Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Blu ray cd's

  1. #1

    Blu ray cd's

    So I have a 80gb 4usb fat ps3 and it reads dvds, ps1, ps2 games fine but blu ray games or movies haveva hard time being read. I have to eject and insert a few times to get it to read. Time for a new drive?

    If so where can I buy a replacement?

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    35
    Posts
    13,692
    Rep Power
    164
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Replacing the entire drive would require you to re-marry the disc drive with the motherboard. This is done by flashing the drive so the PS3 can communicate with the drive.

    or

    You can replace the laser on the drive. You will need to find out which Blu-Ray drive model it is and find the appropriate laser replacement.

    You can find replacement parts on Newegg, Ebay, The Console Doctor, etc. You can simply Google PS3 laser replacement to find a bunch of sites.

  3. #3
    Thank you

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  4. #4
    How can I find out what blu ray model it is?

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  5. #5
    Elite Guru
    MonkeyClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    PSN ID
    Tha_MonkeyClaw
    Age
    40
    Posts
    5,030
    Rep Power
    107
    Items Protect yourself
    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    Replacing the entire drive would require you to re-marry the disc drive with the motherboard. This is done by flashing the drive so the PS3 can communicate with the drive.

    or

    You can replace the laser on the drive. You will need to find out which Blu-Ray drive model it is and find the appropriate laser replacement.

    You can find replacement parts on Newegg, Ebay, The Console Doctor, etc. You can simply Google PS3 laser replacement to find a bunch of sites.
    I wasn't aware that the drive linked to the PlayStation like that! Good to know info!

    -=[ PSN ID: Tha_MonkeyClaw ]=-

  6. #6
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,591
    Rep Power
    73
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Thats good you fixed it.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  7. #7
    So the new laser came in yesterday. Installed it myself just now. Install was cake. She's alive once again!

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  8. #8
    I Do Admin Thingies

    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14,008
    Rep Power
    797
    Quote Originally Posted by sosovoo View Post
    So the new laser came in yesterday. Installed it myself just now. Install was cake. She's alive once again!

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
    Grats. :] A lot cheaper than buying a new PS3.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by PeanutButterMunky View Post
    Grats. :] A lot cheaper than buying a new PS3.
    Certainly, got the laser on amazon for 38 bucks shipped.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

  10. #10
    I Do Admin Thingies

    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14,008
    Rep Power
    797
    Quote Originally Posted by sosovoo View Post
    Certainly, got the laser on amazon for 38 bucks shipped.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
    I love Amazon.

  11. #11
    Veteran
    RyanGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Age
    26
    Posts
    4,833
    Rep Power
    81
    Same thing happened to my 80 gig back in th day. It was much more expensive to fix it then though, so I just ended up buying a new one.

  12. #12
    Master Guru
    TDbank24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    7,104
    Rep Power
    80
    That sucks. It's good that you were able to fix it though.


  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanGT View Post
    Same thing happened to my 80 gig back in th day. It was much more expensive to fix it then though, so I just ended up buying a new one.
    How much was it to fix?

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.