Latest PSU headlines:

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    192
    Points
    105,212 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    Comcast on XBone - Still have to use remote

    http://www.theverge.com/2013/11/21/5...t-the-xbox-one

    It looks like if you are a Comcast subscriber, they are fully intending on making it difficult to use your Xbox One TV functionality to its fullest.
    Last edited by Lefein; 11-23-2013 at 21:39.

  2. #2
    Forum Sage
    Sub-stance1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9,679
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    56,721 (0 Banked)
    Items BarcelonaPS3 Slim360 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    lol..Why would they worry about MS and Vice versa. Come on dude, this is pointless.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    192
    Points
    105,212 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sub-stance1 View Post
    lol..Why would they worry about MS and Vice versa. Come on dude, this is pointless.
    Is it? They're purposefully making it where you will need to use your DVR remote and they are the largest cable provider in the largest market. Could spell trouble.

  4. #4
    Superior Member
    Old Man Gamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    834
    Rep Power
    21
    Points
    7,477 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sub-stance1 View Post
    lol..Why would they worry about MS and Vice versa. Come on dude, this is pointless.
    That's the point. It is pointless, But it's another negative story to add to the pile that he is accumulating.

    As long as members like this are permitted to stay, this forum will flounder in mediocrity.
    I don't need no stinkin' signature!

  5. Likes Sub-stance1 likes this post
  6. #5
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,062
    Rep Power
    243
    Points
    141,443 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    They aren't worried... wow, amazing news.




  7. #6
    Forum Sage
    Sub-stance1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9,679
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    56,721 (0 Banked)
    Items BarcelonaPS3 Slim360 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    Is it? They're purposefully making it where you will need to use your DVR remote and they are the largest cable provider in the largest market. Could spell trouble.
    Dude, MS and comcast are actually partners. Why would comcast have to worry about them? I could see if it was someone like Netflix.

  8. #7
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    192
    Points
    105,212 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I edited thread title to make it less console wars-ish.

  9. #8
    Superior Member
    Old Man Gamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    834
    Rep Power
    21
    Points
    7,477 (0 Banked)
    I didn't see anything in the article to indicate that Comcast is doing anything to block what the One does. The very nature of their system requires you to change the channel on the cable box in order to change what you are viewing. It's like that with FiOS, TWC, etc. They are doing nothing different to try to thwart how the One functions.
    I don't need no stinkin' signature!

  10. #9
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    192
    Points
    105,212 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Old Man Gamer View Post
    I didn't see anything in the article to indicate that Comcast is doing anything to block what the One does. The very nature of their system requires you to change the channel on the cable box in order to change what you are viewing. It's like that with FiOS, TWC, etc. They are doing nothing different to try to thwart how the One functions.
    Well, they are launching a competing product in the X1, though (seriously, what gives with that name?). The writer of the article seems to think Comcast is posturing.

  11. #10
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17,290
    Rep Power
    160
    Points
    153,515 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    I edited thread title to make it less console wars-ish.
    Eh? The XBO controlls Comcast boxes just fine.

    You can use the Xbox to navigate between TV channels, sure, but if you want to watch something from DVR or on demand, you’ll have to pick up the cable remote
    Well dam, thats...not surprising is it?
    I am no longer participating in these forums, I wish all of you on the PSU Forums the best for the future.

  12. #11
    Forum Sage
    Sub-stance1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9,679
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    56,721 (0 Banked)
    Items BarcelonaPS3 Slim360 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    I edited thread title to make it less console wars-ish.
    I think you did what a lot of people do, which is post articles before you read them.

  13. #12
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    192
    Points
    105,212 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sub-stance1 View Post
    I think you did what a lot of people do, which is post articles before you read them.
    No, I definitely read it. I guess I was more perplexed by the fact they are putting new cable boxes out that don't work with the 'Bone 100% than you guys were. No worries. Saw the thread was turning into something it wasn't intended to be and made adjustments.

    I read it from the authors angle. Never hurts to have other perspectives, though. I think you guys are right on this one.

  14. #13
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    17,290
    Rep Power
    160
    Points
    153,515 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    No, I definitely read it. I guess I was more perplexed by the fact they are putting new cable boxes out that don't work with the 'Bone 100% than you guys were. No worries. Saw the thread was turning into something it wasn't intended to be and made adjustments.

    I read it from the authors angle. Never hurts to have other perspectives, though. I think you guys are right on this one.
    As long its IR controlled, the XBO can theoretically support it. Even if at a later date MS merely supplied the ability to learn the IR from you current controller and and your own custom voice commands then there is nothing Comcast could do.
    I am no longer participating in these forums, I wish all of you on the PSU Forums the best for the future.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.