Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst ... 2
Results 26 to 47 of 47
  1. #26
    Forum Guru
    Insanehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,686
    Rep Power
    66
    Points
    9,481 (0 Banked)
    "the PS4 will reach a resolution of 3840x2160"

    That is fake already, not even close to practical to sell a product that supports a resolution that nobody use right now.

  2. #27
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    25
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    25 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Insanehead View Post
    "the PS4 will reach a resolution of 3840x2160"

    That is fake already, not even close to practical to sell a product that supports a resolution that nobody use right now.

    When the PS3 first came out....how many people honestly had a 1080p? When creating a console, you have to think for the future not now. So your theory is blown away. (not saying this is legit though cause I honestly dont know and dont have an opinion)

  3. Likes Linconan, Fon , Itachi likes this post
  4. #28
    Forum Guru
    Insanehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,686
    Rep Power
    66
    Points
    9,481 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by t3hbiggy View Post
    When the PS3 first came out....how many people honestly had a 1080p? When creating a console, you have to think for the future not now. So your theory is blown away. (not saying this is legit though cause I honestly dont know and dont have an opinion)
    I would rather them focus on delivering a system that can do 1080p without having frame rate issues or screen tearing. 4K for next is unrealistic at this point. Maybe after PS4, but I'm sure its not going to happen next gen.

  5. #29
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    PSN ID
    CMac-19
    Posts
    228
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    2,811 (0 Banked)
    That looks way too fake. And those specs are way too crazy for any affordability.

  6. #30
    Master Guru
    Bigdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,382
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    5,212 (11,045 Banked)
    Items Baby ChocoboPlayStationUser name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Centurion View Post
    Sure you can have 5GB of RAM in a PC.. 4GB stick + 1 GB stick. Or a 2GB stick and three 1GB sticks. Even in terms of memory chips, 5GB = 10 512MB chips.

    On most architectures, the amount of memory does not need to be a power of 2, or a multiple of 4GB like you're suggesting. Even the Xbox 360 GPU has 10MB of EDRAM. Amounts of memory that are a power of 2 are convenient, though.
    my main point is, is that they wouldn't be able to run 1080p games at 60fps even on 4GB of RAM unless that game was like a "retro" game where the graphics weren't resource hungry. 8GB is a bit better, 10 to 12GB of RAM is probably the sweet spot for most of the games to run 60fps at 1080p.

    As for higher resolutions, that wouldn't be for one single TV guys. it would be for multiple monitors hooked up. What this means is that a resolution of 3840x2160 would be for 2 to 3 monitor hookups.

  7. #31
    overstepping the mark
    -Shafty-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PSN ID
    SHAFT_N_BALLS
    Age
    40
    Posts
    8,423
    Rep Power
    132
    Points
    38,542 (10,700 Banked)
    Items User name style
    ...it will still have no games


    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    Ok... I was wrong. Happy?

  8. Likes Thorzilla, MjW , Omar likes this post
  9. #32
    Veteran
    Bio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Battlefield
    Posts
    4,087
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    8,302 (0 Banked)
    Okay, I'll admit it. I wrote it.

    Next time I submit a story with fake PS4 specs, I'll make sure it's more believable next time.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bio
    Yep, NGP will retail at $300. We all know it's going to happen.

  10. #33
    Veteran
    snooper71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PSN ID
    snooper71
    Posts
    4,403
    Rep Power
    91
    Points
    16,039 (0 Banked)
    Items Naughty Dog
    Quote Originally Posted by Insanehead View Post
    "the PS4 will reach a resolution of 3840x2160"

    That is fake already, not even close to practical to sell a product that supports a resolution that nobody use right now.
    I believe the PS3's in Japan were patched for 4k resolution (pics and videos)


    Next Gen top picks:
    PS4: Infamous SS, DriveClub
    One: Project spark, Forza 5
    Multi: Watchdogs, The crew, FFXV, KHIII

  11. #34
    Master Guru
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,442
    Rep Power
    96
    Points
    6,638 (44,164 Banked)
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Haha, that was a good one.
    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

    .

  12. #35
    Veteran
    snooper71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PSN ID
    snooper71
    Posts
    4,403
    Rep Power
    91
    Points
    16,039 (0 Banked)
    Items Naughty Dog
    I'd hate to see what kind of PC you'll need if the PS4 with these specs cant run UE4!!!


    Next Gen top picks:
    PS4: Infamous SS, DriveClub
    One: Project spark, Forza 5
    Multi: Watchdogs, The crew, FFXV, KHIII

  13. #36
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    30,479
    Rep Power
    190
    Points
    107,289 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by snooper71 View Post
    I'd hate to see what kind of PC you'll need if the PS4 with these specs cant run UE4!!!
    I think that news was bogus to begin with.

    This one, I'm not sure...it's not entirely an extreme situation but I would definitely not expect such a huge jump. Though RAM has come a long way in the past few years.

  14. #37
    Forum Elder
    Nakatomi Uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Uk
    PSN ID
    Nakatomi_Uk
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,931
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    2,745 (0 Banked)
    Items Intel Core i7PS3 SlimFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VII
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigdoggy View Post
    10GB of ram would be a custom RAM because even on PC you don't have 5GB of RAM, you have 1GB, 2GB, 4GB of RAM, 8GB of RAM, 12GB of RAM, 16GB, etc etc

    10GB is kind of an odd amount of RAM so in that case it would be custom, not RAM you would buy on your PC, that's ridiculous.

    you have to take into consideration that up until 2007 - 2008 RAM was very expensive. right now in 2012, they could actually get 8 to 10+ gigs pretty friggin cheap, in fact you would have to go up to about 18GB of ram to make RAM just as expensive as it was in 2005. o.O so 10GB of RAM right now is not that expensive at all, since its in bulk it's that much cheaper.

    put it this way, sony wants 3D gaming, they want high resolution gaming. Even with 4GB they couldn't do it, 8GB is very close to being able to do it, if they had 10GB of RAM in that sucker they would 100% pull it off and it wouldn't even be overkill

    if they used a more advanced cell (it would be a bit cheaper) bluray is cheaper now then when it first came out. etc etc

    so lets assume they used a more advanced cell processor, for one thing it would be cheaper.

    1) stronger cell

    2) better GPU

    3) 10GB RAM, more likely 12GB

    4.) blu-ray

    5)3.5" HDD or just a 2.5HDD or maybe a custom HDD from sony

    would still be cheaper then what the PS3 cost, in they would probably break even on the first sales and after a year or so start turning a small profit.

    When the bluray first came out, that was the money killer on the end of Sony, that was the bottleneck for Sony trying to make a profit. since it's old tech now they could turn a small profit off a better bluray player. after all bluray is on Sony so now it wouldn't matter.


    I will call it right now, Sony will have more then 8GB of RAM in the next console (PS4) $450 or $499

    some of you have to remember that when DVD first ever came out, a DVD player cost a bit more then $1,000. The fact that blueray started out at $500 for a player is what was causing a loss of money at Sony.
    Yes I agree it would be CUSTOM RAM allocated to the system but for Sony to want to push 3D gaming I can only suspect that they will go back to RAMBUS for a high end chip like they did with the PS3 thats currently better than (at this moment in time DDR3). With DDR4 possibly showing sometimes this year maybe next choosing to use such a set-up where the current financial climate and the fact they are restructuring the company seems a little stupid to go with 10GB of custom RAM when they could buy 16GB DDR3 2000mhz RAM if they wanted.

    I would assume buying in massive bulk would save them cash in the long run Sony would be stupid to go back to RAMBUS and ask for a new RAM chip from them to put in PS4 just my 2 cents.


    Win 7 Ult 64bit, Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1/Bios F8 , INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz, Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB DDR3 1866mhz (1600mhz@1.60v), Crucial 128GB M4 SSD, Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD), HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card, OCZ Fatality 750 Mod PSU, LG DVD-RAM RW

  15. #38
    Master Guru
    Bigdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,382
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    5,212 (11,045 Banked)
    Items Baby ChocoboPlayStationUser name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Nakatomi Uk View Post
    Yes I agree it would be CUSTOM RAM allocated to the system but for Sony to want to push 3D gaming I can only suspect that they will go back to RAMBUS for a high end chip like they did with the PS3 thats currently better than (at this moment in time DDR3). With DDR4 possibly showing sometimes this year maybe next choosing to use such a set-up where the current financial climate and the fact they are restructuring the company seems a little stupid to go with 10GB of custom RAM when they could buy 16GB DDR3 2000mhz RAM if they wanted.

    I would assume buying in massive bulk would save them cash in the long run Sony would be stupid to go back to RAMBUS and ask for a new RAM chip from them to put in PS4 just my 2 cents.

    yea, they don't actually need 2000mhz. they could still use less, such as 1060 or even as low as 800 if they are doing 16GB.

    for DDR3.

    12GB @ 1333 maybe 1600

    16GB @ 1066

    The mistake that sony did with the PS3 in the RAM department was there mindset on the speed of RAM Vs the mb/gb per RAM. They put a huge speed boost on the RAM for the PS3 thinking that 3.2Ghz will act like 1GB of RAM or even 512mb split to act like 1GB, which it doesn't. there mindset was completely in the wrong area.

    like for example, 8GB of ram running at 1600 wont act like 12GB. the performance in that area is different, even though 1600 will perform better in terms of it's current 8GB of RAM, it's all used in sync with eachother. This is why I believe with more ram they can lower the speed and get away with it.

    16GB of DDR3 running at 1066 is more then enough, quite frankly they could pull of games running in 1080p at 60fps even games like BF3 would run smooth.

    in terms of the graphical department of a PC vs Console, it's pointless to even compete in the graphics category, there isn't a point. I say there isn't a point because only a handful of people will buy a highend PC that costs over $2300 to even $3000 Vs a person buying a medium range PC for gaming. The performance factor would be at a stand still in terms of RAM if they did a 16GB RAM in a PS4. while there is better RAM, DDR4, etc etc the RAM factor still is good enough for console vs PC in that aspect.

    at a certain point a PC starts to become more of a PC enthusiast hobby compared to a proper running gaming PC.
    Last edited by Bigdoggy; 05-28-2012 at 20:48.

  16. #39
    Dedicated Member
    Centurion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,021
    Rep Power
    50
    Points
    2,837 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigdoggy View Post
    yea, they don't actually need 2000mhz. they could still use less, such as 1060 or even as low as 800 if they are doing 16GB.

    for DDR3.

    12GB @ 1333 maybe 1600

    16GB @ 1066

    The mistake that sony did with the PS3 in the RAM department was there mindset on the speed of RAM Vs the mb/gb per RAM. They put a huge speed boost on the RAM for the PS3 thinking that 3.2Ghz will act like 1GB of RAM or even 512mb split to act like 1GB, which it doesn't. there mindset was completely in the wrong area.

    like for example, 8GB of ram running at 1600 wont act like 12GB. the performance in that area is different, even though 1600 will perform better in terms of it's current 8GB of RAM, it's all used in sync with eachother. This is why I believe with more ram they can lower the speed and get away with it.
    I don't think that was their mindset. Memory speed does not compensate for capacity. Sony needed memory that was low latency and as fast as the bus on the CBE. If they went with DDR2, it would have been a bottle-neck. The reason for going with so little RAM was because of cost.

  17. #40
    Apprentice
    tbx59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    438
    Rep Power
    32
    Points
    4,044 (0 Banked)
    if only

  18. #41
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    I think for sure Sony will use Invidia chip GPU but 10GB is way to much. I would say some of this information is correct and some no. I want PS4 next year no metter what it will have looooooool.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  19. #42
    Soldier 95B
    Guest
    I think it will have a 2TB SSD drive too lol

  20. #43
    Supreme Veteran
    A7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    17,986
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    3,355 (3,044 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Supposed specs scream fake to me, time will tell.

    Quote Originally Posted by Soldier 95B View Post
    I think it will have a 2TB SSD drive too lol
    It'll have to cost 999 US Dollars.
    Gaming on all platforms right now.

  21. #44
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    149 (0 Banked)
    Sounds great....but fake! Lol

  22. #45
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    30,849 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by A7MAD View Post
    Supposed specs scream fake to me, time will tell.



    It'll have to cost 999 US Dollars.
    $1999

  23. #46
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    317 (0 Banked)
    I dont think this is real. Once we get a preview is when we will start seeing more things come into light. Before that it's all speculation. This leaked thing 10GB of RAM seems a bit much that would cost allot of money!

  24. #47
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    30,849 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by PlaystationGuru View Post
    I dont think this is real. Once we get a preview is when we will start seeing more things come into light. Before that it's all speculation. This leaked thing 10GB of RAM seems a bit much that would cost allot of money!
    Not if the RAM is ddr3. However its more likely they will go for a unified ddr4 pool with a wide bus so there are no bottlenecks. For split pools they can have 4gb system + 2gb VRAM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.