Latest PSU headlines:

Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Superior Member
    Malt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Darkest Wales
    PSN ID
    Skullomainia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    527
    Rep Power
    6
    Points
    7,085 (0 Banked)

    XBONE causes TV 'frame judder' in UK when using HDMI passthrough..

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...e-judder-in-uk

    Way to go.. I'm fussy with my TV quality, that would bug the **** out of me..

  2. #2
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    16,659
    Rep Power
    154
    Points
    99,660 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Malt View Post
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...e-judder-in-uk

    Way to go.. I'm fussy with my TV quality, that would bug the **** out of me..
    Wow, Europe is so backwards, even little old NZ does 60hz HDTV.
    Of course if you signal is 50hz, I guess you could always cap the XBO to 50hz.
    Last edited by mynd; 11-25-2013 at 22:14.
    2play:Red Dead, GTA 4,Batman AC,Batman AO,Borderlands 2,Skyrim,Sleeping Dogs,Reckoning,Dead Island, DarkSiders 2,Dark Souls,Dead Space 2,MGS 3,MGS:PW, XCOM:EU,Hitman Absolution,Biosuck Infinite,Assassins Creed 3,Deus Ex,Castlevania, Halo Wars,Civilization,Forza Horizon,Black Ops,Black Ops 2,MW3,LA Noire,Crackdown,Dead Rising 2,Fallout 3, Fallout:NV,RE 4, Bully, Hitman HD collecton.

  3. #3
    Superior Member
    Malt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Darkest Wales
    PSN ID
    Skullomainia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    527
    Rep Power
    6
    Points
    7,085 (0 Banked)
    Says in that article that isn't all that straightforward.. Could something like that be patched in?

    Great win against Ireland yesterday, BTW..

  4. #4
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Wait... how does this work? Are the tv's 50hz?? So if the Xbox One is outputting 60hz with gaming, how doesn't that cause judder?

    I'm confused lol.




  5. #5
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    16,646
    Rep Power
    120
    Points
    34,237 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    Wait... how does this work? Are the tv's 50hz?? So if the Xbox One is outputting 60hz with gaming, how doesn't that cause judder?

    I'm confused lol.

    HDTV are 60Hz but in PAL regions have 50Hz modes
    This is a local shop for local people you have no business here!

  6. #6
    Superior Member
    Malt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Darkest Wales
    PSN ID
    Skullomainia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    527
    Rep Power
    6
    Points
    7,085 (0 Banked)
    No, it's the broadcasts that are 50hz.

  7. #7
    Superior Member
    Malt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Darkest Wales
    PSN ID
    Skullomainia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    527
    Rep Power
    6
    Points
    7,085 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    50Hz Sky to 60Hz TV looks OK.
    I'm sure my TV is set to 60hz, I'm going to check.

  8. #8
    Elite Sage
    Sparc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Behind you!
    PSN ID
    TidalPhoenix
    Posts
    11,230
    Rep Power
    111
    Points
    17,037 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    A really switched on cookie at avforums predicted this issue before the X1 was released.

    http://www.avforums.com/threads/xbox...oblem.1831965/

    Around the world there is two main standards for broadcast tv 50fps and 60fps.

    The movie industry had always been 24fps


    In 50hz countries 24fps films would be sped up to 25fps then doubled to 50


    This would give us nice judder free playback


    However 60fps material originating mainly from US TV shows that didn't use 24fps had to be converted in one of a couple of ways to work on 50fps TV sets. Mostly this was done by duplicating a few frames creating a judder or ghosting effect you have probably noticed on American material (including native 60fps HD)


    Now Americans have had a similar problem for a lot longer with 24fps material that we never had, 24fps into 30 then doubled to provide 60
    This gave them the same judder on movies that we have on tv programmes that basically make it all look like ass!


    America have fixed their 24fps problem now by having 24fps and 60fps switching sets


    UK have 24, 50 and 60fps switching sets


    Unfortunately you CANNOT show two or three of these framerates from different sources on screen all at once. Only a native 600hz tv with a none existent 600hz hdmi spec could do that!
    (600 is the lowest number divisible by 24, 50 and 60)


    With 24fps films on a 60hz broadcast Americans can use something called cadence detection to get back to native 24fps


    So that's Americans sorted...


    So back to 50hz territories (most of the world)


    You can't 50fps into 60fps by duplicating frames without judder, and you can't get 24fps out of 50fps mangled into 60fps (you can't even do 25 slowed down to 24 as you'd get audio problems)


    So all in all sky sports 50fps, sky movies 25fps and everything else could end up looking a pigs ear


    So here is our problem


    How does the X1 handle 24 and 50fps content on a 60fps desktop


    The only solution I can see other than the horrible judder is to use something called "intelligent frame creation" which makes everything look like a soap opera and even that wouldn't fix 24fps on a 50fps broadcast


    So unfortunately snap and hdmi input might be a bit useless outside of 60hz territories unless you don't really give a damn!


    So if you see AVF members whining on day one, now you know why!


  9. #9
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    16,659
    Rep Power
    154
    Points
    99,660 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    Wait... how does this work? Are the tv's 50hz?? So if the Xbox One is outputting 60hz with gaming, how doesn't that cause judder?

    I'm confused lol.
    PAl is 25fps, any output means you will "double" a frame here and there (1 every 5 frames).

    So 30 frames will look like this

    Frames: 1,2,3,4,5,5,6,7,8,9,10,10,11,12,13,14,15,15,16,17, 18,19,20,20,21,22,23,24,25,25

    Ive experienced back in the day, it is off putting mainly when they pan the screen, its never smooth pan.
    NZ is also 50fps, although all our TV's out put 60hz.
    I imagine, we have some circuitry in the receivers to decode it correctly dunno.
    2play:Red Dead, GTA 4,Batman AC,Batman AO,Borderlands 2,Skyrim,Sleeping Dogs,Reckoning,Dead Island, DarkSiders 2,Dark Souls,Dead Space 2,MGS 3,MGS:PW, XCOM:EU,Hitman Absolution,Biosuck Infinite,Assassins Creed 3,Deus Ex,Castlevania, Halo Wars,Civilization,Forza Horizon,Black Ops,Black Ops 2,MW3,LA Noire,Crackdown,Dead Rising 2,Fallout 3, Fallout:NV,RE 4, Bully, Hitman HD collecton.

  10. #10
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    16,646
    Rep Power
    120
    Points
    34,237 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Malt View Post
    I'm sure my TV is set to 60hz, I'm going to check.
    Watching Sky Mine says when I press the info button "1920 x 1080 50i"
    ITs a Samsung.
    Last edited by keefy; 11-25-2013 at 22:42.
    This is a local shop for local people you have no business here!

  11. #11
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    16,659
    Rep Power
    154
    Points
    99,660 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Mine says when I press the info button "1080i 50Hz"
    Mines even less helpful, it says 1080i.

    We only just went digital in NZ (like 2 months ago), so this is all rather new to me. We only have the one TV with HDTV, the other one which run my xbox uses a standard definition satellite receiver, that's 50hz for sure.
    2play:Red Dead, GTA 4,Batman AC,Batman AO,Borderlands 2,Skyrim,Sleeping Dogs,Reckoning,Dead Island, DarkSiders 2,Dark Souls,Dead Space 2,MGS 3,MGS:PW, XCOM:EU,Hitman Absolution,Biosuck Infinite,Assassins Creed 3,Deus Ex,Castlevania, Halo Wars,Civilization,Forza Horizon,Black Ops,Black Ops 2,MW3,LA Noire,Crackdown,Dead Rising 2,Fallout 3, Fallout:NV,RE 4, Bully, Hitman HD collecton.

  12. #12
    Superior Member
    Malt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Darkest Wales
    PSN ID
    Skullomainia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    527
    Rep Power
    6
    Points
    7,085 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Mine says when I press the info button "1920 x 1080 50i"
    ITs a Samsung.
    Mine does too when the input is the sky box, it jumps to 60 when the input is the ps3. LG something or other..

  13. #13
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    16,646
    Rep Power
    120
    Points
    34,237 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Malt View Post
    Mine does too when the input is the sky box, it jumps to 60 when the input is the ps3. LG something or other..
    Yea was memaning when viewing Sky. Will edit post.
    This is a local shop for local people you have no business here!

  14. #14
    Dedicated Member
    K2D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    Cathode
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,354
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    4,977 (0 Banked)
    Items LuluYunaDaft Punk
    This is priceless. Sports cabel will practically be useless.

    Galaxy S2

    Wishlist: inFAMOUS, SotC 2, Jade Cocoon Reboot, Oni Reboot, the next JRPG, Wasteland 2, next Obsidian Fallout, Fallout 4, Project Eternity, ND's PS4 game
    ...
    [South Park: Stick of Truth is pure gaming bliss!]

  15. #15
    Elite Sage
    Sparc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Behind you!
    PSN ID
    TidalPhoenix
    Posts
    11,230
    Rep Power
    111
    Points
    17,037 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    The primary issue here, which I cannot see them resolving easily, if at all, is snap. You will always get judder when taking a 50Hz feed into a 60Hz dashboard. It can only be refreshing at either 50 or 60 Hz, not both.

    So what MS have created is an Xbox US. Almost the whole of the rest of the world broadcast at 50Hz


  16. #16
    Superior Member
    Malt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Darkest Wales
    PSN ID
    Skullomainia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    527
    Rep Power
    6
    Points
    7,085 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    Wow, Europe is so backwards, even little old NZ does 60hz HDTV.
    Of course if you signal is 50hz, I guess you could always cap the XBO to 50hz.
    According to Google even little old New Zealand broadcast their digital signal at 50hz.. The US and Japan are about the only countries in the world that dont.. What a backward country you live in..

  17. #17
    Nosce te ipsum
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,000
    Rep Power
    240
    Points
    136,127 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Ok all, thanks for the info. I'm understanding now lol.




  18. #18
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    16,659
    Rep Power
    154
    Points
    99,660 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Malt View Post
    According to Google even little old New Zealand broadcast their digital signal at 50hz.. The US and Japan are about the only countries in the world that dont.. What a backward country you live in..
    Its so backwards sometimes people call us middle earth
    I actually thought the article meant the TVs were 50hz (I used to have a HDTV -50hz only TV).
    2play:Red Dead, GTA 4,Batman AC,Batman AO,Borderlands 2,Skyrim,Sleeping Dogs,Reckoning,Dead Island, DarkSiders 2,Dark Souls,Dead Space 2,MGS 3,MGS:PW, XCOM:EU,Hitman Absolution,Biosuck Infinite,Assassins Creed 3,Deus Ex,Castlevania, Halo Wars,Civilization,Forza Horizon,Black Ops,Black Ops 2,MW3,LA Noire,Crackdown,Dead Rising 2,Fallout 3, Fallout:NV,RE 4, Bully, Hitman HD collecton.

  19. Likes Malt, Sajuuk Khar wishes they had posted this first.
  20. #19
    Power Member
    mynd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    41
    Posts
    16,659
    Rep Power
    154
    Points
    99,660 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparc View Post
    The primary issue here, which I cannot see them resolving easily, if at all, is snap. You will always get judder when taking a 50Hz feed into a 60Hz dashboard. It can only be refreshing at either 50 or 60 Hz, not both.

    So what MS have created is an Xbox US. Almost the whole of the rest of the world broadcast at 50Hz
    I am wondering, if this a direct overlay feed. Shouldn't it just result in screen tearing, not judder? (Tearing is unwatchable).
    Which would indicate that the feed is somehow synced to the XBO one not just a pass through.
    The XBO must detect the input signal as 50hz and massage it accordingly.

    Well, that makes that features kind of useless then to us PAL people.
    2play:Red Dead, GTA 4,Batman AC,Batman AO,Borderlands 2,Skyrim,Sleeping Dogs,Reckoning,Dead Island, DarkSiders 2,Dark Souls,Dead Space 2,MGS 3,MGS:PW, XCOM:EU,Hitman Absolution,Biosuck Infinite,Assassins Creed 3,Deus Ex,Castlevania, Halo Wars,Civilization,Forza Horizon,Black Ops,Black Ops 2,MW3,LA Noire,Crackdown,Dead Rising 2,Fallout 3, Fallout:NV,RE 4, Bully, Hitman HD collecton.

  21. #20
    Forum Elder
    Yungstar 2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    tyneside
    Posts
    2,746
    Rep Power
    55
    Points
    24,150 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Malt View Post
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...e-judder-in-uk

    Way to go.. I'm fussy with my TV quality, that would bug the **** out of me..
    I've yet to try my Xbox to view TV. I take it your Xbox is working OK with your TV then, what with you not being bugged.

  22. #21
    Forum Guru
    jlippone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,759
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    8,870 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    I am wondering, if this a direct overlay feed. Shouldn't it just result in screen tearing, not judder? (Tearing is unwatchable).
    Which would indicate that the feed is somehow synced to the XBO one not just a pass through.
    Yup.
    If the passtrough is double buffered with v-sync, it will judder.
    If it would be just double buffered, it would tear.
    If it would be single buffer, it would flicker or do some really strange things. (Tear like Goatse with possibility to see multiple parts of multiple frames?)
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    The XBO must detect the input signal as 50hz and massage it accordingly.

    Well, that makes that features kind of useless then to us PAL people.
    This would be only way to have 'proper' tv signal, sadly if using snap all games would either judder/tear or have to render to 50hz. (last option would be best unless game logic runs at 60hz...)
    'no, no one in their sane mind uses OpenGL on PS3' - Repi
    'nope, PS3 uses a wonderful low-level API called libgcm' - Repi

  23. #22
    Elite Sage
    Sparc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Behind you!
    PSN ID
    TidalPhoenix
    Posts
    11,230
    Rep Power
    111
    Points
    17,037 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by mynd View Post
    Well, that makes that features kind of useless then to us PAL people.
    ^^This!


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.