Latest PSU headlines:

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst ... 2
Results 26 to 40 of 40
  1. #26
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,389
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    56,493 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    The PC version loads up incredibly fast alot faster than vanilla Doom 3, each level takes 5 seconds tops to change.

    Also I noticed they changed the way jump works.

  2. #27
    Superior Member
    Bhindi_Bhajji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    35
    Posts
    846
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    265 (0 Banked)
    I have a solid state drive in my PS3 (originally brought for my laptop, but I got curious), I brought the PSN version and so far I've had no issues at all. The loading times are far from long, not a speedy 5 seconds, I haven't timed it, but I'd say no more than around 10 - 15 seconds.

    There have been no framerate issues or any other pauses whilst running through the levels except the autosave, it runs smooth as silk!

  3. #28
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Bhindi_Bhajji View Post
    I have a solid state drive in my PS3 (originally brought for my laptop, but I got curious), I brought the PSN version and so far I've had no issues at all. The loading times are far from long, not a speedy 5 seconds, I haven't timed it, but I'd say no more than around 10 - 15 seconds.

    There have been no framerate issues or any other pauses whilst running through the levels except the autosave, it runs smooth as silk!
    I guess the slow BR drive is the culprit on the disc version. They should have done a mandatory install for the PS3 disc version.

  4. #29
    Superior Member
    Bhindi_Bhajji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    35
    Posts
    846
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    265 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by radgamer420 View Post
    I guess the slow BR drive is the culprit on the disc version. They should have done a mandatory install for the PS3 disc version.
    My thoughts exactly!

    Now to see what other games are improved by the SSD...after work that is!!

  5. #30
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,389
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    56,493 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Shame the PS3 only uses SATA 1 controller meaning it can only read at 150MB/sec most new decent mechanical hard drives can average read 130-150 thesedays.
    Last edited by keefy; 10-25-2012 at 10:15.

  6. #31
    Superior Member
    Bhindi_Bhajji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    35
    Posts
    846
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    265 (0 Banked)
    True, but it certainly makes a difference from the 500GB drive I used to have!

  7. #32
    Master Guru
    TDbank24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    6,713
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    35,406 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by radgamer420 View Post
    Kind of odd. Maybe you had a magic copy that me and DF didnt have.
    Or a clear mind.

    I got it for the PS3 and there is nothing wrong with the version. In fact i have a friend who has the 360 version and he said he was disappointed with the graphics and performance.


  8. #33
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by TDbank24 View Post
    Or a clear mind.

    I got it for the PS3 and there is nothing wrong with the version. In fact i have a friend who has the 360 version and he said he was disappointed with the graphics and performance.
    Yeah right. Cool story bro.

  9. #34
    Supreme Veteran
    Ixion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New York
    PSN ID
    MagicManGSC
    Age
    24
    Posts
    19,867
    Rep Power
    159
    Points
    68,679 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Beat this yesterday. The biggest problem was the freezing. I didn't really notice any frame-rate drops or screen tearing, but the game froze quite a bit. It would freeze for a second and then resume.

    It didn't happen often enough to a break the experience, but it was a little annoying.

  10. #35
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,389
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    56,493 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    By freeze do you mean you had to restart the console or it just did it for a second or so?

  11. #36
    Supreme Veteran
    Ixion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New York
    PSN ID
    MagicManGSC
    Age
    24
    Posts
    19,867
    Rep Power
    159
    Points
    68,679 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    By freeze do you mean you had to restart the console or it just did it for a second or so?
    Just for a second. Then the game would resume. I'd say it happened about 10-15 times over the course of the 11-hour playtime.

  12. #37
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Ixion View Post
    Just for a second. Then the game would resume. I'd say it happened about 10-15 times over the course of the 11-hour playtime.
    Yeah that was my only real issue with the ps3 version. 360 version played solid.

  13. #38
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,389
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    56,493 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Sounds like a streaming/caching problem to me. There is no install on th PS3 version is there?

    P.S
    What the hell are they talking about?
    Doom 3: BFG Edition is best described as the net result of John Carmack and id Software taking on an HD remastering project, because this new release is effectively a 720p console revamp of a 2004 PC game originally designed with a 640x480 resolution in mind.
    Last edited by keefy; 10-29-2012 at 19:59.

  14. #39
    Soldier 95B
    Guest
    No install for the PS3 version according to the original source.

  15. #40
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    275 (0 Banked)
    I didnt wanna buy this game having already beaten them on Xbox original along with the co op

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.