Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3

    How is this wireless router?

    I have an old router and by Febuary 5, I will have a new service provider for the Internet after moved from Evil Rogers. I saw this Asus Wireless router and its kind expensive Asus RT-AC66U.
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=050241

    What do guys think? Its really good? Because I want to have a good connection on my VITA. Thanks for any help.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  2. #2
    Dedicated Member
    PS3!!!!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,042
    Rep Power
    81
    One of the "best routers in 2012". What are you connecting to it? desktop, laptop?
    Six Years With PSU!~ Favourite Games of all Time~ Smash Bros, Spyro, GTA series and Elder Scrolls Series
    Add me on PSN FOXY007 OR Steam psn_foxy007
    My Hardware~ Sony Bravia 240hz 3D 40".. Ps3 Slim250gig and Sony Bravia Surround Sound 5.1
    PC- i7 3930k|gtx670|8g ram|2T HDD|Bluray disc drive

  3. #3
    Looks good but a little on the pricey side if your just going to use it for computer or connecting with your vita.

  4. #4
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    PSN ID
    keefy
    Posts
    18,661
    Rep Power
    146
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    You will need a wireless network card for your PC that supports 5GHz profile to take full advantage of it and thats only for your local network such as transfering files to and from computers or streaming videos.

    It of course will work with older B G N wireless cards as well just you will not see the maximum gigbit/sec speeds on those profiles.
    Last edited by keefy; 01-31-2013 at 14:20.


  5. #5
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,408
    Rep Power
    67
    I've just installed the model below it in the last few days, the Asus RT-N66U (I didn't need the 802.11ac support of the model you are thinking of purchasing), and I have it coupled with the Asus PCE-N53 network card.

    It is slower than a wired connection but it is still fast. I use it for gaming so speed and stability are important to me.

    Wired:



    Wireless (distance of about 30 feet):

    5ghz band



    2.4ghz band



    Sometimes the 5ghz band gets up to the 50 Mb/s range. Hope this helps.

  6. #6
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by PS3!!!!! View Post
    One of the "best routers in 2012". What are you connecting to it? desktop, laptop?
    I will connect my desktop PC via wired internet. And my PS VITA via wireless. Mainly, Iam buying it for my VITA to have a good connection. Because I know when you use wireless internet. You will lose some of the signal and it won't stronge as wired internet.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  7. #7
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Valefor View Post
    I've just installed the model below it in the last few days, the Asus RT-N66U (I didn't need the 802.11ac support of the model you are thinking of purchasing), and I have it coupled with the Asus PCE-N53 network card.

    It is slower than a wired connection but it is still fast. I use it for gaming so speed and stability are important to me.

    Wired:



    Wireless (distance of about 30 feet):

    5ghz band



    2.4ghz band



    Sometimes the 5ghz band gets up to the 50 Mb/s range. Hope this helps.
    Those are really good results and really fast even via wireless.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  8. #8
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    PSN ID
    keefy
    Posts
    18,661
    Rep Power
    146
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Does Vita support 5GHz wireless?


  9. #9
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,408
    Rep Power
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    Those are really good results and really fast even via wireless.
    Just did a retest on 5 ghz:



    As you can see, it varies between the 30 - 60 range.

    I doubt Vita supports 5ghz, but on my tests I only lose a couple of Mb/s on the 2.4 band. You won't be disappointed with the router. However, I'd go for model I went for, as it costs less and ac support isn't really needed.

  10. #10
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Does Vita support 5GHz wireless?
    I don't no about that if the VITA does support 5GHZ.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  11. #11
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Valefor View Post
    Just did a retest on 5 ghz:



    As you can see, it varies between the 30 - 60 range.

    I doubt Vita supports 5ghz, but on my tests I only lose a couple of Mb/s on the 2.4 band. You won't be disappointed with the router. However, I'd go for model I went for, as it costs less and ac support isn't really needed.
    Just one question. The wireless router will open the 5GHZ by it self or I have to open that channel or play with the settings inorder to make the singal 5GHZ?


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  12. #12
    Soldier 95B
    Guest
    VITA doesn't support 5ghz.

  13. #13
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,408
    Rep Power
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    Just one question. The wireless router will open the 5GHZ by it self or I have to open that channel or play with the settings inorder to make the singal 5GHZ?
    It automatically broadcasts 2.4 and 5ghz channels simultaneously. On the Vita you could connect to the 2.4 channel, and if you have any devices that support 5ghz then they could connect to the 5ghz channel.

  14. #14
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Valefor View Post
    It automatically broadcasts 2.4 and 5ghz channels simultaneously. On the Vita you could connect to the 2.4 channel, and if you have any devices that support 5ghz then they could connect to the 5ghz channel.
    Oh ok thanks for the info. Than there is no need to spend that much money on it, since the VITA won't take any adventage from 5GHZ. I will get something else and cheaper a little. Thanks guys.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  15. #15
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Soldier 95B View Post
    VITA doesn't support 5ghz.
    Thats bad. It would be so cool if the VITA supported 5GHZ and we would have an amazing wireless speed.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  16. #16
    Forum Sage
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7,751
    Rep Power
    113
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Quote Originally Posted by Valefor View Post
    Just did a retest on 5 ghz:



    As you can see, it varies between the 30 - 60 range.

    I doubt Vita supports 5ghz, but on my tests I only lose a couple of Mb/s on the 2.4 band. You won't be disappointed with the router. However, I'd go for model I went for, as it costs less and ac support isn't really needed.
    Is this a Vita speed test?!


    Sent from my iPhlone using Tapatalk 2

    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

  17. #17
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by MjW View Post
    Is this a Vita speed test?!


    Sent from my iPhlone using Tapatalk 2
    I don't think so because the VITA doesn't support 5GHZ and that test was via speed of 5GHZ.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  18. #18
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,408
    Rep Power
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by MjW View Post
    Is this a Vita speed test?!


    Sent from my iPhlone using Tapatalk 2
    No it's from my PC, it was to give an idea of how the wireless speeds differ depending on the band.

  19. #19
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14,589
    Rep Power
    805
    "Canada Computers & Electronics"... oh dear.

  20. #20
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,662
    Rep Power
    78
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from VyseColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by PeanutButterMunky View Post
    "Canada Computers & Electronics"... oh dear.
    Yeah, its good place to buy stuff from.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  21. #21
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14,589
    Rep Power
    805
    But... but it's Canadian.


  22. #22
    Elite Member
    jonathanm1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Central Alabama
    PSN ID
    jlmc1978
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,877
    Rep Power
    75
    Items User name style
    Look into the ubiquiti routers. I just ordered one because I'm tired of the pathetic range of wireless in these big box store brands. Ubiquiti is a commercial brand that cost the same as most residential brands.

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2


    'It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt.' - Abraham Lincoln

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.