Latest PSU headlines:

Page 1 of 2 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 47

Thread: Graphics Card

  1. #1
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)

    Graphics Card

    My graphics card has been making a silly amount of nosie recently, I am 100% sure it's coming from the fan of my graphics card. My questions are -

    1. Is there any way to stop it making the nosie (I have tried blowing air into it, to get the dust out)
    2. If I need to replace it (I think I do) how do I know hat graphics card will fit in it's place. I would want to upgrade as its a few years old now anyway. The graphics card is a GeForce GT 220 - http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desk...geforce-gt-220

    I have never changed anything inside a pc, so I don't know how it all works properly so any help would be awesome.

    Thanks a lot!


  2. #2
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    I think that the bolts which are holding the fan are loose. You should take a look more precisely, i think that the position of your fan is wrong and that is the reason why the fan makes noises. The fan is probably hitting the case of your computer or another component on the motherboard.

  3. #3
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    Thanks for your quick reply! My graphics card is located at the bottom of my pc, and is attached to the back panel. Upon researching I think i have to unscrew the small panel sticking out the back and then pull the graphics card off of the motherboard.

    There is a screw above the fan on the graphics card, I wanted to tighten it, but was scared to try and remove the graphics card, as i can't get at it with a screw driver while it is attached, (there is stuff above it that stops the screwdrive from getting in)


  4. #4
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,257
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    259,870 (888 Banked)
    what kind of noise? squeaky? buzzing? etc..

    what's your PSU wattage also
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  5. #5
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    Buzzing. I could put up with it at first. But now its got silly. The pc hasn't slowed down at all, and the fan looks like it is working as it should.

    It says AC INPUT - 220 -240V
    DC OUTPUT - 250W

    If that is right?


  6. #6
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,257
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    259,870 (888 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by fusion2 View Post
    Buzzing. I could put up with it at first. But now its got silly. The pc hasn't slowed down at all, and the fan looks like it is working as it should.

    It says AC INPUT - 220 -240V
    DC OUTPUT - 250W

    If that is right?
    i was just being thorough, if you decide to get a new GPU this will be the first question asked

    have you checked fan speed? download GPU-Z and check fan speeds are normal if you haven't.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  7. #7
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,334
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    55,366 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Changing stuff in a PC is easy its all designed to be upgradable you my need a screw driver but thats about it, thesedays computer cases come with thumb screws so no need for a screw driver.

    I gather you dont game on your computer and will not be doing so in the near future? I ask becaus the power supply is very low wattage and a half decent graphics will probably not work properly with only 250W max.

    You could probably get a Geforce 620 for about 40 to replace it.

    I had a problem with my Geforce 8800GT a couple years ago, the fan bearings were knackered they made a grinding and clicking noise.
    Shortly after that the card died big time.

    I made a rcording of it
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/30326465/Audio/bearings.mp3

    Last edited by keefy; 10-28-2012 at 15:56.

  8. #8
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fijiandoce View Post
    i was just being thorough, if you decide to get a new GPU this will be the first question asked

    have you checked fan speed? download GPU-Z and check fan speeds are normal if you haven't.

    Fan speed is apperntly around 79-80%


  9. #9
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Changing stuff in a PC is easy its all designed to be upgradable you my need a screw driver but thats about it, thesedays computer cases come with thumb screws so no need for a screw driver.

    I gather you dont game on your computer and will not be doing so in the near future? I ask becaus the power supply is very low wattage and a half decent graphics will probably not work properly with only 250W max.

    You could probably get a Geforce 640 for about 40 to replace it.

    I had a problem with my Geforce 8800GT a couple years ago, the fan bearings were knackered they made a grinding and clicking noise.
    Shortly after that the card died big time.

    I made a rcording of it
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/30326465/Audio/bearings.mp3
    I play games from steam and games like minecraft, I don't run anything heavy like full retail games. So you think a whole new pc is in order?


  10. #10
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,257
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    259,870 (888 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by fusion2 View Post
    Fan speed is apperntly around 79-80%
    that's why you're hearing buzzing

    at idle you should see really low usage.

    what is the temperature of the card?

    Quote Originally Posted by fusion2 View Post
    I play games from steam and games like minecraft, I don't run anything heavy like full retail games. So you think a whole new pc is in order?
    it depends. if you want to game with your PC then yes. otherwise, no not really.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  11. #11
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,334
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    55,366 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by fusion2 View Post
    I play games from steam and games like minecraft, I don't run anything heavy like full retail games. So you think a whole new pc is in order?
    Well having a new computer with powerful processor and graphics card gives you the option to play the latest and greatest games.

  12. #12
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fijiandoce View Post
    that's why you're hearing buzzing

    at idle you should see really low usage.

    what is the temperature of the card?


    it depends. if you want to game with your PC then yes. otherwise, no not really.
    It says 80oC


  13. #13
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,257
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    259,870 (888 Banked)
    are you running any 3D applications?

    is it 80 when idling?
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  14. #14
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,334
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    55,366 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Is that after playing a game or just sat at the desktop doing nothing?

  15. #15
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    That is when basic web browsing, and msn


  16. #16
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,257
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    259,870 (888 Banked)
    you need a new card.

    i can't even reach 70C when my GPU is at 100%
    my fan speeds never go above 60% either

    this is why i asked about the PSU
    the card Keefy suggested should suffice

    just unplug the old one and plug in the new one...if you get a Nvidia one.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  17. #17
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)


  18. #18
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by fusion2 View Post
    One has 1 Gb VRam the other one has 2 Gbs VRam. I suggest you getting the secound one as it will offer better performance.

  19. #19
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    Awesome, thanks for all your help everyone!

    How much better would this card be than my current one? Any ideas?


  20. #20
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,257
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    259,870 (888 Banked)
    just to make sure, what cpu are you using?

    for 250w, and without knowing your system, i personally would stick my neck out for this card: AMD as it has a lower wattage requirement then the one you've currently got, and performs better.

    also, what is the brand of the PC? if its a dell then forget what i just said and get the Asus 620. if its a HP then be a little more apprehensive.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  21. #21
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,334
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    55,366 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Fijiandoce View Post
    you need a new card.

    i can't even reach 70C when my GPU is at 100%
    my fan speeds never go above 60% either

    this is why i asked about the PSU
    the card Keefy suggested should suffice

    just unplug the old one and plug in the new one...if you get a Nvidia one.

    I have done that before now thinking it would be OK btu its nto, you really do need to uninstall the old drivers and install the newer ones for that card.

  22. #22
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    Its a Packard Bell, intel core 2 quad cpu, q8300 @ 2.50GHz
    6.00Gb ram
    64bit operating system


  23. #23
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,257
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    259,870 (888 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by fusion2 View Post
    Its a Packard Bell, intel core 2 quad cpu, q8300 @ 2.50GHz
    6.00Gb ram
    64bit operating system
    i only ask because Dells PSU's are on the higher end of the quality ladder....im not too sure where Packard Bell sit though

    i'd have no problems recommending the 620 otherwise.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  24. #24
    Superior Member
    fusion2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    845
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,836 (0 Banked)
    Awesome, thanks a lot! Youve been a great help!


  25. #25
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Make sure you buy the model with 2GBs VRam.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.