Latest PSU headlines:

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Veteran
    The Black Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    MS, USA
    Posts
    4,558
    Rep Power
    46
    Points
    4,544 (12,000 Banked)
    Items PS3 SlimVita3DSPlayStation

    Is that the tv or the PS3?

    I was playing a game last night and I noticed something strange. My tv would flash, it would flash black or darkness. It kept doing it and I'm wondering what it is and what's causing it.

    I'm sure it's nothing big, but I would like to correct it or know if the PS3 or tv is going out.

    Thank you.

    Currently Playing: Pokemon X

  2. #2
    Veteran
    snooper71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PSN ID
    snooper71
    Posts
    4,310
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    15,749 (0 Banked)
    Items Naughty Dog
    Sounds like your HDMI wire (or other connection) is about to give... Switch with another wire for confirmation.


    Next Gen top picks:
    PS4: Infamous SS, DriveClub
    One: Project spark, Forza 5
    Multi: Watchdogs, The crew, FFXV, KHIII

  3. #3
    Elite Member
    gangsta_795's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PSN ID
    gangsta_795
    Age
    17
    Posts
    1,911
    Rep Power
    30
    Points
    1,610 (0 Banked)
    Items Joker (limited ICON)Red Hot Chili PeppersAC/DCEvanescenceNirvanaSteamEA LogoDiablo IIINvidiaManchester UnitedLightningPS3 Fat
    Yeah most probably neither but the connecting wire b/w them.
    You see, madness, as you know, is like gravity. All it takes is a little push!



  4. #4
    Elite Guru
    berts08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    N.Ireland
    PSN ID
    berts08
    Age
    31
    Posts
    5,551
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    6,958 (4,000 Banked)
    Items User name styleManchester United
Gift received at 11-19-2011 from Cuguy
Message: couldn't find a reason the shop would deny you the purchase, so here ya go
    Happens to me often, it would flash black for a couple of seconds and then flash back on the screen with the resolution settings appearing on the top right of the screen. Sometimes I have to switch channel back and forth to get the screen back.


    “Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.” Arthur C. Clarke


    PSN ID: berts08



  5. #5
    Forum Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,086
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    28,698 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yeah as already said it seems like a HDMI problem. Buy a cheap one off eBay and see if that rectifies it


    BBK. Tapatalking.

  6. #6
    Apprentice
    GalapagosaraY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    PSN ID
    GalapagosaraY
    Posts
    183
    Rep Power
    20
    Points
    2,145 (0 Banked)
    ive actually had the same problem for quite a while now i think atleast the last 6 months actually, i dont know if its a problem with only Sony Bravias though as i have one of those but when i first googled some hdmi/bravia problems when i first got the problems there were quite a few mentions of this being a common error which is rather annoying as my tv selection fell on compatibilty for ps3 aswell, but ye buying a new hdmi cable is prob the best to see if it does it again

    For the last 2 weeks i havent had this error which is quite odd as i had just ordered a new hdmi cable but now im afraid to even try the new one out so im still going with the old one till it (hopefully not) does it again, but mine would usually go black for like 3-8 seconds and come back after a while, its rather annoying in some games as that require you to not make an error like racing games as the first initial response is not pausing it as you think something is broken lol




    Cur.Playing PS3 : Back to the Future: Episode 2 - Monkey Island 2 SE: LeChuck's Revenge

    Playing PC: Thief - Edna & Harvey: Harvey´s New Eyes

    Recently Completed: Heavy Rain 8.0/10 - Devil May Cry 2 HD 4.5/10 - AC: Revelations 8.5/10

  7. #7
    Veteran
    The Black Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    MS, USA
    Posts
    4,558
    Rep Power
    46
    Points
    4,544 (12,000 Banked)
    Items PS3 SlimVita3DSPlayStation
    I did what you guys suggested and bought a new HDMI cable. It stopped so you guys were right, after 4-5 years my HDMI cable finally went out on me.

    Currently Playing: Pokemon X

  8. #8
    Master Guru
    TDbank24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    6,614
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    31,710 (0 Banked)
    Yup, those HDMI cables don't last forever. That's why most of them are so cheap.


  9. #9
    Apprentice
    EatSleepAndPlay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    391
    Rep Power
    20
    Points
    1,901 (0 Banked)
    Items VitaPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by TDbank24 View Post
    Yup, those HDMI cables don't last forever. That's why most of them are so cheap.
    I still have my original HDMI cable's from when they first came out. I always thought they last a long time.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.