Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    21
    Posts
    8,250
    Rep Power
    86
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim

    Why Killzone Shadow Fall is almost 40GB (it used to be 290...)


  2. #2
    Forum Guru
    -Dj-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    PSN ID
    djpenny1
    Age
    25
    Posts
    3,799
    Rep Power
    75



  3. #3
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    21
    Posts
    8,250
    Rep Power
    86
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by -Dj- View Post
    You can start playing once the 7.5GB is downloaded. Its says so in the article aswell

  4. #4
    Elite Sage
    Two4DaMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    28
    Posts
    12,212
    Rep Power
    117
    Items Naughty DogPS3 SlimNaughty DogUser name style
    I thought about going digital next gen but I can't. The files are too big regardless of the playgo feature.


  5. #5
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    231
    Rep Power
    13
    It sucks a little that they basically said they had to cut levels and parts of the game because they have to keep digital distribution in mind. We get two new powerful systems and the bottleneck ends up being bandwidth to an extent.

  6. #6
    Forum Sage
    darky89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    In the bushes.
    Age
    25
    Posts
    7,626
    Rep Power
    102
    Items FuturamaGoogle ChromeAmerican DadHalf-Life 2Battlefield 3User name style
    I was going to be pretty much disc only anyway.. so this isn't really a problem for me. And it's a choice anyway, those that want to go digital will most likely have good internet where it shouldn't be much of a problem. And if not, then don't go digital.... simple.

    Don't Steal. Don't Molest Little Children. Don't Deal Drugs.

  7. #7
    PSU Live Streamer
    YoungMullah88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Charlotte
    PSN ID
    YoungMullah88
    Posts
    14,855
    Rep Power
    118
    Items User name style
    Looking like a 1tb hdd will not be enough this coming gen

    Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Ultimate Veteran
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    24,038
    Rep Power
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by atomicnuke View Post
    It sucks a little that they basically said they had to cut levels and parts of the game because they have to keep digital distribution in mind. We get two new powerful systems and the bottleneck ends up being bandwidth to an extent.
    Where does it say they had to cut out levels and parts of the game?

  9. #9
    Elite Guru
    TAZ427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    PSN ID
    TAZ427
    Age
    44
    Posts
    5,290
    Rep Power
    79
    Quote Originally Posted by atomicnuke View Post
    It sucks a little that they basically said they had to cut levels and parts of the game because they have to keep digital distribution in mind. We get two new powerful systems and the bottleneck ends up being bandwidth to an extent.
    Uhm, that's not what it said. It said, it they had to go back and NOT duplicate the same textures on different levels, ....

    They're saying they cut out the duplicate data, which they had done on KZ3 so for faster disc load times. And Sony helped out on this by providing libraries that better let them optimize the storage such that the access penalties wouldn't be as bad.



  10. Likes mistercrow likes this post
  11. #10
    Ultimate Veteran
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    24,038
    Rep Power
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by TAZ427 View Post
    Uhm, that's not what it said. It said, it they had to go back and NOT duplicate the same textures on different levels, .... They're saying they cut out the duplicate data, which they had done on KZ3 so for faster disc load times. And Sony helped out on this by providing libraries that better let them optimize the storage such that the access penalties wouldn't be as bad.
    Yep, thats exactly what I read. Not sure how atomic arrived at his interpretation. lol

  12. #11
    PSU Live Streamer
    YoungMullah88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Charlotte
    PSN ID
    YoungMullah88
    Posts
    14,855
    Rep Power
    118
    Items User name style
    No more logos when the game boots up! only a 30 second load and that's it. They cut a deal with Dolby and the epilepsy warning to have all that mumbo jumbo in the credits!

    Another step to making everything instantaneous! Thank you Sony...still not buying this game tho

    One reason I enjoy cod4 modern warfare, was because after the logos, I could close my eyes and navigate to the mp section of the menu because it was fast and instantaneous

    Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

  13. #12
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    231
    Rep Power
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by mistercrow View Post
    Yep, thats exactly what I read. Not sure how atomic arrived at his interpretation. lol
    What a moron! That atomicnuke guy needs to read more carefully, I think he is at work probably and quickly read the article and mistakenly took the quote if they "would have put all the levels in, which we didn't, because then the disc image generator broke, it would have been around 290 gigs of data," as actual levels.

    Ha, ha, what a dope, he better not come back in this thread trying to prove everyone wrong and just own up. But I bet he won't...

  14. Likes Itachi , darky89 likes this post

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.