Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Apprentice
    GypsyKid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    35
    Posts
    301
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    128 (0 Banked)

    Hooking up a PS3 to a VGA monitor?

    I moved across country a few months ago and got rid of an old tube TV that I was using in the bedroom for a second PS3 before I left.

    I haven't settled on and am lacking the funds to get a new TV at the moment due to Christmas and the cost of moving etc. However, I wouldn't mind hooking up the 2nd ps3 for the bedroom. I do have a spare flatscreen VGA only Dell monitor that I could use until I can get a decent TV.

    I have a few questions though. How would I go about connecting a PS3 to the monitor and what can I do about getting sound? I have some powered speakers that I can use.

    Wondering if it's worth the hassle or not to get working or if I should just hold out until I can get a proper TV?

    I also have found HDMI to VGA cables at some stores, but reading around on-line I get mixed information on whether this will work or not. Would like some definite answers. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Master Guru
    Wrath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    27
    Posts
    6,466
    Rep Power
    98
    Points
    34,683 (0 Banked)
    Items Dark SoulsDemons Souls CoverDark Souls Cover
    Quote Originally Posted by GypsyKid View Post
    I moved across country a few months ago and got rid of an old tube TV that I was using in the bedroom for a second PS3 before I left.

    I haven't settled on and am lacking the funds to get a new TV at the moment due to Christmas and the cost of moving etc. However, I wouldn't mind hooking up the 2nd ps3 for the bedroom. I do have a spare flatscreen VGA only Dell monitor that I could use until I can get a decent TV.

    I have a few questions though. How would I go about connecting a PS3 to the monitor and what can I do about getting sound? I have some powered speakers that I can use.

    Wondering if it's worth the hassle or not to get working or if I should just hold out until I can get a proper TV?

    I also have found HDMI to VGA cables at some stores, but reading around on-line I get mixed information on whether this will work or not. Would like some definite answers. Thanks in advance!
    I'd advise you not to bother with said idea.

    Reason being that I wanted to do the exact same thing not too long ago but found out that HDMI-VGA adapters are apparently not worth it. They seemingly decrease picture quality because the digital signal needs to be converted into an analogue one and the build quality of those adapters seems to be below average. However, they are the only way of making your PS3 VGA-capable.

    I'd personally wait until I could afford a new HDTV.



  3. #3
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,128
    Rep Power
    245
    Points
    149,365 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I'm 100% with wrath on this. I've tried it and I might as well have been blind lol.




  4. #4
    Apprentice
    GypsyKid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    35
    Posts
    301
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    128 (0 Banked)
    Thanks for the advice. I'm going to take it and abandon the idea. I'll just wait until I can get a decent TV. Was really hyped about the playstation 3d display being super cheap right now. I can afford that. From what I can gather though it's pretty much a defective TV that should be taken off the market. I guess that's a big reason why it went from $499.99 all the way to $149.99 since it was released.

  5. #5
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    PSN ID
    XipKid
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    344 (0 Banked)
    I think that HDMI to VGA golden plated cables(female to female) will avoid the quality loss. I tested it and it runned well, and its only like 13$(2$ difference)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.