotha View Post
    Dude, that's a laptop GPU. Also what exact model is that i7 CPU?

    Pretty sure the talk here is concerning desktops.


    For the price of portability with a laptop you pay with:
    Performance
    Cost
    Battery Life
    Heat

    Alienware x51 small gaming desktop.

    ntel? Core? i7-2600 (3.40GHz, 8MB L3 Cache, 4C)
    Original Windows? 7 Home Premium, 64bit
    8 GB2 Dual-Channel bei 1333 MHz
    1GB GDDR5 NVIDIA? GeForce? GTX 555

    However i dont have my machine yet but one of the reviewers posted a performance statistic.

  4. #29
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    24
    Posts
    15,953
    Rep Power
    144
    Points
    106,715 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yea... Just compare the GTX555 to a GTX560 TI.

    It gets blown away. Furthermore, running an i7 with 1333Mhz RAM is basically guaranteeing that the CPU will not reach peak performance due to bandwidth limitations.


  5. #30
    Super Elite
    Inzane2050's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,009
    Rep Power
    30
    Points
    9,729 (0 Banked)
    The Geforce 550 is definitely very weak. 580>570>560>550, etc, all see their power halved for each number going down from my understanding
    私は日本語がわかります。図書館で読みます。ビール飲みます。

  6. #31
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Vulgotha View Post
    Yea... Just compare the GTX555 to a GTX560 TI.

    It gets blown away. Furthermore, running an i7 with 1333Mhz RAM is basically guaranteeing that the CPU will not reach peak performance due to bandwidth limitations.
    You know i dont really give a damn how many cores are running as most of the games arent compatible with the latest multi core processors. Im pretty sure that the i7 on the x51 will definitely reach a speed of 3.4 ghz on one core without any problems. Now you can see that even a decent computer cant run properly a game which uses the cry engine. Im getting the x51 because its cheap and small, i dont want to have a full tower with two HD 7970 running crossfire and being powered by an atomic reactor.
    Last edited by Cybertox; 02-01-2012 at 16:39.

  7. #32
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    30,849 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    You know i dont really give a damn how many cores are running as most of the games arent compatible with the latest multi core processors. Im pretty sure that the i7 on the x51 will definitely reach a speed of 3.4 ghz on one core without any problems. Now you can see that even a decent computer cant run properly a game which uses the cry engine. Im getting the x51 because its cheap and small, i dont want to have a full tower with two HD 7970 running crossfire and being powered by an atomic reactor.
    That's the thing though, laptops are just not that efficient for gaming. You can't blame the engine for not running well on your laptop, its the weaker hardware's fault. I think Crysis 2 is greatly optimized.

  8. #33
    Super Elite
    Inzane2050's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,009
    Rep Power
    30
    Points
    9,729 (0 Banked)
    Crysis 2 supports eight cores
    私は日本語がわかります。図書館で読みます。ビール飲みます。

  9. #34
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,696
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,359 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    With these specifications Crysis runs at 33 fps with medium graphics on a resolution of 1280x1024

    I7 intel 3.4 ghz
    8 gbs ram
    nvidia gtx 555 1 gb.

    And you aresaying that with specifications that are even worst you run crysis 2 on ultra using 1680x1050?
    Crysis 2 isnt Crysis.
    Crysis still is hard to max out at a stable 60FPS at 1080p unlike crysis 2. Crysis has issues when lots of AI are on screen the framerate drops.

    I7 doesnt help a great deal at the moment in gaming, very few if any games utilise hyperthreading I would go for the i5 version to save a bit of cash.
    Last edited by keefy; 02-01-2012 at 17:34.

  10. #35
    Elite Member
    gangsta_795's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PSN ID
    gangsta_795
    Age
    17
    Posts
    1,911
    Rep Power
    33
    Points
    1,642 (0 Banked)
    Items Joker (limited ICON)Red Hot Chili PeppersAC/DCEvanescenceNirvanaSteamEA LogoDiablo IIINvidiaManchester UnitedLightningPS3 Fat
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    You know i dont really give a damn how many cores are running as most of the games arent compatible with the latest multi core processors. Im pretty sure that the i7 on the x51 will definitely reach a speed of 3.4 ghz on one core without any problems. Now you can see that even a decent computer cant run properly a game which uses the cry engine. Im getting the x51 because its cheap and small, i dont want to have a full tower with two HD 7970 running crossfire and being powered by an atomic reactor.
    [CENTER]You see, madness, as you know, is like gravity. All it takes is a little push!


  11. #36
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Inzane2050 View Post
    Crysis 2 supports eight cores
    Now tell me smartass, how many people on earth have a processor with 8 cores?

  12. #37
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    30,849 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by gangsta_795 View Post
    Well you really DO need a nuclear fission plant in there. Its absolute madness how much energy a SINGLE card takes.
    All just to play video games (ofcourse you can have graphics work too)

  13. #38
    Elite Member
    gangsta_795's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PSN ID
    gangsta_795
    Age
    17
    Posts
    1,911
    Rep Power
    33
    Points
    1,642 (0 Banked)
    Items Joker (limited ICON)Red Hot Chili PeppersAC/DCEvanescenceNirvanaSteamEA LogoDiablo IIINvidiaManchester UnitedLightningPS3 Fat
    OK this is off but the PC gaming thread is dead so...

    How's this config?

    http://www.flipkart.com/computers/co...al_processor_3

    http://www.flipkart.com/computers/co...4-68f02edaf42a

    http://www.flipkart.com/computers/co...f-f96686cf281a

    http://www.flipkart.com/computers/co...3-90c28f25fb8e

    After my exams in March, I'm thinking of ditching my PS3 forever and building one nice PC. I would've selected better components but there's a limit to what my dad would be willing to spend.

    Alongside these, a cabinet, PSU, Razer Naga and a new keyboard as well.
    [CENTER]You see, madness, as you know, is like gravity. All it takes is a little push!


  14. #39
    Super Elite
    Inzane2050's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,009
    Rep Power
    30
    Points
    9,729 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    Now tell me smartass, how many people on earth have a processor with 8 cores?
    So what's your problem? I was just letting you know that Crysis 2 does indeed support multi-core computing. You only need an entry-level dual core to max the game tho. But calm down, bro.
    Last edited by Inzane2050; 02-01-2012 at 17:58.
    私は日本語がわかります。図書館で読みます。ビール飲みます。

  15. #40
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,789
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    39,621 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Depends if your talking physical or logical cores. My laptop theoretically has 8 cores (4 physical 4 logical) and i believe AMD are selling OctCore CPU's, i could be making that up though.

  16. #41
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,696
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,359 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    AMD have recently release the FX series which the FX 8120 and FX 8150 have 8 cores.
    How many people have them I have no idea but the number is only going to grow. AMD and Intel already had 6 core CPU's out for over a year.

  17. #42
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    24
    Posts
    15,953
    Rep Power
    144
    Points
    106,715 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    Now tell me smartass, how many people on earth have a processor with 8 cores?
    Well, I have 4 cores and 8 virtual (threads).


    You know i dont really give a damn how many cores are running as most of the games arent compatible with the latest multi core processors. Im pretty sure that the i7 on the x51 will definitely reach a speed of 3.4 ghz on one core without any problems. Now you can see that even a decent computer cant run properly a game which uses the cry engine. Im getting the x51 because its cheap and small, i dont want to have a full tower with two HD 7970 running crossfire and being powered by an atomic reactor.
    Look, I'm going to put this as politely as possible.. You don't know what you're talking about. You're clearly not tech savvy so you should not be drawing such conclusions so freely.

    Cryengine 3.0 is far and away more efficient than Cryengine 2.0 could ever hope to be. You get some amazing effects no matter what hardware you're running.

    You're using a mobile solution GPU which is much, much weaker than most desktop GPU's out there. Even 'cheap' ones. It is unreasonable to expect a laptop, let alone a budget or mid tier gaming laptop, to compete with towers. It just is not practical.

    @Inzane

    Not totally true, atleast for the 570 and 580. They're very close in terms of specs.
    Last edited by Vulgotha; 02-01-2012 at 18:06.


  18. #43
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,789
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    39,621 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Going to play devils advocate here, my laptop has a 1.5GB GT555m inside of it and it can comfortably run Crysis 2 on high settings at it's native screen res (1600x900) at a stable 40fps. I know if i tried that with the first Crysis my laptop would keel over, overheat, implode and die.

  19. #44
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Guys dont you understand the obvious?

    Vulgotha you say that im not very knowledged with computer technologies and this is something i admit but. All of you say that a desktop can run Crysis maxed out without any problems on a decent resolution, however do you have an idea how many different desktops are there in the market? You think all those desktop owners own a dual crossfire videocards and a processor with $#@!ing 8 cores? There are a lot of desktops like the iMac or the x51 which use mobile (laptop) gpus. Those desktops which are for sale in the normal shops and which people use at work dont have a dual 4 gbs videocard, 8 cores processor and 128 gbs of ram. Its the same if i say that all 4 wheel cars can reach a speed of 360 km per hour. Some people dont even own a computer. If take the average specs of the computers that are used by people, the average specs wouldnt be good enough to even run crysis on low.

    @ Inzane : Ok Bro im gonna calm down now...

  20. #45
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,789
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    39,621 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    You have a valid point but then how many PC gamers would own a standard run of the mill pc

  21. #46
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    24
    Posts
    15,953
    Rep Power
    144
    Points
    106,715 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Eh, you can build a machine to play Crysis 2 comfortably for like 600 USD.

    Mine is a monster and the tower only cost me $1000. It's also interesting you bring up iMac's, as (in my eyes) they're over priced and underperforming. Their specs aren't that great.

    "so so" memory, "so so" CPU's, "mediocre" GPU's.. You get an XHD integrated display, blu tooth.. But I mean really you're paying just to have a very minimalist desktop with the Apple logo on it.

    I'm typing to you now from work, using a $2200 iMac that I think very little of. It's specs are laughable. It's 2.2 times as expensive as my machine back home.. Yet that PC would rip this thing to bloody shreds.


  22. #47
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    A very small amount of people build their own computers with their own parts compared to the whole population. The price for a regular person is more important than the specifications of the computer the person is buying. I agree with you about apple and alienware being overpriced especially apple products. A good gaming machine however is even more expensive than a 27 inch imac. Im now at my friends house and im using his gaming machine which he built by himself using a budget of 7500 franks. 1 hour earlier i was playing sc2 on his computer and the game was running on ultra with a resolution of 1920x1080 and the game ran at 180 frames per secound. But not many people have such a computer like my friends or yours Vulgotha.

  23. #48
    Super Elite
    Inzane2050's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,009
    Rep Power
    30
    Points
    9,729 (0 Banked)
    A $120 Geforce 550 gets +45fps on max DX11 settings and 720p. With that said, you can build a PC from scratch for $400 that maxes out Crysis 2. Hope that's helpful.
    Last edited by Inzane2050; 02-01-2012 at 19:08.
    私は日本語がわかります。図書館で読みます。ビール飲みます。

  24. #49
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,696
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,359 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Steam has a decent idea of what hardware its users own and use, January stats have not been tabulated yet but you can see the increase of Quad core CPU's and DX 11 GPU's over a 12 mnth period.
    http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey
    Last edited by keefy; 02-01-2012 at 19:22.

  25. #50
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Inzane2050 View Post
    A $120 Geforce 550 gets +45fps on max DX11 settings and 720p. With that said, you can build a PC from scratch for $400 that maxes out Crysis 2. Hope that's helpful.
    Now add the following to the price:

    A new monitor
    Keyboard
    Mice
    And all the other accessoires you gonna need.
    Congrats now you are at 1000 bucks.

    Im pretty sure a 400 bucks computer cant run crysis on those setttings that you mentioned.
    A motherboard, cpu, cooling system, power supply, hard drive and ram cost more than only 280 bucks.
    Last edited by Cybertox; 02-01-2012 at 19:24.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.