Latest PSU headlines:

Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Forum Sage
    Aquanox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8,023
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    6,086 (0 Banked)

    So how does Skyrim look with most of those fancy mods?

    Ever wondering how does Skyrim look with all those mods and updates?

    Here's my experience. I have the following mods applied (Including the High Res Textures released yesterday)

    High Res Textures (of course)
    High Res Weapons
    Improved Eyes
    Improved Sky
    Improved Water effects
    Improved Lighting
    No more blocky faces
    Pretty female faces
    Better Inventory
    Map with Roads

    And the result is:

    Yup I'm Back. If you wonder, read this. =)
    "Fake Effects"? Read This. Move on. I'm not interested. Thank you


  2. #2
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Looks very nice, whats your framerate with all those mods? Could post your specs as well pls.

  3. #3
    Forum Sage
    Aquanox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8,023
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    6,086 (0 Banked)
    It's actually super smooth in open areas but for some reason, terrible inside towns... as if there was a bottleneck. I'll disable them one by one (there's a mod manager that easily enables/disables them) so see what's the one stealing those FPS.

    It looks astonishing however.

    My specs:

    Core i5 2500k
    8GB RAM DDR3 1600mhz
    Radeom HD 5870 Crossfire(x2)
    Playing @ 1080p, max settings.
    Yup I'm Back. If you wonder, read this. =)
    "Fake Effects"? Read This. Move on. I'm not interested. Thank you


  4. #4
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Yeah with two gpus this game should work dcently.

  5. #5
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Gothenburg
    Age
    30
    Posts
    206
    Rep Power
    48
    Points
    1,318 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    Yeah with two gpus this game should work dcently.
    It's not very taxing on the GPUs, though. A single HD 5870 is good for 1920x1200 with Ultra settings, 4xAA/8xAF and 90 degree FOV. It's expected, though, since it's a console game with pretty small enhancements on the PC version.

    The performance problems with Skyrim were largely solved by the 1.4 patch, which enabled proper CPU optimizations.
    Last edited by Mikael; 02-10-2012 at 08:06.

  6. #6
    Forum Sage
    Aquanox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8,023
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    6,086 (0 Banked)
    I'm not sure about that. It looks a LOT better than the consoles version. I actually hate watching it on consoles... can't stand the low res, jaggies , framerate, etc...

    A single 5870 is not enough for this game (with mods that is)... probably for not taxing areas it is.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikael View Post
    It's not very taxing on the GPUs, though. A single HD 5870 is good for 1920x1200 with Ultra settings, 4xAA/8xAF and 90 degree FOV. It's expected, though, since it's a console game with pretty small enhancements on the PC version.

    The performance problems with Skyrim were largely solved by the 1.4 patch, which enabled proper CPU optimizations.
    Last edited by Aquanox; 02-10-2012 at 17:17.
    Yup I'm Back. If you wonder, read this. =)
    "Fake Effects"? Read This. Move on. I'm not interested. Thank you


  7. #7
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    23
    Posts
    15,915
    Rep Power
    140
    Points
    75,052 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I have many of those mods installed as well, I run things without a hitch until I enter particular places. Like Whiterun for some reason.

    I also agree with Mikael, it is not a very GPU intensive game.
    Awesome techno and dubstep! Visit: http://Solkrieg.com
    Latest Song: Lady GaGa's Monster Dubstep!


  8. #8
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Gothenburg
    Age
    30
    Posts
    206
    Rep Power
    48
    Points
    1,318 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Aquanox View Post
    A single 5870 is not enough for this game (with mods that is)... probably for not taxing areas it is.
    Yeah, the main problem with mods is probably the 1GB VRAM that most 5870's have. Here are a few results from my rig that I posted on another forum. It's without mods, but with a few ini tweaks that add significant detail, most notably setting uGridsToLoad to 9 instead of 5. Coupled with 90 degree FOV and a few other tweaks, it's a good deal more demanding than out-of-the-box, but still runs fine on my now pretty dated rig (framerate can be seen in the screens).

    Hardware
    Core-i7 860 @ 3.6GHz
    8GB DDR3 @ 1640MHz
    Radeon HD 5870 1GB @ stock

    Software
    ATI Catalyst 11.12
    Skyrim 1.4 beta

    Mods
    None

    Ini tweaks
    uGridsToLoad=9

    bTreesReceiveShadows=1
    bDrawLandShadows=1

    fBlockLevel1Distance=140000.0000
    fBlockLevel0Distance=70000.0000

    fGrassStartFadeDistance=14000.0000
    fGrassMaxStartFadeDistance=28000.0000

    Skyrim settings
    Ultra
    1920x1200, 8xAA, 8xAF

    Performance
    See screenshots below for FPS.

    Last edited by Mikael; 02-11-2012 at 09:59.

  9. #9
    Superior Member
    sneezymarble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    969
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    3,217 (0 Banked)
    Behold! PCFTMFW!

    i7 4770 | 2x EVGA GTX 780 ti SC ACX SLI | 32GB
    i7 3770 | EVGA SC GTX 580 3GB​ | 16GB

  10. Likes Morganator, Valefor , Itachi wishes they had posted this first.
  11. #10
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,243
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    28,187 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by sneezymarble View Post
    Behold! PCFTMFW!

    I don't even have skyrim, but you just ruined it for me.
    It looks AMAZING! I don't know if that is pre-rendered or a photo real mod.

  12. #11
    Elite Member
    gangsta_795's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PSN ID
    gangsta_795
    Age
    17
    Posts
    1,911
    Rep Power
    30
    Points
    1,610 (0 Banked)
    Items Joker (limited ICON)Red Hot Chili PeppersAC/DCEvanescenceNirvanaSteamEA LogoDiablo IIINvidiaManchester UnitedLightningPS3 Fat
    Darn those are some good looking caps
    You see, madness, as you know, is like gravity. All it takes is a little push!



  13. #12
    Superior Member
    sneezymarble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    969
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    3,217 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    I don't even have skyrim, but you just ruined it for me.
    It looks AMAZING! I don't know if that is pre-rendered or a photo real mod.
    Those aren't my shots. They're from various ENBseries mods plus a bunch of other mods (HD textures, better faces, etc). I'll post some of my own later. The game is playable with the graphics and enhancements you see in those screenshots. With the single GTX580 system in my sig I can play the game at 1080p with ENB mods, official high resolution textures DLC, community HD textures, SSAO, 16xAF, FXAA, 2xMSAA + 2xSGSSAA, and every slider set as far as it will go. I lock the framerate at 30fps because it can swing a lot at those settings and so far I haven't seen it dip below that.
    Last edited by sneezymarble; 02-13-2012 at 13:51.
    i7 4770 | 2x EVGA GTX 780 ti SC ACX SLI | 32GB
    i7 3770 | EVGA SC GTX 580 3GB​ | 16GB

  14. #13
    Elite Sage
    John25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    31
    Posts
    10,655
    Rep Power
    103
    Points
    3,165 (331,762 Banked)
    Items AC/DCRolling StonesAtari 2600GTA CJBattlefield 3Final Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIINESSNESEvertonUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by sneezymarble View Post
    Those aren't my shots. They're from various ENBseries mods plus a bunch of other mods (HD textures, better faces, etc). I'll post some of my own later. The game is playable with the graphics and enhancements you see in those screenshots. With the single GTX580 system in my sig I can play the game at 1080p with ENB mods, official high resolution textures DLC, community HD textures, SSAO, 16xAF, FXAA, 2xMSAA + 2xSGSSAA, and every slider set as far as it will go. I lock the framerate at 30fps because it can swing a lot at those settings and so far I haven't seen it dip below that.
    Damn I really wish I played the PC version instead of the PS3 version

    Would a Superclocked GTX570 card be able to play at those settings ???

  15. #14
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,243
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    28,187 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by John25 View Post
    Damn I really wish I played the PC version instead of the PS3 version

    Would a Superclocked GTX570 card be able to play at those settings ???
    presumably yes. May not be every thing to the max though

  16. #15
    Superior Member
    sneezymarble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    969
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    3,217 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by John25 View Post
    Damn I really wish I played the PC version instead of the PS3 version

    Would a Superclocked GTX570 card be able to play at those settings ???
    I would think so. Just don't use MSAA and SGSSAA. Use only the built in FXAA or an FXAA or SMAA injector. If you're still struggling then turn of SSAO. SSAO and MSAA + SGSSAA cause a pretty big performance hit.
    Last edited by sneezymarble; 02-13-2012 at 15:19.
    i7 4770 | 2x EVGA GTX 780 ti SC ACX SLI | 32GB
    i7 3770 | EVGA SC GTX 580 3GB​ | 16GB

  17. #16
    Elite Sage
    John25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    31
    Posts
    10,655
    Rep Power
    103
    Points
    3,165 (331,762 Banked)
    Items AC/DCRolling StonesAtari 2600GTA CJBattlefield 3Final Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIINESSNESEvertonUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by sneezymarble View Post
    I would think so. Just don't use MSAA and SGSSAA. Use only the built in FXAA or an FXAA or SMAA injector. If you're still struggling then turn of SSAO. SSAO and MSAA + SGSSAA cause a pretty big performance hit.
    Thanks for the Reply. ,Vulgotha has the same Card and im sure he said he Overclocked his card even more and was getting close to a 580 card results. Maybe I could tweak my card a bit if I have to lower any settings too much ,I got a AMD 1100T CPU & 8 gig DDR3 1600 MHz RAM so should have no issues on that front

  18. #17
    Superior Member
    sneezymarble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    969
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    3,217 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by John25 View Post
    Thanks for the Reply. ,Vulgotha has the same Card and im sure he said he Overclocked his card even more and was getting close to a 580 card results. Maybe I could tweak my card a bit if I have to lower any settings too much ,I got a AMD 1100T CPU & 8 gig DDR3 1600 MHz RAM so should have no issues on that front
    You should be fine. I should note that I play the game with a 360 controller, and thus locking the framerate to 30fps isn't a problem. If you're playing with a mouse and keyboard I think you'll notice some mouse lag with the framerate that low.
    i7 4770 | 2x EVGA GTX 780 ti SC ACX SLI | 32GB
    i7 3770 | EVGA SC GTX 580 3GB​ | 16GB

  19. #18
    Elite Sage
    John25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    31
    Posts
    10,655
    Rep Power
    103
    Points
    3,165 (331,762 Banked)
    Items AC/DCRolling StonesAtari 2600GTA CJBattlefield 3Final Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIINESSNESEvertonUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by sneezymarble View Post
    You should be fine. I should note that I play the game with a 360 controller, and thus locking the framerate to 30fps isn't a problem. If you're playing with a mouse and keyboard I think you'll notice some mouse lag with the framerate that low.
    lol I can't get used to mouse & Keyboard no matter what so will be using a 360 Controller also ,Il grab the PC version once I got all the PS3 trophies.

  20. #19
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,357
    Rep Power
    48
    Points
    8,194 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by sneezymarble View Post
    Behold! PCFTMFW!

    Stunning. Not sure how that mod will run on a 5850, but I'll give it a go.

  21. #20
    Forum Sage

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    31
    Posts
    8,269
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    4,895 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by sneezymarble View Post
    Behold! PCFTMFW!

    Mother of god.

    Seriously. What the fuck was I thinking getting it on the 360?

    Will my setup work?

    AMD AM3 Phenom II X4 @ 3.4GHz
    2 Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 with a total of 4GB GDDR5 ram
    16GB of DDR3 Patriot Sector 5 ram @ 1600MHz
    2 128GB SATA III 6.0Gbits/s SSD hard drives running in a Raid 0 setup
    10x BD Rom/Writer optical drive

  22. #21
    Forum Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,088
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    28,718 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I have a feeling your computer would fly through this game

  23. #22
    Superior Member
    sneezymarble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    969
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    3,217 (0 Banked)
    These are from my system this time. The ones I posted before were taken from a bunch of different posts from several users on the ENB forums.

    Anyway, 1080p, 16xAF, 2xMSAA, 2xSGSSAA through inspector, FXAA, skyrimlauncher settings as high as they'll go, and high quality SSAO forced through inspector. In addition to the official high resolution texture DLC, I'm also using the 2K textures mod and a few other high resolution texture mods (water, foliage, trees, etc). Finally, I'm using ENBPM for bloom, light adaptation, lens flare, depth of field, color correction, and a few other little graphical tweaks.

    It's remarkable that the game is playable at those settings on my system, which, aside from the GPU, is pretty dated. In most areas I get above 30fps. There are a few places where the framerate dips into the 20s. I actually prefer a lower framerate (24-30fps), because I think it gives a cinematic feel to the game. With a little motion blur it'd be perfect.

    i7 4770 | 2x EVGA GTX 780 ti SC ACX SLI | 32GB
    i7 3770 | EVGA SC GTX 580 3GB​ | 16GB

  24. #23
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,243
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    28,187 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Cool stuff.

  25. #24
    Elite Guru
    *goo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,236
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    29,924 (0 Banked)
    This is as good a thread as any to post in.

    Skyrim is now supported on Steam Cloud.

    Sweet.

    (I never knew until now).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.