Latest PSU headlines:

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Earthbound
    dc89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Taking my seat at the Fancy Pets Council
    Age
    25
    Posts
    15,674
    Rep Power
    106
    Points
    2,210 (72 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy IX
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    Vita 1.8 firmware locks memory cards to one PSN account



    Well they snuck that in. You can no longer change the region of PSN account associated with your Vita without formatting the memory card. This means you can't access all your content from all your PSN accounts without a bit of hassle.

    If you try and do it you are met with this message:

    The memory card inserted in your system is linked with the following Sony Entertainment Network account.
    [account name]
    To use the memory card with your PS Vita system you must format the memory card.
    If you format the memory card, all data on the memory card will be deleted.

    [Cancel] [Format]

    If you press Cancel the Vita acts as if no memory card is installed in the unit.

    So what does this mean to us? Well no chance of a memory card price cut as they've just increased the demand for memory cards.

    Thanks to Jucksalbe of NeoGAF
    Quote Originally Posted by neoxthexone View Post
    DC is the hero PSU deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we'll ban him, because he can take it. Because he's not a hero. He's a single guardian, a watchful protector. The DC.

  2. #2
    Mm..waffles..
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,319
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    4,949 (44,164 Banked)
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    So does this mean that prior 1.8 when you bought a used vita with purchased digital games on the card, you could login with your own PSN account and play the games, but now you can't?
    Last edited by MjW; 08-28-2012 at 12:11.
    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

    .

  3. #3
    Forum Guru
    GazzaGSi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,756
    Rep Power
    70
    Points
    13,033 (0 Banked)
    Items Battlefield 3Assassins Creed EzioCoD: World at War
    No, content was still account locked.
    But I have a US account and EU account so could access both off 1 memory card (without formatting).

  4. #4
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    It's not surprising that they did this to increase the sales of the way over priced cards.




  5. #5
    Elite Member
    hood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,598
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    4,900 (0 Banked)
    Does this mean that you cant use multiple accounts or just accounts from different regions like eu or jp. I thought that you had to have a memory card for each account prior to 1.8?
    "I think all those developers who are saying, "We donít want to do a PS3 game," or "Itís really difficult to do it," should shut up and make their games. If you have time to complain about it, then you should be spending your time working on getting the most from the hardware."

  6. #6
    Earthbound
    dc89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Taking my seat at the Fancy Pets Council
    Age
    25
    Posts
    15,674
    Rep Power
    106
    Points
    2,210 (72 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy IX
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Basically you need one memory card for each PSN account you have.
    Quote Originally Posted by neoxthexone View Post
    DC is the hero PSU deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we'll ban him, because he can take it. Because he's not a hero. He's a single guardian, a watchful protector. The DC.

  7. #7
    Mm..waffles..
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,319
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    4,949 (44,164 Banked)
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Quote Originally Posted by SupraGaz View Post
    No, content was still account locked.
    But I have a US account and EU account so could access both off 1 memory card (without formatting).
    oh I see. That sucks.

    Personally I stopped buying games from other regions, but I suppose that kills the occasional demo download as well.
    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

    .

  8. #8
    Elite Member
    hood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,598
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    4,900 (0 Banked)
    http://www.ign.com/wikis/ps-vita/How...ayStation_Vita
    So this process has changed can someone just explain this im confused can you no longer switch to your jp account and play those games if you have a us spec vita?
    "I think all those developers who are saying, "We donít want to do a PS3 game," or "Itís really difficult to do it," should shut up and make their games. If you have time to complain about it, then you should be spending your time working on getting the most from the hardware."

  9. #9
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by hood View Post
    http://www.ign.com/wikis/ps-vita/How...ayStation_Vita
    So this process has changed can someone just explain this im confused can you no longer switch to your jp account and play those games if you have a us spec vita?
    I don't see why not. You'll have to completely wipe the card, via formatting it on the Vita, then log into your JP account and download the games. When you want to play the US games again, you'll have to do this process again.




  10. #10
    ストライク・ザ・ブラッド
    Kuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Ore no Sekai
    PSN ID
    xAkiRo
    Age
    20
    Posts
    13,087
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    507,164 (0 Banked)
    Items YunaLuluBaby Chocobo
Gift received at 01-11-2013 from Ghost
Message: enjoy!Final Fantasy XIII-2AtlusFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy V
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    This is gonna be annoying when I upgrade to 16gb when I get it I still have a 4

    PSN: xThAkIdJxYx Cod Psn:xxAkiRo
    ‎"It's not important to have a long life, the important thing is to have a happy life with your beloved ones"

  11. #11
    Ultimate Veteran
    AaronSOLDIER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PSN ID
    AaronSOLDIER
    Age
    21
    Posts
    20,437
    Rep Power
    115
    Points
    61,130 (0 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy Versus XIIIPS3 SlimFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy IXFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy VIFinal Fantasy VFinal Fantasy IVFinal Fantasy IIIFinal Fantasy IIFinal Fantasy
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    That sucks. Hopefully by the time I get a Vita I can get 2 32GB cards for $50 or something.
    Quote Originally Posted by meanspartan
    "Oh we accidentally did something awesome that a lot of owners of our struggling handheld find to be awesome and exciting? Better fix that!"

  12. #12
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by zzKurozz View Post
    This is gonna be annoying when I upgrade to 16gb when I get it I still have a 4
    Just back everything up to the PS3 or PC, and it'll be quite easy.




  13. Likes Kuro likes this post
  14. #13
    ストライク・ザ・ブラッド
    Kuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Ore no Sekai
    PSN ID
    xAkiRo
    Age
    20
    Posts
    13,087
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    507,164 (0 Banked)
    Items YunaLuluBaby Chocobo
Gift received at 01-11-2013 from Ghost
Message: enjoy!Final Fantasy XIII-2AtlusFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy V
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Right will do. Thanks for the advice.

    PSN: xThAkIdJxYx Cod Psn:xxAkiRo
    ‎"It's not important to have a long life, the important thing is to have a happy life with your beloved ones"

  15. #14
    PSU Editorial Assistant
    R3D D3V!L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan, England
    PSN ID
    Diablo_Rosso
    Age
    23
    Posts
    7,920
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    14,449 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleManchester UnitedPlayStation
    This sucks for those who did this though personally, I always thought it was more hassle than it was worth.

  16. #15
    Apprentice
    SHAZZMAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Eaton England UK
    PSN ID
    SHAZZMAZZ
    Age
    23
    Posts
    490
    Rep Power
    13
    Points
    1,103 (385 Banked)
    Items PS3 Slim
    Things like that piss me off sony dont tell us what the update does which suck khew know what sony r planning next

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.