Latest PSU headlines:

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst ... 2
Results 26 to 34 of 34
  1. #26
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    16,640
    Rep Power
    120
    Points
    34,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Try the video output setting to 1080p instead of automatic.
    Last edited by keefy; 12-02-2013 at 21:45.
    This is a local shop for local people you have no business here!

  2. #27
    Veteran
    TAZ427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    PSN ID
    TAZ427
    Age
    43
    Posts
    4,909
    Rep Power
    70
    Points
    17,997 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by on the rocks View Post
    That would have been good info to give in your first post. Bluray needs an hdcp compliant monitor and gaming doesn't. Going hdmi to dvi you are not getting the hdcp handshake and it's down scaling to 480p
    Actually HDMI to DVI will do HDMI handshaking. The only thing that's not supported going from HDMI to DVI is the Audio Channel.

    Grae...

    The monitor also indicates it supports HDCP. But it's not a Native 1080p as it's 1920x1200 (not 1920x1080) and I know that there's been some devices that default back to base level resolution if it's not supporting one of it's native output modes (which 1920x1200 isn't native output supported by PS4.)

    It seems pretty apparent that they output driving from Game Play vs Video Decode/Playback of Media isn't the same, so it may be able to be forced into 1080p via system display options. Not being at home at the moment I can't pull up the systems menu, but you may want to start digging though it to see if there's an option to do this as the monitor will obvious support taking a 1920x1080 video input.

    You may also want to call Sony's support line on this.



  3. #28
    Apprentice
    on the rocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    PSN ID
    nordost
    Posts
    286
    Rep Power
    56
    Points
    2,305 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Try the video output setting to 1080p instead of automatic.
    Good point. If it's in automatic I don't think the ps4 can tell what resolution the tv is through dvi. Although if it's not hdcp compliant it prolly still won't work.

  4. #29
    Apprentice
    on the rocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    PSN ID
    nordost
    Posts
    286
    Rep Power
    56
    Points
    2,305 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by TAZ427 View Post
    Actually HDMI to DVI will do HDMI handshaking. The only thing that's not supported going from HDMI to DVI is the Audio Channel.

    Grae...

    The monitor also indicates it supports HDCP. But it's not a Native 1080p as it's 1920x1200 (not 1920x1080) and I know that there's been some devices that default back to base level resolution if it's not supporting one of it's native output modes (which 1920x1200 isn't native output supported by PS4.)

    It seems pretty apparent that they output driving from Game Play vs Video Decode/Playback of Media isn't the same, so it may be able to be forced into 1080p via system display options. Not being at home at the moment I can't pull up the systems menu, but you may want to start digging though it to see if there's an option to do this as the monitor will obvious support taking a 1920x1080 video input.

    You may also want to call Sony's support line on this.
    i guess I missed where he said what model the monitor is. What is it?

    edit: duh see it now. Samsung SyncMaster 244T
    Last edited by on the rocks; 12-02-2013 at 22:08.

  5. #30
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    PSN ID
    RohnnyDeppyJr
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    205 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by on the rocks View Post
    That would have been good info to give in your first post. Bluray needs an hdcp compliant monitor and gaming doesn't. Going hdmi to dvi you are not getting the hdcp handshake and it's down scaling to 480p
    Yeah that would've been a good idea, just didn't clue in that they worked differently. Thanks for the info though!

  6. #31
    Apprentice
    on the rocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    PSN ID
    nordost
    Posts
    286
    Rep Power
    56
    Points
    2,305 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by graemedickson84 View Post
    Yeah that would've been a good idea, just didn't clue in that they worked differently. Thanks for the info though!
    well I may be wrong on your monitor not being hdcp compliant. Did you try changing the resolution on the ps4 from automatic to 1080p like keefy suggested?

  7. #32
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    PSN ID
    RohnnyDeppyJr
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    205 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by on the rocks View Post
    well I may be wrong on your monitor not being hdcp compliant. Did you try changing the resolution on the ps4 from automatic to 1080p like keefy suggested?
    It only lets me select "Automatic" when connected to that screen :/

  8. #33
    Newbie
    jaynet333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    34
    Rep Power
    47
    Points
    1,808 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by graemedickson84 View Post
    It only lets me select "Automatic" when connected to that screen :/
    FWIW, you are not the only one running into this issue with a DVI monitor. There have already been a lot of good suggestions on this thread, but I am willing to bet the issue won't be resolved without a PS4 firmware update. Since blu-ray movie playback came in at the last second with the 1.50 update, it probably didn't get as much extensive testing. If enough people run into this issue, hopefully Sony will fix it. It may also depend on what Sony's stance is on supporting HDMI-DVI connections. From what bzncapone says in the forum post I linked to, it seemed to work okay with the PS3, so maybe that's a good sign it will get fixed on the PS4.

  9. Likes graemedickson84 wishes they had posted this first.
  10. #34
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    263 (0 Banked)
    I haven't tried a Bluray in mine yet, I guess I should do that.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.