Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Apprentice
    dragon1989's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Morocco
    PSN ID
    DevilSummonerZ
    Posts
    275
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    862 (214 Banked)
    Items PlayStation

    Help plz PS3 upgrade !!

    i tryed to backup my ps3 data (setting--- backup data), but i found i need 32GB of free space to do that, knowing that i only have a 8 gb flash drive....

    So i wanna know what kind of data my ps3 backup (games-music-movies-saveddata......what!)

    I only have these games in my hard drive (infamous, GT HD Concept, MTG4 Data Base, StarHawkBETA, and t)

    I don't have any movies or images, no playstation home and no music..... so i just can't figure out the 32GB size!

    + i wanna know if i only backedup my games saved data only.... can i copy it back to my new harddrive easily!

    P.S
    Iwill upgrade my 60GB PS3 into 500Gb

    My PSN ID: DevilSummonerZ

  2. #2
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,524
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,934 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    The backup literally backs up everything, including the game installation data (which is probably why your backup is so big)

    I'd suggest deleting the stuff in your _game data_ folder (NOT the save data folder!) and then try backing it up again. Failing that you can copy most of your game saves manually.

    Sucks you'll have to download and patch those games again, but with only an 8gb flash drive you're kinda stuck.

  3. #3
    Apprentice
    dragon1989's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Morocco
    PSN ID
    DevilSummonerZ
    Posts
    275
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    862 (214 Banked)
    Items PlayStation
    Quote Originally Posted by Rekmon View Post
    The backup literally backs up everything, including the game installation data (which is probably why your backup is so big)

    I'd suggest deleting the stuff in your _game data_ folder (NOT the save data folder!) and then try backing it up again. Failing that you can copy most of your game saves manually.

    yeah ur right.... i will try to get a bigger hard drive from a friend ....

    Sucks you'll have to download and patch those games again, but with only an 8gb flash drive you're kinda stuck.

    My PSN ID: DevilSummonerZ

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    30
    Posts
    12,234
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    119,669 (18,076 Banked)
    Items Ghost in the ShellTidusLightningBruce LeeAppleUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    So buy a bigger drive to back up to. You only need 32 GB so you should be to find one for ridiculously cheap.


    * Tapatalking *
    "The biggest adversary in our life is ourselves. We are what we are, in a sense, because of the dominating thoughts we allow to gather in our head. All concepts of self-improvement, all actions and paths we take, relate solely to our abstract image of ourselves. Life is limited only by how we really see ourselves and feel about our being. A great deal of pure self-knowledge and inner understanding allows us to lay an all-important foundation for the structure of our life from which we can perceive and take the right avenues.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Veteran
    AaronSOLDIER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PSN ID
    AaronSOLDIER
    Age
    22
    Posts
    20,754
    Rep Power
    118
    Points
    67,304 (0 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy Versus XIIIPS3 SlimFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy IXFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy VIFinal Fantasy VFinal Fantasy IVFinal Fantasy IIIFinal Fantasy IIFinal Fantasy
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Just do what Rekmon said, easier than copying save files one by one (especially if some are protected).
    Quote Originally Posted by BigDug13
    I want Naughty Dog to explore new game genres, not regurgitate cinematic corridor shooters for another generation.

  6. #6
    Forum Sage
    sainraja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    8,154
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    25,733 (0 Banked)
    When I upgraded my PS3, and backed up my data to a hard drive, it was all corrupted and the only things that copied over were saves and themes. I had to install the games and patches again.......took quite long if it is only backing/restoring those things..
    Last edited by sainraja; 03-18-2012 at 00:17.

  7. #7
    Ultimate Veteran
    mickice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia, In a Kangaroo's pouch.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    21,931
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    21,506 (40,000 Banked)
    Items PlayStationPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    ^^^ Your data must have corrupted.
    I upgraded mine last week, had 120gb and needed very close to that in space to backup to.
    The backup process backs up literally everything. Music, video, pictures, install data, save data, downloaded games...

    Took about 4hrs to backup and maybe 6 hours to install to my new 750gb hdd.

    Edit: When your new hdd is installed you wont be able to acess the xmb like you might think. You will need to have the latest PS3 update on the same storage too.
    Last edited by mickice; 03-18-2012 at 02:42.

    - Symmetrical thumb sticks for life -

  8. #8
    Master Guru
    TDbank24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    6,737
    Rep Power
    66
    Points
    36,009 (0 Banked)
    Just get a PS3 slim. It will solve everything.


  9. #9
    Forum Sage
    sainraja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    8,154
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    25,733 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by mickice View Post
    ^^^ Your data must have corrupted.
    I upgraded mine last week, had 120gb and needed very close to that in space to backup to.
    The backup process backs up literally everything. Music, video, pictures, install data, save data, downloaded games...

    Took about 4hrs to backup and maybe 6 hours to install to my new 750gb hdd.

    Edit: When your new hdd is installed you wont be able to acess the xmb like you might think. You will need to have the latest PS3 update on the same storage too.
    It happened every time. I just gave up....and started over, downloaded everything....well not quite everything. I downloaded the stuff I was using often and getting to others as I need them..

  10. #10
    Ultimate Veteran
    mickice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia, In a Kangaroo's pouch.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    21,931
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    21,506 (40,000 Banked)
    Items PlayStationPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by sainraja View Post
    It happened every time. I just gave up....and started over, downloaded everything....well not quite everything. I downloaded the stuff I was using often and getting to others as I need them..
    Weird, ive only ever done it once and it worked as advertised.
    My PS3 slim now has 750gb of space and works as a killer TV DVR.
    Also I do fortnightly backups.
    Last edited by mickice; 03-18-2012 at 07:14.

    - Symmetrical thumb sticks for life -

  11. #11
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,102
    Rep Power
    243
    Points
    144,727 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    How do you use it as a tv dvr?




  12. #12
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,119
    Rep Power
    131
    Points
    525 (1,060,841 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    How do you use it as a tv dvr?
    Easy in UK we have a box called playtv which lets us watch freeview via ps3 and record shows even whille playing games



    Thank you itachi

  13. #13
    Forum Sage
    sainraja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    8,154
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    25,733 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by mickice View Post
    Weird, ive only ever done it once and it worked as advertised.
    My PS3 slim now has 750gb of space and works as a killer TV DVR.
    Also I do fortnightly backups.
    Hmm, I wish it worked for me. It was very annoying...

    @F34R - In the UK, you can use it as a DVR and if you happen to have a UK account, you'll see the PlayTV option under TV/Services section which was added to the U.S recently (for netflix, hulu etc) compared to the UK...

  14. #14
    Elite Member
    gangsta_795's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PSN ID
    gangsta_795
    Age
    17
    Posts
    1,911
    Rep Power
    33
    Points
    1,642 (0 Banked)
    Items Joker (limited ICON)Red Hot Chili PeppersAC/DCEvanescenceNirvanaSteamEA LogoDiablo IIINvidiaManchester UnitedLightningPS3 Fat
    Quote Originally Posted by dragon1989 View Post
    i tryed to backup my ps3 data (setting--- backup data), but i found i need 32GB of free space to do that, knowing that i only have a 8 gb flash drive....

    So i wanna know what kind of data my ps3 backup (games-music-movies-saveddata......what!)

    I only have these games in my hard drive (infamous, GT HD Concept, MTG4 Data Base, StarHawkBETA, and t)

    I don't have any movies or images, no playstation home and no music..... so i just can't figure out the 32GB size!

    + i wanna know if i only backedup my games saved data only.... can i copy it back to my new harddrive easily!

    P.S
    Iwill upgrade my 60GB PS3 into 500Gb
    No you can't do that. Since you'll be inserting a new, blank drive, it won't have the system software required to run the PS3. Hence, the 32 gigs includes the system soft, settings, etc.
    [CENTER]You see, madness, as you know, is like gravity. All it takes is a little push!


  15. #15
    Ultimate Veteran
    mickice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia, In a Kangaroo's pouch.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    21,931
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    21,506 (40,000 Banked)
    Items PlayStationPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    Easy in UK we have a box called playtv which lets us watch freeview via ps3 and record shows even whille playing games
    Full HD as well, in japan they have a different box starting with a T.
    I also have DVB software on my computer too but since I rent and use a portable aerial I use both methods for the best results.

    - Symmetrical thumb sticks for life -

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.