Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 60
  1. #26
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,125
    Rep Power
    133
    Points
    1,461 (1,060,841 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    Just remember guys, PC is the main development tool, and you can use a 360 controller on it. It maybe you are seeing PC versions of games as well.
    You can also use ps3 controller on pc, I use it for all my games



    Thank you itachi

  2. #27
    Supreme Veteran
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    42
    Posts
    18,195
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    202,338 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    You can also use ps3 controller on pc, I use it for all my games
    Err, I mean its used in X-Input.
    Its a developer tool, and also the standard for any DX9/10/11 game devlopment.

  3. #28
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,125
    Rep Power
    133
    Points
    1,461 (1,060,841 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    Err, I mean its used in X-Input.
    Its a developer tool, and also the standard for any DX9/10/11 game devlopment.
    Ahhh fair enough then sorry



    Thank you itachi

  4. #29
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,678
    Rep Power
    42
    Points
    3,631 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    Just remember guys, PC is the main development tool, and you can use a 360 controller on it. It maybe you are seeing PC versions of games as well.
    Yes. Crysis 3 comes to mind.

  5. #30
    Forum Sage
    sainraja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    8,369
    Rep Power
    99
    Points
    29,058 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    You can also use ps3 controller on pc, I use it for all my games
    Support for the PS3 controller on PC isn't through Sony.

  6. #31
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,270
    Rep Power
    197
    Points
    130,102 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    How is what I said confusing?

    A lot of game videos created from IGN, Gamespot, GameInformer, etc, are using Xbox 360 consoles to record footage. I am saying that they are probably using 360 consoles for their LAN connections and are using them to record footage. I have seen many behind the scenes and I noticed that every time they show anything where they are competing with each other, they are on the 360.
    Ok, I got a little confused there...I was thinking as a whole (i.e. commercials).

    As for them doing that, I'm pretty sure they can do that with the PS3 as well. It's all advertising, they likely get paid to show it.

    Same when it comes to movies/shows, people sometimes will be seen using popular devices. Used to be Playstation, now it's Xbox and at times the Wii.

    I'm not saying that's 100% of the times, but there's money to be made there, they will likely get sponsors telling them to show certain stuff. Kinda like you see on youtube, where regular people get popular, then they start reviewing products...or at least show it off.

  7. #32
    Soldier 95B
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    As for them doing that, I'm pretty sure they can do that with the PS3 as well.
    I have never been in a PS3 LAN party. Does the PS3 support LAN/System Link the same way the 360 does?

  8. #33
    Dedicated Member
    Shingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    PSN ID
    Swordsman-45
    Posts
    1,454
    Rep Power
    33
    Points
    15,730 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleOne Piece
    Gamespot has lots of xbox lunatics, and ign seems like semi-ps fan. Gamespot even doesn't actually care about reviewing some games on ps3, just leaving its "ps3 score" spot empty even they have a score for xbox version.

    Some might need proof, checkout the reviews of "gunslinger" of xbox and Medieval Moves of ps3 review...
    (_)
    ( _)>⌐■-■
    (⌐■_■)



    MyAnimeList

    Stop preordering games! Stop buying day1 games! Stop being idiots!

  9. #34
    Superior Member
    TheTenth666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    44
    Posts
    629
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    476 (0 Banked)
    Items YunaPlayStation
    Microsoft doens't have any ethics, they just want to win and earn money, so "softening" a reviewer by giving him a game (not the game given to the coompany for review, a game given to the person doing the review), goodies, DLC codes, money ... is just standard tactics, just as "getting inside information" to know when the "opposing faction" will send the game for review to know when to send it first

  10. #35
    Soldier 95B
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by TheTenth666 View Post
    Microsoft doens't have any ethics, they just want to win and earn money
    This is true. Just like Sony.

  11. #36
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,270
    Rep Power
    197
    Points
    130,102 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Soldier 95B View Post
    I have never been in a PS3 LAN party. Does the PS3 support LAN/System Link the same way the 360 does?
    A game has to support LAN for it to work...so yea, if there's a game with LAN support, it's also possible on the PS3.

    It was possible on the PS2. And Dreamcast.

    Actually it's possible with any console with a LAN port.

  12. #37
    Supreme Veteran
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    42
    Posts
    18,195
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    202,338 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    A game has to support LAN for it to work...so yea, if there's a game with LAN support, it's also possible on the PS3.

    It was possible on the PS2. And Dreamcast.

    Actually it's possible with any console with a LAN port.
    So the answer would then be no, it doesnt support it and its up to the developer.

  13. #38
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,270
    Rep Power
    197
    Points
    130,102 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    So the answer would then be no, it doesnt support it and its up to the developer.
    Are you telling me that all Xbox 360 games support LAN?

  14. #39
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    11,689
    Rep Power
    145
    Points
    83,511 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    Ok, I got a little confused there...I was thinking as a whole (i.e. commercials).

    As for them doing that, I'm pretty sure they can do that with the PS3 as well. It's all advertising, they likely get paid to show it.

    Same when it comes to movies/shows, people sometimes will be seen using popular devices. Used to be Playstation, now it's Xbox and at times the Wii.

    I'm not saying that's 100% of the times, but there's money to be made there, they will likely get sponsors telling them to show certain stuff. Kinda like you see on youtube, where regular people get popular, then they start reviewing products...or at least show it off.
    The PS3 can certainly do it, but I do not think I have ever seen any PS3 consoles lined up unless it was some behind the scenes footage from a Sony team. I think all multi platform dev teams that I can remember seeing, all were using 360 consoles to test the game with a LAN setup.

  15. #40
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,270
    Rep Power
    197
    Points
    130,102 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    The PS3 can certainly do it, but I do not think I have ever seen any PS3 consoles lined up unless it was some behind the scenes footage from a Sony team. I think all multi platform dev teams that I can remember seeing, all were using 360 consoles to test the game with a LAN setup.
    That may be the case, considering Xbox is more popular. Though I always like to think some money is involved in everything, especially at a higher level such as editor websites.

  16. #41
    Supreme Veteran
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    42
    Posts
    18,195
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    202,338 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    Are you telling me that all Xbox 360 games support LAN?
    Not all, but a huge number do because its a feature of the SDK.
    Last edited by mynd; 09-12-2012 at 05:33.

  17. #42
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,270
    Rep Power
    197
    Points
    130,102 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    Not all, but a huge number do because its a feature of the SDK.
    Ok. And how is that different from the PS3 again and any other console that features LAN support? i.e. Ethernet port.

  18. #43
    Supreme Veteran
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    42
    Posts
    18,195
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    202,338 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    Ok. And how is that different from the PS3 again and any other console that features LAN support? i.e. Ethernet port.
    Really? We've been through this a thousand times, the difference between a built in code library and something you have to implement on you own.
    One is supplied and simple to implement, and is standardized. The other is whatever you decide to do, or can be bothered to do....

  19. #44
    Super Moderator
    Admartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    PSN ID
    admartian
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,218
    Rep Power
    131
    Points
    46,342 (0 Banked)
    Items ArsenalVitaUser name styleSteamPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Because companies are fanboys.

    Fact.

    This is common knowledge.
    Be Together - Not the same.



  20. #45
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,270
    Rep Power
    197
    Points
    130,102 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    Really? We've been through this a thousand times, the difference between a built in code library and something you have to implement on you own.
    One is supplied and simple to implement, and is standardized. The other is whatever you decide to do, or can be bothered to do....
    1) Do you have any sort of proof that LAN is not implemented into PS3's JDK?

    Because it strikes me funny that I have yet to see a game where it's out on both PS3 and 360 and only the 360 sported LAN.

    So either it's not a very complicated feature because it seems to me that everyone does bother to implement it or it must be int he SDK for
    developers to use...the same as you would with a 360.

    Standard means that it's in every single product (games in this case). So this would not be a standardization. If you're talking about standardizing as far as the way it's presented (as in, the LAN option is always in the same spot in the Live menu)...that would not be the same thing.

    Either way, it's in both consoles and I'd like for you to find me a single game that doesn't implement LAN on both consoles (games that support LAN and are multiplat...for the sake of comparison).
    Last edited by Omar; 09-12-2012 at 06:44.

  21. #46
    Supreme Veteran
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    42
    Posts
    18,195
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    202,338 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    1) Do you have any sort of proof that LAN is not implemented into PS3's JDK?

    Because it strikes me funny that I have yet to see a game where it's out on both PS3 and 360 and only the 360 sported LAN.
    Resident Evil 5.
    So either it's not a very complicated feature because it seems to me that everyone does bother to implement it or it must be int he SDK for
    developers to use...the same as you would with a 360.
    It not very complicated, but it is not in the SDK.
    Standard means that it's in every single product (games in this case). So this would not be a standardization. If you're talking about standardizing as far as the way it's presented (as in, the LAN option is always in the same spot in the Live menu)...that would not be the same thing.

    Either way, it's in both consoles and I'd like for you to find me a single game that doesn't implement LAN on both consoles (games that support LAN and are multiplat...for the sake of comparison).
    Last edited by mynd; 09-12-2012 at 08:24.

  22. #47
    Soldier 95B
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    A game has to support LAN for it to work...so yea, if there's a game with LAN support, it's also possible on the PS3.

    It was possible on the PS2. And Dreamcast.

    Actually it's possible with any console with a LAN port.
    Ok, gotcha. That is all over my head normally, so I don't know. Thanks!

  23. #48
    Super Carlton
    33x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW London
    PSN ID
    JMEWalterblack
    Age
    33
    Posts
    13,664
    Rep Power
    104
    Points
    34,291 (0 Banked)
    Items PS3 Slim360 SlimiPhone 4 BlackGears of WarGoogle ChromeManchester UnitedUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Shin Asura View Post
    Watching a Borderlands 2 video and they're showing the 360 version, and this isn't the first time I've seen it like this. Whenever there's a multiplatform game video done, the PS3 version rarely is shown. Is it because it's easier to capture video from the 360? Pretty sure for the Lords of Shadow review places were using the 360 version as well
    Really??

    Its cos the 360 is 9 times outta 10 the lead platform for most games and 8 times outta 10 they perform slightly better on the 360.

    And also, stay on topic please guys

    Thanks to Final for the sick sig!

  24. #49
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    167
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by admartian View Post
    Because companies are fanboys. Fact. This is common knowledge.
    lol

  25. #50
    Super Moderator
    Admartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    PSN ID
    admartian
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,218
    Rep Power
    131
    Points
    46,342 (0 Banked)
    Items ArsenalVitaUser name styleSteamPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by radgamer420 View Post
    lol
    Can't believed I got negged for that. Well actually I do, not everyone is as clued up or perceptive as others.
    Be Together - Not the same.



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.