Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 80
  1. #26
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    24
    Posts
    205
    Rep Power
    39
    Points
    2,559 (0 Banked)
    Pretty crazy if true. I can't wait until Naughty Dog gets a hold of the PS4. I'm thinking we'll see something at E3.

    Wish the Resident Evil series hadn't gone to crap. I'd love nothing more than to see a next gen real survival horror Resident Evil game, especially back in the mansion. Hopefully one day Capcom will see the light and return it back to its roots, instead of this stupid action crap they've let it become.

  2. #27
    Ultimate Veteran
    mickice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia, In a Kangaroo's pouch.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    21,988
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    22,448 (40,000 Banked)
    Items PlayStationPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    So this is basically Sony throwing down the gauntlet right at the time when Microsft seems to be jumping in to the casual market head first.
    We need that X-Box event now!

    - Symmetrical thumb sticks for life -

  3. #28
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    166
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

  4. #29
    Member
    Beardy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Cheltenham UK
    PSN ID
    ReDxHorneT
    Age
    21
    Posts
    108
    Rep Power
    13
    Points
    3,726 (0 Banked)
    Items 1UP (Pixel)Avenged SevenfoldLucy PinderSteamPS3 SlimBullet For My ValentineLBP KratosGran Turismo 5Little Big Planet
    E3 is going to be so freaking awesome!!!! I cannot wait to see more PS4 footage and to see what the final games look like <3

  5. #30
    Apprentice
    Coconut_Crunch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    359
    Rep Power
    14
    Points
    4,591 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by radgamer420 View Post



    Yea, I think we are in for a real treat when E3 comes up.
    She put the lime in the coconut, she drank them both up.

    http://youtu.be/5LxC3M-Yngs

  6. Likes Ixion likes this post
  7. #31
    Newbie
    RugerRellP89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    24
    Posts
    68
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    990 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    Games have access to all 8GB RAM so dont know what your saying
    I doubt it (unless I missed something they've said already). Usually the OS has to use some RAM, I'm guessing 1-2GB, so there will probably be 6GB available for games, which is still a $#@! load considering the PS3 only has 512MB.

  8. #32
    Dedicated Member
    KungMartin90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    PSN ID
    KungenMartiin
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,001
    Rep Power
    20
    Points
    5,303 (0 Banked)
    So why does the developer of Killzone Shadow Fall mention that PS4 has 8GB of the fastest RAM when they showcased it on Jimmy Fallon ? I mean if they didn't even use 1/5th of it ?

  9. #33
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,119
    Rep Power
    131
    Points
    793 (1,060,841 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by KungMartin90 View Post
    So why does the developer of Killzone Shadow Fall mention that PS4 has 8GB of the fastest RAM when they showcased it on Jimmy Fallon ? I mean if they didn't even use 1/5th of it ?

    Because it does have it? and just cause demo build doesnt use it doesnt mean retail version wont


    edit rugor the OS has its own seperate co-proccesor which is being kept top secret my guess is that the OS doesnt access any ram till it switchs to the co-proccesor in which case the game is made into a save state and not using the ram also, but we will see
    Last edited by Chille; 02-25-2013 at 00:21.



    Thank you itachi

  10. #34
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    30,849 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Direct link to the thread.

    Didn't I make a thread about how Agni's philosophy only used 1.5GB VRAM and people were skeptical. Coincidence? I think not

    Mindblowing none the less
    Quote Originally Posted by RugerRellP89 View Post
    I doubt it (unless I missed something they've said already). Usually the OS has to use some RAM, I'm guessing 1-2GB, so there will probably be 6GB available for games, which is still a $#@! load considering the PS3 only has 512MB.
    That is enough for the desktop version of windows 7. PS4 OS should be no bigger than 512mb
    Last edited by Itachi; 02-25-2013 at 00:57.

  11. #35
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,525
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    3,984 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationSteam
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyn View Post
    Why so little?

    If devs were told the console would have 4 GB of RAM then you just have to ask why.
    Probably because they've been developing it on a devkit approximation of the final product. Probably has an off the shelf gpu along with the customary onboard vram.

  12. #36
    Apprentice
    Arn3lis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    26
    Posts
    498
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    854 (0 Banked)
    I don't see how is that surprising news considering that current pc games don't go above 2gb of vram e.g Skyrim. And also remember that most ps4 games probably are going to run in 1080p rez, so it will be awhile till latter games are going to use much more vram.

  13. #37
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    30,849 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Arn3lis View Post
    I don't see how is that surprising news considering that current pc games don't go above 2gb of vram e.g Skyrim. And also remember that most ps4 games probably are going to run in 1080p rez, so it will be awhile till latter games are going to use much more vram.
    MSAA causes the huge increase in memory usage
    Last edited by Itachi; 02-25-2013 at 01:03.

  14. #38
    Forum Guru
    Tetsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    84
    Posts
    3,827
    Rep Power
    74
    Points
    13,338 (0 Banked)
    This isn't such a big surprise. With devkits designed for a 4GB PS4 - from what we've gleaned from the net rumors anyhow - this makes sense. 512MB to 1GB for the PS4 OS leaves an average of 3.75GB of unified ram. And you can do quite a bit with 1.5GB of VRAM, as has been said in other posts. Edit: yikes, as I was typing, even.

    But heck yeah, this means lots of room for lots of stuff, and it may be a few years before developers begin bumping up against any space limitations... maybe. It's hard to resist taking advantage of available resources.


    Quote Originally Posted by PSTrey View Post
    Wish the Resident Evil series hadn't gone to crap. I'd love nothing more than to see a next gen real survival horror Resident Evil game, especially back in the mansion. Hopefully one day Capcom will see the light and return it back to its roots, instead of this stupid action crap they've let it become.
    Ermm... okay, I've been sick this weekend, cut me some slack. I want to rant anyway.

    Oh seriously, just like DMC. SO many of us have been crying like devils for a return to the style and panache of the original, especially Dante. Why CAPCOM keeps slagging us off for what they want, or what they think gamers want, is baffling.


    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    edit rugor the OS has its own seperate co-proccesor which is being kept top secret my guess is that the OS doesnt access any ram till it switchs to the co-proccesor in which case the game is made into a save state and not using the ram also, but we will see
    Intriguing if true. Kind of like the segragated PPU. I'm not sure what you're getting at with OS behavior, but... what the heck, I like to hear myself type.

    It's possible that SONY is streamlining the OS into utility shells that can be dumped when games load and there's no need for them. But a kernel of core will probably always remain to handle the essential tasks like disc management and the API. Which is another thing I forgot to ponder. If this is going to be so PC-like, are they using DX-11.x? Or something proprietary co-engineered with a few key devs like Open GL was once used?
    Last edited by Tetsu; 02-25-2013 at 01:18.
    Now writing: two Ratchet & Clank novels, a Sly 4 novel, and two rock albums
    PSN ID: Tetsumura/Tetsumaru019
    Pray for this planet! And I don't mean the environment

  15. #39
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    38
    Posts
    20,893
    Rep Power
    112
    Points
    29,062 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yes games will use 8 gigs of ram if need to be.the memory is pooled together like the 360s and the ps3s memory is split 256 of ram 256 of main.

  16. #40
    Veteran
    Cyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    24
    Posts
    4,276
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    11,593 (0 Banked)
    Items Battlefield 3ArsenalDark Souls
    Quote Originally Posted by Rekmon View Post
    Probably because they've been developing it on a devkit approximation of the final product. Probably has an off the shelf gpu along with the customary onboard vram.
    I guess that's one explanation. Still seems a bit odd to me, if Sony were committed to having at least 4GB like the leaks suggest they have been for some time, you'd think they'd at least tell their first party studios to have that in mind.

    Although it's not THAT surprising that the new KZ was running on just 1.5GB, I mean it's a linear shooter, memory amount isn't that important.

    Oh and to above I can run Skyrim perfectly well with AA maxed and a bunch of texture mods with just 1GB of VRAM. Not the highest res texture mods though.

  17. #41
    Apprentice
    Arn3lis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    26
    Posts
    498
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    854 (0 Banked)
    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=18429065
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    MSAA causes the huge increase in memory usage

  18. #42
    Supreme Veteran
    claud3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Agartha
    PSN ID
    sophieskyrim126Era
    Age
    30
    Posts
    17,631
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    1,046 (0 Banked)
    Items Tommy VercettiGTA Claude
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I would RAM that for Dollar
    Plato and Aristotle, a detail of The School of Athens, a fresco by Raphael. Aristotle gestures to the earth, representing his belief in knowledge

  19. Likes MonkeyClaw likes this post
  20. #43
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    30,849 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Did you look at the installed mod list?
    Secondly, everyone know how good bethesda's programmers are

  21. #44
    Supreme Veteran
    claud3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Agartha
    PSN ID
    sophieskyrim126Era
    Age
    30
    Posts
    17,631
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    1,046 (0 Banked)
    Items Tommy VercettiGTA Claude
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    Did you look at the installed mod list?
    Secondly, everyone know how good bethesda's programmers are
    Yep, they really are the bee's knee's of programming
    Plato and Aristotle, a detail of The School of Athens, a fresco by Raphael. Aristotle gestures to the earth, representing his belief in knowledge

  22. #45
    Super Moderator
    Admartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    PSN ID
    admartian
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,026
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    40,486 (0 Banked)
    Items ArsenalVitaUser name styleSteamPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    #IndieStation4 and proud of it.

  23. #46
    Master Poster
    RedOrb_Collector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,010
    Rep Power
    105
    Points
    14,310 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by radgamer420 View Post


    lol

  24. #47
    Forum Guru
    Insanehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,686
    Rep Power
    66
    Points
    9,481 (0 Banked)
    Can't wait to see improvements made for the games shown on PS4 meeting at E3 2013.

  25. #48
    Supreme Veteran
    claud3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Agartha
    PSN ID
    sophieskyrim126Era
    Age
    30
    Posts
    17,631
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    1,046 (0 Banked)
    Items Tommy VercettiGTA Claude
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    E3 is going to be i feel great this year.... The shame the PS4 was not revealed a couple of days back, but this makes this E3 a awesome one
    Plato and Aristotle, a detail of The School of Athens, a fresco by Raphael. Aristotle gestures to the earth, representing his belief in knowledge

  26. #49
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    987
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    5,707 (0 Banked)
    Wouldn't Sony need to reserve a little bit of RAM for back ground things they've mentions like game downloading, voice chat, OS and such? If so, they wouldn't be able to let some games use all of the 8 gigs otherwise those features wouldn't work. Even if it is the case, I can't imagine more than 1 GB being reserved.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparc View Post
    For goodness sake I hope nobody thinks to start labelling the console an Xbrick,
    oops
    -Regarding the Xbone A.K.A. the Xbrick

    "Faith - that's another word for ignorance isn't it?" -House

  27. #50
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,322
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    30,849 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by VayMasters86 View Post
    Wouldn't Sony need to reserve a little bit of RAM for back ground things they've mentions like game downloading, voice chat, OS and such? If so, they wouldn't be able to let some games use all of the 8 gigs otherwise those features wouldn't work. Even if it is the case, I can't imagine more than 1 GB being reserved.
    you are correct. Like said earlier, the OS reserved RAM takes care of all these things. It will most certainly be less than 1GB

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.