Page 1 of 2 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 47

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Forum Elder
    Abdou23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Egypt
    PSN ID
    Abdou023
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,552
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    11,613 (0 Banked)

    Playstation 4-Release possibly leaked - data sheet shows specifications

    Currently, a supposedly geleaktes sheet for the upcoming Playstation 4 makes the rounds through the Internet. Thus, the PS4 will have the following specifications: The hardware should be equipped with an advanced Cell processor, equipped with 10 GB and 10 GB of working memory video. In 2D, the PS4 will reach a resolution of 3840x2160. The 3D representation will come to 1080p. Total could be two custom Nvidia graphics chips provide the video display and provide plenty of power.
    Also on backwards compatibility, it is alleged in the information sheet. The aim is older PS discs without problems. Even the Playstation 4 release is called: In the 4th Quarter of 2013 it will be ready. So far, the speculation is not confirmed and not confirmed the alleged specifications. We'll keep on our course, PS4-topic site up to date. About the alleged PS4-sheet reports the website gameranx.com where this alleged list has, however, remains unknown.

    source

    If true,then it's very very good.Looks fake though.

    PSN: Abdou023
    Currently Playing: GTA 5

  2. #2
    Elite Sage
    Sub-stance1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    10,047
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    62,725 (0 Banked)
    Items BarcelonaPS3 Slim360 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    lol...no way that's real.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Veteran
    AaronSOLDIER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PSN ID
    AaronSOLDIER
    Age
    22
    Posts
    20,814
    Rep Power
    119
    Points
    69,402 (0 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy Versus XIIIPS3 SlimFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy IXFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy VIFinal Fantasy VFinal Fantasy IVFinal Fantasy IIIFinal Fantasy IIFinal Fantasy
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Saw it elsewhere, it's fake. Though those are the sort of specs I'd want out of next gen and would get me onboard within the first year, it won't be anywhere near that which is why I'll wait on a slim revision 3 or 4 years in.

    Please help our Final Fantasy Community get off the ground:
    http://forums.final7fantasy.com/

  4. #4
    Forum Elder
    Nakatomi Uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Uk
    PSN ID
    Nakatomi_Uk
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,933
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    2,804 (0 Banked)
    Items Intel Core i7PS3 SlimFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VII
    10GB of RAM and 10GB of video memory lol that prove its defo fake it doesn't make any sense to even have RAM/VRAM at 10GB it that was the case and that RAM spec was true it better be standard RAM you can buy for PC's today none of that RAMBUS style XDR $#@!


    Win 7 Ult 64bit, Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1/Bios F8 , INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz, Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB DDR3 1866mhz (1600mhz@1.60v), Crucial 128GB M4 SSD, Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD), HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card, OCZ Fatality 750 Mod PSU, LG DVD-RAM RW

  5. #5
    Master Guru
    Bigdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,413
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    6,156 (11,045 Banked)
    Items Baby ChocoboPlayStationUser name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Nakatomi Uk View Post
    10GB of RAM and 10GB of video memory lol that prove its defo fake it doesn't make any sense to even have RAM/VRAM at 10GB it that was the case and that RAM spec was true it better be standard RAM you can buy for PC's today none of that RAMBUS style XDR $#@!
    10GB of ram would be a custom RAM because even on PC you don't have 5GB of RAM, you have 1GB, 2GB, 4GB of RAM, 8GB of RAM, 12GB of RAM, 16GB, etc etc

    10GB is kind of an odd amount of RAM so in that case it would be custom, not RAM you would buy on your PC, that's ridiculous.

    you have to take into consideration that up until 2007 - 2008 RAM was very expensive. right now in 2012, they could actually get 8 to 10+ gigs pretty friggin cheap, in fact you would have to go up to about 18GB of ram to make RAM just as expensive as it was in 2005. o.O so 10GB of RAM right now is not that expensive at all, since its in bulk it's that much cheaper.

    put it this way, sony wants 3D gaming, they want high resolution gaming. Even with 4GB they couldn't do it, 8GB is very close to being able to do it, if they had 10GB of RAM in that sucker they would 100% pull it off and it wouldn't even be overkill

    if they used a more advanced cell (it would be a bit cheaper) bluray is cheaper now then when it first came out. etc etc

    so lets assume they used a more advanced cell processor, for one thing it would be cheaper.

    1) stronger cell

    2) better GPU

    3) 10GB RAM, more likely 12GB

    4.) blu-ray

    5)3.5" HDD or just a 2.5HDD or maybe a custom HDD from sony

    would still be cheaper then what the PS3 cost, in they would probably break even on the first sales and after a year or so start turning a small profit.

    When the bluray first came out, that was the money killer on the end of Sony, that was the bottleneck for Sony trying to make a profit. since it's old tech now they could turn a small profit off a better bluray player. after all bluray is on Sony so now it wouldn't matter.


    I will call it right now, Sony will have more then 8GB of RAM in the next console (PS4) $450 or $499

    some of you have to remember that when DVD first ever came out, a DVD player cost a bit more then $1,000. The fact that blueray started out at $500 for a player is what was causing a loss of money at Sony.
    Last edited by Bigdoggy; 05-26-2012 at 21:49.

  6. #6
    Dedicated Member
    Centurion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,021
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    2,837 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigdoggy View Post
    10GB of ram would be a custom RAM because even on PC you don't have 5GB of RAM, you have 1GB, 2GB, 4GB of RAM, 8GB of RAM, 12GB of RAM, 16GB, etc etc

    10GB is kind of an odd amount of RAM so in that case it would be custom, not RAM you would buy on your PC, that's ridiculous.
    Sure you can have 5GB of RAM in a PC.. 4GB stick + 1 GB stick. Or a 2GB stick and three 1GB sticks. Even in terms of memory chips, 5GB = 10 512MB chips.

    On most architectures, the amount of memory does not need to be a power of 2, or a multiple of 4GB like you're suggesting. Even the Xbox 360 GPU has 10MB of EDRAM. Amounts of memory that are a power of 2 are convenient, though.

  7. #7
    Master Guru
    Bigdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,413
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    6,156 (11,045 Banked)
    Items Baby ChocoboPlayStationUser name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Centurion View Post
    Sure you can have 5GB of RAM in a PC.. 4GB stick + 1 GB stick. Or a 2GB stick and three 1GB sticks. Even in terms of memory chips, 5GB = 10 512MB chips.

    On most architectures, the amount of memory does not need to be a power of 2, or a multiple of 4GB like you're suggesting. Even the Xbox 360 GPU has 10MB of EDRAM. Amounts of memory that are a power of 2 are convenient, though.
    my main point is, is that they wouldn't be able to run 1080p games at 60fps even on 4GB of RAM unless that game was like a "retro" game where the graphics weren't resource hungry. 8GB is a bit better, 10 to 12GB of RAM is probably the sweet spot for most of the games to run 60fps at 1080p.

    As for higher resolutions, that wouldn't be for one single TV guys. it would be for multiple monitors hooked up. What this means is that a resolution of 3840x2160 would be for 2 to 3 monitor hookups.

  8. #8
    Forum Elder
    Nakatomi Uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Uk
    PSN ID
    Nakatomi_Uk
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,933
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    2,804 (0 Banked)
    Items Intel Core i7PS3 SlimFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VII
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigdoggy View Post
    10GB of ram would be a custom RAM because even on PC you don't have 5GB of RAM, you have 1GB, 2GB, 4GB of RAM, 8GB of RAM, 12GB of RAM, 16GB, etc etc

    10GB is kind of an odd amount of RAM so in that case it would be custom, not RAM you would buy on your PC, that's ridiculous.

    you have to take into consideration that up until 2007 - 2008 RAM was very expensive. right now in 2012, they could actually get 8 to 10+ gigs pretty friggin cheap, in fact you would have to go up to about 18GB of ram to make RAM just as expensive as it was in 2005. o.O so 10GB of RAM right now is not that expensive at all, since its in bulk it's that much cheaper.

    put it this way, sony wants 3D gaming, they want high resolution gaming. Even with 4GB they couldn't do it, 8GB is very close to being able to do it, if they had 10GB of RAM in that sucker they would 100% pull it off and it wouldn't even be overkill

    if they used a more advanced cell (it would be a bit cheaper) bluray is cheaper now then when it first came out. etc etc

    so lets assume they used a more advanced cell processor, for one thing it would be cheaper.

    1) stronger cell

    2) better GPU

    3) 10GB RAM, more likely 12GB

    4.) blu-ray

    5)3.5" HDD or just a 2.5HDD or maybe a custom HDD from sony

    would still be cheaper then what the PS3 cost, in they would probably break even on the first sales and after a year or so start turning a small profit.

    When the bluray first came out, that was the money killer on the end of Sony, that was the bottleneck for Sony trying to make a profit. since it's old tech now they could turn a small profit off a better bluray player. after all bluray is on Sony so now it wouldn't matter.


    I will call it right now, Sony will have more then 8GB of RAM in the next console (PS4) $450 or $499

    some of you have to remember that when DVD first ever came out, a DVD player cost a bit more then $1,000. The fact that blueray started out at $500 for a player is what was causing a loss of money at Sony.
    Yes I agree it would be CUSTOM RAM allocated to the system but for Sony to want to push 3D gaming I can only suspect that they will go back to RAMBUS for a high end chip like they did with the PS3 thats currently better than (at this moment in time DDR3). With DDR4 possibly showing sometimes this year maybe next choosing to use such a set-up where the current financial climate and the fact they are restructuring the company seems a little stupid to go with 10GB of custom RAM when they could buy 16GB DDR3 2000mhz RAM if they wanted.

    I would assume buying in massive bulk would save them cash in the long run Sony would be stupid to go back to RAMBUS and ask for a new RAM chip from them to put in PS4 just my 2 cents.


    Win 7 Ult 64bit, Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1/Bios F8 , INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz, Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB DDR3 1866mhz (1600mhz@1.60v), Crucial 128GB M4 SSD, Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD), HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card, OCZ Fatality 750 Mod PSU, LG DVD-RAM RW

  9. #9
    Master Guru
    Bigdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,413
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    6,156 (11,045 Banked)
    Items Baby ChocoboPlayStationUser name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Nakatomi Uk View Post
    Yes I agree it would be CUSTOM RAM allocated to the system but for Sony to want to push 3D gaming I can only suspect that they will go back to RAMBUS for a high end chip like they did with the PS3 thats currently better than (at this moment in time DDR3). With DDR4 possibly showing sometimes this year maybe next choosing to use such a set-up where the current financial climate and the fact they are restructuring the company seems a little stupid to go with 10GB of custom RAM when they could buy 16GB DDR3 2000mhz RAM if they wanted.

    I would assume buying in massive bulk would save them cash in the long run Sony would be stupid to go back to RAMBUS and ask for a new RAM chip from them to put in PS4 just my 2 cents.

    yea, they don't actually need 2000mhz. they could still use less, such as 1060 or even as low as 800 if they are doing 16GB.

    for DDR3.

    12GB @ 1333 maybe 1600

    16GB @ 1066

    The mistake that sony did with the PS3 in the RAM department was there mindset on the speed of RAM Vs the mb/gb per RAM. They put a huge speed boost on the RAM for the PS3 thinking that 3.2Ghz will act like 1GB of RAM or even 512mb split to act like 1GB, which it doesn't. there mindset was completely in the wrong area.

    like for example, 8GB of ram running at 1600 wont act like 12GB. the performance in that area is different, even though 1600 will perform better in terms of it's current 8GB of RAM, it's all used in sync with eachother. This is why I believe with more ram they can lower the speed and get away with it.

    16GB of DDR3 running at 1066 is more then enough, quite frankly they could pull of games running in 1080p at 60fps even games like BF3 would run smooth.

    in terms of the graphical department of a PC vs Console, it's pointless to even compete in the graphics category, there isn't a point. I say there isn't a point because only a handful of people will buy a highend PC that costs over $2300 to even $3000 Vs a person buying a medium range PC for gaming. The performance factor would be at a stand still in terms of RAM if they did a 16GB RAM in a PS4. while there is better RAM, DDR4, etc etc the RAM factor still is good enough for console vs PC in that aspect.

    at a certain point a PC starts to become more of a PC enthusiast hobby compared to a proper running gaming PC.
    Last edited by Bigdoggy; 05-28-2012 at 20:48.

  10. #10
    Dedicated Member
    Centurion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,021
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    2,837 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigdoggy View Post
    yea, they don't actually need 2000mhz. they could still use less, such as 1060 or even as low as 800 if they are doing 16GB.

    for DDR3.

    12GB @ 1333 maybe 1600

    16GB @ 1066

    The mistake that sony did with the PS3 in the RAM department was there mindset on the speed of RAM Vs the mb/gb per RAM. They put a huge speed boost on the RAM for the PS3 thinking that 3.2Ghz will act like 1GB of RAM or even 512mb split to act like 1GB, which it doesn't. there mindset was completely in the wrong area.

    like for example, 8GB of ram running at 1600 wont act like 12GB. the performance in that area is different, even though 1600 will perform better in terms of it's current 8GB of RAM, it's all used in sync with eachother. This is why I believe with more ram they can lower the speed and get away with it.
    I don't think that was their mindset. Memory speed does not compensate for capacity. Sony needed memory that was low latency and as fast as the bus on the CBE. If they went with DDR2, it would have been a bottle-neck. The reason for going with so little RAM was because of cost.

  11. #11
    Master Sage
    Two4DaMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,547
    Rep Power
    112
    Points
    16,492 (75,576 Banked)
    Items Naughty DogPS3 SlimNaughty DogUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Where's the time machine and which alternate future is this?


  12. #12
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,534
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    20,714 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    I top out 3GB of VRAM at a res of 5760x1080 in Metro 2033 with everything at max settings, plus on top of this 10GB RAM? Things move in powers of 2's not 10's.

  13. #13
    ストライク・ザ・ブラッド
    Kuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Ore no Sekai
    PSN ID
    xAkiRo
    Age
    21
    Posts
    13,106
    Rep Power
    101
    Points
    533,462 (0 Banked)
    Items YunaLuluBaby Chocobo
Gift received at 01-11-2013 from Ghost
Message: enjoy!Final Fantasy XIII-2AtlusFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy V
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    lmao..so fake

    PSN: xThAkIdJxYx Cod Psn:xxAkiRo
    ‎"It's not important to have a long life, the important thing is to have a happy life with your beloved ones"

  14. #14
    Veteran
    daLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    4,707
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    58,676 (0 Banked)
    Don't truly know anything about specs and such but 10GB dedicated to video/graphics only seems like too much, don't get me wrong that would be brilliant but seems like way too much and that alone would probably make the PS4 cost at least $1000.


  15. #15
    Ultimate Veteran
    Metal King Slime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Slime Hill
    Age
    23
    Posts
    22,648
    Rep Power
    192
    Points
    11,660 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Also, why is the resolution so high? I think 1080p is enough.
    Thanks to Kwes for the avatar and Sylar for the signature!

    Do you love GTA? Check out my general discussion thread here!

  16. #16
    Forum Elder
    Abdou23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Egypt
    PSN ID
    Abdou023
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,552
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    11,613 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Blacksite View Post
    Also, why is the resolution so high? I think 1080p is enough.
    Actually everything on this paper makes sense except the memory thing,And the resolution is so high because SONY have some new TVs in the works with some ridiculous amount of resolution ( 4k or something).

    PSN: Abdou023
    Currently Playing: GTA 5

  17. #17
    Friendship is Carrots
    Nerevar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Equestria
    Age
    22
    Posts
    15,816
    Rep Power
    135
    Points
    82,349 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    If you're going to fake next-generation console specs, at least make them believable. The mention of 20GB in total memory makes it seem like a child babbled on incoherently about something they don't understand.
    Add me on Steam!


    [Forum Rules]
    - [PSN] - [Programmers' Corner]

  18. #18
    Veteran
    daLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    4,707
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    58,676 (0 Banked)
    Looks more like a wishlist lol.
    http://www.picvalley.net/u/2564/6601...5DKeUrNGxF.JPG

    No IMG tags cause the image it's too damn big.


  19. #19
    Ultimate Veteran
    Metal King Slime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Slime Hill
    Age
    23
    Posts
    22,648
    Rep Power
    192
    Points
    11,660 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Even the brief summary looks like it was written by a Sony fanboy.
    Thanks to Kwes for the avatar and Sylar for the signature!

    Do you love GTA? Check out my general discussion thread here!

  20. #20
    Veteran
    Bio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Battlefield
    Posts
    4,087
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    8,302 (0 Banked)
    Okay, I'll admit it. I wrote it.

    Next time I submit a story with fake PS4 specs, I'll make sure it's more believable next time.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bio
    Yep, NGP will retail at $300. We all know it's going to happen.

  21. #21
    Master Guru
    Fon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    @Home
    Age
    26
    Posts
    6,135
    Rep Power
    78
    Points
    112,021 (10,000 Banked)
    Items Title StyleNew User TitleBaby Chocobo
Gift received at 01-13-2013 from Ghost
Message: enjoy!Final Fantasy XFinal Fantasy VIIUser name style
    .. Seems legit.







  22. #22
    Elite Guru
    Nitey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    25
    Posts
    5,675
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    40,911 (0 Banked)
    Items DreamcastDeath Note LArsenal
    Quote Originally Posted by FonFahbre View Post
    .. Seems legit.
    Exactly my thoughts

  23. #23
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    31
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    7,857 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by FonFahbre View Post
    .. Seems legit.
    ahhh. $#@!ney rhyming slang...
    Got YLOD? In the UK? I'll buy it off you.

  24. #24
    Elite Member
    D3seeker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Severn, Maryland
    PSN ID
    D3seeker
    Posts
    1,831
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    1,932 (20,000 Banked)
    Items PS3 Slim
    Dev kit?/ Mock-up/ Pre configuration trial? Perhaps.

    The high res could just be what the raw tech is capable of, though it is Sony we're talking about. They do work in making/pushing standards.


  25. #25
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,345
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    31,488 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Just like every rumour, it starts out believable and then there's this one line in the whole article that crumbles the entire credibility you have in your mind about it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.