Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    21
    Posts
    8,260
    Rep Power
    87
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim

    Looking for external HDD enclosures

    I'm at the point where I need another external drive. A 3TB will last me like 2+ years easily but I was wondering if I can buy an enclosure that allows 2 or more drives so I can upgrade later than having to buy separate external drives every time.

    So any recommendations?

  2. #2
    Forum Sage
    MATRIX 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    D.C.
    Posts
    8,037
    Rep Power
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    I'm at the point where I need another external drive. A 3TB will last me like 2+ years easily but I was wondering if I can buy an enclosure that allows 2 or more drives so I can upgrade later than having to buy separate external drives every time.


    So any recommendations?


    Budget?

    Something like this should work:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817198057

  3. #3
    Elite Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    PSN ID
    Lymphatik
    Age
    25
    Posts
    11,142
    Rep Power
    98
    Treat yourself to a nice NAS box. http://www.scan.co.uk/products/icy-d...nclosure-black

  4. #4
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    21
    Posts
    8,260
    Rep Power
    87
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Budget isn't much of an issue. Thanks for the recommendations

  5. #5
    Forum Elder
    Nakatomi Uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Uk
    PSN ID
    Nakatomi_Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,965
    Rep Power
    61
    Items Intel Core i7PS3 SlimFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VII
    NAS drive all the way I have one and its great as all my hardware can use it from PC, Laptop, PS3 and phones with drop box


    Win 7 Ult 64bit, Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1/Bios F8 , INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz, Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB DDR3 1866mhz (1600mhz@1.60v), Crucial 128GB M4 SSD, WD 1TB Blue 7,200rpm, SG 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD), HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card, OCZ Fatality 750 Mod PSU, LG DVD-RAM RW

  6. #6
    Forum Sage
    MATRIX 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    D.C.
    Posts
    8,037
    Rep Power
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by itachi73378 View Post
    Budget isn't much of an issue. Thanks for the recommendations
    If budget isn't an issue, look into a drobo.

  7. #7
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,878
    Rep Power
    131
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Those drobo sound really awesome.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    12,524
    Rep Power
    785
    DROBO is a pain in the ass. You're better off learning how to do a proper RAID setup. I've had several nightmares happen already with mine and I just said screw it and did a manual RAID setup. I've been fine ever since.

    As for enclosures, this company makes some nice ones: http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/firewire/

    Ignore the web address. External drives work universally across all platforms... this company just specializes in Mac hardware.
    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

  9. #9
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    33
    Posts
    6,655
    Rep Power
    95
    Items User name style
    I currently use a QNAP 419P II with 8TB in a RAID 5 configuration. So basically I have 6TB with distributed parity so if any 1 HDD fails I can replace it and still keep all of my data. Been using it for well over a year now and I'm running it as a file server, web hosting server, media server, and a few other things too. QNAP have perhaps the best software configuration tools for a NAS around to date by far and their NAS's are brilliant to boot, they're just a little pricey though but well worth it. I haven't even turned it off since purchase.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    PSN ID
    BrandonJBX
    Posts
    12,524
    Rep Power
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    I currently use a QNAP 419P II with 8TB in a RAID 5 configuration. So basically I have 6TB with distributed parity so if any 1 HDD fails I can replace it and still keep all of my data. Been using it for well over a year now and I'm running it as a file server, web hosting server, media server, and a few other things too. QNAP have perhaps the best software configuration tools for a NAS around to date by far and their NAS's are brilliant to boot, they're just a little pricey though but well worth it. I haven't even turned it off since purchase.
    Just looked that up online. Looks pretty snazzy.
    "Love the life you live, and live the life you love." ~ Bob Marley

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.