Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 3
Results 51 to 73 of 73
  1. #51
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    7,726 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    so each cell in the ps4 will be free?

    no?

    so it costs money then. i'd rather that money be spent elsewhere.

    you're welcome to want BC. but don't say its a win/win for all consumers. because its not for a large number who just don't care and would rather the console was cheaper or had a different feature.
    Last edited by J3ff3; 01-24-2013 at 16:28.
    Got YLOD? In the UK? I'll buy it off you.

  2. #52
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    193
    Points
    106,264 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by J3ff3 View Post
    so each cell in the ps4 will be free?

    no?

    so it costs money then. i'd rather that money be spent elsewhere.

    you're welcome to want BC. but don't say its a win/win for all consumers. because its not for a large number who just don't care and would rather the console was cheaper or had a different feature.
    I actually agree with you on this. I do wonder if they will offer, at least during launch year, a version with BC for a premium price.

  3. #53
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    7,726 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    I actually agree with you on this. I do wonder if they will offer, at least during launch year, a version with BC for a premium price.
    i didn't know we were always at odds!
    Got YLOD? In the UK? I'll buy it off you.

  4. #54
    Veteran
    MonkeyClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    PSN ID
    Tha_MonkeyClaw
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4,823
    Rep Power
    94
    Points
    148,501 (0 Banked)
    Items Protect yourself
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    I think it was to allow switching between different architecture GPUs. This led to some credibility to the APU + GPU reports but now I don't really know
    Watch they used the A10 APU, carved out the integrated 7660D and in its place put the Cell BE and RSX in there!

    -=[ PSN ID: Tha_MonkeyClaw ]=-

  5. #55
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    193
    Points
    106,264 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by J3ff3 View Post
    i didn't know we were always at odds!
    No, didn't mean it like that. I was a huge proponent of B/C at the onset of the current generation. As time has gone on, I realized that I hardly ever use the B/C in my original fatty at all. It probably cost Sony a pretty penny to design a motherboard and cool that Emotion Engine I never use. In hindsight, I don't see B/C as a critical function of a console, especially if the trade-off at the design phase is sacrificing more RAM or something else that could help make games run better.

  6. #56
    Forum Elder
    chrisw26308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,622
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    13,537 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    No, didn't mean it like that. I was a huge proponent of B/C at the onset of the current generation. As time has gone on, I realized that I hardly ever use the B/C in my original fatty at all. It probably cost Sony a pretty penny to design a motherboard and cool that Emotion Engine I never use. In hindsight, I don't see B/C as a critical function of a console, especially if the trade-off at the design phase is sacrificing more RAM or something else that could help make games run better.
    I dont want or use it. I have not played a ps2 game since the 3 came out.

    Others do though and what sony spends on putting it in they can recoup from sales from the psn backward compat games.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  7. #57
    Veteran
    MonkeyClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    PSN ID
    Tha_MonkeyClaw
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4,823
    Rep Power
    94
    Points
    148,501 (0 Banked)
    Items Protect yourself
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisw26308 View Post
    I dont want or use it. I have not played a ps2 game since the 3 came out.

    Others do though and what sony spends on putting it in they can recoup from sales from the psn backward compat games.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
    The only time I have ever put a PS1/PS2 game in my PS3 was to look back on how dated the graphics were, never played any old games regularly to warranty BC in the system.

    -=[ PSN ID: Tha_MonkeyClaw ]=-

  8. #58
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    7,726 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    No, didn't mean it like that. I was a huge proponent of B/C at the onset of the current generation. As time has gone on, I realized that I hardly ever use the B/C in my original fatty at all. It probably cost Sony a pretty penny to design a motherboard and cool that Emotion Engine I never use. In hindsight, I don't see B/C as a critical function of a console, especially if the trade-off at the design phase is sacrificing more RAM or something else that could help make games run better.
    heh i know. i was just joking.
    Got YLOD? In the UK? I'll buy it off you.

  9. #59
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    82
    Points
    30,827 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    http://www.vgleaks.com/orbis-devkits-roadmaptypes/
    Currently, there are 3 types of devkits:

    1) R10 boards with special BIOS, running in generic PC’s

    2) “Initial 1″ — Early devkit

    model number: DVKT-KS000K
    SCE-provided PC equipped with R10XX board
    Runs Orbis OS
    Available July 2012

    3) SoC Based Devkit: early version of the ORBIS hardware

    Available January 2013
    R10 Board (with special BIOS) assemble in a Generic PC

    Requires Windows 7 64 bit edition
    Recommend
    Sandy Bridge (Intel) or Bulldozer (AMD)
    Minimum 8 GB RAM (system memory)
    650 Watt PSU
    VS2010 SP1
    DWM (Desktop Windows Manager) must be turned off
    Application will use Windows services for everything except GPU interface
    SCE will provide “Gnm”, a custom GPU interface

    Quote:
    Do you remember the first Durango’s pictures? This is a very early devkit based on Windows.


    DVKT-KS000K (“Initial 1″)

    Runs Orbis OS
    CPU: Bulldozer 8-core, 1.6 Ghz
    Graphics Card: R10 with special BIOS
    RAM: 8 GB (system memory)
    BD Drive
    HDD: 2.5 ” 160 GB
    Network Controller
    Custom South Bridge allows access to controller prototypes



    Quote:
    SoC Based Devkit

    Available January 2013
    CPU: 8-core Jaguar
    GPU: Liverpool GPU
    RAM: unified 8 GB for devkit (4 GB for the retail console)
    Subsystem: HDD, Network Controller, BD Drive, Bluetooth Controller, WLAN and HDMI (up to 19801080@3D)
    Analog Outputs: Audio, Composite Video
    Connection to Host: USB 3.0 (targeting over 200 MB/s),
    ORBIS Dualshock
    Dual Camera

    The last devkit is the closer one to the retail console. Expect a machine with these specs or similar to these ones. Obviously, Sony could introduce changes in this features, but don’t expect deep mods.
    Last edited by Itachi; 01-24-2013 at 18:21.

  10. #60
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    38
    Posts
    20,891
    Rep Power
    111
    Points
    29,042 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    these specs are for the dev kit the final ps4 wont have 8 gigs of ram i wish it did but it wont

  11. #61
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    82
    Points
    30,827 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by coolguy View Post
    these specs are for the dev kit the final ps4 wont have 8 gigs of ram i wish it did but it wont
    obviously. 8gb of GDDR5 will make it a $600 console all over again

  12. #62
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17,464
    Rep Power
    161
    Points
    159,322 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    So...wait a minute... haven't we just come full circle with these rumors?
    Bloody hell.

  13. #63
    Veteran
    MonkeyClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    PSN ID
    Tha_MonkeyClaw
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4,823
    Rep Power
    94
    Points
    148,501 (0 Banked)
    Items Protect yourself
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    So...wait a minute... haven't we just come full circle with these rumors?
    Bloody hell.
    Didn't you know the hype train runs in a circle!

    -=[ PSN ID: Tha_MonkeyClaw ]=-

  14. #64
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    82
    Points
    30,827 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    So...wait a minute... haven't we just come full circle with these rumors?
    Bloody hell.
    Yes we have. atleast now we have confirmation where all the different reports were originating from. Some insiders only had info of the first dev kits, some had dirt on the second iteration etc

  15. #65
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    193
    Points
    106,264 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by coolguy View Post
    these specs are for the dev kit the final ps4 wont have 8 gigs of ram i wish it did but it wont
    Actually, there are dev kits with 16GB of RAM.

  16. #66
    Veteran
    MonkeyClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    PSN ID
    Tha_MonkeyClaw
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4,823
    Rep Power
    94
    Points
    148,501 (0 Banked)
    Items Protect yourself
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    Actually, there are dev kits with 16GB of RAM.
    I thought I remember reading that the July '12 dev kits had 16GB as well, but then again those are all rumor based info as well.

    -=[ PSN ID: Tha_MonkeyClaw ]=-

  17. #67
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    7,726 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by MonkeyClaw View Post
    I thought I remember reading that the July '12 dev kits had 16GB as well, but then again those are all rumor based info as well.
    probably 16gig of ddr. think that would work out in terms of 'gig' per frame. don't really understand it that well, but bandwith wise 8gig of ddr ram works out at 1gig per frame (appparently), so 16 gig of ddr in a dev kit would match the bandwidth requirements of 2 gig GDDR that they were aiming for. (so 2gig/frame for the dev kit, and 1.5 for 2gig GDDR)

    disclaimer: i'm making most of this up by the way.
    Got YLOD? In the UK? I'll buy it off you.

  18. #68
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    82
    Points
    30,827 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by J3ff3 View Post
    probably 16gig of ddr. think that would work out in terms of 'gig' per frame. don't really understand it that well, but bandwith wise 8gig of ddr ram works out at 1gig per frame (appparently), so 16 gig of ddr in a dev kit would match the bandwidth requirements of 2 gig GDDR that they were aiming for. (so 2gig/frame for the dev kit, and 1.5 for 2gig GDDR)

    disclaimer: i'm making most of this up by the way.
    Memory size has no affect on how much GB/frame you get. Your frame rate and bandwidth control that so I highly doubt that 16gb was to make up for 2gb bandwidth in final version. That much ram could be for all sorts of crazy dev tools. Alpha kits ran MS visual studio with win 7 so that could have used a lot of ram

  19. #69
    Elite Guru
    J3ff3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    5,230
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    7,726 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    Memory size has no affect on how much GB/frame you get. Your frame rate and bandwidth control that so I highly doubt that 16gb was to make up for 2gb bandwidth in final version. That much ram could be for all sorts of crazy dev tools. Alpha kits ran MS visual studio with win 7 so that could have used a lot of ram
    as i said, i know very little about it. just that 8gigs in durango = 1gig per frame, 4gigs gddr in orbis = 3 gigs per frame. if sony wanted to replicate what two gigs of gddr would have for an early dev kit.........

    no doubt well wide of the mark, but 16 gigs gddr for a dev kit sounds very unlikely
    Got YLOD? In the UK? I'll buy it off you.

  20. #70
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    82
    Points
    30,827 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by J3ff3 View Post
    as i said, i know very little about it. just that 8gigs in durango = 1gig per frame, 4gigs gddr in orbis = 3 gigs per frame. if sony wanted to replicate what two gigs of gddr would have for an early dev kit.........

    no doubt well wide of the mark, but 16 gigs gddr for a dev kit sounds very unlikely
    I've heard that now there's no need for double the RAM in dev kits because the tools are very efficient when it comes to memory.

  21. #71
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Down Under
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17,464
    Rep Power
    161
    Points
    159,322 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    I've heard that now there's no need for double the RAM in dev kits because the tools are very efficient when it comes to memory.
    There is a lot of overhead in developing and debugging. For example imagine you wanted to snap shot the system as something happens, or recored variables values at run time. Trust me, you need double the
    Memory.

  22. #72
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    82
    Points
    30,827 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Latest VGleaks article just went up
    Absolutely NOTHING new

  23. #73
    Master Poster
    LfCpS3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3,364
    Rep Power
    49
    Points
    10,788 (0 Banked)
    Items VitaLiverpool360 SlimPS3 FatGoogle Chrome
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    Latest VGleaks article just went up
    Absolutely NOTHING new

    Well the one SKU is something.

    at 500 gb, which is cool.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.