Latest PSU headlines:

Page 1 of 3 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 55
  1. #1
    Forum Elder
    Yungstar 2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    tyneside
    Posts
    2,873
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    26,549 (0 Banked)

    PS4 4gb to 8gb surprised most everyone, but.....

    while people will get excited over the possibilities of what the extra ram can do for PS4, did Sony only do it once they realised it would be necessary to avoid bad ports of Nextbox multi-plat games?

  2. #2
    Elite Guru
    Nitey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    25
    Posts
    5,675
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    40,911 (0 Banked)
    Items DreamcastDeath Note LArsenal
    How are we meant to know? If other rumours are to believed then 3gb of the 8gb of Xbox RAM is OS, leaving 5 for games. Sony's rumoured OS was 512mb (?) leaving 3.5gb of much faster memory for games. Doesn't seem to be that much in it. But what do I know.

    They probably just listened to developers and gave them what they wanted in the end, rather than react to Microsoft rumours. But I can see why you might ask the question..

  3. #3
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    164
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Who knows? What matters is that they did and developers are happy about it. Now I just hope that the price point of the console is reasonable.

  4. #4
    Forum Elder
    Yungstar 2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    tyneside
    Posts
    2,873
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    26,549 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Nitey View Post
    How are we meant to know? If other rumours are to believed then 3gb of the 8gb of Xbox RAM is OS, leaving 5 for games. Sony's rumoured OS was 512mb (?) leaving 3.5gb of much faster memory for games. Doesn't seem to be that much in it. But what do I know.
    last time i looked, 5 > 3.5.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nitey View Post
    They probably just listened to developers and gave them what they wanted in the end, rather than react to Microsoft rumours.
    perhaps the devs said we need 8 if you want our games to = Nextbox games?

    i.e.
    "did Sony only do it once they realised it would be necessary to avoid bad ports of Nextbox multi-plat games?"

  5. #5
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Yungstar 2006 View Post
    last time i looked, 5 > 3.5.


    perhaps the devs said we need 8 if you want our games to = Nextbox games?

    i.e.
    "did Sony only do it once they realised it would be necessary to avoid bad ports of Nextbox multi-plat games?"
    So you're saying that with 8GB of GDDR5 RAM in the PS4, now the games will be equal to the Xbox 3? What sort of RAM do you think the Xbox 3 will have?

  6. #6
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Yungstar 2006 View Post
    last time i looked, 5 > 3.5.


    perhaps the devs said we need 8 if you want our games to = Nextbox games?

    i.e.
    "did Sony only do it once they realised it would be necessary to avoid bad ports of Nextbox multi-plat games?"
    Not really that 3.5 has twice the speed then then 5gb so actually could get more data processed anyway



    Thank you itachi

  7. #7
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    No, he's right, maths say that 5 is better than 3.5...that's all we should look at. Overall performance or real-world performance is not maths.

  8. Likes Two4DaMoney likes this post
  9. #8
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    No, he's right, maths say that 5 is better than 3.5...that's all we should look at. Overall performance or real-world performance is not maths.
    Yes but maths also says that 70/gbs is less then 195 gb/s you can't just look at the amount.



    Thank you itachi

  10. #9
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    Yes but maths also says that 70/gbs is less then 195 gb/s you can't just look at the amount.
    No but we're looking at 5 vs 3.5...where did 170* vs 195 came into play?

    Which one is better. 5 or 3.5?

  11. #10
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    No but we're looking at 5 vs 3.5...where did 170* vs 195 came into play?
    That would be the clock speed of the ram, if your gonna compare you need to take in all factors

    And ddr3 can't not run that high so, it's 70 vs 195

    If it's 3.5 faster ram, yes it is better



    Thank you itachi

  12. #11
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    That would be the clock speed of the ram, if your gonna compare you need to take in all factors

    And ddr3 can't not run that high so, it's 70 vs 195
    Oh ok, I was thinking you were talking about something else...I know there's a number there that was something like 172 vs 192 or something like that...

    If it's 3.5 faster ram, yes it is better
    so you're saying 3.5 is better than 5? sir, i'd advise you to go back to school.

  13. #12
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    Oh ok, I was thinking you were talking about something else...I know there's a number there that was something like 172 vs 192 or something like that...


    so you're saying 3.5 is better than 5? sir, i'd advise you to go back to school.
    Think of it this way, in simplest way one can hold more but the other can hold less but faster, so in same time that 5GB can do one job, the 3.5gb would of done multiple because it's twice as fast



    Thank you itachi

  14. #13
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    Think of it this way, in simplest way one can hold more but the other can hold less but faster, so in same time that 5GB can do one job, the 3.5gb would of done multiple because it's twice as fast
    I don't understand that. I like to base my decisions on maths, not theories.

  15. Likes MartyRules, RedOrb_Collector likes this post
  16. #14
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    I don't understand that. I like to base my decisions on maths, not theories.
    But it's not theories it's fact, if rumours are true and it's 5GB DDR3, then this is based on actual limitations on the hardware at hand.



    Thank you itachi

  17. Likes RedOrb_Collector likes this post
  18. #15
    Forum Elder
    RedOrb_Collector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,990
    Rep Power
    103
    Points
    13,812 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Lol.

  19. #16
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    But it's not theories it's fact, if rumours are true and it's 5GB DDR3, then this is based on actual limitations on the hardware at hand.
    You mean 8GB...5 is what we were thinking it to be after OS reserve...actually it will likely be much more than 5 but you get the point. Oh you don't? Well, let me tell you sir...no matter what you tell me, 5 is better than 3.5.

    lol you do realize I'm trolling you right? Look at my post above your first one in the thread. *sigh* Come on Chille trolololol.

  20. #17
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    You mean 8GB...5 is what we were thinking it to be after OS reserve...actually it will likely be much more than 5 but you get the point. Oh you don't? Well, let me tell you sir...no matter what you tell me, 5 is better than 3.5.

    lol you do realize I'm trolling you right? Look at my post above your first one in the thread. *sigh* Come on Chille trolololol.
    Fair enough was hoping you hadn't become that crazy lol. Plus with 8gb gddr5 I can see the next Xbox having frame rate issues now on multiplatform titles.



    Thank you itachi

  21. #18
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    Fair enough was hoping you hadn't become that crazy lol. Plus with 8gb gddr5 I can see the next Xbox having frame rate issues now on multiplatform titles.
    I want to see how close the rumors are as well. Overall, I'm definitely more interested in what MS is going to do with their service this time around if they want to keep charging it.

    I do like Sony's strategy this time around, it's sort of like how MS was with the first Xbox; just throw a big chunk of power and let the developers deal with it.

  22. #19
    Forum Elder
    Yungstar 2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    tyneside
    Posts
    2,873
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    26,549 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    Not really that 3.5 has twice the speed then then 5gb so actually could get more data processed anyway
    would that not depend on how the rest of the hardware is configured to use that ram?

  23. #20
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Yungstar 2006 View Post
    would that not depend on how the rest of the hardware is configured to use that ram?
    Not really even if it's set up perfectly there's still the fixed limit on how much data can be stored, and if the spec sheet is correct ps4 is using underclocked GDDR5 as its max is 225 gb\s so even if Microsoft did make some improvements wouldn't be hard for sony to do the same



    Thank you itachi

  24. #21
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Yungstar 2006 View Post
    would that not depend on how the rest of the hardware is configured to use that ram?
    That's true but GDDR3 vs GDDR5, there's a big difference. You won't see a customized setup of 8GB GDDR3 RAM compete with an 8GB GDDR5 RAM.

    Though something tells me MS won't go with GDDR3, that RAM type is very old. I just don't believe they'll do that...because if that's anywhere true then they're probably doing something different this generation and not competing directly against Sony. Which points to the Live services and the whole entertainment thing.

    I think they will make changes if that were the previous design.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    Not really even if it's set up perfectly there's still the fixed limit on how much data can be stored, and if the spec sheet is correct ps4 is using underclocked GDDR5 as its max is 225 gb\s so even if Microsoft did make some improvements wouldn't be hard for sony to do the same
    Why is Sony underclocking it? Power consumption + costs? If Sony can do the same then why don't they just do it anyway? I'm thinking it will take more money to utilize it? Also maybe completely to do with power consumption.
    Last edited by Omar; 03-31-2013 at 18:33.

  25. #22
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    That's true but GDDR3 vs GDDR5, there's a big difference. You won't see a customized setup of 8GB GDDR3 RAM compete with an 8GB GDDR5 RAM.

    Though something tells me MS won't go with GDDR3, that RAM type is very old. I just don't believe they'll do that...because if that's anywhere true then they're probably doing something different this generation and not competing directly against Sony. Which points to the Live services and the whole entertainment thing.

    I think they will make changes if that were the previous design.



    Why is Sony underclocking it? Power consumption + costs? If Sony can do the same then why don't they just do it anyway? I'm thinking it will take more money to utilize it? Also maybe completely to do with power consumption.
    You need to be under a certain power consumption in Europe but I'm also gonna say it's due to heat, ram can get quite hot.

    They can't just switch ram so late in the game though Sufi I'm gonna guess they went for gddr3 because all knowledge pointed at Sony using on 4GB gddr5.
    Last edited by Chille; 03-31-2013 at 18:38.



    Thank you itachi

  26. #23
    Extreme Poster
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    29,558
    Rep Power
    187
    Points
    94,691 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    Fair enough was hoping you hadn't become that crazy lol.
    I'm surprised you kept it that calm with my trolling at full blast lol.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chille View Post
    You need to be under a certain power consumption in Europe but I'm also gonna say it's due to heat, ram can get quite hot.
    That makes sense.

    They can't just switch ram so late in the game though Sufi I'm gonna guess they went for gddr3 because all knowledge pointed at Sony using on 4GB gddr5.
    I don't know much about RAM optimization but i'd be very surprised if they did go with the GDDR3 setup...how much could the EDRAM help?

    Thing about it is, even if MS went with a GDDR5 RAM, I think we'd still see some issues, because I do believe MS' OS will take more RAM this time around. It makes no sense to me that they wouldn't give twice the services (likely integrated too) than Sony.

    I mean, that's their entire core competency in this competition.
    Last edited by Omar; 03-31-2013 at 18:42.

  27. #24
    Dat Guy
    Chille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Your House.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,117
    Rep Power
    130
    Points
    3,457 (1,056,659 Banked)
    Items Protect yourselfNew User TitleTitle Style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sufi View Post
    I'm surprised you kept it that calm with my trolling at full blast lol.
    I kind of liked it, there's nothing wrong with having a little fight over different opinions as long as you can respect each other.



    Thank you itachi

  28. #25
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    164
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Chille is a pretty laid back dude. I like that about him.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.