Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    PSU Trophy Manager
    Fenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    PSN ID
    Faenix1
    Age
    25
    Posts
    11,617
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    20,455 (1,000 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy X-2Final Fantasy XIIFangNoctisLightningFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIINaughty DogFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy VIIPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    Netflix PS3 - can you lower the video quality at all?

    Is there anyway to switch movies to SD or is it all done automatic?

    Decided I'd jump on the netflix bandwagon (via the free trial), but I noticed the movie I watched was in HD. I only got about 20 GB of bandwidth to spare which tends to jump alot (PS+ made it 5 GB last month) so I was pretty gutted I couldnt lower the quality. Is there no such option on consoles?

    If there is no such option, does anyone know roughly how much bandwidth an hour and a half to two hour HD movie eats up? I know SD movies are just under a gig, so HD movies must be a $#@! load. x.x

    Sig&Av by Kuro

    Preorders:
    DyingLightOrder1886Witcher3Batman:AKUncharted4

    PSN
    , XBL, Steam: Faenix1 - 3DS Friend Code: 3883-6299-4363
    Phat PS3: February 2008 - June 1st, 2011, Slim PS3: June 3rd 2011 - Present
    PS4, 3DSxl: November 2013 - Present
    PSVita December 2013 - Present

  2. #2
    Master Sage
    Two4DaMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,687
    Rep Power
    114
    Points
    18,243 (75,576 Banked)
    Items Naughty DogPS3 SlimNaughty DogUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Fenix View Post
    Is there anyway to switch movies to SD or is it all done automatic?

    Decided I'd jump on the netflix bandwagon (via the free trial), but I noticed the movie I watched was in HD. I only got about 20 GB of bandwidth to spare which tends to jump alot (PS+ made it 5 GB last month) so I was pretty gutted I couldnt lower the quality. Is there no such option on consoles?

    If there is no such option, does anyone know roughly how much bandwidth an hour and a half to two hour HD movie eats up? I know SD movies are just under a gig, so HD movies must be a $#@! load. x.x
    I'm not sure if you can change the setting on the ps3. I don't recall ever seeing it. Have you tried the website to see what the options are?


  3. #3
    I'm a hater, a traito.
    irish-sid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,659
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    1,881 (0 Banked)
    You can change it in your account settings on the website, but not through the app.

  4. #4
    Master Sage
    Nuvian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    35
    Posts
    14,842
    Rep Power
    110
    Points
    14,755 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleLegend of ZeldaDiablo IIIHeath LedgerJoker (limited ICON)Title Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Moved to the appropriate section

    Once more into the fray.
    Into the last good fight I'll ever know.
    Live and die on this day.
    Live and die on this day.


  5. #5
    PSU Trophy Manager
    Fenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    PSN ID
    Faenix1
    Age
    25
    Posts
    11,617
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    20,455 (1,000 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy X-2Final Fantasy XIIFangNoctisLightningFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIINaughty DogFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy VIIPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Two4DaMoney View Post
    I'm not sure if you can change the setting on the ps3. I don't recall ever seeing it. Have you tried the website to see what the options are?
    Quote Originally Posted by irish-sid View Post
    You can change it in your account settings on the website, but not through the app.
    Oh that effects the PS3 app too? I put it to the middle option (just under a gig/per hour) but the quality was still so good through the PS3 I wasnt sure if that worked or not.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nuvian View Post
    Moved to the appropriate section
    Sorry about that

    Sig&Av by Kuro

    Preorders:
    DyingLightOrder1886Witcher3Batman:AKUncharted4

    PSN
    , XBL, Steam: Faenix1 - 3DS Friend Code: 3883-6299-4363
    Phat PS3: February 2008 - June 1st, 2011, Slim PS3: June 3rd 2011 - Present
    PS4, 3DSxl: November 2013 - Present
    PSVita December 2013 - Present

  6. #6
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    4,023 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Yeah just pinch the ethernet cable running to the PS3

  7. #7
    Newbie

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    264 (0 Banked)
    ill agree with rekmon... get some needle nose pliers and squeeze as hard as you can

  8. #8
    Forum Guru
    Terminator 101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Newmarket, Toronto, Ontario
    PSN ID
    Terminator101
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,674
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    6,510 (440 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fenix View Post
    Oh that effects the PS3 app too? I put it to the middle option (just under a gig/per hour) but the quality was still so good through the PS3 I wasnt sure if that worked or not.



    Sorry about that
    I know this is kind of late response, but this is the first time I noticed this thread.

    Put it on the lowest settings, since that is the default when you first sign up, and it will look just fine.
    Almost everyone will say: buy console that has games that you want, and those who say otherwise are ignorant.

    Playstation Move for the win!

  9. #9
    Newbie

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    133 (0 Banked)
    yes

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.