View Poll Results: How will your PS4 mainly connect to the internet

Voters
53. You may not vote on this poll
  • WiFi (802.11 b,g,n) 2.4 GHz mixed mode

    5 9.43%
  • WiFi 802.11n only(2.4GHz)

    1 1.89%
  • WiFi 802.11n only (5.0GHz)

    5 9.43%
  • WiFi 802.11n (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz dual band)

    2 3.77%
  • WiFi 802.11 b,g (2.4GHz)

    0 0%
  • WiFi 802.11g only (2.4GHz)

    1 1.89%
  • WiFi 802.11b only (legacy)

    2 3.77%
  • Gigabit Ethernet (LAN)

    37 69.81%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 2 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 55

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Apprentice
    chriharr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    GREAT SOUTHERN LAND
    PSN ID
    chriharr
    Posts
    376
    Rep Power
    27
    Points
    6,658 (0 Banked)

    Post How will you connect your PS4 to the internet ?

    Now this may seem like a pointless thread because a lot of people are going to say "the same internet connection i've always used" whether that be WiFi and/or ethernet, however in my case I recently discovered that I have way too many WiFi devices in my house and that that as of now, I'm starting to see a large drop in WiFi performance and even though I'm using an 802.11n 2.4/5.0 dual band WiFi router that is supposed to be capable of up to 32 devices theoretically, real world performance suffers.. I did a speed test last night with my router, 4 devices were connected and weren't drawing much bandwidth from the router and My ping was 19ms with 48mbps down, 1.24mbps up.

    I did the same test again this time with gigabit ethernet directly to my cable modem and I got 5ms ping 122mbps down and 2.84mbps up much much improved, so today I have replaced 3 major WiFi devices with wired connections and a spare wired connection is there ready for PS4.

    I didn't ever remember having any real slow downs the past two years at my place with WiFi, there are however 12 visible SSID's that are within range on my street, it could possibly be the Wii U I purchased recently (that thing has the worst WiFi hardware in the world, drop outs all the time (one of the main reasons for going wired) it apparently uses WiFi direct 5.0GHz to connect the gamepad to the system, wireless devices are flying everywhere, my home theatre system has wireless speakers that operate in the 2.4GHz spectrum then there's iPad, 2 iPhone, 2 MBP laptops, PS3, Wii U, 2 wireless printers, TV, blu-ray player in bedroom, Vita and that's all I can think of at the moment.

    So anyway long story short has anyone else experienced WiFi performance issues that bad that they've switched back to wired connections?... I think gaming really benefits from a wired connection it seems blazing compared to wireless, it seems wireless even though it's improved greatly over the years just still doesn't cut it especially when there's a trillion radio devices connecting to everything all over the street

    MY PS4 IS GOING TO BE WIRED TO THE CLOUD
    " A Toll's a toll and a roll's a roll. If we don't get no toll's, then we don't eat no roll's"

  2. #2
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,032
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    65,102 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Ethernet.

    My TV and phones are the only devices that uses wifi.
    Last edited by keefy; 09-07-2013 at 11:01.

  3. #3
    Dedicated Member
    Ariakace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    PSN ID
    Ariakace55
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,117
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    7,553 (0 Banked)
    the same internet ive always used!!! lol. Wireless for me though... i have my PC hardlined into the router, and i spend much too much time moving my PS3 from my living room to my room so i can play some games on there while i watch netflix on my PS3, wirelessly of course. When i get my PS4, the PS3 will probably be moving to my room permanently. I can pretty much guarentee ill be using it as a netflix box from that point on save for a few PS3 games (Beyond, MGS:GZ, then it will move back to my living room for the time being).

    Also the only reason i know what kind of router i have is because i just replaced it like, a month ago lol


    Tacos Rule!

  4. #4
    Master Guru
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,471
    Rep Power
    98
    Points
    7,262 (44,164 Banked)
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Wireless as this gen. Only iMac is connected with gigabit Ethernet.


    On the move with Tapatalk
    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

    .

  5. #5
    Apprentice
    on the rocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    PSN ID
    nordost
    Posts
    318
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    1,284 (0 Banked)
    I see wireless n 5 ghz as an option. That is what I would use but does ps4 even support 5 ghz band?

  6. #6
    Apprentice
    chriharr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    GREAT SOUTHERN LAND
    PSN ID
    chriharr
    Posts
    376
    Rep Power
    27
    Points
    6,658 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by on the rocks View Post
    I see wireless n 5 ghz as an option. That is what I would use but does ps4 even support 5 ghz band?
    I'm pretty sure Sony will offer dual band 2.4GHz and 5.0GHz 802.11n radios with PS4 they would be crazy not to as Xbox One has it standard in the box
    " A Toll's a toll and a roll's a roll. If we don't get no toll's, then we don't eat no roll's"

  7. #7
    Supreme Veteran
    claud3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Agartha
    PSN ID
    sophieskyrim126Era
    Age
    30
    Posts
    17,633
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    1,078 (0 Banked)
    Items Tommy VercettiGTA Claude
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    By connecting it to my Wi fi and playing
    Plato and Aristotle, a detail of The School of Athens, a fresco by Raphael. Aristotle gestures to the earth, representing his belief in knowledge

  8. #8
    Master Guru
    IWAO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen
    PSN ID
    DynamicSun
    Posts
    6,215
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    5,892 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by claud3 View Post
    By connecting it to my Wi fi and playing

  9. #9
    Master Guru
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,471
    Rep Power
    98
    Points
    7,262 (44,164 Banked)
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Quote Originally Posted by on the rocks View Post
    I see wireless n 5 ghz as an option. That is what I would use but does ps4 even support 5 ghz band?
    I'd like to believe that it will support 5Ghz. It is 2013 anyway.

    On the other hand Sony sold a digital only, portable console with 802.11b.


    On the move with Tapatalk
    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

    .

  10. #10
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    166
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Ethernet for me.

  11. #11
    Superior Member
    JDizzleNO1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    where the sun don't shine
    PSN ID
    JDizzleNO1
    Posts
    886
    Rep Power
    31
    Points
    2,499 (0 Banked)
    Items Diablo IIIMetallicaUser name styleDark Souls CoverDemons Souls CoverPS3 Fat
    Ethernet for me as well



  12. #12
    Elite Guru
    TAZ427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    PSN ID
    TAZ427
    Age
    43
    Posts
    5,226
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    22,646 (0 Banked)
    The WiFi performance should have nothing to do with the number of connections, but the activity that's going on. I personally have 17 devices connected to my wifi at any given time, but not a lot of activity. Performance tests usually have my ping rate < 20ms and DL rates of ~20-25Mbps and ~16mbps UL (which is the top end of the Data Rate performance of the cable modem service I'm paying for - more than sufficient for my needs.) I get maybe a 2-3ms improvement in ping rate by connecting via the 1Gbps Ethernet on my Cable Modem.

    I will say that you can start running into DL/UL rate limitations, but there's no way you should see that kind of increase on the ping rate over WiFi unless you don't have things setup correctly. You may want to look into using port forwarding to help this, though 14ms difference isn't really that significant of an increase. I'm sure you'll end up finding that the bottleneck will not be you wifi but somewhere between you and PSN servers for DL games and content on the PS4.

    Personally, I'm not pulling wires through my walls up two floors to the attic, across the house, and back down into my Game Room for a direct LAN connection when I know it's not going to buy me anything. I'll be use 802.11n dual band connection.



  13. #13
    Newbie
    DaGrandMastah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    PSN ID
    DaGrandMastah
    Posts
    81
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,502 (0 Banked)
    Ethernet. I have my modem/router right next to my home entertainment center.

  14. #14
    Veteran
    RyanGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,822
    Rep Power
    70
    Points
    23,928 (615,000 Banked)
    Ethernet for me

  15. #15
    Veteran
    jj03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,590
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    6,925 (0 Banked)
    Items Manchester United
    Will be wireless..as always..router has perfect line of sight so...

    Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2

  16. #16
    Forum Elder
    Venger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    PSN ID
    LordVenger
    Posts
    2,671
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    2,907 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    If I had a choice I'd go Ethernet cable, but I didn't so I'll connect to the 802.11n dual band network I use now. Cable service is on a different floor on the other side of the house. I did however essentially remove any 802.11g devices I had on that network along the way since n networks drop down to g for compatibility, by adding 802.11n wireless Ethernet extenders, and I now run a second separate 802.11g network for legacy devices. I currently see an average test speed of 31.63Mbps down and 7.75Mbps up over wireless, I ping back at 34ms.

    I may have to track down an Ethernet cable and try a direct test, be interesting to see if there's any difference and if so by how much. Not that it would be viable as a long term solution in this house, but maybe the next house will be wired properly.

  17. #17
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,350
    Rep Power
    62
    Points
    6,741 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Ethernet for me as well as I have tried the wireless before and it was bad as I lost so much with my different speed.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  18. #18
    Master Guru
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,471
    Rep Power
    98
    Points
    7,262 (44,164 Banked)
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Quote Originally Posted by TAZ427 View Post
    The WiFi performance should have nothing to do with the number of connections, but the activity that's going on. I personally have 17 devices connected to my wifi at any given time, but not a lot of activity. Performance tests usually have my ping rate < 20ms and DL rates of ~20-25Mbps and ~16mbps UL (which is the top end of the Data Rate performance of the cable modem service I'm paying for - more than sufficient for my needs.) I get maybe a 2-3ms improvement in ping rate by connecting via the 1Gbps Ethernet on my Cable Modem.

    I will say that you can start running into DL/UL rate limitations, but there's no way you should see that kind of increase on the ping rate over WiFi unless you don't have things setup correctly. You may want to look into using port forwarding to help this, though 14ms difference isn't really that significant of an increase. I'm sure you'll end up finding that the bottleneck will not be you wifi but somewhere between you and PSN servers for DL games and content on the PS4.

    Personally, I'm not pulling wires through my walls up two floors to the attic, across the house, and back down into my Game Room for a direct LAN connection when I know it's not going to buy me anything. I'll be use 802.11n dual band connection.
    Wireless can be setup to perform as good as ethernet in many situations, as long as the home you are living is ideal, placement of the router correct, and you choose the best components.

    When I had the PC I was at 2-3 ping with speeds around 90-120Mbit. Ethernet had the same ping but throughput was at 100%, stable 200Mbits, my connection at the time.

    It also solved other "wireless problems". For example, when I was wirelessly downloading torrents at ~100Mbits, my Bluetooth HTPC keyboard/mouse would start getting irritating slowdowns, making it unusable. To my surprise changing to Ethernet fixed that.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

    .

  19. #19
    Elite Guru
    TAZ427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    PSN ID
    TAZ427
    Age
    43
    Posts
    5,226
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    22,646 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by MjW View Post
    Wireless can be setup to perform as good as ethernet in many situations, as long as the home you are living is ideal, placement of the router correct, and you choose the best components.

    When I had the PC I was at 2-3 ping with speeds around 90-120Mbit. Ethernet had the same ping but throughput was at 100%, stable 200Mbits, my connection at the time.

    It also solved other "wireless problems". For example, when I was wirelessly downloading torrents at ~100Mbits, my Bluetooth HTPC keyboard/mouse would start getting irritating slowdowns, making it unusable. To my surprise changing to Ethernet fixed that.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
    Yeah, I've observed the same thing. Stable > 200Mbps between my Router and an AP Gateway w/ PCs direct connected on either end. My Laptops and PCs over WiFi directly to each other get ~120Mbps as they aren't dual channel.

    That's a bit interesting on torrents. I haven't run into the problem, but then again I'm only paying for a 25Mbps DL rate so my external connection is limited there and I haven't had any problems.



  20. #20
    Valar Morghulis
    Serinous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PSN ID
    SerinousTSE
    Posts
    10,875
    Rep Power
    95
    Points
    21,510 (0 Banked)
    Items PS3 FatVitaPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Ethernet

  21. #21
    Apprentice
    AverageNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Zeewolde; the Netherlands
    PSN ID
    AverageNinjaNL
    Age
    17
    Posts
    379
    Rep Power
    16
    Points
    4,340 (0 Banked)
    We have a 150mb/s connection at home, would be a shame to use wi-fi eh?

    Follow me on Twitter: @DaanvMonsjou

  22. #22
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,125
    Rep Power
    245
    Points
    147,866 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I run everything wireless right now. When the next gen systems are launching I'll have already wired my entire house for Ethernet connections in every room.




  23. #23
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,032
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    65,102 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Anyone use Cat 6 cable? Is it worth it?

    Surely ISPs are going to have to start providing Gigabit routers at the moment my ISP provided router only has 1 Gigabit port the rest are 100MBit.
    Last edited by keefy; 09-09-2013 at 06:26.

  24. #24
    Apprentice
    chriharr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    GREAT SOUTHERN LAND
    PSN ID
    chriharr
    Posts
    376
    Rep Power
    27
    Points
    6,658 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Anyone use Cat 6 cable? Is it worth it?

    Surely ISPs are going to have to start providing Gigabit routers at the moment my ISP provided router only has 1 Gigabit port the rest are 100MBit.
    As far as what I've been told by people you can use a Cat5 cable and still get 1,000mbps connection without any problems, CAT 6 cables are the only cables compatible with the new 10,000Mbps which will become the next biggest upgrade in the next 4-5 years it's basically the new Gigabit Ethernet we're all using today.

    CAT 5 cables will be fine, CAT 6 some are higher quality made when you pull them apart and notice the different, the main thing is don't go buying cheap and nasty cables for $1 etc, spend a little but not a lot
    " A Toll's a toll and a roll's a roll. If we don't get no toll's, then we don't eat no roll's"

  25. #25
    Veteran
    MonkeyClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    PSN ID
    Tha_MonkeyClaw
    Age
    39
    Posts
    4,937
    Rep Power
    96
    Points
    153,505 (0 Banked)
    Items Protect yourself
    Quote Originally Posted by chriharr View Post
    As far as what I've been told by people you can use a Cat5 cable and still get 1,000mbps connection without any problems, CAT 6 cables are the only cables compatible with the new 10,000Mbps which will become the next biggest upgrade in the next 4-5 years it's basically the new Gigabit Ethernet we're all using today.

    CAT 5 cables will be fine, CAT 6 some are higher quality made when you pull them apart and notice the different, the main thing is don't go buying cheap and nasty cables for $1 etc, spend a little but not a lot
    As long as you have CAT 5E cabling you will be fine for 1Gbps speeds, I am glad I thought ahead when I had my house built back in '07 though, had every room wired with CAT 6 cabling, so bring on the 10Gbps speeds!

    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Anyone use Cat 6 cable? Is it worth it?

    Surely ISPs are going to have to start providing Gigabit routers at the moment my ISP provided router only has 1 Gigabit port the rest are 100MBit.
    I use CAT6 wiring at my house, and as of today you won't notice a different between CAT6 and CAT5E (unless you have lots of money), but when 10Gbps routers/switches/NICs drop in price down the road, that is when I will start to benefit from my wiring.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833122542

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833106043
    Last edited by MonkeyClaw; 09-09-2013 at 16:54.

    -=[ PSN ID: Tha_MonkeyClaw ]=-

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.