Page 1 of 2 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33
  1. #1
    Master Sage
    Bitbydeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Age
    32
    Posts
    14,164
    Rep Power
    129
    Points
    42,466 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    Anyone else had a console freeze yet?

    I've had my console freeze twice over the weekend, both times playing Knack in co-op.
    Now usually whenever this occurs on PS3 I can hold the power button down and eventually it'll reboot.

    This function however does not seem possible on the PS4, both times I had been forced to literally pull the plug.
    Don't think that is great for electronics, anyone else encountered this?

    EDIT: Should have done some investigation prior to posting this turns out you can reboot by holding your finger over the power button for 15 seconds. I probably gave up at 10... sigh

    EDIT2: Just found out the issue was with the latest patch, got to uninstall Knack and delete the patch once it arrives instead of installing.
    Last edited by Bitbydeath; 12-02-2013 at 04:20.

  2. #2
    Elite Guru
    EHY893's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    5,545
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    26,380 (0 Banked)
    Items Naughty DogMetal Gear SolidPlayStation
    Haven't had a problem yet, but thanks for the tip about the 15 seconds. I wouldn't have known otherwise and probably pulled the plug also if it happened to me.

  3. #3
    Extreme Poster
    mistercrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    PSN ID
    mistercrow
    Posts
    25,535
    Rep Power
    165
    Points
    169,417 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Havent had that problem but thanks for the info in case I ever do.

  4. #4
    Superior Member
    Locomotive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    PSN ID
    Dude-in-the-Room
    Posts
    837
    Rep Power
    21
    Points
    15,190 (0 Banked)
    Nope. I've played my PS4 for 12 hours numerous days and I just realized my PS4 has been on for the past 5 hours while I've been on the PC gaming.

    Chances are...it will work like clockwork when I go to it in about an hour.

    Absolutely well put together piece of electronics.

  5. #5
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,332
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    6,547 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    It froze on me once while playing Knack and had to press the small power button to rest it.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  6. #6
    Superior Member
    JDizzleNO1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    where the sun don't shine
    PSN ID
    JDizzleNO1
    Posts
    875
    Rep Power
    30
    Points
    2,350 (0 Banked)
    Items Diablo IIIMetallicaUser name styleDark Souls CoverDemons Souls CoverPS3 Fat
    froze on me the first day i got it messaging a friend, but i put that as a PSN issue, since then no freezes. a few bugs of the sound not coming through the tv but i listen to it through my pulse headset anway



  7. #7
    Superior Member
    TEST SUBJECT 83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Oregon
    PSN ID
    TEST SUBJECT 83
    Posts
    521
    Rep Power
    10
    Points
    4,876 (0 Banked)
    glad you figured that out man!

  8. #8
    Veteran
    Saigon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NA
    PSN ID
    saigon1914
    Posts
    4,977
    Rep Power
    77
    Points
    33,954 (0 Banked)
    No, but the information you presented is good to know. thanks!

  9. #9
    Dedicated Member
    Demi_God's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Icy hot of the north
    PSN ID
    Kamikaze_Krunch
    Posts
    1,426
    Rep Power
    16
    Points
    7,913 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Bitbydeath View Post
    I've had my console freeze twice over the weekend, both times playing Knack in co-op.
    Now usually whenever this occurs on PS3 I can hold the power button down and eventually it'll reboot.

    This function however does not seem possible on the PS4, both times I had been forced to literally pull the plug.
    Don't think that is great for electronics, anyone else encountered this?

    EDIT: Should have done some investigation prior to posting this turns out you can reboot by holding your finger over the power button for 15 seconds. I probably gave up at 10... sigh

    EDIT2: Just found out the issue was with the latest patch, got to uninstall Knack and delete the patch once it arrives instead of installing.

    You have to hold the power button a lot longer. I also unplugged it when I first had a hard freeze. The second time I had it happen was watching netflix and I did something weird to where it locked up. on the 2nd time I just kept my finger on the power button, just hold it there and it will eventually reset. I think it's like 20 seconds or something.

  10. #10
    Elite Guru
    TAZ427's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    PSN ID
    TAZ427
    Age
    43
    Posts
    5,121
    Rep Power
    74
    Points
    21,614 (0 Banked)
    One Day one freeze, none since. Not too bad overall.



  11. #11
    Veteran
    GazzaGSi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,118
    Rep Power
    75
    Points
    19,055 (0 Banked)
    Items Battlefield 3Assassins Creed EzioCoD: World at War

    Anyone else had a console freeze yet?

    No freezes thankfully. Thanks for the info though if something does happen.

    I was panicking when I first attempted to turn mine on, thought I'd got a DOA console, soon realised I'd got the wrong HDMI lead plugged in to the TV I was $#@!ting my pants


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Dedicated Member
    John Willaford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Owings Mills, MD
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,072
    Rep Power
    19
    Points
    412,130 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Demi_God View Post
    You have to hold the power button a lot longer. I also unplugged it when I first had a hard freeze. The second time I had it happen was watching netflix and I did something weird to where it locked up. on the 2nd time I just kept my finger on the power button, just hold it there and it will eventually reset. I think it's like 20 seconds or something.
    All I know is it DOESN'T like my WiFi coming out of Hybernate. I'll be plugging in my Monster Ethernet over Power surge sockets now that I found them anyway, but, Wireless hasn't been great for me, where wireless on PS3 was pretty hitch free, for me. It is however a different router.

  13. #13
    Veteran
    Bligmerk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,397
    Rep Power
    96
    Points
    21,517 (0 Banked)
    Sounds like a Knack glitch that held over from the early demos that were shown. Think there was a patch recently. So far, only had BF4 campaign boot me out of the game but that campaign is full of glitch areas.

    It seems people need to clarify by what they mean by "freeze". It seems the wifi search can take quite awhile if the router gets glitched by a power drop out. There is meaning to the light bar. The blue light pulsing at power up is like POST, so it goes through diagnostics and searching devices. When initialization is complete, the light goes steady white. But this light will also pulse when it is searching for a device, especially the wifi. Had a power drop out and the PS4 wasn't responding, but I saw the white light was pulsing. After trying to shut down with the PS button, which seemed unresponsive, the PS4 eventually beeped and shut down. When it was powered up again, it was fine.
    Pacing in wait of Sony's imminent DOOM!...since 2006
    PS4 - The Only Hardcore Gaming Console = All Your Baserape Are Belong To Us

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Admartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    PSN ID
    admartian
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,016
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    40,382 (0 Banked)
    Items ArsenalVitaUser name styleSteamPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    No issues here.

    #IndieStation4 and proud of it.

  15. #15
    Apprentice
    N0REGARD4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    PSN ID
    N0REGARD4LIFE
    Posts
    446
    Rep Power
    11
    Points
    1,146 (0 Banked)
    Items PlayStationDiceBattlefield 3
    No problems for me thank god.

  16. #16
    Forum Elder
    chrisw26308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,622
    Rep Power
    72
    Points
    13,537 (0 Banked)
    Yep froze once, and I haven't heard of this one anywhere but I was playing assasins creed and it shut down instantly then rebooted

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  17. #17
    Dedicated Member
    John Willaford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Owings Mills, MD
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,072
    Rep Power
    19
    Points
    412,130 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bitbydeath View Post
    I've had my console freeze twice over the weekend, both times playing Knack in co-op.
    Now usually whenever this occurs on PS3 I can hold the power button down and eventually it'll reboot.

    This function however does not seem possible on the PS4, both times I had been forced to literally pull the plug.
    Don't think that is great for electronics, anyone else encountered this?

    EDIT: Should have done some investigation prior to posting this turns out you can reboot by holding your finger over the power button for 15 seconds. I probably gave up at 10... sigh

    EDIT2: Just found out the issue was with the latest patch, got to uninstall Knack and delete the patch once it arrives instead of installing.
    I'll keep that in mind as I finally try out Knack.
    I've had NO ISSUES with lockup since 1.51 fixed the issue with Amazon app.
    No games have frozen.
    Still occasionally have to delete a download and restart it.
    Otherwise, sofar, my worst issue is WiFi not working coming out of standby.

  18. #18
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,102
    Rep Power
    243
    Points
    146,174 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Bitbydeath View Post
    I've had my console freeze twice over the weekend, both times playing Knack in co-op.
    Now usually whenever this occurs on PS3 I can hold the power button down and eventually it'll reboot.

    This function however does not seem possible on the PS4, both times I had been forced to literally pull the plug.
    Don't think that is great for electronics, anyone else encountered this?

    EDIT: Should have done some investigation prior to posting this turns out you can reboot by holding your finger over the power button for 15 seconds. I probably gave up at 10... sigh

    EDIT2: Just found out the issue was with the latest patch, got to uninstall Knack and delete the patch once it arrives instead of installing.
    So far, no problemos aqui.

    That being said, knocking on wood right now lol.

    @Bold:
    Rule of thumb - always hold down a power button until something happens.




  19. #19
    Super Moderator
    Admartian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    PSN ID
    admartian
    Age
    27
    Posts
    13,016
    Rep Power
    128
    Points
    40,382 (0 Banked)
    Items ArsenalVitaUser name styleSteamPS3 Slim
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by John Willaford View Post
    I'll keep that in mind as I finally try out Knack.
    I've had NO ISSUES with lockup since 1.51 fixed the issue with Amazon app.
    No games have frozen.
    Still occasionally have to delete a download and restart it.
    Otherwise, sofar, my worst issue is WiFi not working coming out of standby.
    Is that to do with it seeming like it's paused or stopped? I've just left all my downloads and updates, and they've just "fixed themselves". Rather, there was no issue per se, and it resumed as normal, albeit seeming slow.

    Ideally, they'll have a queue system where we can prioritise and order the downloads as per the new Steam implementation.

    #IndieStation4 and proud of it.

  20. #20
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    173
    Rep Power
    7
    Points
    2,204 (0 Banked)
    Once but never again. It happens my maxed out Mac has done it occasionally, very rarely though. Now if it does it more than 2, 3 times I'd return it.

  21. #21
    Racing Game Fanatic
    Duffman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    PSN ID
    gold106gti
    Posts
    6,408
    Rep Power
    33
    Points
    190,591 (0 Banked)
    Items Title StyleVitaPS3 Slim
    Not happened to me yet, fingers crossed it won't but thanks for the tip!
    PSN ID: gold106gti

    Twitter ID: Duffman1986

    My New Youtube Gaming Channel: Duffman Gaming



  22. #22
    Member
    WhatTheDuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    PSN ID
    Dullisten
    Posts
    116
    Rep Power
    7
    Points
    1,023 (2,024 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by SupraGaz View Post
    No freezes thankfully. Thanks for the info though if something does happen.

    I was panicking when I first attempted to turn mine on, thought I'd got a DOA console, soon realised I'd got the wrong HDMI lead plugged in to the TV I was $#@!ting my pants


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I feel with ya

  23. #23
    Apprentice
    Gamer4Lyfe08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    PSN ID
    Deathtrap88
    Age
    28
    Posts
    246
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    242 (0 Banked)
    only with knack smh...i think they need a patch
    Mess with the best, Die like the Rest.

  24. #24
    Chocolatier to the Stars
    TidalPhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Behind you!
    PSN ID
    TidalPhoenix
    Posts
    11,731
    Rep Power
    117
    Points
    15,438 (0 Banked)
    Items New User TitleUser name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Once. Did a power reset with the power button (didn't pull the plug). Worked fine, no problems since. Oh and I was playing BF4 at the time and so totally blame that!

    ​aka Sparc

    Entropy isn't what it used be

  25. #25
    Veteran
    snooper71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PSN ID
    snooper71
    Posts
    4,397
    Rep Power
    91
    Points
    15,975 (0 Banked)
    Items Naughty Dog
    Twice while watching Netflix. It looks like the ps4 doesnt know how to react to lost wifi connection and hard locks the console.

    Sent from my C6506 using Tapatalk


    Next Gen top picks:
    PS4: Infamous SS, DriveClub
    One: Project spark, Forza 5
    Multi: Watchdogs, The crew, FFXV, KHIII

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.