Page 1 of 2 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28
  1. #1
    Forum Sage
    Aquanox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8,018
    Rep Power
    93

    Battlefield 4 demo running on AMD 7990

    These news are music to my ears as a recent owner of a 7990.

    http://www.dayonepatch.com/index.php...3k-resolution/


    Proud future owner of a PS4. W00t W000t!!




  2. #2
    Sonata Dusk
    Nerevar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Equestria
    Age
    22
    Posts
    16,703
    Rep Power
    145
    It was running on two 7990's, but it was also running at 3K resolution on 'unoptimized' code. Take that how you will.

  3. #3
    From the Ashes Thee Administrates

    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    13,302
    Rep Power
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by Rapture View Post
    It was running on two 7990's, but it was also running at 3K resolution on 'unoptimized' code. Take that how you will.
    This.


    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

  4. #4
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    21
    Posts
    8,261
    Rep Power
    90
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    I'm wondering if this is a result of all consoles using AMD tech
    I wonder when a nuclear warhead goes off, does the frame rate of real life drop?

  5. #5
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,878
    Rep Power
    133
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Quote Originally Posted by Rapture View Post
    It was running on two 7990's, but it was also running at 3K resolution on 'unoptimized' code. Take that how you will.
    The 7990 is a dual GPU card.

  6. #6
    From the Ashes Thee Administrates

    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    13,302
    Rep Power
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    The 7990 is a dual GPU card.
    Yes... and the demo was running it with two of them.


    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

  7. #7
    I like this video but one thing I hate is they're using that stupid iron site at an angle, I have never seen an assault rifle with that setup for an iron site when there is a scope attached. Looks like they are taking a page out of Warfighter.
    She put the lime in the coconut, she drank them both up.

    http://youtu.be/5LxC3M-Yngs

  8. #8
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,878
    Rep Power
    133
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Quote Originally Posted by PeanutButterMunky View Post
    Yes... and the demo was running it with two of them.
    Its just their wording in the article if they wrote " 2 7990s" I would 100% agree but it says "dual 7990" which to me means they are explaining that the 7990 is a dual GPU graphics card.
    Poor wordage on their part.

  9. #9
    From the Ashes Thee Administrates

    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    13,302
    Rep Power
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Its just their wording in the article if they wrote " 2 7990s" I would 100% agree but it says "dual 7990" which to me means they are explaining that the 7990 is a dual GPU graphics card.
    Poor wordage on their part.
    Oh. Well... never mind then.


    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

  10. #10
    Forum Sage
    Aquanox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8,018
    Rep Power
    93
    From Gaming Evolved official page:
    AMD and EA DICE are proud partners in gaming, with a recent history that includes the award-winning Battlefield 3 in 2011. That relationship continues today with the world’s first public demonstration of Battlefield 4, powered by the AMD Radeon™ HD 7990—the world’s fastest graphics card! Today’s unveiling not only demonstrates the commitment EA DICE makes to state-of-the-art PC graphics, it stands as further proof that the critically-acclaimed Graphics Core Next architecture in the AMD Radeon™ HD 7000 Series is the best choice for truly advanced PC games. http://www.battlefield.com/
    It would've been senseless to say it was running on TWO 7990s as virtually no one has that kind of power and wont have for years to come.

    https://www.facebook.com/AMDGaming/posts/554763727889662


    Quote Originally Posted by Rapture View Post
    It was running on two 7990's, but it was also running at 3K resolution on 'unoptimized' code. Take that how you will.
    Proud future owner of a PS4. W00t W000t!!




  11. #11
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    285
    Rep Power
    61
    side mount.jpg

    It's a side mounted iron sites and it is fairly common in 3 gun optics. Many AR-15's have this on them. It gives the shooter rapid transitions from different ranges and better accuracy.

  12. #12
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    285
    Rep Power
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by Coconut_Crunch View Post
    I like this video but one thing I hate is they're using that stupid iron site at an angle, I have never seen an assault rifle with that setup for an iron site when there is a scope attached. Looks like they are taking a page out of Warfighter.


  13. #13
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Oklahoma
    PSN ID
    Foraeli
    Posts
    952
    Rep Power
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    I'm wondering if this is a result of all consoles using AMD tech
    I was thinking so too

  14. #14
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    21
    Posts
    8,261
    Rep Power
    90
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    It was running on two 7990s at 3k-4k resolution


    http://www.reddit.com/r/gamingpc/com...e_of_our_test/
    Last edited by Itachi; 04-10-2013 at 07:09.
    I wonder when a nuclear warhead goes off, does the frame rate of real life drop?

  15. #15
    From the Ashes Thee Administrates

    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    13,302
    Rep Power
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    It was running on two 7990s at 3k-4k resolutionhttp://www.reddit.com/r/gamingpc/com...e_of_our_test/
    Thanks for the info.


    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

  16. #16
    Forum Sage
    Aquanox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8,018
    Rep Power
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    It was running on two 7990s at 3k-4k resolution


    http://www.reddit.com/r/gamingpc/com...e_of_our_test/
    Unless I'm missing something. I only see this guy from DICE showing off a test machine with 2 7990s...
    Proud future owner of a PS4. W00t W000t!!




  17. #17
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,878
    Rep Power
    133
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    So when BF4 releases crossfire should work pretty well?

  18. #18
    Forum Sage
    Aquanox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8,018
    Rep Power
    93
    Hope so... for this game at least... since One 7990 is already crossfire.



    Enviado desde mi GT-I9305 usando Tapatalk 2
    Proud future owner of a PS4. W00t W000t!!




  19. #19
    Flaw3d Genius
    Guest
    So how does the demo running on the AMD 7990 compare to whats in the PS4?

  20. #20
    Elite Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    PSN ID
    Lymphatik
    Age
    25
    Posts
    11,788
    Rep Power
    102
    I don't think the PS4 will be matching the 7990.
    PC: i7-3930K | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3
    EVGA GTX 980Ti SC+ | Corsair AX1200i | RoG Swift | Corsair Obsidian 800D

    Watercooling: EK-Bay Spin Reservoir | EKWB Supremacy | EKWB Titan X Acetal+Nickel
    360mm + 120mm Radiators | Liang D5 pump | Primochill tubing | Barrow Fittings


    500GB Black PS4

  21. #21
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    21
    Posts
    8,261
    Rep Power
    90
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by Flaw3d Genius View Post
    So how does the demo running on the AMD 7990 compare to whats in the PS4?
    7990 is like titan level card and two of them is way way more than ps4. We are talking like ATLEAST 8xPS4 powah!
    Quote Originally Posted by Aquanox View Post
    Unless I'm missing something. I only see this guy from DICE showing off a test machine with 2 7990s...
    this and the other article someone posted both say that it was two 7990s and this is pretty convincing evidence to me as opposed to no evidence of just one being used
    Last edited by Itachi; 04-10-2013 at 14:48.
    I wonder when a nuclear warhead goes off, does the frame rate of real life drop?

  22. #22
    Flaw3d Genius
    Guest
    ^^ Jesus

    Now it's understandable why it wont/cant handle 60fps on PS4
    Last edited by Flaw3d Genius; 04-10-2013 at 15:54.

  23. #23
    Elite Guru
    Nitey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    26
    Posts
    5,533
    Rep Power
    69
    Items DreamcastDeath Note LArsenal
    I dunno, it'd have been nice if PS4 could have handled it but I ain't interested in paying 1000 for a console lol

  24. #24
    Flaw3d Genius
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Nitey View Post
    I dunno, it'd have been nice if PS4 could have handled it but I ain't interested in paying 1000 for a console lol
    Yeah would be as well just buying a PC

  25. #25
    From the Ashes Thee Administrates

    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    13,302
    Rep Power
    790

    Battlefield 4 demo running on AMD 7990

    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    7990 is like titan level card [...]
    It's more like AMD's version of the GTX 690... which is a little more powerful than the Titan for gaming.


    Quote Originally Posted by Flaw3d Genius View Post
    So how does the demo running on the AMD 7990 compare to whats in the PS4?
    It takes a crap all over the PS4's APU... which is okay since I'm not spending over 2 grand on a console. :]
    Last edited by Brandon; 04-10-2013 at 18:39.


    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.