Latest PSU headlines:

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 121
  1. #26
    Newbie
    siulimtao108's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    58
    Rep Power
    9
    Points
    831 (0 Banked)
    I wonder what the speed of the drive is. I'm sure putting a 1TB high speed HDD would have upped the price too much.

  2. #27
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    984
    Rep Power
    53
    Points
    5,560 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by siulimtao108 View Post
    I wonder what the speed of the drive is. I'm sure putting a 1TB high speed HDD would have upped the price too much.
    I'm told that it would take a high transfer rate to fill 8 GB of ram from 0, so to expect at the very minimum a 7200rpm drive. I wouldn't be surprised if every game installs some data onto the HD and then draws data from both disc and HD to speed things up, but digital downloaded games wouldn't have that option, so until we get mroe info, it's up in the air.

    As for the HD size, I'm fine with it. I have the 80 gig in my PS3 and still have about 27 GB left, not including FFXIV if I decide to get it for the PS3.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparc View Post
    For goodness sake I hope nobody thinks to start labelling the console an Xbrick,
    oops
    -Regarding the Xbone A.K.A. the Xbrick

    "Faith - that's another word for ignorance isn't it?" -House

  3. #28
    Dedicated Member
    John Willaford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Owings Mills, MD
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,030
    Rep Power
    18
    Points
    365,348 (0 Banked)
    Filling 8GB of RAM is some odd metric , there will be no need for that.

  4. #29
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    984
    Rep Power
    53
    Points
    5,560 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by John Willaford View Post
    Filling 8GB of RAM is some odd metric , there will be no need for that.
    I think the specifics that I was told was something like 40 seconds with a 10k rpm drive? It might have been 7200, but assuming 1 GB for OS, and we'll say 4 for commonly used/currently used data, leaving 3GB would take 15 seconds to fill?

    May or may not be a problem, depends on the games and exactly how it's set up to load data. Like a corridor game like Uncharted might not have much of a problem, by the time you move forward the data would likely already be loaded, but an open world such as a Fallout or Skyrim that has to take into account the possibilities that the player can go in every direction may need a faster rate than just what the disc drive or HD could do on their own to prevent any slow down or stuttering or to just prevent texture pop and such.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparc View Post
    For goodness sake I hope nobody thinks to start labelling the console an Xbrick,
    oops
    -Regarding the Xbone A.K.A. the Xbrick

    "Faith - that's another word for ignorance isn't it?" -House

  5. #30
    Super Moderator
    PS4freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    PSN ID
    lsutigers19
    Age
    26
    Posts
    13,573
    Rep Power
    141
    Points
    78,666 (190,439 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIIIFinal Fantasy XCall of Duty: Black OPSDragon Ball ZPS3 SlimGoogle Chrome
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I'm fine with it now. Just have to see how much data games take up. If it's about the same as PS3 games it will be plenty. I have a 250gb and the lowest I ever got was 12gbs. Mostly because I had demos I forgot to delete.




    Currently Playing: ​ Watch Dogs
    Currently Waiting For: ​​ ​Destiny

  6. #31
    Master Guru
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,384
    Rep Power
    95
    Points
    5,794 (44,164 Banked)
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    I have a 320gb now and with PS+ it's almost full, so a 500gb is welcomed.

    Although I'll probably upgrade to something with more performance eventually.


    On the move with Tapatalk
    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

    .

  7. #32
    Master Sage
    HellsJester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Yharnam
    Posts
    13,177
    Rep Power
    110
    Points
    33,777 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I was thinking about going all digital next gen. I cant do that with 500gb. 2TB HDD is probably enough. If games are 25gb now thats only 20 games on 500gb and i plan on getting more than that for the entire gen. 2TB would fit 80 games that size. That sounds good.




  8. #33
    Master Poster
    TheBreezyBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Qatar
    PSN ID
    BreBaz
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,475
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    17,813 (0 Banked)
    Items One PieceOne PieceAuronPS3 FatVitaNaughty DogFinal Fantasy XPlayStation
    500GB is plenty, actually it's a lot more than needed.

    the first 2 year of PS4 there wont be that many PS+ games to download. Unless of course we can install all the disc based games on the hard drive!

    I'm getting an SSD for my PS4




  9. #34
    Veteran
    faaeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    .....pss..behind you
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,134
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    12,339 (0 Banked)
    I'm fine with it, but it'll only for the short term for me.

    I threw a 750 into my PS3 when I got it and it was fine for years... Then Sony released PS+. With only 2 years of PS+ I'm down to 19gb with only games on my system. No videos, demos, currently no betas and I still had to delete games so... I'll be swapping out that 500gb sooner rather then later.
    Last edited by faaeng; 06-13-2013 at 22:58.
    PCs are very much like Air Conditioners.
    They both become utterly useless once you start to open up Windows....
    ----------------------------------------------


  10. #35
    Apprentice
    DarkoStylo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    13
    Points
    2,677 (0 Banked)
    I'm good with it. Not sure how many games that'll fit but I get physical media mostly anyway.

    Sent from my Nexus 4

  11. #36
    Forum Elder
    Vercetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,945
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    1,240 (0 Banked)
    Just curious, how do you add more space? A download or hook up another hard drive via USB?

    Sorry, not computer savvy at all

  12. #37
    Apprentice
    DarkoStylo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    13
    Points
    2,677 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Vercetti View Post
    Just curious, how do you add more space? A download or hook up another hard drive via USB?

    Sorry, not computer savvy at all
    I think you just swap out the hard drive

    Sent from my Nexus 4

  13. #38
    Forum Elder
    Vercetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,945
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    1,240 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkoStylo View Post
    I think you just swap out the hard drive

    Sent from my Nexus 4
    I remember seeing this for the ps3. They made it look easy of course but I'm sure I'd find a way to screw it up

  14. #39
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    38
    Posts
    20,865
    Rep Power
    111
    Points
    28,209 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    yes the ps4 hard drive can be changed to a bigger if need to be

  15. #40
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,285
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    260,173 (888 Banked)
    considering PS3 launch was 20 and 60 im more than happy with 500

    that being said, the hard drive is upgradable, so if you're one of those that fill up 500GB quickly you're in the know on how to change that out yourself.

    i'll prolly fit a 2TB drive in at some point.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  16. #41
    Apprentice
    DarkoStylo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    13
    Points
    2,677 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Vercetti View Post
    I remember seeing this for the ps3. They made it look easy of course but I'm sure I'd find a way to screw it up
    You and me both lol

    Sent from my Nexus 4

  17. #42
    Ultimate Veteran
    mickice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia, In a Kangaroo's pouch.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    21,876
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    20,524 (40,000 Banked)
    Items PlayStationPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I am happy, ill be happier if / when they announce PlayTV support. I hope they do! Then ill double that sucker up.

    - Symmetrical thumb sticks for life -

  18. #43
    Veteran
    SomaXD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    So-Cal
    PSN ID
    SomaXD
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,792
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    6,759 (1,083 Banked)
    Items PhotoShopPhotoshopAssassins Creed EzioKillzone 3Guerrilla GamesNaughty DogRaidenNoctisiPhone BlackVitaDeath NoteFinal Fantasy VII
    Quote Originally Posted by HellsJester View Post
    I was thinking about going all digital next gen. I cant do that with 500gb. 2TB HDD is probably enough. If games are 25gb now thats only 20 games on 500gb and i plan on getting more than that for the entire gen. 2TB would fit 80 games that size. That sounds good.
    well.. i hate to break it to you but Uncharted 3 is 40gb+

    i only expect PS4 games to be at LEAST that... Completely Digital library is still not very feasible considering youd only be trading up to HDD's instead of blu-ray discs...

    I have around 100 PS3 games... lets say for comparison sake, that PS4 games ARE larger than Uncharted 3 (so about 40GB) thats 4TB... im not sure i wanna be spending an extra 300$ for storage...
    Last edited by SomaXD; 06-14-2013 at 01:31.
    Vanik Tetsu'ya
    PS4 500GB//PS3 MGS4 80GB//PS3 120GB Slim//360 250GB Slim//360 4GB Slim w/Kinect//Black Wii 4.3u softmod//PS Vita w/32gb card

  19. #44
    Superior Member
    JDizzleNO1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    where the sun don't shine
    PSN ID
    JDizzleNO1
    Posts
    872
    Rep Power
    29
    Points
    2,273 (0 Banked)
    Items Diablo IIIMetallicaUser name styleDark Souls CoverDemons Souls CoverPS3 Fat
    Quote Originally Posted by Vercetti View Post
    I remember seeing this for the ps3. They made it look easy of course but I'm sure I'd find a way to screw it up
    me 2 bro. thats why i have someone else do it because 1. i don't trust myself and 2. if there is a way of $#@!ing it up i'm sure i'll do it. being clumsy and all



  20. #45
    Apprentice
    Captncoke49's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Frederick,MD
    PSN ID
    Captncoke49
    Age
    34
    Posts
    230
    Rep Power
    62
    Points
    2,405 (0 Banked)
    I'm happy. I have a 320gig in my ps3 and I still have over 200 gigs left.

  21. #46
    Superior Member
    NotoriousBOB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Near Cincinnati
    Age
    35
    Posts
    763
    Rep Power
    39
    Points
    5,529 (0 Banked)
    Yes, but, with what I've read it being SATA 3......SSD here I come!

  22. #47
    Dedicated Member
    dc writer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,127
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    1,426 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStation
    500gb will be more than enough for me. I'm pretty old school, so I'll still be buying and swapping my game disks like always. heck I still listen to music via CD's. never owned an mp3 or ipod player.
    I'll download free games and demos, but wont be installing games off the disks to the hard-drive.
    PSN ID - DweetRight


  23. #48
    Superior Member
    JDizzleNO1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    where the sun don't shine
    PSN ID
    JDizzleNO1
    Posts
    872
    Rep Power
    29
    Points
    2,273 (0 Banked)
    Items Diablo IIIMetallicaUser name styleDark Souls CoverDemons Souls CoverPS3 Fat
    Quote Originally Posted by NotoriousBOB View Post
    Yes, but, with what I've read it being SATA 3......SSD here I come!
    mind if i ask what this means?



  24. #49
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    984
    Rep Power
    53
    Points
    5,560 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by JDizzleNO1 View Post
    mind if i ask what this means?
    It just means that it has the potential for a much higher data transfer rate from the hard drive. SATA 3 is much faster than SATA 2.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparc View Post
    For goodness sake I hope nobody thinks to start labelling the console an Xbrick,
    oops
    -Regarding the Xbone A.K.A. the Xbrick

    "Faith - that's another word for ignorance isn't it?" -House

  25. Likes JDizzleNO1 likes this post
  26. #50
    Superior Member
    JDizzleNO1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    where the sun don't shine
    PSN ID
    JDizzleNO1
    Posts
    872
    Rep Power
    29
    Points
    2,273 (0 Banked)
    Items Diablo IIIMetallicaUser name styleDark Souls CoverDemons Souls CoverPS3 Fat
    gotchya vaymaster, thanks!



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.