Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Giaps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    http://flowersbymadison.com
    PSN ID
    Giaps
    Posts
    110
    Rep Power
    65

    Brand New PS3 HDD Swap Before First Start Up

    I just bought a new 160gb slim to replace my long time 80gb fatty (RIP, my friend). I have a 500gb HDD I want to swap in immediately, but does it matter if I swap it in before I start up the system for the first time or is there some stuff on the stock HDD that I need to backup first?

    Thanks for your input in advance!
    PSN: Giaps

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    36
    Posts
    14,085
    Rep Power
    172
    Backup your game saves to a usb thumb drive or if you have PS+ you can upload them to the cloud. Then just pop in your new hdd and follow the steps.

    After reading again I see that the PS3 is brand new. Just go ahead and toss in your new hdd. You can go ahead and boot up the PS3 for the first time and add all the settings. These are saved to the PS3 and not the hdd.

  3. Likes MacP likes this post
  4. #3
    Ultimate Veteran
    AaronSOLDIER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PSN ID
    AaronSOLDIER
    Age
    24
    Posts
    20,541
    Rep Power
    134
    Id update the system then swap in the new HDD, I tried to swap a 500GB into a 160GB slim before starting up and it came up with an error at the beginning for some reason (something to d with the firmware).

    Please help our Final Fantasy Community get off the ground:
    http://forums.final7fantasy.com/

  5. #4
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    20,917
    Rep Power
    128
    you need to download the newset fw to a usb stick. then put install the usb stick in the ps3 then place the new hard drive in the machine and start it up. then it will work. the usb stick will put the fw on the hard drive and format it.
    i had to do thiswhen i put my 250 gig hd to replace my 20 gig slim

    the old days of the ps3 phat we where able to just swap out the hard drive and install the new one and install and it will be ok
    the new slims have less meomory

  6. #5
    Member
    Giaps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    http://flowersbymadison.com
    PSN ID
    Giaps
    Posts
    110
    Rep Power
    65
    Thanks for your replies guys. I went ahead and downloaded the FW update to a usb stick, swapped in the new HDD and popped them both in. The PS3 started to format then stopped at 99% where it has been for over an hour. A google search shows that this is not an uncommon problem BUT there is no clear way to fix this. I have seen 10 different ways that it's worked for people and others who says those 10 different way didn't work for them. This is a major screw up by Sony.

    I will be trying one of these methods to fix the problem. One is to have the original HDD in, pop it out as it begins to format, let it restart itself then pop in the new one and proceed... strange, I know but it worked for some. If anybody has any info on this problem please let me know! Thanks!

    EDIT: This is the exact problem I'm having http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcD-OBHx_P8 -- I am worried about powering off the unit as you're not supposed to while formatting as it can be dangerous, but there is no other option other than to wait and I have read people saying they let it go for 20+ hours and it did not complete. This sucks.

    EDIT#2: That video is actually for installing the update and it says "Installing". Mine is for formatting and says "Formatting". Seems to be the same problem though.
    Last edited by Giaps; 05-03-2012 at 03:43.
    PSN: Giaps

  7. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Giaps View Post
    I just bought a new 160gb slim to replace my long time 80gb fatty (RIP, my friend). I have a 500gb HDD I want to swap in immediately, but does it matter if I swap it in before I start up the system for the first time or is there some stuff on the stock HDD that I need to backup first?

    Thanks for your input in advance!
    Off Topic: That Sig has to be against the rules.

  8. #7
    Member
    Giaps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    http://flowersbymadison.com
    PSN ID
    Giaps
    Posts
    110
    Rep Power
    65
    Update:

    I swapped back the original 160GB HDD and was able to install the firmware from the USB stick. Loaded my settings and turned off the unit. Swapped the 500GB in and am now greeted with the following message "Cannot start. The correct hard disk was not found." Anybody have any ideas?
    PSN: Giaps

  9. #8
    Ultimate Veteran
    mickice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia, In a Kangaroo's pouch.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    22,330
    Rep Power
    147
    try powering it on with no HDD?
    Maybe your new HDD is faulty?
    I cant say I had any issues upgrading my well used 120gb slim to a 750gb demon.
    Last edited by mickice; 05-03-2012 at 10:30.

    -[ Over half of the 100~ish UHD Blu-rays on the market ]-
    -[ I wouldn't even watch if they came free with my breakfast cereal ]-

  10. #9
    Ultimate Veteran
    AaronSOLDIER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PSN ID
    AaronSOLDIER
    Age
    24
    Posts
    20,541
    Rep Power
    134
    You shouldve just downloaded the FW to the stock HDD like I said. Try putting the original HDD back in and if it starts up ok then try formatting that HDD, then take it out and swap your 500GB in.

    Please help our Final Fantasy Community get off the ground:
    http://forums.final7fantasy.com/

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    36
    Posts
    14,085
    Rep Power
    172
    You only need to put the newest fw on a memory stick if it prompts you to. Put the new hard drive in to your ps3 and enter the PS3 recovery mode. From there you can install the new firmware from your usb stick. Make sure you have the fw in the proper folder. PS3>UPDATE

    Your PS3 will then format your hard drive and you can proceed by installing the firmware.

  12. #11
    Member
    Giaps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    http://flowersbymadison.com
    PSN ID
    Giaps
    Posts
    110
    Rep Power
    65
    Thank you all for your replies.

    Quote Originally Posted by mickice View Post
    try powering it on with no HDD?
    Maybe your new HDD is faulty?
    I cant say I had any issues upgrading my well used 120gb slim to a 750gb demon.
    It's possible the new HDD is faulty, but it is BRAND NEW. Literally opened the package and popped it in.
    Quote Originally Posted by AaronSOLDIER View Post
    You shouldve just downloaded the FW to the stock HDD like I said. Try putting the original HDD back in and if it starts up ok then try formatting that HDD, then take it out and swap your 500GB in.
    I did put the stock HDD back in along with the memory stick with the FW. It updated fine then I tried popping in the 500gb and it didn't work. Didn't even prompt me to format. You're saying to format the old one now?
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    You only need to put the newest fw on a memory stick if it prompts you to. Put the new hard drive in to your ps3 and enter the PS3 recovery mode. From there you can install the new firmware from your usb stick. Make sure you have the fw in the proper folder. PS3>UPDATE

    Your PS3 will then format your hard drive and you can proceed by installing the firmware.
    Well I got the FW updated as you said by popping the old HDD in. It's now updated and I can access the XMB but when I put in the new 500gb it gives me the error message "Cannot start. The correct hard disk was not found." I'm not sure what to try here.
    PSN: Giaps

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts