Page 1 of 2 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28
  1. #1
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    7,116 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3

    I hope PS4 won't do the same as PS3!

    Iam really have had a hard with my PS3 when I have upgraded the HDD 2 or 3 times were I have lost all my games and needed to redownload them. Until now, Iam not finished with this process because Iam a collecter and I downloaded lots of games. As I have reached page 797 and still need to redonwload. I just hope the PS4 won't do the same not everytime when we will upgrade our HDD and need to redownload them again. Has anyone heard anything regarding this issue?


    CPU: I7 3820-GPU: Asus Gtx 980 4GB-Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79-HDD: Seagate 2TB-CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X-TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000-PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD-PS3 Slim 750GB-PS VITA 32GB.

  2. #2
    Veteran
    RyanGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,822
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    23,928 (615,000 Banked)
    Hopefully they but 1TB HDDs in the PS4, that way you won't have to upgrade your HDD.

    I really can't see them putting anything less than a 500GB HDD.

  3. #3
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    7,116 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanGT View Post
    Hopefully they but 1TB HDDs in the PS4, that way you won't have to upgrade your HDD.

    I really can't see them putting anything less than a 500GB HDD.
    For me, 1 million percent I will upgrade my PS4 hdd. I will download lots of games as I did with my PS3. And yeah, for sure Sony won't have bigger HDD more then 500GB as you said. That's why Iam asking lol.


    CPU: I7 3820-GPU: Asus Gtx 980 4GB-Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79-HDD: Seagate 2TB-CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X-TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000-PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD-PS3 Slim 750GB-PS VITA 32GB.

  4. #4
    Veteran
    RyanGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,822
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    23,928 (615,000 Banked)
    Do you really need 1TB worth of games on one HDD?

  5. #5
    Veteran
    MonkeyClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    PSN ID
    Tha_MonkeyClaw
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4,976
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    155,775 (0 Banked)
    Items Protect yourself
    Yeah, but you can always have a hard drive failure! They need to have a "restore" function so if you ever replace the hard drive all you have to do is tell it to restore and overnight it will download and re-install your collection from the PlayStation Store!

    -=[ PSN ID: Tha_MonkeyClaw ]=-

  6. #6
    Master Guru
    Bigdoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,709
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    8,563 (11,045 Banked)
    Items Baby ChocoboPlayStationUser name style
    I hope an external HDD will work for the PS4 and I can use that for games too. You can use an external HDD for the WiiU just fine, but for the PS3 it's really strange and you have to swip swap everything.
    PSN ID: Intense_Peanut

  7. #7
    Supreme Veteran
    claud3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Agartha
    PSN ID
    sophieskyrim126Era
    Age
    30
    Posts
    17,633
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    1,088 (0 Banked)
    Items Tommy VercettiGTA Claude
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I see them fixing problems like this... But they can not stop them all and the PS4 will still have HDD problems and problems in general...

    We all know that and i hope to not encounter them
    Plato and Aristotle, a detail of The School of Athens, a fresco by Raphael. Aristotle gestures to the earth, representing his belief in knowledge

  8. #8
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    The issue is they treated it as a download history rather than a library of games.

    Also why download all of them if you are not going to play them its just wasted space. let the PSN store it until you want to play it.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12,424
    Rep Power
    781
    Points
    11,009,420 (18,076 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanGT View Post
    Do you really need 1TB worth of games on one HDD?
    Yes. >: ]


  10. #10
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    7,116 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanGT View Post
    Do you really need 1TB worth of games on one HDD?
    With my current both PS3 systems. I have 1TB HDD on my 60GB PS3 and on my slim PS3 I have 750GB of HDD.

    @MonkeyClaw
    Yeah, but you can always have a hard drive failure! They need to have a "restore" function so if you ever replace the hard drive all you have to do is tell it to restore and overnight it will download and re-install your collection from the PlayStation Store!

    So, I have no failure HDD but I hate to redownload all my games. I hope you are right with that feature and if the PS4 will support it. Then we are in the heaven lool.

    @Bigdoggy
    I hope an external HDD will work for the PS4 and I can use that for games too. You can use an external HDD for the WiiU just fine, but for the PS3 it's really strange and you have to swip swap everything. I know my friend and that is the only bad thing about the PS3. It most convert and reformat which is terrible.

    @keefy
    The issue is they treated it as a download history rather than a library of games.

    Also why download all of them if you are not going to play them its just wasted space. let the PSN store it until you want to play it.
    No man I like to have all my games and see them even if I don't play them loooooooooooool.


    CPU: I7 3820-GPU: Asus Gtx 980 4GB-Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79-HDD: Seagate 2TB-CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X-TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000-PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD-PS3 Slim 750GB-PS VITA 32GB.

  11. #11
    Supreme Veteran
    claud3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Agartha
    PSN ID
    sophieskyrim126Era
    Age
    30
    Posts
    17,633
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    1,088 (0 Banked)
    Items Tommy VercettiGTA Claude
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I believe the FAT PS3 was the worse for problems, it general got better with the other PS3's console's. It seem to get easier
    Plato and Aristotle, a detail of The School of Athens, a fresco by Raphael. Aristotle gestures to the earth, representing his belief in knowledge

  12. #12
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    7,116 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by claud3 View Post
    I believe the FAT PS3 was the worse for problems, it general got better with the other PS3's console's. It seem to get easier
    But still my friend. Everytime you remove the HDD. The PS3 will ask you to reformat the HDD which is terrible and say bye bye to all your games. Then go back and download 1000 items that you have. Oh my God I hate it, with my PS3 download page. I just now reached again to 650. I need 2 months to get all my games again.


    CPU: I7 3820-GPU: Asus Gtx 980 4GB-Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79-HDD: Seagate 2TB-CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X-TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000-PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD-PS3 Slim 750GB-PS VITA 32GB.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12,424
    Rep Power
    781
    Points
    11,009,420 (18,076 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I really hope the PS4 is at least xFAT this time... which allows for files larger than 4 GB. That's my biggest pet peeve with PS3... that and an utter lack of native MKV support. And no, transcoding 40 GB Blu-ray rips on the fly is not an option. Doesn't work very well. =\


  14. #14
    PSU Live Streamer
    YoungMullah88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Charlotte
    PSN ID
    xShadow__WoIf | YoungMullah88
    Posts
    15,217
    Rep Power
    116
    Points
    42,822 (1,800 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I have a 500gig and it's full, with ps+ I will definitely need more than 500gb (maybe 1tb)...I hope they also allow in game music too because I have my entire library on the ps3

    Sent from my Note II

  15. #15
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    With my current both PS3 systems. I have 1TB HDD on my 60GB PS3 and on my slim PS3 I have 750GB of HDD.

    @MonkeyClaw
    Yeah, but you can always have a hard drive failure! They need to have a "restore" function so if you ever replace the hard drive all you have to do is tell it to restore and overnight it will download and re-install your collection from the PlayStation Store!

    So, I have no failure HDD but I hate to redownload all my games. I hope you are right with that feature and if the PS4 will support it. Then we are in the heaven lool.

    @Bigdoggy
    I hope an external HDD will work for the PS4 and I can use that for games too. You can use an external HDD for the WiiU just fine, but for the PS3 it's really strange and you have to swip swap everything. I know my friend and that is the only bad thing about the PS3. It most convert and reformat which is terrible.

    @keefy
    The issue is they treated it as a download history rather than a library of games.

    Also why download all of them if you are not going to play them its just wasted space. let the PSN store it until you want to play it.
    No man I like to have all my games and see them even if I don't play them loooooooooooool.
    You need to learn to use the multi quote feature.
    Click it on any and all posts you want to quote then click the "reply to thread" button.


  16. #16
    Veteran
    MonkeyClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    PSN ID
    Tha_MonkeyClaw
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4,976
    Rep Power
    97
    Points
    155,775 (0 Banked)
    Items Protect yourself
    Quote Originally Posted by PeanutButterMunky View Post
    I really hope the PS4 is at least xFAT this time... which allows for files larger than 4 GB. That's my biggest pet peeve with PS3... that and an utter lack of native MKV support. And no, transcoding 40 GB Blu-ray rips on the fly is not an option. Doesn't work very well. =\
    I am hoping the file system uses ext4! MKV support would be awesome as well, but unfortunately I don't see it happening...I able able to transcode rip blu-rays just fine, my problem is with Cinavia!

    -=[ PSN ID: Tha_MonkeyClaw ]=-

  17. #17
    Forum Elder
    robvandam111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    PSN ID
    robvandam111
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,507
    Rep Power
    45
    Points
    24,054 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    I'm hoping none of the consoles actually fail. No more blu-ray failures or YLOD.

  18. #18
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    7,116 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    I will do that on the weekend.


    CPU: I7 3820-GPU: Asus Gtx 980 4GB-Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79-HDD: Seagate 2TB-CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X-TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000-PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD-PS3 Slim 750GB-PS VITA 32GB.

  19. #19
    Elite Member
    Shingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    PSN ID
    Swordsman-45
    Posts
    1,553
    Rep Power
    34
    Points
    18,027 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleOne Piece
    Whatever they put in it, won't be a permanent solution if they support copy paste function to an external HD, like they did with Vita. I only have 8gb card on vita yet it is more than enough for now ( until 8 gb games come out) , it will be an awesome add to ps4 feature.
    (_)
    ( _)>⌐■-■
    (⌐■_■)



    MyAnimeList

    Stop preordering games! Stop buying day1 games! Stop being idiots!

  20. #20
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    39
    Posts
    20,897
    Rep Power
    113
    Points
    30,128 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    lso think they will have a 1TB hard drive in the ps4 and then they will let you hook the ps4 to a harddrive to back up all your saves

  21. #21
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    11,749
    Rep Power
    145
    Points
    84,959 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    When the PS4 launches, simply add a hard drive large enough to fulfill your needs. Then you will not need to keep upgrading the HDD.

  22. Likes MartyRules likes this post
  23. #22
    Apprentice
    Coconut_Crunch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    359
    Rep Power
    16
    Points
    4,727 (0 Banked)
    During the PS4 reveal Mark Cerny said and I quote "This system is backed by the massive local storage that only a hard drive can provide" When he says massive, What I get in the back of my mind is a local HDD that is at least 500GB up to even 1TB.
    She put the lime in the coconut, she drank them both up.

    http://youtu.be/5LxC3M-Yngs

  24. #23
    Superior Member
    MartyRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    PSN ID
    KillingSpree0
    Posts
    838
    Rep Power
    29
    Points
    103,753 (0 Banked)
    A lot of computers do this too, it's more of a safety thing for the device then it is Sony trying to make it inconvenient

    Anime-Planet.com - anime | manga | reviews

  25. #24
    Dedicated Member
    MavSkipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    teh UKz
    PSN ID
    MavSkipper
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    160 (4,710 Banked)
    Here's wishing for a 3.5" slot HDD... I doubt it's going to happen though.

    Yeah, but you can always have a hard drive failure!
    That's the worse part. I've had it happen to me a year or 2 ago. 500GB+ of data gone in an instant.
    PSOMGLMAO - Live in your world... bake, kill and play in ours!!! キタ━━━━(゚∀゚)━━━━ッ 〜であります

  26. #25
    Dedicated Member
    Sajuuk Khar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,464
    Rep Power
    74
    Points
    9,896 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    But still my friend. Everytime you remove the HDD. The PS3 will ask you to reformat the HDD which is terrible and say bye bye to all your games. Then go back and download 1000 items that you have. Oh my God I hate it, with my PS3 download page. I just now reached again to 650. I need 2 months to get all my games again.
    Im not sure what your doing, But when I upgraded my ps3's hard drive I first did a back up to an external hard drive, put the new drive in, then restored from the external. I kept all my saves and everything. The more annoying thing about that is the back up can take a while having to use usb 2.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.