Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Elite Guru
    berts08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    N.Ireland
    PSN ID
    berts08
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,615
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    8,374 (4,000 Banked)
    Items User name styleManchester United
Gift received at 11-19-2011 from Cuguy
Message: couldn't find a reason the shop would deny you the purchase, so here ya go

    I need a new laptop

    I'm looking for a new laptop, my budget is £600-£700. If you can find one cheaper would be great. I want this laptop to be able to play ff14, have a min of 6gb ram, hard drive does not matter and it need to have hdmi out.

    1 more question

    Can I play ff14 via laptop using ps3 or ps4 controller? if so how?

    Cheers.


    “Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.” Arthur C. Clarke


    PSN ID: berts08



  2. #2
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,125
    Rep Power
    245
    Points
    149,334 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Last edited by F34R; 10-31-2013 at 12:47.




  3. Likes berts08 likes this post
  4. #3
    Elite Guru
    berts08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    N.Ireland
    PSN ID
    berts08
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,615
    Rep Power
    80
    Points
    8,374 (4,000 Banked)
    Items User name styleManchester United
Gift received at 11-19-2011 from Cuguy
Message: couldn't find a reason the shop would deny you the purchase, so here ya go


    “Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.” Arthur C. Clarke


    PSN ID: berts08



  5. #4
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    ITs better than the LEnovo which upon googling lots of people and reviewers say it had a rubbish screen.

  6. #5
    Superior Member
    Malt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Darkest Wales
    PSN ID
    Skullomainia
    Age
    37
    Posts
    557
    Rep Power
    10
    Points
    8,066 (0 Banked)
    If you've got an old dual shock 2 lying about the place you can get a DS to USB adapter off the net for about a fiver which would allow you to use it. I know you can use a DS3 on PC with the USB lead plugged in but I find the micro USB connection isn't the best at staying connected. Don't know if you can use it wireless via Bluetooth somehow..

  7. #6
    Super Elite
    ash91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    PSN ID
    AshSteHol
    Age
    23
    Posts
    2,403
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,232 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Don't go with Acer, the build quality is dreadful.
    KING OF POP
    1958 - 2009



  8. #7
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,125
    Rep Power
    245
    Points
    149,334 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by berts08 View Post
    Find out what the GPU is in that thing before buying it.

    As far as the screen goes... when you go cheap, you get cheap.

    Here is a PC Mag review snippet you'll need to consider:

    The low-voltage processor and integrated graphics don't support high-end gaming—it completed our gaming tests, but not with playable scores—but you shouldn't expect it to. The Aspire V5-571P will do just fine with casual social games on Facebook, but not serious gaming.
    after looking at the chart, it has the HD 4000 as well.

    Yikes.




  9. #8
    Forum Guru
    Beast of Bourbon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Blighttown
    PSN ID
    Azrael666
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,508
    Rep Power
    78
    Points
    12,484 (0 Banked)
    Items DoomPlayStationDiablo IIIBlizzardDemons Souls CoverDark Souls Cover
    Don't buy that Acer nb.
    It still has a 3xxx i7 (and therefore a slow hd4000 gpu), also only 1366x768 resolution.
    Alot of firms are trying to sell their "leftovers" at the moment.
    Go FULL HD, get a 4xxx series cpu (Haswell), gpu 750m or better.

    I'd say find a website where you can configure a clevo barebone.
    Like http://mysn.co.uk/ but they're pretty expensive.

    Also http://www.notebookcheck.net is your friend
    Last edited by Beast of Bourbon; 11-02-2013 at 19:09.

  10. #9
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    18,198
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    66,528 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    My dad bought an Acer today its got 4400HD graphics and i5 CPU it runs quake live at 125FPS (125 is max possible in Quake live o matter how fast you PC is) and up to 200FPS with counter strike source, 1366x768 resolutions. But only if plugged into the wall, if on battery it goes into a lower power state and gets about 60FPS max.

    1080p on a 15 inch screen will look tiny.

    My dad is not a gamer so he didnt give a monkeys about how well it plays games.
    Touch screen is pretty cool actually.
    Last edited by keefy; 11-03-2013 at 03:10.

  11. #10
    Forum Guru
    Beast of Bourbon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Blighttown
    PSN ID
    Azrael666
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,508
    Rep Power
    78
    Points
    12,484 (0 Banked)
    Items DoomPlayStationDiablo IIIBlizzardDemons Souls CoverDark Souls Cover
    Well he didn't say if he want's a 15" or 17" NB, maybe even 13" but i wouldn't want anything less then full HD these days.
    There is one (obvious) advantage with lower resolutions though - you'll get more FPS

  12. #11
    Super Elite
    ash91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    PSN ID
    AshSteHol
    Age
    23
    Posts
    2,403
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    2,232 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    My new Vaio is not Full HD and I don't even notice it. There's no point going Full HD on a 15" screen.
    KING OF POP
    1958 - 2009



  13. #12
    Forum Sage
    MATRIX 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    D.C.
    Posts
    8,035
    Rep Power
    114
    Points
    44,644 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by ash91 View Post
    My new Vaio is not Full HD and I don't even notice it. There's no point going Full HD on a 15" screen.

  14. #13
    Forum Guru
    Beast of Bourbon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Blighttown
    PSN ID
    Azrael666
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,508
    Rep Power
    78
    Points
    12,484 (0 Banked)
    Items DoomPlayStationDiablo IIIBlizzardDemons Souls CoverDark Souls Cover
    Hehe lol.
    Well "sub hd" is not the end of the world especially when you're on a budget but hook up a nb with 1600x900 or 1366x768 to a full hd tv and see what happens.

    Ain't nobody gut time fo dat

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.