Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: DS4 charging

  1. #1
    Forum Elder
    Vercetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,956
    Rep Power
    70
    Points
    1,448 (0 Banked)

    DS4 charging

    Please tell me we can charge the controller without the system on

  2. #2
    Forum Elder
    chrisw26308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,738
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    15,210 (0 Banked)
    Yes, the system stays in a low power mode while on "standby" mode and u can charge a controller.

    The only way it's completly off is if it's not plugged in or you completely shut it down, otherwise it stays in standby or sleep mode.



    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  3. #3
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    PSN ID
    bat0nas_LT
    Posts
    245
    Rep Power
    12
    Points
    3,066 (0 Banked)
    Was this available in ps3?

    In xbox360 yes. Usb ports were active while console is off.

  4. #4
    Member
    brandonwash's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma
    PSN ID
    JohnB405
    Age
    31
    Posts
    137
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,600 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by bat0nas View Post
    Was this available in ps3?

    In xbox360 yes. Usb ports were active while console is off.
    Wow, this could be true but i never noticed my 360 controller had charged while the system was off. Interesting thanks.

  5. #5
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    168
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by bat0nas View Post
    Was this available in ps3? In xbox360 yes. Usb ports were active while console is off.
    Yeah that was a cool feature of the 360.

  6. #6
    Veteran
    UkHardcore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,156
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    4,804 (0 Banked)
    I cant understand how this was not possible on PS3 yet it was no bother on 360?
    Forza 5, Fifa 14, Battlefield 4 & Watchdogs - The Perfect Launch Line Up!

  7. #7
    Superior Member
    mini E's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    USA
    PSN ID
    Markus
    Age
    22
    Posts
    573
    Rep Power
    66
    Points
    9,121 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by UkHardcore View Post
    I cant understand how this was not possible on PS3 yet it was no bother on 360?
    It has to be designed like that from the beginning

    PS4 Launch Edition
    PS3 60GB (Upgraded to 500GB)
    Phenom II X4 955, HD 7770 1GB, 6GB RAM

    If you add my PSN say you're from PSU or I might delete it!

  8. #8
    Master Guru
    TDbank24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    6,896
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    39,244 (0 Banked)
    I think the PS3 had to be on to charge the DS3 but i'm not sure. I always charged mine through the usb port on my PC.


  9. #9
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    38
    Posts
    494
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    18,732 (0 Banked)
    Wonder what the standby wattage for the PS4 will be? Less than 10watts I would assume.

  10. #10
    Veteran
    RyanGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,822
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    23,928 (615,000 Banked)
    Yeah I always Hate that the ds3 wouldn't charge when the ps3 was in standby mode.

    Im glad they're changing that.

  11. #11
    Forum Guru
    Terminator 101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Newmarket, Toronto, Ontario
    PSN ID
    Terminator101
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,674
    Rep Power
    74
    Points
    6,510 (440 Banked)
    I wonder if DS4 will support induction charging by default. That would be pretty neat.
    You would no longer have to plug it in to charge it. Just place it on a flat surface, and it will charge wirelessly.
    Almost everyone will say: buy console that has games that you want, and those who say otherwise are ignorant.

    Playstation Move for the win!

  12. #12
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    39
    Posts
    20,898
    Rep Power
    114
    Points
    30,149 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    and the DS4 will charge a lot faster

  13. #13
    Master Guru
    darky89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    In the bushes.
    Age
    25
    Posts
    7,323
    Rep Power
    98
    Points
    108,546 (0 Banked)
    Items FuturamaGoogle ChromeAmerican DadHalf-Life 2Battlefield 3User name style
    My 360 is my phone charger. I love it.

    Don't Steal. Don't Molest Little Children. Don't Deal Drugs.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Admartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    PSN ID
    admartian
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,301
    Rep Power
    132
    Points
    47,649 (0 Banked)
    Items ArsenalVitaUser name styleSteamPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yeah I believe this is confirmed.
    Be Together - Not the same.



  15. #15
    Apprentice
    chriharr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    GREAT SOUTHERN LAND
    PSN ID
    chriharr
    Posts
    376
    Rep Power
    28
    Points
    6,658 (0 Banked)
    Hopefully this feature can be turned off I don't charge controllers through the console it's just a waste of power to me.
    " A Toll's a toll and a roll's a roll. If we don't get no toll's, then we don't eat no roll's"

  16. #16
    Veteran
    bobtheduck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Age
    32
    Posts
    4,898
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    4,755 (0 Banked)
    The 360 charges when turned off?

    That's cool. I didn't know that. One mark in 360's favor. I use my TV box to charge stuff when I sleep, though.

  17. #17
    Forum Elder
    Vercetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,956
    Rep Power
    70
    Points
    1,448 (0 Banked)
    So after putting the system in standby mode, how do I turn it back on?

    Press the ps button once or hold it down?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    38
    Posts
    494
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    18,732 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Vercetti View Post
    So after putting the system in standby mode, how do I turn it back on?

    Press the ps button once or hold it down?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    just press it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.