Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3

    How is this wireless router?

    I have an old router and by Febuary 5, I will have a new service provider for the Internet after moved from Evil Rogers. I saw this Asus Wireless router and its kind expensive Asus RT-AC66U.
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=050241

    What do guys think? Its really good? Because I want to have a good connection on my VITA. Thanks for any help.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  2. #2
    Dedicated Member
    PS3!!!!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,042
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    2,796 (0 Banked)
    One of the "best routers in 2012". What are you connecting to it? desktop, laptop?
    Six Years With PSU!~ Favourite Games of all Time~ Smash Bros, Spyro, GTA series and Elder Scrolls Series
    Add me on PSN FOXY007 OR Steam psn_foxy007
    My Hardware~ Sony Bravia 240hz 3D 40".. Ps3 Slim250gig and Sony Bravia Surround Sound 5.1
    PC- i7 3930k|gtx670|8g ram|2T HDD|Bluray disc drive

  3. #3
    Super Elite
    rycexboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,254
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    20 (2,924 Banked)
    Looks good but a little on the pricey side if your just going to use it for computer or connecting with your vita.

  4. #4
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,689
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,288 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    You will need a wireless network card for your PC that supports 5GHz profile to take full advantage of it and thats only for your local network such as transfering files to and from computers or streaming videos.

    It of course will work with older B G N wireless cards as well just you will not see the maximum gigbit/sec speeds on those profiles.
    Last edited by keefy; 01-31-2013 at 13:20.

  5. #5
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,385
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    9,031 (0 Banked)
    I've just installed the model below it in the last few days, the Asus RT-N66U (I didn't need the 802.11ac support of the model you are thinking of purchasing), and I have it coupled with the Asus PCE-N53 network card.

    It is slower than a wired connection but it is still fast. I use it for gaming so speed and stability are important to me.

    Wired:



    Wireless (distance of about 30 feet):

    5ghz band



    2.4ghz band



    Sometimes the 5ghz band gets up to the 50 Mb/s range. Hope this helps.

  6. #6
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by PS3!!!!! View Post
    One of the "best routers in 2012". What are you connecting to it? desktop, laptop?
    I will connect my desktop PC via wired internet. And my PS VITA via wireless. Mainly, Iam buying it for my VITA to have a good connection. Because I know when you use wireless internet. You will lose some of the signal and it won't stronge as wired internet.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  7. #7
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Valefor View Post
    I've just installed the model below it in the last few days, the Asus RT-N66U (I didn't need the 802.11ac support of the model you are thinking of purchasing), and I have it coupled with the Asus PCE-N53 network card.

    It is slower than a wired connection but it is still fast. I use it for gaming so speed and stability are important to me.

    Wired:



    Wireless (distance of about 30 feet):

    5ghz band



    2.4ghz band



    Sometimes the 5ghz band gets up to the 50 Mb/s range. Hope this helps.
    Those are really good results and really fast even via wireless.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  8. #8
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,689
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,288 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Does Vita support 5GHz wireless?

  9. #9
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,385
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    9,031 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    Those are really good results and really fast even via wireless.
    Just did a retest on 5 ghz:



    As you can see, it varies between the 30 - 60 range.

    I doubt Vita supports 5ghz, but on my tests I only lose a couple of Mb/s on the 2.4 band. You won't be disappointed with the router. However, I'd go for model I went for, as it costs less and ac support isn't really needed.

  10. #10
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Does Vita support 5GHz wireless?
    I don't no about that if the VITA does support 5GHZ.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  11. #11
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Valefor View Post
    Just did a retest on 5 ghz:



    As you can see, it varies between the 30 - 60 range.

    I doubt Vita supports 5ghz, but on my tests I only lose a couple of Mb/s on the 2.4 band. You won't be disappointed with the router. However, I'd go for model I went for, as it costs less and ac support isn't really needed.
    Just one question. The wireless router will open the 5GHZ by it self or I have to open that channel or play with the settings inorder to make the singal 5GHZ?


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  12. #12
    Soldier 95B
    Guest
    VITA doesn't support 5ghz.

  13. #13
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,385
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    9,031 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    Just one question. The wireless router will open the 5GHZ by it self or I have to open that channel or play with the settings inorder to make the singal 5GHZ?
    It automatically broadcasts 2.4 and 5ghz channels simultaneously. On the Vita you could connect to the 2.4 channel, and if you have any devices that support 5ghz then they could connect to the 5ghz channel.

  14. #14
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Valefor View Post
    It automatically broadcasts 2.4 and 5ghz channels simultaneously. On the Vita you could connect to the 2.4 channel, and if you have any devices that support 5ghz then they could connect to the 5ghz channel.
    Oh ok thanks for the info. Than there is no need to spend that much money on it, since the VITA won't take any adventage from 5GHZ. I will get something else and cheaper a little. Thanks guys.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  15. #15
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Soldier 95B View Post
    VITA doesn't support 5ghz.
    Thats bad. It would be so cool if the VITA supported 5GHZ and we would have an amazing wireless speed.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  16. #16
    Master Guru
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,442
    Rep Power
    96
    Points
    6,638 (44,164 Banked)
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Quote Originally Posted by Valefor View Post
    Just did a retest on 5 ghz:



    As you can see, it varies between the 30 - 60 range.

    I doubt Vita supports 5ghz, but on my tests I only lose a couple of Mb/s on the 2.4 band. You won't be disappointed with the router. However, I'd go for model I went for, as it costs less and ac support isn't really needed.
    Is this a Vita speed test?!


    Sent from my iPhlone using Tapatalk 2
    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

    .

  17. #17
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by MjW View Post
    Is this a Vita speed test?!


    Sent from my iPhlone using Tapatalk 2
    I don't think so because the VITA doesn't support 5GHZ and that test was via speed of 5GHZ.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  18. #18
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,385
    Rep Power
    51
    Points
    9,031 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by MjW View Post
    Is this a Vita speed test?!


    Sent from my iPhlone using Tapatalk 2
    No it's from my PC, it was to give an idea of how the wireless speeds differ depending on the band.

  19. #19
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    30
    Posts
    12,234
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    120,866 (18,076 Banked)
    Items Ghost in the ShellTidusLightningBruce LeeAppleUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    "Canada Computers & Electronics"... oh dear.
    "The biggest adversary in our life is ourselves. We are what we are, in a sense, because of the dominating thoughts we allow to gather in our head. All concepts of self-improvement, all actions and paths we take, relate solely to our abstract image of ourselves. Life is limited only by how we really see ourselves and feel about our being. A great deal of pure self-knowledge and inner understanding allows us to lay an all-important foundation for the structure of our life from which we can perceive and take the right avenues.

  20. #20
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,341
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,639 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by PeanutButterMunky View Post
    "Canada Computers & Electronics"... oh dear.
    Yeah, its good place to buy stuff from.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  21. #21
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    30
    Posts
    12,234
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    120,866 (18,076 Banked)
    Items Ghost in the ShellTidusLightningBruce LeeAppleUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    But... but it's Canadian.

    "The biggest adversary in our life is ourselves. We are what we are, in a sense, because of the dominating thoughts we allow to gather in our head. All concepts of self-improvement, all actions and paths we take, relate solely to our abstract image of ourselves. Life is limited only by how we really see ourselves and feel about our being. A great deal of pure self-knowledge and inner understanding allows us to lay an all-important foundation for the structure of our life from which we can perceive and take the right avenues.

  22. #22
    Elite Member
    jonathanm1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Central Alabama
    PSN ID
    jlmc1978
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,873
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    533 (11,942 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Look into the ubiquiti routers. I just ordered one because I'm tired of the pathetic range of wireless in these big box store brands. Ubiquiti is a commercial brand that cost the same as most residential brands.

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2


    'It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt.' - Abraham Lincoln

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.