Latest PSU headlines:

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 69
  1. #26
    Elite Guru
    TAZ427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    PSN ID
    TAZ427
    Age
    43
    Posts
    5,076
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    20,689 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    /runs to Amazon.com to get a UPS.

    Wait, what is a UPS?? I don't wanna be an idiot for not using it, but I don't know what it is...
    I'm sure this is sarcasm but for those who truly don't know what UPS means.

    UPS: Uninterruptable Power Supply (i.e. battery backup.)

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...d-keywords=UPS

    I've got one on everywhere I have a PC, TV, Major Electronics, etc. I'd say on average we get one or two momentary (maybe 1s in length) power glitches per month. This weekend though we had 5 and maybe once a year we'll loose power for a few minutes to a couple hours do to a storm. With UPS's on my equipment, I can keep going like nothing happened.

    With the one on my Cablemodem and Router, I can keep my network going for hours if need be.



  2. #27
    Forum Guru
    KnotGamer901's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NC
    PSN ID
    markiemark901
    Age
    23
    Posts
    3,670
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    30,525 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    If you're only turning it on once per week, and playing one hour per week, then no. However, if you are doing it a few times a day to several times a week, I would suggest standby.

    Turning it on revs up all the moving parts inside, surge of electricity, and a difference in cold boot to operating temperatures.
    well I'm definitely on more than once a week lol. so standby it is then. thanks


    moving on Tapatalk



    Currently Playing: COD Ghosts, Battlefield 4, Assassins Creed 4

  3. #28
    Veteran
    daLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    4,542
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    55,151 (0 Banked)
    I'd say Stand by if you intend to charge your controller or have downloads going on, if not just Turn it off.


  4. #29
    Forum Sage
    MATRIX 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    D.C.
    Posts
    7,978
    Rep Power
    111
    Points
    42,328 (0 Banked)
    Standby mode 10W
    Standby mode (with download) 70W

    Enough to make it worthwhile to turn it off.

  5. #30
    Apprentice
    N0REGARD4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    PSN ID
    N0REGARD4LIFE
    Posts
    446
    Rep Power
    11
    Points
    1,146 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationDiceBattlefield 3
    I shut mine down completely. Question: Do you guys plug yours directly into the wall or into a power strip?

  6. #31
    PSU Editor-in-chief
    KyleOnTheRun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    PSN ID
    geist226
    Posts
    3,599
    Rep Power
    28
    Points
    34,913 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleFull Metal AlchemistYunaGuerrilla GamesNaughty DogDaft PunkDeus Ex HR AdamAtlusFinal Fantasy X
    Standby or you're doing it wrong.

  7. Likes victorijapoosp likes this post
  8. #32
    Apprentice
    Topov81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    37
    Posts
    344
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    41 (0 Banked)
    When left in Standby, do you need Automatic Login enabled for auto-updates, like the PS3 ?

    Great feature that I never used for that reason.

  9. #33
    Forum Elder
    chrisw26308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,619
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    13,240 (0 Banked)
    Mine installed a couple games while in standby mode and I didnt have auto login checked.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  10. #34
    Forum Guru
    KnotGamer901's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NC
    PSN ID
    markiemark901
    Age
    23
    Posts
    3,670
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    30,525 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by N0REGARD4LIFE View Post
    I shut mine down completely. Question: Do you guys plug yours directly into the wall or into a power strip?
    power strip


    moving on Tapatalk



    Currently Playing: COD Ghosts, Battlefield 4, Assassins Creed 4

  11. #35
    Superior Member
    P51-SN95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    760
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    12,971 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by PS4THEWIN View Post
    I'm curious as to which is the recommended method.
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisw26308 View Post
    Standby. It will download updates to games and FW while in this mode plus its a lot faster boot.

    Just turn it off if u ever want to unplug it.

    Sent from my GT-P5113 using Tapatalk
    I've only read these two posts, nothing wrong with going stand by at all, but I'd just like to throw in that I'm going totally off and I go from Totally off to in a Multiplayer lobby of COD Ghosts in under 2 min. So while standby will be the fastest method, being totally off is still EXTREMELY fast when compared to the PS3

  12. Likes KyleOnTheRun likes this post
  13. #36
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    222
    Rep Power
    8
    Points
    2,824 (0 Banked)
    Mine (so far) is in standby for charging or if I know I'll be using it again that day. If it is my last time for the day then I just turn it off. I'll probably have it it standby the days I know I'm going to purchase something off the store when I'm at work. I also haven't noticed that big of a difference in start up times between cold boot and standby.

  14. #37
    PSU Editor-in-chief
    KyleOnTheRun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    PSN ID
    geist226
    Posts
    3,599
    Rep Power
    28
    Points
    34,913 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleFull Metal AlchemistYunaGuerrilla GamesNaughty DogDaft PunkDeus Ex HR AdamAtlusFinal Fantasy X
    For whatever reason, I'm not worried at all about leaving my PS4 in standby ALL the time. Same with my laptop, or PS Vita... these devices are built to have suspend/resume modes with our busy lifestyles. I love the convenience, and I'll probably only shut it completely down when I'm moving it (obviously) or a big storm is rolling in.

  15. #38
    Veteran
    daLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    4,542
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    55,151 (0 Banked)
    I was thinking turning it off could be safer to avoid any damage from power outage (for example: when there's thunderstorms and the electricity is likely to suddenly go out).


  16. #39
    Forum Guru
    KnotGamer901's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NC
    PSN ID
    markiemark901
    Age
    23
    Posts
    3,670
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    30,525 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by KyleOnTheRun View Post
    For whatever reason, I'm not worried at all about leaving my PS4 in standby ALL the time. Same with my laptop, or PS Vita... these devices are built to have suspend/resume modes with our busy lifestyles. I love the convenience, and I'll probably only shut it completely down when I'm moving it (obviously) or a big storm is rolling in.
    I see your point. but what exactly is "running" while it's on standby?

    @dala- that's why some people have said to use a UPS as well


    moving on Tapatalk



    Currently Playing: COD Ghosts, Battlefield 4, Assassins Creed 4

  17. #40
    PSU Editor
    Shockwave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    PSN ID
    NeoShockWave
    Age
    23
    Posts
    2,933
    Rep Power
    66
    Points
    8,145 (0 Banked)
    Items Title StyleLiquid Ocelotid SoftwareKonamiUser name styleNaughty DogBig BossTidusPlayStationManchester UnitedAuron
    Mine'll be on standby just like its predecessor.

    Follow me on Twitter @Adam_PSU for all things PlayStation!

  18. #41
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    222
    Rep Power
    8
    Points
    2,824 (0 Banked)
    I said I shut mine down when I know I won't use it for the rest of the day, but standby when I will be. However, my PS3 is always in standby and it's because shutdown on PS4 is an option using the controller. I just realized I'm to lazy to reach on the back of the PS3 and turn it off, lol.

  19. Likes N0REGARD4LIFE likes this post
  20. #42
    Forum Elder
    Vercetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,945
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    1,240 (0 Banked)
    Standby is huge for me cuz we can charge the controller. It was so annoying last gen keeping the console on just to charge.

  21. #43
    Forum Elder
    chrisw26308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,619
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    13,240 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Vercetti View Post
    Standby is huge for me cuz we can charge the controller. It was so annoying last gen keeping the console on just to charge.
    Exactly, that and our games update automatically. Nothing like not playing a game for a while then popping it in and waiting for it to patch.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  22. #44
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    173
    Rep Power
    6
    Points
    2,204 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisw26308 View Post
    Exactly, that and our games update automatically. Nothing like not playing a game for a while then popping it in and waiting for it to patch.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
    So games automatically update in standby even if they aren't in the ps4? Or do they have to be in the system?

  23. #45
    Superior Member
    P51-SN95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    760
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    12,971 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by vnmus View Post
    So games automatically update in standby even if they aren't in the ps4? Or do they have to be in the system?
    if it's like with the PS3 (and it should be) any game that you've previously played and have game data saved on the the HDD should automatically update.

  24. #46
    Forum Elder
    Vercetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,945
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    1,240 (0 Banked)
    I started downloading resogun and contrast before work this morning. They didn't finish by the time I left, so I put it in standby mode.

    Will games still download in standby mode?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  25. #47
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,072
    Rep Power
    243
    Points
    142,969 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Vercetti View Post
    I started downloading resogun and contrast before work this morning. They didn't finish by the time I left, so I put it in standby mode.

    Will games still download in standby mode?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yes.




  26. #48
    Master Poster
    TheBreezyBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Qatar
    PSN ID
    BreBaz
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,475
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    17,813 (0 Banked)
    Items One PieceOne PieceAuronPS3 FatVitaNaughty DogFinal Fantasy XPlayStation
    I like Standby mode, charging my DS4 after a heavy gaming session is something i always wanted.




  27. #49
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,072
    Rep Power
    243
    Points
    142,969 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBreezyBB View Post
    I like Standby mode, charging my DS4 after a heavy gaming session is something i always wanted.
    I bought a dual charger for the DS4's. I have two of 'em, so one is always charged unless we are doing some co-op stuff.




  28. #50
    Forum Guru
    KnotGamer901's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NC
    PSN ID
    markiemark901
    Age
    23
    Posts
    3,670
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    30,525 (0 Banked)
    so I left it on standby when I went to work. came back 8 1/2 hours later and checks to see how warm it was. no heat at all, same feel as when it's cold. idk why but I was expecting it to have a little heat when on standby


    moving on Tapatalk



    Currently Playing: COD Ghosts, Battlefield 4, Assassins Creed 4

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.