Latest PSU headlines:

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst ... 3 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 84
  1. #51
    Community Manager
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    4,296
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    260,304 (888 Banked)
    is there any confirmation of how big the install will be?

    it could simply be 2-10GB. MGS4 installed repeatedly, there's no reason a similar feature could background install over old unused files of the same game.

    is there any confirmation that 50GB will be the norm? @10GB you're looking at ~10 AAA games before you start to notice.

    *note* please don't use COD ghosts. the thing uses 8GB of RAM on a PC so i wouldn't consider it an effective litmus test of potential.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  2. #52
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    793
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    5,855 (0 Banked)
    Whats the fuss? Delete the old games...it only takes 10 seconds or so after you've put the disc back in if you ever want to play it again to be up and running the level. The only thing I would like...is to be able to not have to download the game to play mp only...because after I've beat a game I don't need the sp....i may come back and play some multiplayer though later...that would be my wish....to be able to select mp and only download that portion to play it....that would save time and space. I will beat BF,COD,KZ in a day or two and then play mp for the rest of the next year....i would like to delete the sp stuff and only keep whats necessary to play online...because lets be honest...no one is going to want to play BF single player...maybe not even the first time lol.

  3. #53
    Forum Elder
    $Greatness$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    PSN ID
    GreatnessRD
    Posts
    2,906
    Rep Power
    53
    Points
    25,481 (5,000 Banked)
    Items User name style
    I just wanna know if the brave souls are still going to go full digital. It just keeps sounding really bad for those guys. lol


    $Greatness$ Awaits™


  4. #54
    Dedicated Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,478
    Rep Power
    39
    Points
    19,189 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    I called it first, and more accurately!

    http://www.psu.com/forums/showthread...=1#post6232474

  5. #55
    Super Moderator
    Admartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    PSN ID
    admartian
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,867
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    38,021 (0 Banked)
    Items ArsenalVitaUser name styleSteamPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Completely Average View Post
    I called it first, and more accurately!

    http://www.psu.com/forums/showthread...=1#post6232474
    Psssh!!!
    Neither of you are FB0AT.

    #IndieStation4 and proud of it.

  6. #56
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17,290
    Rep Power
    160
    Points
    153,515 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Completely Average View Post
    I called it first, and more accurately!

    http://www.psu.com/forums/showthread...=1#post6232474
    Only cause I didn't see that thread

    But yeah, this was always going to be the case, anyone asking for a deleted cache was asking for the HDD to do a hell of a lot of work.
    I am no longer participating in these forums, I wish all of you on the PSU Forums the best for the future.

  7. #57
    Master Guru
    TDbank24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    6,713
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    34,708 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by MacP View Post
    I wonder what the hard drive capacity limitations will be on the PS4?
    The PS4 will have no limits. It'll be the pinnacle of console gaming!


  8. #58
    Veteran
    daLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    4,542
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    55,151 (0 Banked)
    Well at least we're getting manual control, we can decided which to keep and which to delete. I for one am finished one game and I rarely ever touch it again so I can just easily delete and then cache again if I play it again, so this is good news for me.


  9. #59
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    530 (0 Banked)
    As long as my saved game information remains, I guess it isn't that big of a deal. PS4 games should install quick enough that it is more of a minor inconvenience then anything else.

  10. #60
    Elite Sage
    Two4DaMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,301
    Rep Power
    110
    Points
    13,443 (75,576 Banked)
    Items Naughty DogPS3 SlimNaughty DogUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I want to be able to switch between hard drives and not have to reinstall everything again. I want the ps4 to read the drive, verify it with my ps4 that it came from my ps4 and then let me play whatever games is on the drive.
    Destiny is going to be EVERYTHING that EA and MS hoped titanfall would be


  11. #61
    Veteran
    faaeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    .....pss..behind you
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,136
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    12,360 (0 Banked)
    Just to put things into perspective.
    PS4 has a 500gb HDD and we all know 500gb isn't really 500gb.

    For me on day one I have
    *NBA 2K14. Box says requires 50gb
    *Killzone 4. Box says requires 45gb
    *Battlefield 4. Box says requires 40gb
    *Assassins Creed 4. Box says requires 20gb.

    One DAY ONE, that's already 155gb of my 500gb HDD already used with no dlc, no downloaded games, no pathes, updates or anything. That's day one.

    An option to auto wipe this "cache" NEEDS to be implimented...

    Sent from my One using Tapatalk
    Last edited by faaeng; 11-12-2013 at 18:34.
    PCs are very much like Air Conditioners.
    They both become utterly useless once you start to open up Windows....
    ----------------------------------------------


  12. #62
    Forum Sage
    Itachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Winterfell
    PSN ID
    iwinulose042
    Age
    20
    Posts
    8,311
    Rep Power
    82
    Points
    30,167 (151,503 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIFull Metal AlchemistDragon Ball ZNarutoDeath NoteNaughty DogLightningNoctisAssassins Creed EzioPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by faaeng View Post
    Just to put things into perspective.
    PS4 has a 500gb HDD and we all know 500gb isn't really 500gb.

    For me on day one I have
    *NBA 2K14. Box says requires 50gb
    *Killzone 4. Box says requires 45gb
    *Battlefield 4. Box says requires 40gb
    *Assassins Creed 4. Box says requires 20gb.

    One DAY ONE, that's already 155gb of my 500gb HDD already used with no dlc, no downloaded games, no pathes, updates or anything. That's day one.

    An option to auto wipe this "cache" NEEDS to be implimented...

    Sent from my One using Tapatalk
    you get 465GB in a "500GB HDD"
    also, a recent eurogamer article says NBA 2K14 is 43GB

  13. #63
    PSU Trophy Manager
    Fenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    PSN ID
    Faenix1
    Age
    24
    Posts
    11,588
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    18,978 (1,000 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy X-2Final Fantasy XIIFangNoctisLightningFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIINaughty DogFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy VIIPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by faaeng View Post
    Just to put things into perspective.
    PS4 has a 500gb HDD and we all know 500gb isn't really 500gb.

    For me on day one I have
    *NBA 2K14. Box says requires 50gb
    *Killzone 4. Box says requires 45gb
    *Battlefield 4. Box says requires 40gb
    *Assassins Creed 4. Box says requires 20gb.

    One DAY ONE, that's already 155gb of my 500gb HDD already used with no dlc, no downloaded games, no pathes, updates or anything. That's day one.

    An option to auto wipe this "cache" NEEDS to be implimented...

    Sent from my One using Tapatalk
    But.. but.. it's not a big deal!

    And you forgot to figure in the two PS+ games, so thats probably another 5gb used up. I'm curious how fast deletes will be, I'll be sitting at 65gb used up with AC4 and Killzone. I was honestly expecting the 500gb to last me more than the year (with my current gaming habits anyways)

    Sig&Av by Kuro

    Sometimes streaming Watch_Dogs

    PS4 Preorders:
    FarCry4MetroReduxDragonAge3BatmanAKWitcher3DyingLightOrder1886Uncharted4


    PSN
    , XBL, Steam: Faenix1 - 3DS Friend Code: 3883-6299-4363
    Phat PS3: February 2008 - June 1st, 2011, Slim PS3: June 3rd 2011 - Present
    PS4, 3DSxl: November 2013 - Present
    PSVita December 2013 - Present

  14. #64
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,072
    Rep Power
    243
    Points
    142,969 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    It's going to be interesting to see how much storage will be available, and how much of it ill use on day 1 lol. Ima try and fill it up!!




  15. #65
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    martin_blank
    Posts
    617
    Rep Power
    15
    Points
    8,484 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    It's going to be interesting to see how much storage will be available, and how much of it ill use on day 1 lol. Ima try and fill it up!!
    Same for XOne. All games have to install to the HDD. Full install, I'm pretty sure. No longer locked to account or console, need the game disc to play, but they still have to install. We'll have to delete cache data for games we're not currently playing. We start playing them again, it'll automatically cache itself again. At least we don't have to wait out the whole install on PS4. No idea on XOne, about a fast start before the install completes.

    I'm figuring I'll live through deleting caches. If I don't, well hell I'm surprised I live through standing in line at Starbucks those morning I wake up late and wind up in the rush hour crowd.

  16. #66
    Chocolatier to the Stars
    TidalPhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Behind you!
    PSN ID
    TidalPhoenix
    Posts
    11,619
    Rep Power
    116
    Points
    13,557 (0 Banked)
    Items New User TitleUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by daLa View Post
    Well at least we're getting manual control, we can decided which to keep and which to delete. I for one am finished one game and I rarely ever touch it again so I can just easily delete and then cache again if I play it again, so this is good news for me.
    thats great if you live alone, but I have two sons who will be playing the console as well. Can see 500GB disappearing very quickly.

    ​aka Sparc

  17. #67
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17,290
    Rep Power
    160
    Points
    153,515 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by sanfordmay View Post
    Same for XOne. All games have to install to the HDD. Full install, I'm pretty sure. No longer locked to account or console, need the game disc to play, but they still have to install. We'll have to delete cache data for games we're not currently playing. We start playing them again, it'll automatically cache itself again. At least we don't have to wait out the whole install on PS4. No idea on XOne, about a fast start before the install completes.
    The guy that got one early said one of his games started when it hit 50% install, I think it will vary form game to game, it really depends on what content the game requires, immediately.
    I'm figuring I'll live through deleting caches. If I don't, well hell I'm surprised I live through standing in line at Starbucks those morning I wake up late and wind up in the rush hour crowd.
    Its not biggy, really it aint, unless you have like 15 games on the go all at once.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sparc View Post
    thats great if you live alone, but I have two sons who will be playing the console as well. Can see 500GB disappearing very quickly.
    Thats why I aint trading my 360 in, it will be put down right beside my original fatboy (which still goes).
    Last edited by mynd; 11-12-2013 at 20:59.
    I am no longer participating in these forums, I wish all of you on the PSU Forums the best for the future.

  18. #68
    Super Moderator
    Admartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    PSN ID
    admartian
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,867
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    38,021 (0 Banked)
    Items ArsenalVitaUser name styleSteamPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Starting to think 1TB+ is necessary on launch. BUt I know I don't want t fuss around with a HDD once I get it...

    #IndieStation4 and proud of it.

  19. #69
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    martin_blank
    Posts
    617
    Rep Power
    15
    Points
    8,484 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by admartian View Post
    Starting to think 1TB+ is necessary on launch. BUt I know I don't want t fuss around with a HDD once I get it...
    1TB would have been better, but I absolutely am not going to replace that HDD anywhere near launch. I finally replaced my original teeny tiny whatever it was PS3 HDD with a 500GB less than a year ago. It's not like it ever gave me any problem. I just had to delete stuff I wasn't playing. With 500GB I never have to delete anything. I still do, sometimes demos and various gunk, just to be tidy.

  20. #70
    PSU Trophy Manager
    Fenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    PSN ID
    Faenix1
    Age
    24
    Posts
    11,588
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    18,978 (1,000 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy X-2Final Fantasy XIIFangNoctisLightningFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIINaughty DogFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy VIIPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!


    Posted this in another thread, but I'l post it here so more see... its a little "wtf?" that it only starts with 408 GB free... it's going to fill a lot sooner than we expected.

    Sig&Av by Kuro

    Sometimes streaming Watch_Dogs

    PS4 Preorders:
    FarCry4MetroReduxDragonAge3BatmanAKWitcher3DyingLightOrder1886Uncharted4


    PSN
    , XBL, Steam: Faenix1 - 3DS Friend Code: 3883-6299-4363
    Phat PS3: February 2008 - June 1st, 2011, Slim PS3: June 3rd 2011 - Present
    PS4, 3DSxl: November 2013 - Present
    PSVita December 2013 - Present

  21. #71
    Forum Guru
    Terminator 101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Newmarket, Toronto, Ontario
    PSN ID
    Terminator101
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,672
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    6,174 (440 Banked)
    /\/\/\/\
    84GB just for the base apps? wtf.

    So its going work like the optional disc installs on 360, except it won't be optional, and it will happen in the background while the game is being played.
    That begs a question how much of the game will have to be installed before it is going to be playable since the PS4 is not designed to read the game from the disc?
    Is it going to be like the digital versions where you will have to wait until about 10GB is downloaded before you can play it, but in regards to the disc based version replace downloaded with installed?
    If yes, then will they give you the option to install the multiplayer first, unlike in the digital version where there wont be such option?
    Almost everyone will say: buy console that has games that you want, and those who say otherwise are ignorant.

    Playstation Move for the win!

  22. #72
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17,290
    Rep Power
    160
    Points
    153,515 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Terminator 101 View Post
    /\/\/\/\
    84GB just for the base apps? wtf.

    So its going work like the optional disc installs on 360, except it won't be optional, and it will happen in the background while the game is being played.
    That begs a question how much of the game will have to be installed before it is going to be playable since the PS4 is not designed to read the game from the disc?
    Is it going to be like the digital versions where you will have to wait until about 10GB is downloaded before you can play it, but in regards to the disc based version replace downloaded with installed?
    If yes, then will they give you the option to install the multiplayer first, unlike in the digital version where there wont be such option?
    The need to differentiate between applications and games, much like the 360. Makes life a hell of a lot easier.
    And yeah I don't think the console will differentiate between digital and disc, just like the XBO.
    I am no longer participating in these forums, I wish all of you on the PSU Forums the best for the future.

  23. #73
    PSU Trophy Manager
    Fenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    PSN ID
    Faenix1
    Age
    24
    Posts
    11,588
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    18,978 (1,000 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy X-2Final Fantasy XIIFangNoctisLightningFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIINaughty DogFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy VIIPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Terminator 101 View Post
    /\/\/\/\
    84GB just for the base apps? wtf.

    So its going work like the optional disc installs on 360, except it won't be optional, and it will happen in the background while the game is being played.
    That begs a question how much of the game will have to be installed before it is going to be playable since the PS4 is not designed to read the game from the disc?
    Is it going to be like the digital versions where you will have to wait until about 10GB is downloaded before you can play it, but in regards to the disc based version replace downloaded with installed?
    If yes, then will they give you the option to install the multiplayer first, unlike in the digital version where there wont be such option?

    Sig&Av by Kuro

    Sometimes streaming Watch_Dogs

    PS4 Preorders:
    FarCry4MetroReduxDragonAge3BatmanAKWitcher3DyingLightOrder1886Uncharted4


    PSN
    , XBL, Steam: Faenix1 - 3DS Friend Code: 3883-6299-4363
    Phat PS3: February 2008 - June 1st, 2011, Slim PS3: June 3rd 2011 - Present
    PS4, 3DSxl: November 2013 - Present
    PSVita December 2013 - Present

  24. #74
    Forum Guru
    Terminator 101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Newmarket, Toronto, Ontario
    PSN ID
    Terminator101
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,672
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    6,174 (440 Banked)
    oh. I guess I am just used it being called games/apps on 360, and game data on PS3.
    Nevermind the 84GB for the base apps part.
    What about the rest of my post?
    Almost everyone will say: buy console that has games that you want, and those who say otherwise are ignorant.

    Playstation Move for the win!

  25. #75
    PSU Trophy Manager
    Fenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    PSN ID
    Faenix1
    Age
    24
    Posts
    11,588
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    18,978 (1,000 Banked)
    Items Final Fantasy X-2Final Fantasy XIIFangNoctisLightningFinal Fantasy Versus XIIIFinal Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIINaughty DogFinal Fantasy XFinal Fantasy VIIPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Terminator 101 View Post
    oh. I guess I am just used it being called games/apps on 360, and game data on PS3.
    Nevermind the 84GB for the base apps part.
    What about the rest of my post?
    Give this a read:
    http://www.joystiq.com/2013/11/12/ps...-killzone-und/

    Doesnt seem like it needs much at all

    Sig&Av by Kuro

    Sometimes streaming Watch_Dogs

    PS4 Preorders:
    FarCry4MetroReduxDragonAge3BatmanAKWitcher3DyingLightOrder1886Uncharted4


    PSN
    , XBL, Steam: Faenix1 - 3DS Friend Code: 3883-6299-4363
    Phat PS3: February 2008 - June 1st, 2011, Slim PS3: June 3rd 2011 - Present
    PS4, 3DSxl: November 2013 - Present
    PSVita December 2013 - Present

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.