Page 1 of 3 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 60
  1. #1
    Master Guru
    Shin Asura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Working out with Juri
    Posts
    6,192
    Rep Power
    84
    Points
    6,410 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style

    Why is the 360 version of a game featured for video footage for multiplatform games?

    Watching a Borderlands 2 video and they're showing the 360 version, and this isn't the first time I've seen it like this. Whenever there's a multiplatform game video done, the PS3 version rarely is shown. Is it because it's easier to capture video from the 360? Pretty sure for the Lords of Shadow review places were using the 360 version as well

    Huge thanks to my awesome friend Finalreaper for the sig!!

  2. #2
    Apprentice
    XperienZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PSN ID
    X-x-Stallion-x-X
    Age
    31
    Posts
    348
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    374 (0 Banked)
    Items LBP Sephiroth
    The video maker probably has massive hands thus prefers the 360 controller... or something =)

    Don't go around believing that Great Wizards solve all your problems, because there aren't any and they don't and I should know because I'm not one...

  3. Likes XSpike, F34R likes this post
  4. #3
    ストライク・ザ・ブラッド
    Kuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Ore no Sekai
    PSN ID
    xAkiRo
    Age
    21
    Posts
    13,104
    Rep Power
    103
    Points
    533,462 (0 Banked)
    Items YunaLuluBaby Chocobo
Gift received at 01-12-2013 from Ghost
Message: enjoy!Final Fantasy XIII-2AtlusFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VIIFinal Fantasy V
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yeah I've noticed. I guess developers prefer using an xbox controller when demoing a game.

    PSN: xThAkIdJxYx Cod Psn:xxAkiRo
    ‎"It's not important to have a long life, the important thing is to have a happy life with your beloved ones"

  5. #4
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,171
    Rep Power
    134
    Points
    351 (1,062,841 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    No it is easier to capture HD footage of the 360 version of game's then it is PS3, as PS3 hdmi has certain issues doing it.



    Thank you itachi

  6. Likes Shin Asura likes this post
  7. #5
    Master Guru
    Wrath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    27
    Posts
    6,467
    Rep Power
    98
    Points
    35,030 (0 Banked)
    Items Dark SoulsDemons Souls CoverDark Souls Cover
    Guys, it's because the 360 is the lead platform most of the time due to its comparatively simple development processes.



  8. Likes 33x , Itachi , TEEDA, Omar, Shin Asura , F34R likes this post
  9. #6
    Master Guru
    Shin Asura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Working out with Juri
    Posts
    6,192
    Rep Power
    84
    Points
    6,410 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    No it is easier to capture HD footage of the 360 version of game's then it is PS3, as PS3 hdmi has certain issues doing it.
    That's what I thought, thanks

    Huge thanks to my awesome friend Finalreaper for the sig!!

  10. #7
    Master Guru
    Wrath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    27
    Posts
    6,467
    Rep Power
    98
    Points
    35,030 (0 Banked)
    Items Dark SoulsDemons Souls CoverDark Souls Cover
    Quote Originally Posted by Shin Asura View Post
    That's what I thought, thanks
    That's not the reason.



  11. #8
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,171
    Rep Power
    134
    Points
    351 (1,062,841 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Wrath View Post
    That's not the reason.
    It isnt? I know it used to be, Sony has a higher secruity on the HDMI port, HDCP kicks in when playing games.



    Thank you itachi

  12. #9
    Elite Guru
    Nitey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    25
    Posts
    5,673
    Rep Power
    64
    Points
    40,911 (0 Banked)
    Items DreamcastDeath Note LArsenal
    Yeah what Wrath said. 360 is more often than not the lead platform for multiplat games. When PS3 is lead platform devs demo it on the PS3 - like AC3

  13. Likes Wrath likes this post
  14. #10
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,133
    Rep Power
    246
    Points
    149,395 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    No it is easier to capture HD footage of the 360 version of game's then it is PS3, as PS3 hdmi has certain issues doing it.
    You can do it via component just fine. This definitely doesn't have anything to do with what the 360 footage is seen often rather than the PS3. The lead platform is the culprit.




  15. #11
    PSU Editorial Assistant
    R3D D3V!L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wigan, England
    PSN ID
    Diablo_Rosso
    Age
    24
    Posts
    7,942
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    15,980 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleManchester UnitedPlayStation
    Lead platform or marketing.

  16. #12
    Master Guru
    Shin Asura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Working out with Juri
    Posts
    6,192
    Rep Power
    84
    Points
    6,410 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    I see, that makes sense thanks

    Huge thanks to my awesome friend Finalreaper for the sig!!

  17. #13
    Forum Overseer

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,762
    Rep Power
    198
    Points
    137,655 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I can see it being marketing but generally I feel that it's because the 360 version is usually slightly better-looking.

    Why wouldn't they show the better-looking version?

    Hence why we usually see the PC screens of games that also have the PC counterparts.

  18. #14
    Veteran
    Shibby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Philly
    Age
    24
    Posts
    4,154
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    14,834 (0 Banked)
    Items LiverpoolUser name style
    2 possible reasons:

    1) Lead platform

    2) Sony/MS pay them to do it. If this is the case, you'll see the platform at the end of TV ads for the game as well.


  19. #15
    Master Guru
    TDbank24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    6,896
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    39,244 (0 Banked)
    Because there is this myth that all 360 versions of multiplats stomp on the PS3 version so it's become the go to console.


  20. #16
    Veteran
    SomaXD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    So-Cal
    PSN ID
    SomaXD
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,795
    Rep Power
    78
    Points
    6,997 (1,083 Banked)
    Items PhotoShopPhotoshopAssassins Creed EzioKillzone 3Guerrilla GamesNaughty DogRaidenNoctisiPhone BlackVitaDeath NoteFinal Fantasy VII
    /Remember Me is being shown primarily on PS3... so thats something...



    Also depends on the commercial ... most commercials are for 360 for some reason.

    And most of what you see shown at shows and online sites are PC versions of the game running @ console settings, being played with a 360 controller.
    Vanik Tetsu'ya
    PS4 500GB//PS3 MGS4 80GB//PS3 120GB Slim//360 250GB Slim//360 4GB Slim w/Kinect//Black Wii 4.3u softmod//PS Vita w/32gb card

  21. #17
    Elite Guru
    berts08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    N.Ireland
    PSN ID
    berts08
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,615
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    11,065 (4,000 Banked)
    Items User name styleManchester United
Gift received at 11-19-2011 from Cuguy
Message: couldn't find a reason the shop would deny you the purchase, so here ya go
    Quote Originally Posted by Shibby View Post
    2 possible reasons:

    1) Lead platform

    2) Sony/MS pay them to do it. If this is the case, you'll see the platform at the end of TV ads for the game as well.



    We have a winner



    “Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.” Arthur C. Clarke


    PSN ID: berts08



  22. #18
    Elite Guru
    Nitey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    25
    Posts
    5,673
    Rep Power
    64
    Points
    40,911 (0 Banked)
    Items DreamcastDeath Note LArsenal
    Quote Originally Posted by SomaXD View Post
    /Remember Me is being shown primarily on PS3... so thats something...
    Yeah and that makes sense as it was said to have been a PS3 exclusive at one point so development began and probably continued to be led on the PS3

  23. #19
    Supreme Veteran
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    42
    Posts
    18,426
    Rep Power
    166
    Points
    209,465 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Shin Asura View Post
    Watching a Borderlands 2 video and they're showing the 360 version, and this isn't the first time I've seen it like this. Whenever there's a multiplatform game video done, the PS3 version rarely is shown. Is it because it's easier to capture video from the 360? Pretty sure for the Lords of Shadow review places were using the 360 version as well
    If they are showing it off in America, its likely it will be the Xbox version they show off, due to its console domination there.
    In the bad old days, the 360 version tended to be the one that was most stable/further-est along in development, but I doubt that really applies to game this far along the production cycle.

  24. Likes Shingo likes this post
  25. #20
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    11,760
    Rep Power
    145
    Points
    85,082 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    It is probably because these guys play a lot of LAN games together and the 360 is best for it. Since the consoles are already there and hooked up, they use them to record footage.

  26. #21
    Forum Overseer

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    32,762
    Rep Power
    198
    Points
    137,655 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    It is probably because these guys play a lot of LAN games together and the 360 is best for it. Since the consoles are already there and hooked up, they use them to record footage.
    ?

  27. #22
    Master Guru
    Bigdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,729
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    8,736 (11,045 Banked)
    Items Baby ChocoboPlayStationUser name style
    this gen of consoles has saved me a ton of money mainly for this reason. Usually when a game is demo'd on just 360 and the PS3 footage isn't shown, it usually means "prepare to be disappointed in that version".
    PSN ID: Intense_Peanut

  28. #23
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    11,760
    Rep Power
    145
    Points
    85,082 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    ?
    How is what I said confusing?

    A lot of game videos created from IGN, Gamespot, GameInformer, etc, are using Xbox 360 consoles to record footage. I am saying that they are probably using 360 consoles for their LAN connections and are using them to record footage. I have seen many behind the scenes and I noticed that every time they show anything where they are competing with each other, they are on the 360.

  29. #24
    Forum Sage
    DeviousOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Orlando FL
    PSN ID
    DeviousOnePSU
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,551
    Rep Power
    70
    Points
    61,675 (1,943 Banked)
    Items NintendoFirefox LogoPSN LogoWii BlackPaper MarioWiiUGran Turismo 53DSPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    In 2011 the Nintendo Wii U presentation even used xbox360 footage as well. Smh

    ~~~OLD SKOOL~~~

  30. #25
    Supreme Veteran
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    42
    Posts
    18,426
    Rep Power
    166
    Points
    209,465 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Just remember guys, PC is the main development tool, and you can use a 360 controller on it. It maybe you are seeing PC versions of games as well.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.