Latest PSU headlines:

Page 13 of 17 FirstFirst ... 313 ... LastLast
Results 301 to 325 of 404
  1. #301
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    33
    Posts
    11,051
    Rep Power
    138
    Points
    70,661 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    Sorry. It's true. Where did you come up with those numbers lol? What do you think is taking up so much space out of the box, and there's only 3.5GB of space out of the "8"GB?
    I assume he is talking about the RAM. I think he is saying there is no way the Wii U is using 1gb of ram for the OS. With all the multitasking it does, I find it very possible.

    The PS3 uses 96mb of the 512mb for the OS. Judging by how slow the XMB is while playing games, I can also believe that number.
    Last edited by Lethal; 12-06-2012 at 23:34.

  2. #302
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yeah, if he's talking about RAM, then I understand what he meant. I wasn't ever talking about RAM lol.




  3. #303
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    23
    Posts
    15,930
    Rep Power
    141
    Points
    75,210 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    I assume he is talking about the RAM. I think he is saying there is no way the Wii U is using 1gb of ram for the OS. With all the multitasking it does, I find it very possible.

    The PS3 uses 96mb of the 512mb for the OS. Judging by how slow the XMB is while playing games, I can also believe that number.
    I'm talking about RAM. I've only ever been discussing RAM thus far, which can be a bit confusing for people who take the term "memory" out of context since normally there are no adjectives attached (volatile\magnetic\etc).

    And no, the PS3 OS is under 54MB now.

    The WiiU has 2GB of RAM half of which is completely unavailable to developers. The OS and security measures are soaking that up.
    Last edited by Vulgotha; 12-06-2012 at 23:45.


  4. #304
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I see where I put memory instead of storage. So, yeah, that's where it started lol. My bad.




  5. #305
    Elite Guru
    Nitey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    25
    Posts
    5,675
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    40,911 (0 Banked)
    Items DreamcastDeath Note LArsenal
    It is quite crazy that the thing utilizes 1gb of ram for the OS. Either that's incredibly lack optimization or the current OS is just a quick job and they have a list of additional features they want to squeeze into it. I'm going to assume it's the latter

  6. Likes F34R likes this post
  7. #306
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    They better squeeze some performance out of this sucker, regarding the OS. It's annoying to have the wait period during switching around it.




  8. #307
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    33
    Posts
    11,051
    Rep Power
    138
    Points
    70,661 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Vulgotha View Post
    And no, the PS3 OS is under 54MB now.
    Do you a link of the source stating it is now almost half of what it used to be?

  9. #308
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    16,729
    Rep Power
    154
    Points
    100,405 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    Do you a link of the source stating it is now almost half of what it used to be?
    I thought that was common knowledge. Its split between xdr and gddr. From memory its like 38/16 split, but dont quote me on that.
    2play:Red Dead, GTA 4,Batman AC,Batman AO,Borderlands 2,Skyrim,Sleeping Dogs,Reckoning,Dead Island, DarkSiders 2,Dark Souls,Dead Space 2,MGS 3,MGS:PW, XCOM:EU,Hitman Absolution,Biosuck Infinite,Assassins Creed 3,Deus Ex,Castlevania, Halo Wars,Civilization,Forza Horizon,Black Ops,Black Ops 2,MW3,LA Noire,Crackdown,Dead Rising 2,Fallout 3, Fallout:NV,RE 4, Bully, Hitman HD collecton.

  10. #309
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    33
    Posts
    11,051
    Rep Power
    138
    Points
    70,661 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    I thought that was common knowledge. Its split between xdr and gddr. From memory its like 38/16 split, but dont quote me on that.
    Everything I dig up points to 96mb. I am not one for "common knowledge"

    http://www.ozymandias.com/more-conte...-issues-on-ps3
    http://technabob.com/blog/2007/03/26...than-xbox-360/

    So naturally I am wondering his numbers are coming from?
    Last edited by Lethal; 12-07-2012 at 02:10.

  11. #310
    Elite Member
    skinny_jr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montréal
    PSN ID
    Skinnyjr
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,513
    Rep Power
    53
    Points
    5,131 (0 Banked)
    Last edited by skinny_jr; 12-07-2012 at 02:59.
    Sony BRAVIA 40" XBR4
    harman/kardon AVR1600
    1Tb PS3 slim
    Toshiba S50D A
    AMD A10-5745M APU 2.10Ghz
    AMD Radeon HD 8500M
    8Gb RAM
    1Tb Hdd
    Windows 8

  12. #311
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    23
    Posts
    15,930
    Rep Power
    141
    Points
    75,210 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    Everything I dig up points to 96mb. I am not one for "common knowledge"

    http://www.ozymandias.com/more-conte...-issues-on-ps3
    http://technabob.com/blog/2007/03/26...than-xbox-360/

    So naturally I am wondering his numbers are coming from?

    Dude it was like 54MB as of Killzone 2 given developer slides from Guerrilla.

    http://www.dailytech.com/Sony+Shrink...ticle17775.htm

    http://www.ps3news.com/playstation-3...slash-to-50mb/


  13. Likes skinny_jr likes this post
  14. #312
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    33
    Posts
    11,051
    Rep Power
    138
    Points
    70,661 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Vulgotha View Post
    Dude it was like 54MB as of Killzone 2 given developer slides from Guerrilla.

    http://www.dailytech.com/Sony+Shrink...ticle17775.htm

    http://www.ps3news.com/playstation-3...slash-to-50mb/
    Dude, I was just wondering where you got the numbers from.

  15. Likes F34R likes this post
  16. #313
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    23
    Posts
    15,930
    Rep Power
    141
    Points
    75,210 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!




    =p

    Meh let's just agree to disagree. This silly debate is nothing between us man.
    Last edited by Vulgotha; 12-07-2012 at 04:26.


  17. #314
    Ancient
    TGO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    purgatory
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,497
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    12,177 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Assassins Creed 3 Wii U Head2head is up on DF
    In short, near identical graphically to the HD twins with inferior depth of field
    performance wise, at best it hangs with the PS3 but is the worse of the 3 with framerate dropping as low as 20fps
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...wii-u-face-off
    I not sure what version you was playing Lethal but this was said from the beginning, so no surprise here
    on a good note they did say it was the Wii U's best port

    "Xbox is about to become the next water cooler”

  18. #315
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    6,603 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Nitey View Post
    It is quite crazy that the thing utilizes 1gb of ram for the OS. Either that's incredibly lack optimization or the current OS is just a quick job and they have a list of additional features they want to squeeze into it. I'm going to assume it's the latter
    maybe for the tablet? Just a guess, maybe it requires some ram to be set aside?
    Got YLOD? In the UK? I'll buy it off you.

  19. #316
    PS Unchained
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,101
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    2,547 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by J3ff3 View Post
    maybe for the tablet? Just a guess, maybe it requires some ram to be set aside?
    Dont think the tablet needs much but that is a possiblity, my guess hes right and some of it is a set aside incase of new features, one of the reasons PS3 lacks cross game chat.



    Thank you itachi

  20. #317
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,248
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    28,240 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Nitey View Post
    It is quite crazy that the thing utilizes 1gb of ram for the OS. Either that's incredibly lack optimization or the current OS is just a quick job and they have a list of additional features they want to squeeze into it. I'm going to assume it's the latter
    Sony started with 120mb for ps3 OS and as the years went by, they had to 'release' 70mb of extra memory for the devs by making the OS more optimized. Fun fact, if they hadn't given that memory back to devs, cross game chat would be possible on ps3.
    I think this is what nintendo's gonna do once the next gen consoles hit the market
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    Dude, I was just wondering where you got the numbers from.
    Ps3 definitely has a 50mb OS footprint. Reduced from 120mb to 50mb
    http://www.dailytech.com/Sony+Shrink...ticle17775.htm

  21. #318
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    33
    Posts
    11,051
    Rep Power
    138
    Points
    70,661 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by TGO View Post
    Assassins Creed 3 Wii U Head2head is up on DF
    In short, near identical graphically to the HD twins with inferior depth of field
    performance wise, at best it hangs with the PS3 but is the worse of the 3 with framerate dropping as low as 20fps
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...wii-u-face-off
    I not sure what version you was playing Lethal but this was said from the beginning, so no surprise here
    on a good note they did say it was the Wii U's best port
    I was playing AC3 on my PS3 and Wii U at the same time. Same tv, same settings. This is my opinion, and I have never been one to give favoritism towards any console. I honest to got feel the Wii U version trumped the PS3. I even had my wife tell me which version looked the best, without letting her know which one was the PS3 and Wii U. She is not even a gamer and she immediately said the Wii U looked best.

    It was the same with BLOPS 2. And this is with the Wii U not having any sort of install process. The PS3 has to install textures and it still did not look as good as the Wii U that is running everything right off the disc. This could also be where the RAM is being used up as the Wii U has to display the game on your TV and the gamepad at the same time.

    Believe me, don't believe me. I have gave my honest opinion.


    If you guys have both consoles, I suggest AC3 on the Wii U. I would still get BLOPS2 on the PS3 because of the large online community it has.
    Last edited by Lethal; 12-07-2012 at 16:06.

  22. #319
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    23
    Posts
    15,930
    Rep Power
    141
    Points
    75,210 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Assassins Creed 3 Wii U Head2head is up on DF
    In short, near identical graphically to the HD twins with inferior depth of field
    performance wise, at best it hangs with the PS3 but is the worse of the 3 with framerate dropping as low as 20fps
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...wii-u-face-off
    I not sure what version you was playing Lethal but this was said from the beginning, so no surprise here
    on a good note they did say it was the Wii U's best port


    Figured as much. So it's clearly not the "definitive" version at all.


  23. #320
    Super Elite

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,387
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    14,584 (0 Banked)
    This might have been posted earlier but I'm too lazy to read 13 pages.
    http://venturebeat.com/2012/11/29/the-wii-us-processor-and-graphics-speeds-are-slower-than-xbox-360-and-ps-3/


    GamingBolt reported that a hacker Hector Martin, who goes by the name Marcan, discovered that the Wii U’s IBM PowerPC central processing unit runs at 1.24 gigahertz per core, with a total of three cores. By comparison, the PS3′s Cell processor and the Xbox 360′s Xenon run at 3 gigahertz per core.
    Read more at http://venturebeat.com/2012/11/29/th...YZQ1Rq4jMG1.99




    The Wii U’s graphics processing unit (GPU) is made by Advanced Micro Devices. Marcan says it runs at 549 megahertz. [Update: Rob Wyatt of Otoy points out that the PS3's graphics chip runs at 550 megahertz (which is effectively the same clock) and the Xbox 360's GPU runs at 500 megahertz.]


  24. #321
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,248
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    28,240 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    ^all posted before

  25. #322
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Vulgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    23
    Posts
    15,930
    Rep Power
    141
    Points
    75,210 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    The WiiU has also already been hacked.


  26. #323
    Ultimate Veteran
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    24,805
    Rep Power
    161
    Points
    155,996 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by TGO View Post
    Assassins Creed 3 Wii U Head2head is up on DF In short, near identical graphically to the HD twins with inferior depth of field performance wise, at best it hangs with the PS3 but is the worse of the 3 with framerate dropping as low as 20fps http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...wii-u-face-off I not sure what version you was playing Lethal but this was said from the beginning, so no surprise here on a good note they did say it was the Wii U's best port
    Well there ya go. Wii U is definitely not the best console version confirmed. I thought as much.

  27. #324
    Ultimate Veteran
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    24,805
    Rep Power
    161
    Points
    155,996 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Vulgotha View Post
    The WiiU has also already been hacked.
    Wow. That didnt take long.

  28. #325
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,248
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    28,240 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Vulgotha View Post
    The WiiU has also already been hacked.
    Not that surprising since it uses the a 1997 CPU derivative
    Similar architecture, similar security problems

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.